• USD ($)
  • English
In a country renown for its fine wines, La Rioja is Spain’s most famous wine-producing region. Celebrated primarily for its exquisite reds, La Rioja is a must for lovers of the grape. Taking a tour of this lush region is a great way to learn about ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed my excursion to the basque wine country. Old town Vitoria was interesting and our guide gave us lots of great information. We had to take a detour from the fast route to the wine region due to a road closure but our guide was able to find an alternate route that was very scenic. Unfortunately it made us late for our wine tour. However our guide convinced the winery to give us a tour anyway although I felt it was a bit rushed. I would have liked if we could visit more than one winery.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Siobhan
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a lovely day in the Rioja region. The tour was informative and relaxed and the guide was very helpful, pleasant and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

A really interesting tour of the countryside that ended up at a local wine cellar (not a vineyard, the vines and grapes are a few miles away) with a wine tasting and opportunity to buy wine direct from the producers. Our tour guide was very friendly, knowledgeable and spoke good English. We stopped for both coffee and lunch at excellent locations that our guide recommended. If you are staying in Bilbao then this is a trip worth making.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

A good day trip to a scenic and historic area. The tour guide at the Fabiola Winery was great as was the history and wine itself. The tour guide for the day could have been a bit better at English and given more information, but the city of Laguardia is gorgeous and the valley of Rioja amazingly beautiful. I wish we could have had longer to explore the town. Overall, a good tour.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We expected to visit several wineries, but only visited one, which turned out ok because the whole day was really enjoyable! Vitoria was a visual treat and John's sense of humor made everyone have a good time. The visit to the winery was one more fun thing in a whole day of fun.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2010

Very disappointing and not up to the Viator standards we are used to. The tour guide (Teresa) did not speak English well enough and she did not have a very good understanding of the region. We packed in a tiny van and Teresa would shout out some tid bits of information as we drove to the different stops but if you were sitting in the back of the van you could not understand anything. After a while you stopped trying to listen because she had nothing to say that was of any interest. For lunch we were on our own as Teresa did not know anything about where to eat. We later found out from some others on the tour a good place for lunch but by then it was too late, we were leaving. The tour was suppose to last until 6:00 pm but she was speeding back to Bilbao and had us at our hotel by 5:00 pm. Very disappointing and not worth the money. The best part of the day was the winery tour and that was conducted by a very interesting and informed person working at the winery. Find a different tour organizer for Bilabo.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Paul J M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Fantastic Trip, fantastic guide! Vitoria and Laguardia were beautiful, as was the drive through the Rioja region and with it's breathtaking scenery, and the staff at Fabulista wine cellar were also very informative and friendly. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

This was an enjoyable day out from Bilbao. We had a good time, and the guide was great. We feel it would have been better to have a guided tour of the Santa Maria Cathedral than a visit to the card museum.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message