In 1491, on the once much humbler site of this enormous and ornate Mudejár-style shrine that is the Sanctuary of Loyola, a family of minor nobility welcomed its 13th child, who would one day change the world. San Ignatius Lopéz de Loyola, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Un poco largo el recorrido del sanctuario, muy bien todo en general. Pedro el Guia trabaja con mucha dedicacion.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was great. Pedro was the most awesome, helpful, and friendly tour guide we've ever had. He made the tour fun and entertaining. He took the time to explain everything and gave us ample time to fully enjoy all the places we were visiting, and take plenty of photos. He answered all of our questions. The Basque Country is an amazing place. The landscape is breathtaking and the culture is unique. We learned a lot about the Basque history and culture, and its cuisine. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was a totally enjoyable day, made consistently intriguing by Pedro who's just a superb guide. Thanks!

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent, tour was very good . Pedro the guide made the trip incredible,

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic trip for anyone short on time. Our guide Pedro is very proud and passionate about the history, preserving the language and sharing the beauty of this area. Definitely would live to come back to see more!

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great. We saw things we never would have seen during a limited time in northern Spain, and the tour guide, Gary, was fantastic. I would recommend this tour for anyone seeking to leverage a lot of experiences into a single day.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic, far exceeded our expectation. Our tour guide Garry was super, highly knowlegeable. It was interesting listening how he described each sites so well.
We highly recommend this tour. We will do it again.
As for our tour guide Gary. on the scale of 1 to 5 we give him a 6

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent Tour! Enjoyed it very much since it was a great overview of that part of the Basque country. Our guide Garai is worth his weight in gold. Professional, knowledgeable and also ready to answer any and all questions. My 85 year old mother loved it too! Would do it again!

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

perfect guide, excellent explanation and a impressive tour.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and I very much enjoyed our tour of San Sebastian and surrounding areas. It was lovely only being 3 of us on this tour and being driven around in a BMW wagon. Our tour guide Garry really made it a very special and personal day for us. he was so knowledgeable and warm and friendly. We particularly loved San Sebastian and the beautiful beach there. Mu husband really enjoyed seeing all the history live he has studied. Thank you so very much.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

we had a wonderful experience ,would recommend this tour, our guide was charming , full of information.
loved the small tour van-bus, being picked up at our hotel, having time for photos stops . Would take Viator tours again

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

The trip was advertised as in English but it turned out to be half English and half Spanish and the English portion was barely understandable. The itinerary was good and so was the restaurant suggestion. The driver was a careful one but should not be doing It in English. We did not get value and missed a lot.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Our group of seven people thoroughly enjoyed this excursion. The guide was very knowledgeable and spoke reasonably good English. She was very helpful.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We could find no fault whatsoever with this tour. Our driver guide spoke very good English and was very knowledgeable of the area, and brought us to an excellent restaurant for lunch. I would have no hesitation in recommending Viator to anyone.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The guide was very friendly and easy to talk to. He had a strong understanding of the Basque history and culture. He was reasonably capable of answering questions without coloring events with his own personal opinion. We came away with a sense that we had gotten a good exposure to the Basque region and culture. We had a very personable and professional tour guide.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message