Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 840 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ryan Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A beautiful and relaxing tour through the Bavarian countryside to a truly majestic fairytale castle. Petra was a wonderful tour guide that made the experience a smooth and comfortable one.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Aoife O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic day out! Used a full day of our trip in this but it was totally worth it! The tour guide was brilliant, an excellent combination of a guided tour with time for you to wander and explore the town yourself. We were completely blown away by the castle and its surroundings. Unbelievable value!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

JulesPureLife

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Extremely smooth process. So happy that we had a tour and a guide for this experience. What a beautiful spot. Warning to anyone with knee/ walking problems: there is a lot of walking and stairs on this tour. The castle is a 45min walk up a hill, but there is the possibility to pay 2 euros to go up by bus, and 3 euros to go down by horse-drawn carriage.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Hoi Lam N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour guide was very friendly and helpful. She provided a very detailed introduction of the castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

ourdakota

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour! Absolutely one of the highlights of our European vacation. Our guide Aidan was terrific! We thought the timing, information and scenery were spectacular. The tour was the right blend of alone time and time with the guide and group. Great because we got to enjoy the inside of the castle, but also got time to explore the grounds and take in the stunning views.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Parul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was very knowledgeable. He answered all queries and gave us good insight into the building of the castle and the famed king. Surely recommended when in Munich !!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Steven F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip and had an excellent guide called Anya who was very informative both knowledgeable about Neuschwanstein Castle and Bavarian history in general. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

ALEXANDR N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had an amazing tour to Neuschwanstein castle with our guide Ollie. Ollie is very helpful, nice and easy going person. He didn't let without attention any of the group members and told us many interesting facts and helpful information. This tour was a real pleasure for us and we can definitely recommend it for anyone who is looking for an interesting and well organized trip to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Jenny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great time. Everything was seamless. Our guide was fantastic and shared stories that even had my 10 yr old daughter getting into history. The castle and tour were stunning.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Megha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Castle and tour guide were amazing!! The tour guide gave us a history lesson on the way over. He also took us to a good view to photograph the castle. It was a magical time!!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Joseph F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was well organized. Our guide Austin was fun and insightful. Wish we had more time in the castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Benjamin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic tour guide, follow the flag worked a treat. Castle is a great place to visit and not too far from Munich. Lovely to go when there's snow around.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Marc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We ran this tour on Wednesday December 16, 2015. The weather was cloudy, but we enjoyed the trip. The castle is magic and wonderful. Our guide Keith W. was American with a very good knowledge of the history of Germany and of Europe in general. The other participants were very sympathetic. We met people from Las Vegas, Australia, Russia and UK. Just one word : trip to be highly recommended !

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Stephanie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great day trip with a friendly and informative guide, Suzanne. Enjoyed the tour of the castle and the walk from the lake up the hill. Helped by sunny weather and blue sky. A memorable day.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Joan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were very happy with the tour and the guide. The castle did not disappoint but the lack of snow did, which is out of your control. Thank you for a top day.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Alexandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although the walking bridge viewpoint was under construction, our guide went the extra mile to take us to a private viewing spot that gave us a great view of the castle and some wonderful pictures! It was much easier to navigate the options to get to and from the castle with the tour guide's advice, and her commentary on the history of the castle's builder gave some great context to the visit. If you are thinking of visiting Neuschwanstein I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Sonja B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Not for the unfit or feint heartedlots of climbing and a long way back to the village. But what a spectacular setting. Our tour guide was knowledgable and very friends with lots of information about the castle and Munich generally. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Tim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour!!! Our tour guide, Sabina, did a great job providing us the history on our way to Schwangau and preparing us for the remainder of the tour. Once in Schwangau, we had time for lunch and then proceeded on the walk, thru town, up to the castle. Fortunately, the weather was absolutely perfect making the walk and sights much more enjoyable. The tour inside the castle was equally as stunning. Awesome to see all that history. Only downside was the look-over bridge was closed for renovation. Overall, highly recommended! Thank you again Sabina!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Steven B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. The Castle itself was amazing. Th train ride to and from was also very interesting, just to see so much of the German countryside. After a month, I don't recall our guides name, but he was informative and entertaining. Very knowledgeable about the Castle and King Ludwig.
The only disappointment was beyond his control, the Lake Mary bridge was closed so had to settle for a bit lesser views.
I would highly recommend this tour. Just be aware, it's a bit of an uphill hike from where the horse cart drops you and the entrance. Also, lots of stairs inside. But well worth the effort.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

lnschmitz48

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Austin, our guide, made King Ludwig come alive with his extensive knowledge of the man, this castle and the surrounding area. A must take tour!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Joanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was simply wonderful and our guide Yulanda i hope i spell correctly was really helpful and nice.

My friend and I enjoy the sight and also finally get to see the castle. An eye opener for me and my friend.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Melissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved it! So interesting, very well organized. The tour guide had a lot of knowledge not only on the castle but on Munich as well. Everything was taken care of for us. I strongly recommend it.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Ashley W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were very pleased with this tour. The train ride was a lovely way to get to the castle. Our guide Petra was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable and made an effort to get to know each of the travelers in our group. We were a bit surprised to learn that she would not be coming in to the castle with us, but the tour provided by the castle staff was very informative though a bit brief. The castle itself, and the surrounding grounds, are of course beautiful beyond words! Overall we had an excellent experience!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Sarah E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Austin was wonderfully well-informed, amusing, friendly, efficient and helpful. The castle is amazing and the surrounding landscape fun to explore. The company Radius, I think were extremely thoughtful and on a swelteringly hot day arranged a coach for us instead of the train which would have been an ordeal. All in all, a great experience.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Michael Kim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I've seen may photos on calendars and in magazines, but seeing the castle personally and the surrounding vistas was awesome. The views from the bridge and from inside the castle are spectacular.
Our tour guide Dallas, from Austin Texas, was very knowledgeable about the history of the castle and made the visit interesting. He also knew a lot about the local breweries in Munich which I greatly appreciated.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message