• USD ($)
  • English
You could be forgiven for forgetting you’re in Spain when you visit the Basque Country (País Vasco). Its green, mountainous interior and rugged coastline seem to have served as a buffer from the outside world over the centuries, allowing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 55 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Alexandra was our guide. She was punctual, knowledgeable of San Seb and its history, and spoke good english. We had been to San Seb before, and I did think we would see places we had already visited, especially the old quarter, but she took us to 3 new bars, 1 near the cathedral and 2 in Gros. The Gros area was especially lively and worth getting to know.

She asked our food preferences and delivered some pintxos that we would not normally have tried but were tasty. We also tried the local wines, which are an acquired taste, plus the local cidre which I definately wouldn't have again.

It was my wife's 50th birthday on the day of the tour, and she organised a cake with candle and a loud rendition of 'happy birthday' - nice touch!

The tour is possibly a touch expensive, but Alexandra did tell us some very interesting bits about San Seb that I didn't see in any guide books that made it worthwhile.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful trip! Our guide, Garay, was both personable and knowledgeable. Vitoria and Laguardia were so beautiful. The wine tasting was very well done. We learned so much about the history of the Basque people and present customs. The fine print mentioned that the tour could be cancelled if there were not enough people. We were the only couple, but the tour went on-just as a private tour (at no extra charge).

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great introduction to the city.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This may have been the highlight of our honeymoon. We picked Spain for our honeymoon because we LOVE food. It's probably our biggest expense when we're at home, and we were so excited to go to San Sebastian after hearing so much about the food culture there. Our tour guide was Tomas. He was AMAZING. He took us to 3 different Pinxchos spots in Gros and in the Old Town. Not only did he show us 3 amazing locations, but we got to try different wines and ciders, and Tomas gave us background information about the history of Pinxchos as well as the history of the Basque region. It really gave us a full perspective of the area. He also gave us recommendations for dinners for the rest of our trip and encouarged us to hike Mount Urgell and Monte Igueldo which were fantastic. I highly recommend this tour. Ask for Tomas though!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and I very much enjoyed our tour of San Sebastian and surrounding areas. It was lovely only being 3 of us on this tour and being driven around in a BMW wagon. Our tour guide Garry really made it a very special and personal day for us. he was so knowledgeable and warm and friendly. We particularly loved San Sebastian and the beautiful beach there. Mu husband really enjoyed seeing all the history live he has studied. Thank you so very much.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Karen B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic! Thomasz was an excellent guide and I loved the fact we left the old town and ventured into less touristy spots. Tomasz shared lots of information about the local area and about what we were eating and drinking. Highly recommended!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Bottom Line: AWESOME. The other 2 people booked for our tour canceled so we really got a private tour! Our tour guide, Tomasz, was amazing. His enthusiasm was contagious. I could really feel the passion he had for SS - not only in the food, but the entire culture. I thought that this tour was just about the food, but Tomasz added so much more to it. The tour advertises 3 places, but we actually got to go to 4 – each with a pintxo and a drink. Apparently on Tue/Thu there is a special where for 2 Euros you can get a drink and a pintxo at a certain place. Our tour was on a Thu so we got to go, and was it packed! Anyway, in the beginning of the tour, Tomasz asked how adventurous we are w/food; this is basically how he gauges what to order. We said “Go for it!” and Tomasz did not disappoint. We got to taste mackerel, pig cheeks, tortillas, and this “TO DIE FOR” crab pintxo - each paired w/a drink: cava, red wine, beer, white wine. We got a taste of it all: traditional and modern pintxo bars - a good range for our experience. In addition he pointed out another pintxo bar that, unfortunately, closed early and could not be part of his tour. We ended up going there ourselves the next day and were beyond pleased. Actually, we enjoyed the places Tomasz took us to so much that we took our family to two of them on multiple occasions during our trip! Bonuses: Tomasz started the tour w/general historical info about SS. He continued to point out and share info specific to SS (such as the Sociedad Gastronomicas, traditions at Constitution Square, etc), other scenic places of interest, and quirky things that are not “normal” to America. My husband was completely overjoyed when Tomasz showed us this machine that is stocked with and dispenses fresh milk everyday! Lots of walking - but completely worth it! Do this tour @ the start of your vacation - you'll def visit the bars again!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great Tour! We did the visit in the opposite direction of what was presented by Viator, but that was much better. The guide was excellent, interesting ,funny and relaxed. The high point was San Sebastián, beautiful city!

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide, Garai, is superb! He is a native of the Basque region, has a university degree in tourism, and has traveled extensively worldwide -- so he is a highly competent and informative professional. Garai gave us a wealth of information about every place we visited, as well as answering all our many questions about life in the Bilbao area. IN the future we would book tours just to have him as a guide again!

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A very nice and interesting morning tour which will take you through the beautiful villages and landscapes of Vizcaya and Bilbao with a really friendly tour guide; do not expect to stop and stay long in certain places, this is more a photo and go sort of trip apart from Gernika where you get to visit and learn the history of the place. In all, a very good experience worth the money it costs. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

we had a wonderful experience ,would recommend this tour, our guide was charming , full of information.
loved the small tour van-bus, being picked up at our hotel, having time for photos stops . Would take Viator tours again

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour taking in the highlights of Biarritz, St Jean de luz and San Sebastian. Our guide Gary was genuinely friendly. He spiced up the tour with instructive comments and anecdotes on the region's history and current events. The tour participants were mostly Iberian but he ensured that english speakers (only 4 of us in a full bus) weren't short-changed. He even accompanied us on our short walks around the tour sites.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

We enjoyed the tour very much. However we would have liked to have had more time in Biarritz. We had a very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

the guide's english was not as strong as it should be to effectively communicate

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message