Insider's Guide to Basque Country

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

You could be forgiven for forgetting you’re in Spain when you visit the Basque Country (País Vasco). Its green, mountainous interior and rugged coastline seem to have served as a buffer from the outside world over the centuries, allowing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 195 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Maria was our guide for what was scheduled to be the Half-day Walking tour on the Way of Saint James. But as my wife and I were the only clients for this tour, and the trail was slick and muddy in spots, Maria easily modified the tour to be more in-line with our interests. After a brief walk on the Way' and a chance to talk to the pilgrims we encountered, we decided to instead take a bus to Maria's charming village. We learned much of the Basque culture and their fishing/farming traditions, enjoyed calamares frites and wine at their harbor, and returned to San Sebastián by bus for a walking tour of old town. I recommend Maria highly, and this tour in general --- but, be aware that access to the Way is via many steep steps, and the Way itself can be slick and/or rocky. We wore our tennis shoes, but hiking boots would have been better. The Way has been used since medieval times -- I admire the dedication and stamina of those pilgrims. That must have been some mighty nutritious gruel!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Maria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent activity to do while in San Sebastian! We really enjoyed our hike and the nature and views was absolutely breathtaking. It was very interesting for us to experience even in a small dose the Camino de Sandiago and also to hear the history of the camino, of the Basque country and its people by our lovely guide Maria. Maria was a fantastic person, full of love for her home country and we couldn't ask for a better guide. It was fun!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Brendan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful tour with a special mention for our guide, Maria, who was superb, many thanks.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Scott G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The best tour I and #39;ve done. It was raining a bit when I arrived and Oihana offered to do a different hike, but I was happy to risk it. Oihana is a lovely young woman and is extremely nice. She and #39;s passionate about here country and is quite knowledgeable.
Very very happy with everything. 11/10

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

shfox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed this tour and Atheana was a very knowledgeable guide.
The bars we visited were fabulous and it was great to cross the bridge and explore a part of San Sebastián we would not have seen.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Bonnie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was Athenea and she was wonderful. So passionate and knowledgeable about San Sebastian. We truly felt like we were locals. The food and wine was fabulous!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

ALEXANDER L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth taking

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

Sheba S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I think this is a good value tour. It rained most of the day, so we were not able to fully experience all that was advertised, but that is not something that can be helped. I liked our guide - he was warm, friendly and had a lot of information. Since we had both Spanish-speaking and English-speaking participants, he had to provide information in both languages. I was in the back of the van and it was very difficult to hear him. I would not do this again unless I knew there was amplification through a microphone. I missed quite a bit of what the guice had to say. Also, he never did introduce himself - so I don't know his name.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Susan T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was a great adventure. The bus broke down, but the guide handled ii well. We saw so much, we would not have been able to do it on our own in one day.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

George United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The trip was worth it and the English translation was well done.
An issue we had was the WEB site doesn't tell you in advance that they do not accept E-Invoice and you need a paper invoice,which is required . The company, which Viator WEB site refers you where to go for a printed copy, does not have an office at the address you are referred to. Thanks to the local tourist Office rep and the bus driver, who used common sense, allowed us to receive the pass after wasting over an hour.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Sissel Beate S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Nice trip, but we had to wait one hour for a New bus to take us further.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Abby E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lovely guide Maria was punctual, friendly, ready to answer any questions and enthusiastic. Very willing to give recommendations too. Short enough climb and good pace set for the walk. Gorgeous views of the ocean, cliffs and wildlife along the way. As we expected to cover a good distance because the tour was 5 hours long, we weren't surprised at the 7km ish trail set for us. Very much enjoyed!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Rosebud R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful half day with Maria. She was extremely knowledgeable, gave us lots of information on the history that was very interesting and gave us context. She was very personable, sensitive to our level of fatigue, careful where the path was rocky, and got us back to Town right on time. I loved the walk.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Jennifer Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a wonderful tour !We enjoyed the hike , even though it was drizzling with rain.
- We were given the choice to walk or participate in an alternative tour. Our group chose to continue with the hike .The history sharing was very interesting, politics and the scenery and bird life amazing. Our guide Oihana was Basque with excellent knowledge ,great English and easy to understand.When Cold and tired after the hike we concluded the hike at Pasai Donibane with yummy Pintxos.
An extra bonus was the quaint boat ride from San Pedro to Donibane!
A great insight and introduction into Spain's history, culture and the St James way!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

andrew c

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

No good!! 130 euros for two of us for a very short tour..a little under two hours and some very average pinxtos, sometimes it was not even what our guide promised....no squid ink in the risotto, and we never had the ox cheeks we were told about! We were also given some insider knowledge to not order cold pinxtos as the hot stuff was made to order ...solid advice but then two out of five of the pinxtos were cold!!! Our guide was fun but admitted she was new to the job..and it showed. Having been to some pinxtos bars ourselves we estimate the cost of the combined food and drink to be around 35 euros for the two of us...making the price for the tour outrageous.... Plenty of better deals to be had either going it alone or with other tours that offer more bang for your buck, was expecting this tour to be a real highlight of my trip to Spain and instead I feel ripped off...avoid.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

louis s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

the tour was very good

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Heidi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A hop on hop off with a schedule - the times are posted at the bus stops - and they are on time! San Sebastian is a bit too big to walk so this is perfect. Highly recommend

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good overview of the city.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Nancy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good overview of the city.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Nancy G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very informative tour and good value for money. It was raining all the time, which dampened the experience.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

trevor w

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

excellent tour with very helpful lady driver gave a good overview of the city

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Nevena M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Unai was great and answered all of our many questions while driving expertly along some windy roads! The tour itself was nice and as we had good weather it made all the difference.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Yvonne P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The last two tours of the day were cancelled without warning so just as well we caught the one we did. Apart from that, everything was good and the bus stop was really easy to find.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a nice tour and I found it to be pretty useful. Although San Sebastián is not a huge city, a lot of the locations that are worth seeing are far away from the center. I sat on the bus for a panoramic view and learned about the city's history. Overall, it was worth the cheap asking price.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

R g c C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was the best thing we did in San Sebastian, a great trip with beautiful scenery and a very knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message