You could be forgiven for forgetting you’re in Spain when you visit the Basque Country (País Vasco). Its green, mountainous interior and rugged coastline seem to have served as a buffer from the outside world over the centuries, allowing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic, delicious and very informative tour, Amaya was a wonderful guide and went into such detail.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great. We saw things we never would have seen during a limited time in northern Spain, and the tour guide, Gary, was fantastic. I would recommend this tour for anyone seeking to leverage a lot of experiences into a single day.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Seeing the wine making process in El Guardia was really interesting. The town of Vitoria was really interesting. The guide was marvellous, a minefield of knowledge, friendly and happy to cheerfully answer all questions.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very full day. Everything well worth seeing. The guide was marvellous, cheerful, full of knowledge and happy to answer all questions.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It's good that the excursion schedule wasn't very strict: we could ask to spend more time somewhere or to stop somewhere for taking pictures at some picturesque place that was not in the plan.
We liked the idea of crossing the border in two different ways (by car and by boat). We also enjoyed beatiful viewpoints and landscapes of Basque Country, and of course our guide telling a lot of stories. We didn't get bored for a single minute of this journey!

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

good, though rain spoiled it

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

too little time in San Sebastian and we see even more less time in Biarritz.
My advice : rent a car - drive to Biarritz yourself.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fantastic walk, I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend it if you are visiting San Sebastian. Amaia was a terrific guide, extremely knowledgable and I learnt so much about the history and culture of the area and the country...and where to get the best local pintxos! The walk takes in stunning scenery along the coast and over the mountain, and wandering around the fishing villages and tasting local wine and cheese was great.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WE LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS TOUR! First, it's simply beautiful. Second, our tour guide Amaia was delightful, fun, knowledgeable, charming....etc. I can't say enough good about it. Did I mention it was gorgeous and FUN. Really - do it. Embrace the area!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Cannot say enough about this trip! Tomas was an unbelievable guide - great history lesson as well as great overall lesson of the region. Tomas exceeded our expectations on all aspects of the tour - including the lunch. Tomas was even able to give tips on other areas that we will be traveling and has been right on so far. It was all topped off by a great game of pelota. When you choose this trip, make sure you go with Tomas!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was varied and interesting. Garay, the guide, was friendly and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was absolutely wonderful. I would highly recommend to anyone. Absolutely hill gets San Sebastian. I will now actually walk El Camino de Santiago next year. This was a great introduction for my walk next year. Definite five stars!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The walk from San Sebastian was really good. From the initial steep walk out of the town it was almost straight into bush walking territory. Amaia was a fantastic guide and she not only spoke of the history of the area but also willingly engaged in conversations about more recent issues that have affected the Basque region. The walk had its moments mainly because of the previous nights rain as there were times walking on rocks could be slippery but for me that just added to the adventure. The coast line was quite pretty and it was nice knowing that France was just over that hill (we Australians are amused by international borders). A few ruins also added to the walk. Upon reaching our destination, Pasai , the small inlet opened up magnificently to a large harbour. Catching the punt from the "purple" side of the harbour to the "pink" side was also novel. This is an enjoyable walk where you will raise a sweat and make sure you wear appropriate shoes because the terrain can be rough in places (running shoes are ok, just don't wear casual dress shoes). It was a fabulous morning of walking and conversation with our excellent guide and because of the earlier departure then left you with the afternoon free to do other things in San Sebastian.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic, far exceeded our expectation. Our tour guide Garry was super, highly knowlegeable. It was interesting listening how he described each sites so well.
We highly recommend this tour. We will do it again.
As for our tour guide Gary. on the scale of 1 to 5 we give him a 6

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing. Ali was great and we had a local pintxo gastronomic chef taking the class. The class was very hands on and we got to cook/try local dishes. The tour of the local food market was good as well.

You can buy cookbooks from their store at the front of the hotel. Highly recommend .

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message