Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 705 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommend this tour! Austin was a great guide and was able to entertain and inform the group!
The castle and its surroundings is a must see!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The castle was beautiful, the train journey comfortable and the guide excellent. A brilliant day!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Keith was the best tour guide I've personally ever had. He is incredibly well versed on the history of the castle and much beyond.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

what a wonderful castle.
your trip made it so easy.
on the train to the castle off to the castle and back on the train
it was wonderful.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour. The train ride there and back is a little long but the scenery was great. The castle was fun and interesting as well as beautiful. Our guide had lots of great information but was very laid back.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I highly recommend this day trip. My girlfriend and I traveled here in early January. We had a great guide, Jeff, who gave us a history lesson on the 2 hour train ride each way. Also had a reserved bus at the train station that whisked us past the public busses that were very crowded and busy. You have to hike up a moderate hill 20-25 minutes to reach the castle. You have a 5 minute window on your ticket that you must meet to get in. If you miss your time you will NOT get in. Many people, outside our group, that casually walked up or rode the slow horse carriages missed their time and did not get in. Jeff was great at keeping us on schedule to make sure we all made our scheduled time. The tour at the castle is done but an employee of the castle. It was interesting. There is no lingering, they shuffle your group room to room and you are done in about 30 minutes. Walked down and had time for a beer at a cool shack in the town below. Easy transportation back. Highly recommend for the ease of the whole thing.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Vert nice tour, insiste the castle the tour last for 30 min. That's máme sad
Byt very fun.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Was suspicious of all the high reviews since I had never heard of Viator, but it was a great tour. Although it's cheaper to go on your own, when the trains broke down on the way there, Austin arranged a bus and got our ticket time changed. Bring headphones in case you get an audio guide at castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Was such a great day, had the loveliest tour guide who gave us advice on our dirndls during the trip as well as many fun facts about Munich, the festival and Neuschwanstein. Arrived at the bridge just as the sun came out and got some beautiful photos of the castle, was truly a magical experience, I can see why Disney liked it. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What is a trip to Munich without visiting Neuschwanstein Castle! Our Tour guide Carl was great and the ride to the castle could not have been better. He was very knowledgeable and catered the trip to our liking. I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Private Tour: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well worth the two hour train ride. The guide was an American living in Munich. He told much about the history of the castle as well as Ludwig II who had it built. The guide made sure all participants were together at the important times but gave a free rein to explore on our own.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Nicola was incredibly knowledgeable. She had a large group (so much for the small group) of about 40 people and the train was crowded so the opportunity to discuss the history of the area on our way there was limited. However - she did an incredible job of telling us about the area and King Ludwig on our walk up to the castle and was very personable and approachable.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful experience. There were only three couples plus our excellent guide Astrid; so it was like a private tour. Astrid was very knowledgeable, being from the area, and was most helpful, offering advice regarding the rest of our trip plans. I would love to go on another of her guided tours one day. Highly recommend this guided tour. We got in and out of the castles quickly and avoided the confusion of getting tickets, parking, etc. Also, the carriage ride was a pleasant experience. It was also nice having a stop at the beautiful church and having shopping time in Oberammergau. Although I am 60 years old and not in the best of shape, there was not too much walking for me. Just very brief stretches of challenging walk or stair climbing. All in all, a very good day.

Doing what: Bavaria Highlights Tour from Fuessen: Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Oberammergau and Hohenschwangau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic! The tour office in Munich was easy to find. The train ride through the alps was comfortable and beautiful. The castle was very impressive, as was the scenery. Our guide was excellent, very happy to answer any questions and is clearly passionate about this part of the world. He made sure we were all comfortable and had everything that we needed. We learnt a lot on this trip and look forward to returning to Neuschwanstein Castle in the future. A wonderful day all round. Thank you!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour exceeded all of my expectations. Our tour guide Austin was extremely knowlegeable and passionate about Ludwig II and the facts and speculations surrounding his life and the famous castle.

Highly recommend!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message