Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 742 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

You can travel to the area and get to the castle on your own, but taking this tour made logistics SO much easier! I really appreciated the advance purchase ticket so I was guaranteed a spot in the castle that day. I can see why this is the most popular tourist sight in all of Germany. I'm just glad I was with someone who helped me navigate it so well. Our guide Austin was very charismatic and funny. Don't fuss with going on your own. Book the tour for the interesting historic information and the ease of travel!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome trip..not far from Munich. Beautiful countryside and castle. Tour guide is very accommodating and his instructions are clear. There are multiple methods to reach the top of mountain where the castle sits. Great views and scenery!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The bus direct to the castle was very convenient. The guides were very friendly and helpful. Petra and Austin were both very knowledgeable about Ludwig II and the castle itself, and made the tour very enjoyable. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

this tour Is a must. a great experience. what a fantastic view form the castle. loved it. our tour guide was also very friendly and we enjoyed a chilled beer with him after our castle tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My family and I loved this tour. Our tour guide was phenomenal. He was super professional and gracious. He took us to a non-touristy lunch spot where we could really experience the local cuisine. He went out of his way to make us comfortable and even bought my dad an ice cream when he discovered how much my dad loves ice cream. The castle tours were terrific. If I could give this tour six stars - I would. !!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice tour guide and convenience of not standing in line for tickets. Beautiful castle and countryside!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would not recommend seeing the castle inside however the hike up and the view are to die for! Our guide was fantastic and new a ton! I like asking and learning from others who are passionate about what they know!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Could not fault the trip arranged by Viator. Meeting place was clear, Tour Guides were very amiable, and knowledgable The Castle itself runs to a very strict timetable, and the guides made sure we were kept informed of times and logistics all the time. The travel system in Munich is very good and the train was fast and comfortable. My only gripe would be the rudeness of the tour guide in the castle, even denying was said on the pre-recorded tapes which were our only information inside the castle. Of course, this is nothing to do with Viator, and if it wasn't for our guide giving us a very informative story on the way there, we wouldn't really have known anything. If I could change anything about this trip I would take the Viator Tour Guide with me inside the castle and ditch the castles own guides.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Sublime! Our tour guide was an American guy, Austin - who was absolutely hilarious and friendly! The story behind the castle is very interesting indeed and the view is spectacular! Highly recommended! If possible, get Austin as your tour guide, he's very well organised and a lovely lad to boot!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour!
The alps and the castle itself are breathtakingly beautiful.
The guides were super enthusiastic about the castle and all the stories they told about it and Ludwig II of Baviera were fantastic.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We understood your tour to price included admission to castle. Jeff was an awesome tour guide! Disappointed in the approach to castle. Should ask if people have asthma or breathing problems. Too many children, could not hear the tour guide in the castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had the most enjoyable tour in a long time! Austin, our American guide was highly entertaining and informative, friendly and funny, captivating all of us with his interesting and lively story/history-telling. His knowledge of history and the Neuschwanstein castle, along with King Ludwig's story is amazing.

Booking this tour was absolutely the right choice because we got to skip the long bus and ticket queues up to the castle! Even during off-peak seasons, the queues can be really really long.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Tour guide was ver knowledgeable. The castle was simply stunning inside and out!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was awesome. Our guide, Austin, was an American bloke who has moved across to Germany. He was informative, friendly, funny and really approachable. Also he was really helpful. Not only did he have heaps of knowledge about Neuschwanstein and it's history, he also had good knowledge of Munich's town and his suggestion led to an awesome dinner and evening spent out and about it Munich. If you're going to see this castle, do yourself a favor and book this tour!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved the tour of the castle and the surrounding area. Ruth, our tour guide, was a wonderful source of information and history, and was especially enjoyable. The carriage ride was nice, however it was for the ride down, not up, to the castle. There is a good amount of walking uphill, which was fine for us, however, some tourists were not aware of this.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Nicole, tour guide, very knowledgeable about Ludwig and sympathetic to us who found the walk uphill challenging. We felt sorry for her regarding the effects of the train strike! Beautiful place, wish we'd had more time in the castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Completely helped with traveling from Munich to Neuschwanstein Castle. The tour guide was friendly and helpful. Would recommend anytime.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This trip was amazing. I really enjoyed the trip. The history of this castle, Schloss Neuschwanstein was interesting. People here in Bavaria really do worship him, King Ludwig. Thank you for a wonderful trip. The price was great.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Karl was a good guide. The castles are suitably incredible. Karl worked as a "fixer" on a number of occasions, navigating our way with ease. It's good to be with somebody who knows everyone there. Visiting this place could be a nightmare without a guide on a busy day, think about a personalized tour

Doing what: Private Tour: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Another fabulous tour and guide. We loved the castle and carriage ride up and down the mountain!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Just enough time to see the main sights, got to skip the line to the entrance of the castle and the the guide was very informative! Totally enjoyed it.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This wa an incredible tour and our guide shared a wealth of knowledge about the ruling family and castle. Te train ride offered spectacular views outside of Munich. Winter is an amazing time to see the castles, with snow it was quite the wonderland. This was a fairytale tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, out tour guide Keith was very personable and I left the trip very conent. The castle was an amazing and Keith made that experience possible. I would have felt very lost trying to plan the Neuschwanstein trip individually and going with a guide made the experience so much easier.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was great! Our guide Austin was very informative and did well considering he wasn't feeling 100%. He even gave us recommendations on where to find food after the tour was over. It was snowing at the castle so unfortunately we couldn't see the Alps but it was still beautiful. It's also too bad you're not allowed to take pictures inside the castle. This tour may be a bit more expensive than other similar tours but the extra ~$5 is well worth it since you don't have to wait in the line to buy the castle entrance ticket.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommend this tour! Austin was a great guide and was able to entertain and inform the group!
The castle and its surroundings is a must see!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message