You could be forgiven for forgetting you’re in Spain when you visit the Basque Country (País Vasco). Its green, mountainous interior and rugged coastline seem to have served as a buffer from the outside world over the centuries, allowing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 65 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tomasz is an excellent guide; highly recommend this on your first night in SS (as we did), to get a sense of SS's history and your pintxos bearings. Tomasz really does a great job of going beyond just a food tour, and takes care to relate some history and color commentary along the way to fill out the three hours; he has planned it well. Our tour was private, as we were the only bookings that evening, but I met someone else the next night who also went on his tour, and had a group of 11 - so, the personalization we felt may certainly be subject to group size. There's another pintxo tour available - with more bar stops I think, but that sounds more hectic and rush; Tomasz's is a good pace and takes you out of Old Town.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fabulous hike
Tomas was an invaluable source of historical and anecdotal information. He was considerate of everyone's needs and made the hike a memorable experience. I would recommend this to everyone
Joan and Robbie Davidson
Canada

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A perfect first evening for our Basque Country holiday. Amaia was a fabulous guide who included everybody and shared her knowledge with us in an interesting and entertaining way. One tip I would offer is to eat during the day...The food on this tour is wonderful, but there's not a great deal of it.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A really nice night where there were 5 of us plus Amaia our guide. She gave us some history of the old town, a lesson on the foods and kept it interesting the whole time. I'm sure her husband Tomas is a good man and we all know fron the reviews that he doesxa great job, , but Amaia, his wife did a fabulous job ensuring we had a social night as well ensuring we got food that we liked.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The pros: tour guide Garai is thorough, fluent in english, well-prepared for his descriptions. Timing was down pat, as all the main points on the itinerary were hit: transporter bridge, Castle Butron, San Juan hermitage, Bermeo lunch, Guernika's oak tree - you did get to check off all those off your list. As far as a nice drive through the countryside, it works - it's green, and pretty as you drive along, but note, not particularly 'along the coast'.
The cons: no major complaints, but lunch stop was very short - just enough for a quick pintxo if you wanted to also walk for 15 minutes or so. (That said, there isn't much to see in Bermeo other than the busy colorful port exists).
Overall: a pleasant 5 hours, nice to get out of the city for a bit.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tomas has an enthusiasm for San Sebastian's that is infectious. This is not only an introduction to pintxos hopping, but to San Sebastian's history and culture. I attended on the first night of my stay, which I highly recommend, as it helped set the stage for the rest of the trip. Our 3+ hour journey lead us through the Old Town and Gros. A unique, exciting and fun gastronomic adventure. I might add that everything we ate and drank was adventurous and delicious. Book with Tomas! Highly, highly recommend.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The program is terrific. The guide was very well informed and added a lot of colorful commentary. She was a perfect complement to the shops and the Market. Really enjoyed the on hands cooking. Great all around.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful day filled with beautiful scenery, winetasting and intersting information. Our guide Garaia gave us tons of interesting facts about the Basque country and people. He was very enthusiastic and funny!
Will definatly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

perfect guide, excellent explanation and a impressive tour.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide, interesting explanation, impressive day

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Alexandra was our guide. She was punctual, knowledgeable of San Seb and its history, and spoke good english. We had been to San Seb before, and I did think we would see places we had already visited, especially the old quarter, but she took us to 3 new bars, 1 near the cathedral and 2 in Gros. The Gros area was especially lively and worth getting to know.

She asked our food preferences and delivered some pintxos that we would not normally have tried but were tasty. We also tried the local wines, which are an acquired taste, plus the local cidre which I definately wouldn't have again.

It was my wife's 50th birthday on the day of the tour, and she organised a cake with candle and a loud rendition of 'happy birthday' - nice touch!

The tour is possibly a touch expensive, but Alexandra did tell us some very interesting bits about San Seb that I didn't see in any guide books that made it worthwhile.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful trip! Our guide, Garay, was both personable and knowledgeable. Vitoria and Laguardia were so beautiful. The wine tasting was very well done. We learned so much about the history of the Basque people and present customs. The fine print mentioned that the tour could be cancelled if there were not enough people. We were the only couple, but the tour went on-just as a private tour (at no extra charge).

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great introduction to the city.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This may have been the highlight of our honeymoon. We picked Spain for our honeymoon because we LOVE food. It's probably our biggest expense when we're at home, and we were so excited to go to San Sebastian after hearing so much about the food culture there. Our tour guide was Tomas. He was AMAZING. He took us to 3 different Pinxchos spots in Gros and in the Old Town. Not only did he show us 3 amazing locations, but we got to try different wines and ciders, and Tomas gave us background information about the history of Pinxchos as well as the history of the Basque region. It really gave us a full perspective of the area. He also gave us recommendations for dinners for the rest of our trip and encouarged us to hike Mount Urgell and Monte Igueldo which were fantastic. I highly recommend this tour. Ask for Tomas though!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and I very much enjoyed our tour of San Sebastian and surrounding areas. It was lovely only being 3 of us on this tour and being driven around in a BMW wagon. Our tour guide Garry really made it a very special and personal day for us. he was so knowledgeable and warm and friendly. We particularly loved San Sebastian and the beautiful beach there. Mu husband really enjoyed seeing all the history live he has studied. Thank you so very much.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message