• USD ($)
  • English
You could be forgiven for forgetting you’re in Spain when you visit the Basque Country (País Vasco). Its green, mountainous interior and rugged coastline seem to have served as a buffer from the outside world over the centuries, allowing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

the guide's english was not as strong as it should be to effectively communicate

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed my excursion to the basque wine country. Old town Vitoria was interesting and our guide gave us lots of great information. We had to take a detour from the fast route to the wine region due to a road closure but our guide was able to find an alternate route that was very scenic. Unfortunately it made us late for our wine tour. However our guide convinced the winery to give us a tour anyway although I felt it was a bit rushed. I would have liked if we could visit more than one winery.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

loved the trip but not a good guide at all; ignored English speakers most of time and difficult to hear in back or understand with accent when he did speak English...would not have missed the countryside but need a different guide

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I really enjoyed the tour a lot. It was intensive but we saw fantastic views of the Cantabrian Sea, beautiful small towns and landscape. The guide - Jon, was very friendly and made it a great day for all of us.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A really good tour, could have spent more time in Biarritz but we had rain all day so maybe a good thing.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

The guide was very knowledgeable on our Basque Coast tour. One event on our tour was to visit the Castle of Burton. I talk to a representatives on two occasions about the castle visit because this was one of the highlights of the tour for me. On both occasions I was told that the castle was something that was accessible to get inside and tour for 45 minutes to an hour. I was told this twice. I am very disappointed about the misinformation I was given because one could only view the castle from the outside and the castle was even fenced off on the back side to keep visitors and distance away. The tour guide said this castle has been closed off for quite some time. The rest of the tour was very interesting but the main event for me was the castle and was very disappointing.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This is a must do tour when you are in the Basque Country. John was amazing, with a very friendly personality. If I do a tour again in this region, I will request for him personally. We saw some of the most amazing views one could ever imagine. The weather was also on our side. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Everything was great except the weather which was awful. Totally out of your control.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

It was an amazing experience specially when you have a nice,humorous but professional guide(Joan) to lead you .

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The trip was wonderful but unfortunately it rained. Nevertheless the guide was excellent and it was well worth going.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

The trip was advertised as in English but it turned out to be half English and half Spanish and the English portion was barely understandable. The itinerary was good and so was the restaurant suggestion. The driver was a careful one but should not be doing It in English. We did not get value and missed a lot.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Biarritz and San Sebastian are really so awesome to visit. The clear blue seas are superb! Seafood and wine are great. You should try pintxos, different kind of foods in small portions on a stick. We would love to go back. Our guide was great.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Not sure I would recommend this trip. There seemed to be more time spent driving than enjoying the destinations. For example. we were given 5 minutes to spend in Biarritz and then loaded back into the van.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

I can sum up the experience in one word.................
PATHETIC...We rode the bus to Biarritz where we were given about 5 min on the clock...The guide wasn't the best either..We ended up travellling for 6 hrs in the bus..

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message