Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 690 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Was suspicious of all the high reviews since I had never heard of Viator, but it was a great tour. Although it's cheaper to go on your own, when the trains broke down on the way there, Austin arranged a bus and got our ticket time changed. Bring headphones in case you get an audio guide at castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Was such a great day, had the loveliest tour guide who gave us advice on our dirndls during the trip as well as many fun facts about Munich, the festival and Neuschwanstein. Arrived at the bridge just as the sun came out and got some beautiful photos of the castle, was truly a magical experience, I can see why Disney liked it. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What is a trip to Munich without visiting Neuschwanstein Castle! Our Tour guide Carl was great and the ride to the castle could not have been better. He was very knowledgeable and catered the trip to our liking. I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Private Tour: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Well worth the two hour train ride. The guide was an American living in Munich. He told much about the history of the castle as well as Ludwig II who had it built. The guide made sure all participants were together at the important times but gave a free rein to explore on our own.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Nicola was incredibly knowledgeable. She had a large group (so much for the small group) of about 40 people and the train was crowded so the opportunity to discuss the history of the area on our way there was limited. However - she did an incredible job of telling us about the area and King Ludwig on our walk up to the castle and was very personable and approachable.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful experience. There were only three couples plus our excellent guide Astrid; so it was like a private tour. Astrid was very knowledgeable, being from the area, and was most helpful, offering advice regarding the rest of our trip plans. I would love to go on another of her guided tours one day. Highly recommend this guided tour. We got in and out of the castles quickly and avoided the confusion of getting tickets, parking, etc. Also, the carriage ride was a pleasant experience. It was also nice having a stop at the beautiful church and having shopping time in Oberammergau. Although I am 60 years old and not in the best of shape, there was not too much walking for me. Just very brief stretches of challenging walk or stair climbing. All in all, a very good day.

Doing what: Bavaria Highlights Tour from Fuessen: Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Oberammergau and Hohenschwangau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic! The tour office in Munich was easy to find. The train ride through the alps was comfortable and beautiful. The castle was very impressive, as was the scenery. Our guide was excellent, very happy to answer any questions and is clearly passionate about this part of the world. He made sure we were all comfortable and had everything that we needed. We learnt a lot on this trip and look forward to returning to Neuschwanstein Castle in the future. A wonderful day all round. Thank you!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour exceeded all of my expectations. Our tour guide Austin was extremely knowlegeable and passionate about Ludwig II and the facts and speculations surrounding his life and the famous castle.

Highly recommend!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our driver, Karl, was teriffic. He picked us up in a beautiful S-class Mercedes and we were off an a grand adventure. His knowledge of the history of the castles and Ludwig II was exceptional. We even made a quick detour stop to an additional location along the way that added great background to our trip to the castles. Really outstanding in every way.

Doing what: Private Tour: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

To start, I must say that I had the most incredible tour guide! We had particularly challenging circumstances the day of my tour, but he was able to make everything go smoothly while allowing adequate time to see all of the various places. The tour guide was also incredibly knowledgable and a genuinely caring, sociable guy!
I will say that the tour within the castle was sort of disappointing; however, that has nothing to do with the tour company! That is strictly due to the regulations of the operators at the castle. I felt very rushed inside the castle for the tour, and it was evident that they were simply out to make money.
Contrary to not being able to see much inside the castle, the views from outside the castle made the day beyond worth the money. There were incredible views of the Bavarian Alps, and the view from the bridge overlooking the castle was breath-taking. I do 100% recommend this tour to anyone! I would make note that there is fairly rigorous hiking up the hill to the castle; however, there was a carriage that I believe was 4 euro for a ride up the hill. Additionally, if seeing the inside of the castle is your only desire, I would not recommend this tour, as we were only in the castle for 30 minutes more or less. If you are considering this tour, I absolutely recommend booking it through Viator! I have done multiple tours through Viator and have not yet had a poor experience; I have gotten my moneys worth, to say the least!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Listen, these people know what they are doing! It could not be easier or better really. You go to Munich Hbf and find their kiosk, guide takes you to the correct train, chill out on the train, get on a bus that takes you to another small bus to take you to the top! You definitely want to pay the 2 Euros to that bus driver! No waiting in que, guide hand delivered tickets...Castle is everything they say! Perfect amount of time for everything, definitely would recommend

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Lei
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour! the guide was knowledgable, had good story about the castle and answered all my questions. The bridge was beaultiful and the tour inside the castle was also great. Loved the hourse carriage ride. Everything was all good!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Beautiful castle. Spectacular views. Very friendly and nice guide. It was little bit difficult to find the radius tour office in the station.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Austin was awesome! Super funny and really engaged our group. The castle was amazing. The sun was shining, the leaves were turning color and we were in an amazing little German town. What is not to love??

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip to Fussen and Neuschwanstein Castle via train on Sept 29, 2014.. Beautiful scenery on our trip to Fussen and back to Munich. Austin was a great tour guide very funny and gave the history is an interesting way. Beautiful day too, clear blue skies and upper 70's. I would recommend this tour, ask for Austin!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message