Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 610 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was awesome. Our guide, Austin, was funny and super knowledgable. After seeing the line to get tickets at the foot of mountain below the castle, I wouldn't hesitate to steer friends to this tour. Very well organized and simple. The castle is fascinating and the story of Ludwig and Wagner and the Munich leaders is pretty captivating. And, of course, the castle is stunning. Totally worth the day trip from Munich.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This guide really took good care of us! He had an excellent grasp of the history of the castle, presented some options for getting around once we got to the castle. I can't say enough about the skip the line tours, especially when you are traveling during high season.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The group was about 30 people... We had gone i guess during the peak season as we had to wait for nearly 30 mins for the bus to the castle. Bridge was extremely crowded and wobbly. Our guide Ian was nice. The castle and surrounding views are well worth the visit.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This has been the coolest part of my trip to Europe this time and my first trip 10 years ago. The bus company is subcontracted to haul people on the tour to Neuschwanstein. There was a slight miscommunication I believe with our original bus guide and it looked like the trip was going to be a bust. Once we figured out what the official agenda was and that we were on the right tour it completely 180'd. When we got to Neuschwanstein and realized that we had to check into the Muller Hotel the trip became highly recommended. The castles were amazing. Neuschwanstein is a must see if you stay there or not. I recommend going inside the castles at least once. Neuschwanstein looks like a Disney castle and is good for people of all ages. The Muller hotel was as good and hospitable hotel as I have stayed at. The staff deserves the highest rating. The double room also very cozy with the old German feel. We had enough time to check out the other castle the following day (Hohenschwangau) and take in the sights. The night we stayed we took a cab ride to Fussen which is a local smaller town with enough to do. I would stay at the Fussen again and could spend several days there. Everyone around town was also very accommodating. For the most part everyone speaks English and if you know the basics in German you should have no problem. The tour guide that took us back to Munich after the night stay was also very knowledgeable and had all of her ducks in a row. I think the poor experience with getting to Neuschwanstein was a complete fluke and do not expect repeat trouble for anyone else. I highly recommend this tour and would consider doing it when I make it back to Munich.

Doing what: Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This has been the coolest part of my trip to Europe this time and my first trip 10 years ago. The bus company is subcontracted to haul people on the tour to Neuschwanstein. There was a slight miscommunication I believe with our original bus guide and it looked like the trip was going to be a bust. Once we figured out what the official agenda was and that we were on the right tour it completely 180'd. When we got to Neuschwanstein and realized that we had to check into the Muller Hotel the trip became highly recommended. The castles were amazing. Neuschwanstein is a must see if you stay there or not. I recommend going inside the castles at least once. Neuschwanstein looks like a Disney castle and is good for people of all ages. The Muller hotel was as good and hospitable hotel as I have stayed at. The staff deserves the highest rating. The double room also very cozy with the old German feel. We had enough time to check out the other castle the following day (Hohenschwangau) and take in the sights. The night we stayed we took a cab ride to Fussen which is a local smaller town with enough to do. I would stay at the Fussen again and could spend several days there. Everyone around town was also very accommodating. For the most part everyone speaks English and if you know the basics in German you should have no problem. The tour guide that took us back to Munich after the night stay was also very knowledgeable and had all of her ducks in a row. I think the poor experience with getting to Neuschwanstein was a complete fluke and do not expect repeat trouble for anyone else. I highly recommend this tour and would consider doing it when I make it back to Munich.

Doing what: Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip and highly organised and knowledgable guide (Petr). Thoroughly recommend this tour for travellers who have not much time and/or no car as you can get to see a lot more of the Allgäu than you would if you were on public transport. As they organise the visit to the Neuschwanstein castle you avoid ALL the queues and traffic jams which could add several hours onto the visit when the interior castle tour itself is very short.

Doing what: Bavaria Highlights Tour from Fuessen: Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Oberammergau and Hohenschwangau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic and our tour guide, Caroline, was wonderful! Caroline was very prompt, extremely knowledgeable and was extremely helpful! Our tour of the amazing Neuschwanstein Castle was scheduled perfectly and ended exactly on time. The horse and buggy ride was delightful. Everything was perfect!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was wonderful to have someone walk us through how to get to Neuschwanstein from Munich - took a lot of the stress away! Our guide was an American who had moved to Germany, so his English was perfect. We got a lot more of the history with this tour then if we had just done the castle tour on our own. It was also nice not to have to wait in line. Apparently, some people wait in line all day and don't actually get into the castle! I highly recommend this if you are planning to go to Neuschwanstein!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I would highly recommend this tour. I found learning about the history of the castle and the surrounding area to be very interesting. This is an excellent day trip and should not be a sight to miss on if you are in the area of Munich. I had an excellent tour guide, Austin. Austin is a teacher from Texas. I enjoyed this area so much that instead of taking the train back to Munich, I booked a couple of nights at a hotel down the road from Neuschwanstein castle. Austin was an excellent tour guide and went above and beyond to make sure everyone was enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was Jeff who was very good, in fact we had met him on another Munich based walking tour some years ago so a real pro! this was my fourth visit to the castle over a number of years so I didn't learn anything new and you can easily read up on the Mad King from numerous guide books.
Yes you could do this yourself, but avoiding the booking office queue and the transfers to and from Fussen is worth the cost. Neuschwanstein is iconic and a must to visit but in my view it is the setting that makes this the # 1 attraction and I much prefer Linderhoff. Be warned, this attraction is very popular and the tour itself is run to a time slot leaving little time to really appreciate the interior.
Unless you are fit, take the bus up the track!
Yes there are other tours offering more as part of the trip but my advice would be to avoid as there is simply not enough time to fit everything in.

If you are in southern Germany you must do this trip at least once and if based in Munich this is the best way of doing it.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We enjoyed our tour to the castle from the train ride ,bus ride and meeting the other travelers on the tour. Diana gave good information when we were hiking up the gravel hill ( which was pretty strenuous) and made stops to tell more of the castle story. She kept the group together and interested. The group was larger than most of the other "small group" groups. I already recommended the tour to others.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour did not disappoint. I'm so glad I didn't try to find everything myself. The tour guide Austin was with us the whole time getting us on the right train. Then the right bus. Then we had a light lunch while he waited in line to get our tickets to Neuschwanstein Castle. He also arraigned a could passenger vans for us to bus us up to the bridge for the most awesome photos. So walked down to the castle from there and took the inside tour. There was not a lot of standing around. Things were timed perfectly by our tour guide. After the tour we walked down the paved trail to the town where we then caught the bus to the train station. I would have had a lot of anxiety if I'd planned this route by myself. It was a perfect day and we all really appreciated having Austin as our guide.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was one of our family's very favorite days on our recent trip.... It was the best way to see this beautiful and amazing castle. Our guide, Austin, really made it even better.... he was full of such interesting information plus fun and relaxed. Thanks!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Transport was comfortable and on time. Tour of the castle was excellent.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was totally AMAZING. I loved the castle. It was everything I wanted it to.be!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message