Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 713 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This trip was amazing. I really enjoyed the trip. The history of this castle, Schloss Neuschwanstein was interesting. People here in Bavaria really do worship him, King Ludwig. Thank you for a wonderful trip. The price was great.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Karl was a good guide. The castles are suitably incredible. Karl worked as a "fixer" on a number of occasions, navigating our way with ease. It's good to be with somebody who knows everyone there. Visiting this place could be a nightmare without a guide on a busy day, think about a personalized tour

Doing what: Private Tour: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Another fabulous tour and guide. We loved the castle and carriage ride up and down the mountain!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Just enough time to see the main sights, got to skip the line to the entrance of the castle and the the guide was very informative! Totally enjoyed it.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This wa an incredible tour and our guide shared a wealth of knowledge about the ruling family and castle. Te train ride offered spectacular views outside of Munich. Winter is an amazing time to see the castles, with snow it was quite the wonderland. This was a fairytale tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, out tour guide Keith was very personable and I left the trip very conent. The castle was an amazing and Keith made that experience possible. I would have felt very lost trying to plan the Neuschwanstein trip individually and going with a guide made the experience so much easier.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was great! Our guide Austin was very informative and did well considering he wasn't feeling 100%. He even gave us recommendations on where to find food after the tour was over. It was snowing at the castle so unfortunately we couldn't see the Alps but it was still beautiful. It's also too bad you're not allowed to take pictures inside the castle. This tour may be a bit more expensive than other similar tours but the extra ~$5 is well worth it since you don't have to wait in the line to buy the castle entrance ticket.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommend this tour! Austin was a great guide and was able to entertain and inform the group!
The castle and its surroundings is a must see!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The castle was beautiful, the train journey comfortable and the guide excellent. A brilliant day!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Keith was the best tour guide I've personally ever had. He is incredibly well versed on the history of the castle and much beyond.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

what a wonderful castle.
your trip made it so easy.
on the train to the castle off to the castle and back on the train
it was wonderful.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour. The train ride there and back is a little long but the scenery was great. The castle was fun and interesting as well as beautiful. Our guide had lots of great information but was very laid back.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I highly recommend this day trip. My girlfriend and I traveled here in early January. We had a great guide, Jeff, who gave us a history lesson on the 2 hour train ride each way. Also had a reserved bus at the train station that whisked us past the public busses that were very crowded and busy. You have to hike up a moderate hill 20-25 minutes to reach the castle. You have a 5 minute window on your ticket that you must meet to get in. If you miss your time you will NOT get in. Many people, outside our group, that casually walked up or rode the slow horse carriages missed their time and did not get in. Jeff was great at keeping us on schedule to make sure we all made our scheduled time. The tour at the castle is done but an employee of the castle. It was interesting. There is no lingering, they shuffle your group room to room and you are done in about 30 minutes. Walked down and had time for a beer at a cool shack in the town below. Easy transportation back. Highly recommend for the ease of the whole thing.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Vert nice tour, insiste the castle the tour last for 30 min. That's máme sad
Byt very fun.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Was suspicious of all the high reviews since I had never heard of Viator, but it was a great tour. Although it's cheaper to go on your own, when the trains broke down on the way there, Austin arranged a bus and got our ticket time changed. Bring headphones in case you get an audio guide at castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message