Spain’s Basque Country is filled with Michelin star-rated cuisine, surf-able coastlines, and sweet little pueblos worth a wander. Whether you head east or west along the Bay of Biscay coast, or south and inland toward La Rioja wine country, here are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It's good that the excursion schedule wasn't very strict: we could ask to spend more time somewhere or to stop somewhere for taking pictures at some picturesque place that was not in the plan.
We liked the idea of crossing the border in two different ways (by car and by boat). We also enjoyed beatiful viewpoints and landscapes of Basque Country, and of course our guide telling a lot of stories. We didn't get bored for a single minute of this journey!

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful day filled with beautiful scenery, winetasting and intersting information. Our guide Garaia gave us tons of interesting facts about the Basque country and people. He was very enthusiastic and funny!
Will definatly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful trip! Our guide, Garay, was both personable and knowledgeable. Vitoria and Laguardia were so beautiful. The wine tasting was very well done. We learned so much about the history of the Basque people and present customs. The fine print mentioned that the tour could be cancelled if there were not enough people. We were the only couple, but the tour went on-just as a private tour (at no extra charge).

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide, Garai, is superb! He is a native of the Basque region, has a university degree in tourism, and has traveled extensively worldwide -- so he is a highly competent and informative professional. Garai gave us a wealth of information about every place we visited, as well as answering all our many questions about life in the Bilbao area. IN the future we would book tours just to have him as a guide again!

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This is a must do tour when you are in the Basque Country. John was amazing, with a very friendly personality. If I do a tour again in this region, I will request for him personally. We saw some of the most amazing views one could ever imagine. The weather was also on our side. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Delightful tour guide, beautiful scenery ....what more is there to say. We love everything about Basque Country...will return again soon.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A great way to view the Basque Coast and have a winding drive through the mountains. Saw many little towns and fishing villages as well as visiting Gernika and seeing the assembly house there and the Picasso depiction of the bombing. Had a Pintxos stop as well. Our guide Gary was very knowledgable about the area and history and was very friendly.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed my excursion to the basque wine country. Old town Vitoria was interesting and our guide gave us lots of great information. We had to take a detour from the fast route to the wine region due to a road closure but our guide was able to find an alternate route that was very scenic. Unfortunately it made us late for our wine tour. However our guide convinced the winery to give us a tour anyway although I felt it was a bit rushed. I would have liked if we could visit more than one winery.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

This was an excellent way to get out into the Basque country side. The church in Oinati was so beautiful to be in such a small town. Teresa, our guide was good.

Doing what: Elorrio, Oinati and Arantzazu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

The guide was very knowledgeable on our Basque Coast tour. One event on our tour was to visit the Castle of Burton. I talk to a representatives on two occasions about the castle visit because this was one of the highlights of the tour for me. On both occasions I was told that the castle was something that was accessible to get inside and tour for 45 minutes to an hour. I was told this twice. I am very disappointed about the misinformation I was given because one could only view the castle from the outside and the castle was even fenced off on the back side to keep visitors and distance away. The tour guide said this castle has been closed off for quite some time. The rest of the tour was very interesting but the main event for me was the castle and was very disappointing.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message