You could be forgiven for forgetting you’re in Spain when you visit the Basque Country (País Vasco). Its green, mountainous interior and rugged coastline seem to have served as a buffer from the outside world over the centuries, allowing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a nice tour and I found it to be pretty useful. Although San Sebastián is not a huge city, a lot of the locations that are worth seeing are far away from the center. I sat on the bus for a panoramic view and learned about the city's history. Overall, it was worth the cheap asking price.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

R g c C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was the best thing we did in San Sebastian, a great trip with beautiful scenery and a very knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Jørgen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were very satisfied with this tour, due to Maria's engagement and enthusiasm. She also was very flexible and adaptive to our needs and preferences. We were 6 friends who had a great evening back in October, visiting different parts of the city and different types of pintxos bars..

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I went on this tour with our 21 year old son - the three of us had a very nice day in this small group tour. Pedro was an excellent driver and guide - very friendly and knowledgeable about everything that we saw and experienced. Much appreciated.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wow were we happy when Maria was our exclusive tour guide on this amazing hike. She was our guide on the Pintxos and Wine tour a few days earlier and we knew we were in good hands. Again she made us feel like locals and was very knowledgeable of the Way of St James. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Richard H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The best of the three were on.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Peter H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was great!!
The tour was interesting but not much different than similar tours in other countries.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was really enjoyable. Only thing is with all the stops we made, the tour should be split into two separate tours. We did not have enough time to spend in each place. Our tour guide, Pedro was wonderful. Especially being so patient speaking in both English and Spanish. After seeing these places, we know we want to go back and spend more time there.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Mark R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Maria was a fantastic guide who gave a great running commentary during the walk. Thoroughly interesting learning a bit about the history of the Basques and the area.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Eleanor F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour leader was excellent Maria?. She went out of her way to introduce us to wonderful tapas and wines, was very personable, energetic and informative. I would recommend her as an excellent guide!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

MR G W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tomas was a very good guide, a rather fit young man as well. The walk lasted around 3 hours, about 6km walk in total, with a refreshing drink and tapas at the end of it. The weather was perfect, if raining it could be a bit slippery. We got some good views along the coast. Surprisingly we were really still within the limits of the city and returned by public bus which took only 10-15 mins into the centre of the town.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Paul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very passionate and talkative guide! Great scenery. Vitoria was very interesting. The English speaking wine tour and sampling lasted an hour, and the winery guide was great.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Sophia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was great!

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

sylviane b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

tHe only negative was that the guide spoke in Spanish 70 percent and English only 30 percent.We felt like second class citizens.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

William C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour showed us the overall Basque coast and the history of the people. The tour guide Pedro was very informative and made the tour interesting. The driver of the van was very good also, however the company should maintain the vehicle better. Something was wrong with the van and we had to pull over.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

Simon Francis E

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The tour guide, Thomas was excellent. We visited 3 pinxtos bars, the first was very interesting and we returned the following evening but I did not rate the 2nd and 3rd one The second one had disappointing pinxtos and average wine and the 3rd had a lovely crab pinxtos spoilt by the accompanying rough cider

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Diana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a tour not to be missed, our guide Thomasz, was a delight. He had a good knowledge of the area and its history. He was entertaining and kept us amused throughout the tour. The group were all friendly and we shared some laughs and all had a great evening. The city is a great place to spent a vacation. W will certainly be returning.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

François S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I enthusiastically give a top rating to Viatour, and to the Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region tour.
Everything started on the right foot. Viatour notified me a few days ahead that of the pickup time. Pedro showed up precise as clockwork.
The Vitoria leg was superb: gorgeous city. But Guardia was the real treat. A splendid village in a region of breathtaking beauty. Viatour had arranged a visit to a traditional winery, a very interesting tour. We then had lunch in an excellent restaurant.
And Pedro, our guide, is a pure gem. Knowledgeable, relaxed we are, after all, on vacation, and capable of discussing openly and honestly potentially delicate aspects of Basque politics and sociology. Plus ladies, take notice he is very handsome.
So there you have it: great scenery, great organization, great guide. I could never have arranged such a visit by myself. Next time the occasion shows up to take a Viatour excursion, I wont hesitate.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip as an introduction to the Basque Country. Pedro, our guide was very good, informative and helpful.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Rita F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tomasz was our guide and he was fantastic. We liked him so much, that we decided to take his Pinxtos tour that same evening. That was also fantastic. The hike was beautiful and Tomasz made it informative and fun. We highly recommend it. These two tours were highlights of our stay in San Sebastian.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Samantha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The San Sebastian Pintxos and Wine tour was one of the best tours myself and my partner have been on.
Tomasz the tour guide has a great knowledge of San Sebastian's history, the Pintxos bars and wine. Additionally Tomasz has a great sense of humor and enjoys a laugh, which makes the whole tour just that much more enjoyable.
Would recommend to anyone looking for an introduction to San Sebastian, especially those who are first timers or have who know limited Spanish, as the tips, tricks and general history given throughout the tour can be very handy and insightful for the remainder of your stay

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Marie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Maria, the tour guide, was fabulous. I learned an incredible amount of information about the area, the Camino, and Basque culture. The views along the ocean were splendid and the towns at the end of the walk represented typical life and culture. Very worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a terrific tour with perfect weather and stunning scenery. Tomasz was an excellent guide, full of local knowledge and interesting stories! Will definitely look out for similar tours in other cities.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Paul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Loved this tour! Informational, fun and tasty!!
Highly recommend it.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message