Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 759 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Austin was awesome! There is a good bit of travel just getting from Munich to Neuschwanstein and back. It gives you lots of time to spend with your guide. Our guide was not only knowledgeable, he was entertaining and nice. Austin provided helpful with hints for enjoying Munich and our time at the castle. We learned a great deal about the King, his construction projects, his life and his death. ASK for AUSTIN!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I am very happy with the tour. The guide was punctual and nice. He clearly explained the tour to me as well as provided me with an overall view of the castles, their history and surrounding areas. His Spanish was very good. His suggestions about restaurants were helpful and good

Doing what: Private Tour: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were a little concerned at first because this tour had somehow become overbooked, and we were asked if we could change our prepaid tickets to a different day when we checked in which we were not able to do. The staff was asking everyone and must have found someone able to change his or her booking. That was the only blemish on an otherwise PERFECT tour. Because of the size of the group it was not small, Viator hired an air-conditioned motorcoach to take us to and from the castle's village where we then boarded the local tram/bus to Neuschwanstein castle for those of us who did not want to walk up the hill from the village to the castle. While we were prepared to take the regional train to the town, the motorcoach was extremely comfortable, and we could all hear the great information that our tour guide told us during the drive. Our tour guide, Anya, was knowledgeable and very nice. She also did a great job in making sure she knew where every member of her group was during the castle visit which was not an easy task, as well as directing us to a lunch place that was reasonably-priced and fast. My daughter, husband, and I were all happy with this tour experience. It was money well-spent.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a fabulous guide who gave us background information as we walked up to the castle! Greatly appreciated havering all the transportation prearranged.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour, excellent tour guide. Austin from Dallas, TX was knowledgeable, entertaining, and great at getting us where we needed to be at exactly the right time to avoid lines and crowds! The tour makes it very effortless to see Neuschwanstein! No arranging transport from Munich to Fussen or from the train in Fussen to the castle. The castle tour is well worth the entrance fee! Thank you, Austin,for a great day!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a super day. I initially booked because I was too late to book directly at the castle. I am very glad that we did. It was a very enjoyable day trip, well-organized, comfortable, and convenient, and our guide --Austin-- was super!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This company made this full day easy and efficient. My tour guide Austin had a great sense of humor to make the history of the castle and monarchy informative and fun. The train ride out though long was great to see the countryside and chat with other tour members -- great way to find out about other people's travels and culture. Be sure to pick up a sandwich/lunch to take with you and bring coins for paying the bathroom monitor a pain in Europe!. Austin arranged for us to take a bus to the top to save our energy it is quite steep on the way up, lovely stroll on the way down. The castle is definitely a fairytale adventure, the tour was excellent and free time was the right amount. Wear comfy shoes for sure!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite a problem with the train we had an excellent day. Anya was extremely helpful and informative. The other people on the tour seemed to enjoy themselves as well and we had glorious weather. Such an amazing castle. Thank you for a great day.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

You can travel to the area and get to the castle on your own, but taking this tour made logistics SO much easier! I really appreciated the advance purchase ticket so I was guaranteed a spot in the castle that day. I can see why this is the most popular tourist sight in all of Germany. I'm just glad I was with someone who helped me navigate it so well. Our guide Austin was very charismatic and funny. Don't fuss with going on your own. Book the tour for the interesting historic information and the ease of travel!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome trip..not far from Munich. Beautiful countryside and castle. Tour guide is very accommodating and his instructions are clear. There are multiple methods to reach the top of mountain where the castle sits. Great views and scenery!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The bus direct to the castle was very convenient. The guides were very friendly and helpful. Petra and Austin were both very knowledgeable about Ludwig II and the castle itself, and made the tour very enjoyable. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

this tour Is a must. a great experience. what a fantastic view form the castle. loved it. our tour guide was also very friendly and we enjoyed a chilled beer with him after our castle tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My family and I loved this tour. Our tour guide was phenomenal. He was super professional and gracious. He took us to a non-touristy lunch spot where we could really experience the local cuisine. He went out of his way to make us comfortable and even bought my dad an ice cream when he discovered how much my dad loves ice cream. The castle tours were terrific. If I could give this tour six stars - I would. !!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice tour guide and convenience of not standing in line for tickets. Beautiful castle and countryside!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would not recommend seeing the castle inside however the hike up and the view are to die for! Our guide was fantastic and new a ton! I like asking and learning from others who are passionate about what they know!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Could not fault the trip arranged by Viator. Meeting place was clear, Tour Guides were very amiable, and knowledgable The Castle itself runs to a very strict timetable, and the guides made sure we were kept informed of times and logistics all the time. The travel system in Munich is very good and the train was fast and comfortable. My only gripe would be the rudeness of the tour guide in the castle, even denying was said on the pre-recorded tapes which were our only information inside the castle. Of course, this is nothing to do with Viator, and if it wasn't for our guide giving us a very informative story on the way there, we wouldn't really have known anything. If I could change anything about this trip I would take the Viator Tour Guide with me inside the castle and ditch the castles own guides.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Sublime! Our tour guide was an American guy, Austin - who was absolutely hilarious and friendly! The story behind the castle is very interesting indeed and the view is spectacular! Highly recommended! If possible, get Austin as your tour guide, he's very well organised and a lovely lad to boot!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour!
The alps and the castle itself are breathtakingly beautiful.
The guides were super enthusiastic about the castle and all the stories they told about it and Ludwig II of Baviera were fantastic.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We understood your tour to price included admission to castle. Jeff was an awesome tour guide! Disappointed in the approach to castle. Should ask if people have asthma or breathing problems. Too many children, could not hear the tour guide in the castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had the most enjoyable tour in a long time! Austin, our American guide was highly entertaining and informative, friendly and funny, captivating all of us with his interesting and lively story/history-telling. His knowledge of history and the Neuschwanstein castle, along with King Ludwig's story is amazing.

Booking this tour was absolutely the right choice because we got to skip the long bus and ticket queues up to the castle! Even during off-peak seasons, the queues can be really really long.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Tour guide was ver knowledgeable. The castle was simply stunning inside and out!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was awesome. Our guide, Austin, was an American bloke who has moved across to Germany. He was informative, friendly, funny and really approachable. Also he was really helpful. Not only did he have heaps of knowledge about Neuschwanstein and it's history, he also had good knowledge of Munich's town and his suggestion led to an awesome dinner and evening spent out and about it Munich. If you're going to see this castle, do yourself a favor and book this tour!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved the tour of the castle and the surrounding area. Ruth, our tour guide, was a wonderful source of information and history, and was especially enjoyable. The carriage ride was nice, however it was for the ride down, not up, to the castle. There is a good amount of walking uphill, which was fine for us, however, some tourists were not aware of this.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Nicole, tour guide, very knowledgeable about Ludwig and sympathetic to us who found the walk uphill challenging. We felt sorry for her regarding the effects of the train strike! Beautiful place, wish we'd had more time in the castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Completely helped with traveling from Munich to Neuschwanstein Castle. The tour guide was friendly and helpful. Would recommend anytime.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message