Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 860 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must do tour when in Munich. Well organized and easy to find the meet up location at the train station. Comfortable train ride to and from Fussen and our guide Ollie provided us with interesting information and facts on the way to the castle and on the return trip. Had a nice lunch in Fussen before taking the carriage ride up to the castle. On the way down I took the bus. Just be prepared to walk up hill and to do stairs. Lots of stairs and walking on this tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Kelli L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Austin was incredibly informative and entertaining. The castle itself is very impressive, but even more so was Austin's history lesson before/after the castle. I will be ordering a book about Ludwig soon after being so enthralled with his story. Also - shout out to Austin's dad Larry. I hope you're still reading his reviews...you should be very proud of Austin!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Wendy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a lovely day! Olly was an excellent guide, very helpful and friendly, and allowed plenty of time to walk up the steep climb to the castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Elizabeth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An amazing experience in spite of the rain. Our guide Werner was fantastic and I learnt so much from him not just about the castle and its history but about Bavaria and all things Bavarian!!! A fabulous day out to be recommended,!,

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Roman E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Pros:
- Excellent tour guide outside the Castle
- Beautiful sights

Cons:
- Very regimented tour inside the Castle
- Dodging horse manure on the path to the castle

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Aiden was fabulous! The views are breathtaking! and the Castle is gorgeous!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

ALLISON M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I booked this tour the night before and I am so glad I did. I visited in early June, so the castle wasnt unbearably crowded. The train ride out to Fussen was amazing once the Alps come into view. What a sight! Our tour guide, Ollie, was absolutely hilarious and also very knowledgeable. The audio tour of the inside of the castle is optional, and is only 30 minutes. I would recommend it but its not a huge miss if you dont do it. The best part of the interior tour is the views from the balconies! Gorgeous! The small town at the bottom of the hill has an inexpensive restaurant that has great beer and curry wurst, as well as other more expensive restaurants. The bridge Marions bridge was closed, but no big deal.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Elise H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a day! The trip was very well coordinated and Austin our guide was amazing!! The train trip was easy and was the perfect amount of time at the castle. Would highly highly recommend this tour, definitely worth skipping the queue for this excellent day

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Miss Karen J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a really good trip: made extra special by our guide, Ollie, who was informative, fun and friendly and who made sure to look after every member of the group. As well as looking after all the logistics of our day and giving us information on the castle, he also took the time to help with our plans for the rest of our time in Munich.
Only drawback to the trip is that it is a long day to see one castle but that is a matter of personal choice.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great, and I highly recommend it. Our tour guide, Aidan, made it that much better. Without him, we wouldn't have known so much more of the history behind this castle had we gone on our own. There is a lot of walking as the castle sits high on a mountain, but the views along the way both by train and at the top of the castle are spectacular!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Roslinda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Ollie was fun, friendly, patient and knowledgeable about this tour. It was a beautiful sight and the climb to the castle was exhilarating although I was the slowest. It has been a unique experience. Ollie was generous to share not only about this tour but other information about Munich too.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Dirk M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great way to see the castle and the beautiful region on the way to the castle. Our guide was funny, helpful and informative.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Corey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely recommend this as a way to see Neushwanstein castle. We did not want to take a day tour as we were able to drive from Munich in our rental so did not need picked up. We met at the tour office and were greeted quickly and warmly. Amir, our tour guide, was fantastic. Very friendly and talked us through what we were seeing around the small town and the castle. We were handed off to a tour guide for the castle and were met promptly when we exited to continue our tour. Great experience and the group loved it. Thank you!!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

Ryan Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A beautiful and relaxing tour through the Bavarian countryside to a truly majestic fairytale castle. Petra was a wonderful tour guide that made the experience a smooth and comfortable one.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Aoife O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic day out! Used a full day of our trip in this but it was totally worth it! The tour guide was brilliant, an excellent combination of a guided tour with time for you to wander and explore the town yourself. We were completely blown away by the castle and its surroundings. Unbelievable value!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

JulesPureLife

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Extremely smooth process. So happy that we had a tour and a guide for this experience. What a beautiful spot. Warning to anyone with knee/ walking problems: there is a lot of walking and stairs on this tour. The castle is a 45min walk up a hill, but there is the possibility to pay 2 euros to go up by bus, and 3 euros to go down by horse-drawn carriage.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Hoi Lam N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour guide was very friendly and helpful. She provided a very detailed introduction of the castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

ourdakota

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour! Absolutely one of the highlights of our European vacation. Our guide Aidan was terrific! We thought the timing, information and scenery were spectacular. The tour was the right blend of alone time and time with the guide and group. Great because we got to enjoy the inside of the castle, but also got time to explore the grounds and take in the stunning views.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Parul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was very knowledgeable. He answered all queries and gave us good insight into the building of the castle and the famed king. Surely recommended when in Munich !!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Steven F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip and had an excellent guide called Anya who was very informative both knowledgeable about Neuschwanstein Castle and Bavarian history in general. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

ALEXANDR N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had an amazing tour to Neuschwanstein castle with our guide Ollie. Ollie is very helpful, nice and easy going person. He didn't let without attention any of the group members and told us many interesting facts and helpful information. This tour was a real pleasure for us and we can definitely recommend it for anyone who is looking for an interesting and well organized trip to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Jenny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great time. Everything was seamless. Our guide was fantastic and shared stories that even had my 10 yr old daughter getting into history. The castle and tour were stunning.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Megha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Castle and tour guide were amazing!! The tour guide gave us a history lesson on the way over. He also took us to a good view to photograph the castle. It was a magical time!!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Joseph F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was well organized. Our guide Austin was fun and insightful. Wish we had more time in the castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Benjamin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic tour guide, follow the flag worked a treat. Castle is a great place to visit and not too far from Munich. Lovely to go when there's snow around.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message