You could be forgiven for forgetting you’re in Spain when you visit the Basque Country (País Vasco). Its green, mountainous interior and rugged coastline seem to have served as a buffer from the outside world over the centuries, allowing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

An interesting and informative guide who took us through a most magnificent area of Northern Spain. Gary was truly a delight. Money very well spent. The photography of the areas is well worthwhile.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Our guide was great and really had a lot of information about pintoxs, the Basque history, and even some politics. He was very personable, and we really enjoyed our time with hm and learned a lot. There were only two of us so we probably didn't get to taste as many pintoxs as if there had been a bigger group but what we had we enjoyed. Interesting tasting the local wines and cider. I'm glad I did although I doubt I'd order any of them again but then I am a very basic wine drinker. I would definitely recommend the tour. It's a great way to start your stay in San Sebastián - not only learning about pintoxs but also about what to see while you're there.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic, delicious and very informative tour, Amaya was a wonderful guide and went into such detail.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great. We saw things we never would have seen during a limited time in northern Spain, and the tour guide, Gary, was fantastic. I would recommend this tour for anyone seeking to leverage a lot of experiences into a single day.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Seeing the wine making process in El Guardia was really interesting. The town of Vitoria was really interesting. The guide was marvellous, a minefield of knowledge, friendly and happy to cheerfully answer all questions.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very full day. Everything well worth seeing. The guide was marvellous, cheerful, full of knowledge and happy to answer all questions.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It's good that the excursion schedule wasn't very strict: we could ask to spend more time somewhere or to stop somewhere for taking pictures at some picturesque place that was not in the plan.
We liked the idea of crossing the border in two different ways (by car and by boat). We also enjoyed beatiful viewpoints and landscapes of Basque Country, and of course our guide telling a lot of stories. We didn't get bored for a single minute of this journey!

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had the most amazing tour with Tomasz on our recent trip to San Sebastian. 3+ hours full of history, delicious pintxos in a variety of styles from several different bars, local wines and cider, and lively conversation about San Sebastian's culture. We enjoyed everything we tried and were very impressed with the structure and content of the tour -- Tomasz was able to include SO much and still keep things exciting rather than overwhelming. We got several suggestions for other activities for the rest of our trip and just had the best time. This tour was the highlight of our time in San Sebastian and I can highly recommend it! Start your trip with this tour!!! Big thanks to Tomasz!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

good, though rain spoiled it

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

C S
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

An interesting trip to San Sebastian and Biarritz. San Sebastian turned out to be the most beautiful and the most interesting of the two. The Lunch break in Hondarribia was also a pleasant surprise. The guide was knowledgeable and very enthusiastic.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

too little time in San Sebastian and we see even more less time in Biarritz.
My advice : rent a car - drive to Biarritz yourself.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fantastic walk, I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend it if you are visiting San Sebastian. Amaia was a terrific guide, extremely knowledgable and I learnt so much about the history and culture of the area and the country...and where to get the best local pintxos! The walk takes in stunning scenery along the coast and over the mountain, and wandering around the fishing villages and tasting local wine and cheese was great.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WE LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS TOUR! First, it's simply beautiful. Second, our tour guide Amaia was delightful, fun, knowledgeable, charming....etc. I can't say enough good about it. Did I mention it was gorgeous and FUN. Really - do it. Embrace the area!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Cannot say enough about this trip! Tomas was an unbelievable guide - great history lesson as well as great overall lesson of the region. Tomas exceeded our expectations on all aspects of the tour - including the lunch. Tomas was even able to give tips on other areas that we will be traveling and has been right on so far. It was all topped off by a great game of pelota. When you choose this trip, make sure you go with Tomas!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was varied and interesting. Garay, the guide, was friendly and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message