Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 826 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Megha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Castle and tour guide were amazing!! The tour guide gave us a history lesson on the way over. He also took us to a good view to photograph the castle. It was a magical time!!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Joseph F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was well organized. Our guide Austin was fun and insightful. Wish we had more time in the castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Benjamin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic tour guide, follow the flag worked a treat. Castle is a great place to visit and not too far from Munich. Lovely to go when there's snow around.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Marc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We ran this tour on Wednesday December 16, 2015. The weather was cloudy, but we enjoyed the trip. The castle is magic and wonderful. Our guide Keith W. was American with a very good knowledge of the history of Germany and of Europe in general. The other participants were very sympathetic. We met people from Las Vegas, Australia, Russia and UK. Just one word : trip to be highly recommended !

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Stephanie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great day trip with a friendly and informative guide, Suzanne. Enjoyed the tour of the castle and the walk from the lake up the hill. Helped by sunny weather and blue sky. A memorable day.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Joan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were very happy with the tour and the guide. The castle did not disappoint but the lack of snow did, which is out of your control. Thank you for a top day.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Alexandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although the walking bridge viewpoint was under construction, our guide went the extra mile to take us to a private viewing spot that gave us a great view of the castle and some wonderful pictures! It was much easier to navigate the options to get to and from the castle with the tour guide's advice, and her commentary on the history of the castle's builder gave some great context to the visit. If you are thinking of visiting Neuschwanstein I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Sonja B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Not for the unfit or feint heartedlots of climbing and a long way back to the village. But what a spectacular setting. Our tour guide was knowledgable and very friends with lots of information about the castle and Munich generally. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Tim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour!!! Our tour guide, Sabina, did a great job providing us the history on our way to Schwangau and preparing us for the remainder of the tour. Once in Schwangau, we had time for lunch and then proceeded on the walk, thru town, up to the castle. Fortunately, the weather was absolutely perfect making the walk and sights much more enjoyable. The tour inside the castle was equally as stunning. Awesome to see all that history. Only downside was the look-over bridge was closed for renovation. Overall, highly recommended! Thank you again Sabina!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Steven B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. The Castle itself was amazing. Th train ride to and from was also very interesting, just to see so much of the German countryside. After a month, I don't recall our guides name, but he was informative and entertaining. Very knowledgeable about the Castle and King Ludwig.
The only disappointment was beyond his control, the Lake Mary bridge was closed so had to settle for a bit lesser views.
I would highly recommend this tour. Just be aware, it's a bit of an uphill hike from where the horse cart drops you and the entrance. Also, lots of stairs inside. But well worth the effort.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

lnschmitz48

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Austin, our guide, made King Ludwig come alive with his extensive knowledge of the man, this castle and the surrounding area. A must take tour!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Joanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was simply wonderful and our guide Yulanda i hope i spell correctly was really helpful and nice.

My friend and I enjoy the sight and also finally get to see the castle. An eye opener for me and my friend.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Melissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved it! So interesting, very well organized. The tour guide had a lot of knowledge not only on the castle but on Munich as well. Everything was taken care of for us. I strongly recommend it.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Ashley W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were very pleased with this tour. The train ride was a lovely way to get to the castle. Our guide Petra was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable and made an effort to get to know each of the travelers in our group. We were a bit surprised to learn that she would not be coming in to the castle with us, but the tour provided by the castle staff was very informative though a bit brief. The castle itself, and the surrounding grounds, are of course beautiful beyond words! Overall we had an excellent experience!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Sarah E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Austin was wonderfully well-informed, amusing, friendly, efficient and helpful. The castle is amazing and the surrounding landscape fun to explore. The company Radius, I think were extremely thoughtful and on a swelteringly hot day arranged a coach for us instead of the train which would have been an ordeal. All in all, a great experience.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Michael Kim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I've seen may photos on calendars and in magazines, but seeing the castle personally and the surrounding vistas was awesome. The views from the bridge and from inside the castle are spectacular.
Our tour guide Dallas, from Austin Texas, was very knowledgeable about the history of the castle and made the visit interesting. He also knew a lot about the local breweries in Munich which I greatly appreciated.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Arnaz Minoo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My mum and I booked this trip through the Viator website and the trip itself was a local operator . Our tour guide was Anya and she was spectacular! We had a really good time on the tour and on the way to the castle, Anya told us the whole history of the castle and King Ludwig and her English was perfect. She was hilarious, knowledgeable and very approachable if you had any questions about the castle or even Germany. Instead of the train we were sent by bus, which was probably a better idea because there was a huge influx of people into Munich. We walked our way up to the castle which was a bit extreme at the start but becomes gradual after the first 10 minutes. For those who cannot walk up, there is a little shuttle that can take you up for 2 euros Anya organised that for a couple of people in our group. The castle is beautiful, the village below the castle is really cute. You can also see the Hohenschwangau Castle from the same area but would have to pay for a separate entry fee to get into that castle. We paid 12 euros per person to do the Neuschwanstein Castle but the interior castle tour was extremely short maybe 20 25 minutes or less and you were not allowed to take photos. The trip was worth it but taking the additional tour would be dependent on the traveler. The interior was lovely however but maybe 12 euros is heaps for it. When you walk down from the castle, you can follow the road right to the bottom and land up at a beautiful lake which is very picture worthy! Overall we had a really good day and Anya was fantastic! :

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Alisha O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a good time on the tour. Instead of the train we were sent by bus, which was probably a better idea because there was a huge influx of people into Munich. The castle is beautiful, the village below the castle is really picturesque, and you can see what I seem to recall is Hohenschwangau Castle from the same area. I would, however, recommend skipping the interior castle tour. It was terribly short 15 minutes or less, an additional 12 euros per person, and pictures are not allowed. The trip was worth it without that additional tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Joe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

No surprises! Everything whet as promised. The guide met us on time and did a very good job. Excellent
English speaker with a lot of extra information about the area as we made our way to the castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Janet H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Anyafrom Radius was very informative and thorough. The castle tour was ok but Anya was the highlight.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

P J V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a fantastic tour with a great guide. The castle is high on the must see list. The surrounding is breathtaking. I cannot recommend this strongly enough.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Valerie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Roland gave us so much history. It was a lovely tour and the castle was amazing! I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Silvana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We went to the castle via coach, and our guide, Anya, gave us background information on Munich, the Oktoberfest Fest and Nieuschwanstein Castle. She was informative, friendly and chatty and we would recommend her and this tour. The castle was magnificent, as was the little town and surrounding countryside. Very happy with this tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful day trip to the castles with our guide Carl. He was quite knowledgable and got us there on time for the tour times for both castles that they had pre-arranged for us. We were very pleased as the lines of people waiting for tickets and for the public bus to get up part of the hill were very long and had we not done this tour, we would have taken some pictures and turned around and gone somewhere else for the day. Carl got us on a private bus up the hill, and had things timed so that we were able to see everything and have a quick lunch in town as well. We would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message