• USD ($)
  • English

Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 580 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An excellent tour. Definitely do the train instead of a huge bus. The castle itself is amazing, and my tour guide had very interesting stories about the art that was stored there during the war.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great day! Took all the guess work out of getting to the castles, tickets, entry and the history. Ian was a great guide. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We very much enjoyed the Neuchwanstein castle tour and recommend others.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our half day tour of Neuschwanstein castle was managed very well although a little bit more information on what was happening at each stopping point would have been nice. I guess the tour operators do this every day and expect the punters to know exactly what is expected at every stop. A minor quibble on what was a sensational tour to celebrate our sons's 8th birthday all the way from Australia. The castle interior was way better than I expected for a castle that was so shortly lived in.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome day trip, everything from the train, to time at the castle was well planned and at no time did we feel rushed. The castle is even more impressive in person along with the views. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a day trip outside of Munich

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide was helpful.
Having the trains and tickets all decided for me made it possible to make this visit. I was greatful.
Really enjoyed the castle as one of my highlights for this years trip.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The castle was magical! Our tour guide (Yolanda?) was simply fantastic--a great storyteller who made all of the historical facts really interesting. It's a bit of a climb to get to the castle, but well worth it. Incredible views!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour with special thanks to our guide, Felipe, who made the day.
He spent a lot of time on our train journey, explaining everything we needed to know about the area in which this beautiful castle is situated, to save time on arrival. We had plenty of time to take in the breathtaking scenery on route and also at our destination.
A choice of walking (2 routes), a bus ride or horse and cart were on offer to get to the castle at the top of the hill. The castle itself is amazing and well worth the pain or luxury dependant upon which mode of transport you take to get to the top...

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

One of your must see tourist attractions in Munich. It's a beautiful castle. Wasn't impressed too much with the inside but the view was fantastic outside.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, the castle was amazing, well organized

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Castle is amazing, its better yo take a tour since going there on your own is a bit of hussle. Our tour guide sadly was not very efficient, she was walkin too fast leaving the group behind, didbt give useful information. At some moments she was not even with the group. Location exc, guide poor

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was fascinating; it was interesting to see how the castle was constructed as well as the two finished floors. Our guide was a very competent, cheerful young woman---so sorry I did not write down her name---who was flexible, willing, and able to fill in the sparse tour information given by another inside-the-castle guide. The woman inside was competent, but did not go into much detail about the castle, including the fact that she neglected to mention that this castle was used by Hitler to store stolen art which was found by the Allies' Monuments Men, and was featured in the movie by the same title. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was wonderful! Our guide made us feel welcome and well taken care of. The train trip was relaxing and the castle was amazing. We enjoyed learning about the history of the area and the castle from our guide.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was fabulous. We took the train from Munich and enjoyed all the beautiful country side attractions leading up to the castles. The guide was absolutely brilliant when depicting the history of Neuschwanstein. I would recommend this tour to anyone looking to fill a day with excitement.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great day that provided a good 'taste' of the Bavarian countryside. The castle was amazing and of course, many 'wow' moments and photo opportunities. May is a good time to go as crowds are not great and colours are fantastic. You need to be alert re start of tour through the castle as it is very structured, precisely timed and we were busy clicking so missed the first few minutes for our group number. Had to run to catch up. Inside castle is only a quick tour. Otherwise excellent day had highly recommend.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message