Insider's Guide to Basque Country

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

You could be forgiven for forgetting you’re in Spain when you visit the Basque Country (País Vasco). Its green, mountainous interior and rugged coastline seem to have served as a buffer from the outside world over the centuries, allowing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 184 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Abby E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lovely guide Maria was punctual, friendly, ready to answer any questions and enthusiastic. Very willing to give recommendations too. Short enough climb and good pace set for the walk. Gorgeous views of the ocean, cliffs and wildlife along the way. As we expected to cover a good distance because the tour was 5 hours long, we weren't surprised at the 7km ish trail set for us. Very much enjoyed!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Rosebud R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful half day with Maria. She was extremely knowledgeable, gave us lots of information on the history that was very interesting and gave us context. She was very personable, sensitive to our level of fatigue, careful where the path was rocky, and got us back to Town right on time. I loved the walk.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Jennifer Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a wonderful tour !We enjoyed the hike , even though it was drizzling with rain.
- We were given the choice to walk or participate in an alternative tour. Our group chose to continue with the hike .The history sharing was very interesting, politics and the scenery and bird life amazing. Our guide Oihana was Basque with excellent knowledge ,great English and easy to understand.When Cold and tired after the hike we concluded the hike at Pasai Donibane with yummy Pintxos.
An extra bonus was the quaint boat ride from San Pedro to Donibane!
A great insight and introduction into Spain's history, culture and the St James way!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

andrew c

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

No good!! 130 euros for two of us for a very short tour..a little under two hours and some very average pinxtos, sometimes it was not even what our guide promised....no squid ink in the risotto, and we never had the ox cheeks we were told about! We were also given some insider knowledge to not order cold pinxtos as the hot stuff was made to order ...solid advice but then two out of five of the pinxtos were cold!!! Our guide was fun but admitted she was new to the job..and it showed. Having been to some pinxtos bars ourselves we estimate the cost of the combined food and drink to be around 35 euros for the two of us...making the price for the tour outrageous.... Plenty of better deals to be had either going it alone or with other tours that offer more bang for your buck, was expecting this tour to be a real highlight of my trip to Spain and instead I feel ripped off...avoid.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

louis s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

the tour was very good

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Heidi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A hop on hop off with a schedule - the times are posted at the bus stops - and they are on time! San Sebastian is a bit too big to walk so this is perfect. Highly recommend

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good overview of the city.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Nancy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good overview of the city.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Nancy G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very informative tour and good value for money. It was raining all the time, which dampened the experience.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

trevor w

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

excellent tour with very helpful lady driver gave a good overview of the city

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Nevena M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Unai was great and answered all of our many questions while driving expertly along some windy roads! The tour itself was nice and as we had good weather it made all the difference.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Yvonne P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The last two tours of the day were cancelled without warning so just as well we caught the one we did. Apart from that, everything was good and the bus stop was really easy to find.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a nice tour and I found it to be pretty useful. Although San Sebastián is not a huge city, a lot of the locations that are worth seeing are far away from the center. I sat on the bus for a panoramic view and learned about the city's history. Overall, it was worth the cheap asking price.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

R g c C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was the best thing we did in San Sebastian, a great trip with beautiful scenery and a very knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Jørgen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were very satisfied with this tour, due to Maria's engagement and enthusiasm. She also was very flexible and adaptive to our needs and preferences. We were 6 friends who had a great evening back in October, visiting different parts of the city and different types of pintxos bars..

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I went on this tour with our 21 year old son - the three of us had a very nice day in this small group tour. Pedro was an excellent driver and guide - very friendly and knowledgeable about everything that we saw and experienced. Much appreciated.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wow were we happy when Maria was our exclusive tour guide on this amazing hike. She was our guide on the Pintxos and Wine tour a few days earlier and we knew we were in good hands. Again she made us feel like locals and was very knowledgeable of the Way of St James. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Richard H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The best of the three were on.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Peter H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was great!!
The tour was interesting but not much different than similar tours in other countries.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was really enjoyable. Only thing is with all the stops we made, the tour should be split into two separate tours. We did not have enough time to spend in each place. Our tour guide, Pedro was wonderful. Especially being so patient speaking in both English and Spanish. After seeing these places, we know we want to go back and spend more time there.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Mark R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Maria was a fantastic guide who gave a great running commentary during the walk. Thoroughly interesting learning a bit about the history of the Basques and the area.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Eleanor F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour leader was excellent Maria?. She went out of her way to introduce us to wonderful tapas and wines, was very personable, energetic and informative. I would recommend her as an excellent guide!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

MR G W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tomas was a very good guide, a rather fit young man as well. The walk lasted around 3 hours, about 6km walk in total, with a refreshing drink and tapas at the end of it. The weather was perfect, if raining it could be a bit slippery. We got some good views along the coast. Surprisingly we were really still within the limits of the city and returned by public bus which took only 10-15 mins into the centre of the town.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Paul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very passionate and talkative guide! Great scenery. Vitoria was very interesting. The English speaking wine tour and sampling lasted an hour, and the winery guide was great.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message