You could be forgiven for forgetting you’re in Spain when you visit the Basque Country (País Vasco). Its green, mountainous interior and rugged coastline seem to have served as a buffer from the outside world over the centuries, allowing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fantastic walk, I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend it if you are visiting San Sebastian. Amaia was a terrific guide, extremely knowledgable and I learnt so much about the history and culture of the area and the country...and where to get the best local pintxos! The walk takes in stunning scenery along the coast and over the mountain, and wandering around the fishing villages and tasting local wine and cheese was great.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WE LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS TOUR! First, it's simply beautiful. Second, our tour guide Amaia was delightful, fun, knowledgeable, charming....etc. I can't say enough good about it. Did I mention it was gorgeous and FUN. Really - do it. Embrace the area!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Cannot say enough about this trip! Tomas was an unbelievable guide - great history lesson as well as great overall lesson of the region. Tomas exceeded our expectations on all aspects of the tour - including the lunch. Tomas was even able to give tips on other areas that we will be traveling and has been right on so far. It was all topped off by a great game of pelota. When you choose this trip, make sure you go with Tomas!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was varied and interesting. Garay, the guide, was friendly and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was absolutely wonderful. I would highly recommend to anyone. Absolutely hill gets San Sebastian. I will now actually walk El Camino de Santiago next year. This was a great introduction for my walk next year. Definite five stars!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The walk from San Sebastian was really good. From the initial steep walk out of the town it was almost straight into bush walking territory. Amaia was a fantastic guide and she not only spoke of the history of the area but also willingly engaged in conversations about more recent issues that have affected the Basque region. The walk had its moments mainly because of the previous nights rain as there were times walking on rocks could be slippery but for me that just added to the adventure. The coast line was quite pretty and it was nice knowing that France was just over that hill (we Australians are amused by international borders). A few ruins also added to the walk. Upon reaching our destination, Pasai , the small inlet opened up magnificently to a large harbour. Catching the punt from the "purple" side of the harbour to the "pink" side was also novel. This is an enjoyable walk where you will raise a sweat and make sure you wear appropriate shoes because the terrain can be rough in places (running shoes are ok, just don't wear casual dress shoes). It was a fabulous morning of walking and conversation with our excellent guide and because of the earlier departure then left you with the afternoon free to do other things in San Sebastian.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic, far exceeded our expectation. Our tour guide Garry was super, highly knowlegeable. It was interesting listening how he described each sites so well.
We highly recommend this tour. We will do it again.
As for our tour guide Gary. on the scale of 1 to 5 we give him a 6

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing. Ali was great and we had a local pintxo gastronomic chef taking the class. The class was very hands on and we got to cook/try local dishes. The tour of the local food market was good as well.

You can buy cookbooks from their store at the front of the hotel. Highly recommend .

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent Tour! Enjoyed it very much since it was a great overview of that part of the Basque country. Our guide Garai is worth his weight in gold. Professional, knowledgeable and also ready to answer any and all questions. My 85 year old mother loved it too! Would do it again!

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great fun and extremely informative. We were lucky enough to get Garai as our guide on both the tours we took and he was great!

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

C S
Netherlands

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Interesting trip with Garai, a very enthousiastic guide.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tomasz is an excellent guide; highly recommend this on your first night in SS (as we did), to get a sense of SS's history and your pintxos bearings. Tomasz really does a great job of going beyond just a food tour, and takes care to relate some history and color commentary along the way to fill out the three hours; he has planned it well. Our tour was private, as we were the only bookings that evening, but I met someone else the next night who also went on his tour, and had a group of 11 - so, the personalization we felt may certainly be subject to group size. There's another pintxo tour available - with more bar stops I think, but that sounds more hectic and rush; Tomasz's is a good pace and takes you out of Old Town.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

GREAT EXPERIENCE - THE GUIDE (THOMAS) WAS GREAT, FUN, AND VERY INFORMATIVE. IN ADDITION TO THE FANTASTIC PINTXOS EXPERIENCE, HE INTRODUCED US TO THE BASQUE LOCAL SPORTS, CULTURE, AND HISTORY. HE ANSWERED ALL OF OUR QUESTIONS (LANGUAGE, ECONOMY, CULTURE, POLITICS, ETC...). HE HAS A GREAT PERSONALITY AND VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE. TOTALLY WORTH IT IF YOU GET THE CHANCE. RAMI and ZAINA

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fabulous hike
Tomas was an invaluable source of historical and anecdotal information. He was considerate of everyone's needs and made the hike a memorable experience. I would recommend this to everyone
Joan and Robbie Davidson
Canada

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Walking Tour from San Sebastián

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

There were just 3 of us, and it almost felt like a private tour! Mariano knew his history well and had plenty of little interesting stories and funny antidotes that made it all real. In every town we went he got us maps and pamphlets. The winery and wine tasting was really special and then we had a wonderful lunch at a restaurant he recommended . On the way back he made an un scheduled stop at at the hotel and winery Marques de Riscal, which Frank Gehry designed, and we went into the hotel and had coffee there. We ended up with getting an extra hour of the tour. A wonderful guide and an extraordinary tour.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message