• USD ($)
  • English

Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 539 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was an absolute highlight of our holiday to Munich. Our tour guide Craig was great, very engaging and made sure everyone in the group was included in chats and activities. The only notes I'd add to the tour description would be to wear good walking shoes (one gentleman in our group had dress shoes on which were a nightmare for walking uphill in the snow!), and for vegetarians to pack their own lunch.

The castle is beautiful, the tour is well organised and smoothly run. We had a fantastic day.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our visit to Neuschwanstein Castle was excellent. The small group tour was perfect for us. No big bus of dramas. We caught train to Fussen with tour guide giving us historical info along the way much to the delight of the other passengers.
Castle itself was fascinating. The view from the bridge was breathtaking. After viewing the castle, we were walking back down the hill with hot chocolate in hand, when it began to snow lightly. As we live in a tropical climate, we found it amazing.
Unfortunately, the group missed the usual train back to Munich, but we adjourned to nearby pub, to sample local beer and wait for next train.
Whole tour was fantastic. Delightful day.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

There were just four of us on the tour and we had a great guide. We liked how he gave us the history before we got to the castle. He explained the options of climbing the trail or taking the bus. The castle tour guide was hard to hear and there were a lot of people on the tour, but that was not in your control. We loved this tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Terrific experience from the time we met our guide Jeff to the moment we got back. Even on a grey day in the middle of winter, the castle is spectacular and the history so engaging.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour, very helpful tour guide. Pity we couldn't take photos in the castle!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed most of this tour. Our guide, Jeff, was entertaining, helpful and very knowledgeable. Again, unfortunately, this tour was oversubscribed and the train trip to and from Fussen was uncomfortable. The bus trip to and from the castle was even worse. Despite these issues, we had a very pleasant day mainly thanks to Jeff.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was Keith W. And he was so very nice and knowledgeable. I thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Neuschwanstein castle. The whole trip was very nice from beginning to end. Keith made sure everyone was having a good time and made a point to talk to everyone individually. You could see that he enjoyed his job and I am so happy that he was our guide. This tour was very professional and WELL worth the money.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was my favorite tour/activity of our trip. We went in December and the scenery and the castle were breathtaking. Our Radius tour guid Jeff was terrific. He was knowledgable and funny. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The visit at the Neuschwanstein Castle was the most beautiful thing that i did in Monaco.The castle looks really that of fables, and also the small village where it is located is very caratheristic.The scenary that you can admire from the castle leave you breathless. I should go on the bridge to admire the castle in its immensity,even if the path will be a little difficult and tiring, especially with the snow, you will enjoy the breathtaking view of all the effort will pay off!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide's were very passionate and informative about Neuschwanstein castle and other sites in the area.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a highlight of my trip to Munich. I really enjoyed the trip on the train with the guide who made us all feel welcomed and part of a group. Met some really lovely people while we traveled together. The scenery along the way was beautiful, as well as the views of the castle. Our guide, (I think he was Jeff) was very informative and made the information about the castle into a very interesting story, with cliffhangers at places to keep us wanting more at the next stop and a conclusion while on the train ride headed back to Munich! Would highly recommend this tour and tour guide!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a very well organized trip. Our tour guide, Roland, was a bit of an odd character but I found him very informative and entertaining. The train ride is beautiful and once we arrived, Roland took us to a small sausage cart for a cheap lunch before heading to the 2 castles. We only went inside Neuschwanstein, which like others have said, is a very short tour not put on by Viator, but by the castle itself. Still worth the visit in my opinion. Roland then took us up to Mary's Bridge (amazing!) and then we hiked…yes it was quite the hike…down into the gorge below where we walked back down into town. The views are incredible and I felt we got plenty of time in each place, however we did go in early November so it isn't as busy. I would highly recommend doing this tour. You could do it on your own but I don't think I would have learned as much nor would I have been able to find the great photo op spots on my own. Worth the money but wear good walking shoes as there is a TON of walking.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This is a really great tour! My friend and I considered doing this on our own from Munich, but after comparing costs, it was almost exactly the same, so we opted to let so done do all the "legwork" for us. Our guide, Roland, was knowledgeable, funny, and very gracious. As others have said, he makes a point of chatting with everyone on the trip on a more personal level, making it much more enjoyable.
The weather was perfect for a visit to a "fairy tale" castle; a little cloudy, with rays of sun poking through intermittently. But the views! Breathtaking! Literally; when you're up on the bridge overlooking the castle, the wind is pretty active.
This was one of the highlights of our visit to Munich, and I HIGHLY recommend this tour!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very well organized tour. Beautiful sights of Bavaria, the Alps and the Castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message