Few cities are as evocative of Germany’s contrasts as Nuremberg (or Nurnberg) and the second largest city in Bavaria is as famous for its toy shops and gingerbread, as it is for its prominent role in the WWII Nazi war efforts.  By the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 255 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide very knowledgeable about everything. Engaged with all participants. Outstanding.

Doing what: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds and Old Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Part of what makes a walking tour great is the personality of the tour guide, and Jason was entertaining, educated, informative, and helpful. I learned so much about Nuremberg -- past empires, dark history, and present-day.

Doing what: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds and Old Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was very informative and enjoyable. Our guide made it very interesting. I would not hesitate to recommend this tour.

Doing what: Nuremberg Old Town Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Although it was a rainey day in Nuremburg our walking tour with Jason was fantastic! He was very knowledgeable and engaging. He flexed our tour a bit to include the Nuremburg courtroom / trials location which was an uplanned bonus. Great day!

Doing what: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds and Old Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely loved this tour! The town is charming and full of history that we did not know anything about. We had an Americsn tour guide, Jason, who was awesome!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended !!!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

first time visited Nuremberg we joined the day trip. Keith was our tour guide. His experience and very professional . We enjoyed the trip .

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We went on the Nuremberg day tour on Saturday 30.06.15. We had an amazing time and our tour guide Keith was great. He shared his knowledge freely and made sure each person's questions were answered.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a dream trip from Munich. Having just four of us on the tour was a plus - all bonded well. But it was our guide Jeff who really made the journey memorable by understanding what all of us wanted. As we four were all into history and WW2, he tailor-made and tweaked the trip on the spot to suit us. The result was a beautiful day visit to old Nuremberg and after that the Nazi rally grounds, Documentation Centre and even the Nuremberg Trial Room Warning: The court is still used and you can't see it if there's a hearing in session. Jeff warned us about that but we were lucky to find it empty. The Trial Room and the Nazi Documentation Centre cost us 5 euros extra each but it was worth it to see how things were then the exhibits/museums are excellent and, hence, a must visit. We also got to ride on all forms of transport on this visit -- the train from Munich, the Nuremberg underground, a tram and even the local bus -- all taken care of by Jeff. A wonderful day to say the least!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The train ride to Nuremberg was relaxing and our tour guide Keith was fantastic! He is an American who has lived in Germany for 14 years and VERY knowledgeable on everything we threw at him and we thoroughly enjoyed his company. He even gave us recommendations on some places in Munich to check out and he was spot on. Thanks Keith!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very interesting tour, our tour guide was so informative, never knew this history that he shared on the Nazi regime, how they controlled so many things.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Jason is an American who lives in Germany. His knowledge of Nuremberg and the Nazi Party rally grounds is exceptional. Anyone going to Nuremberg needs to be on a tour with Jason to gain an appreciation for the town of Nuremberg and what happened at the Nazi Party Rally grounds.

Doing what: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds and Old Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was excellent. Jason, our guide, extremely knowledgeable on Nuremburg and WWII. We thoroughly enjoy it!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were so glad we booked this tour. Everyone was very friendly. Sabri was a wonderful guide, and we learned so much more than we would have exploring on our own. The tour was well organized.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic day trip! Loved the history. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very experienced and knowledgeable guide, good mix of organised and free time. Timing about right for a day out, train journey very comfortable.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Keith was a fantastic guide who knew so much history and was engaging and willing to take some of us to the courts of Nuremberg trials. He made the tour and the time went too quickly.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Briiliant - our Guide was great, friendly, very knowledgable, respectful of all members of our party, and always conscious of the need of some members to catch a train.
I asked about the War trial Court rooms, and AFTER the tour ended on his own time he went out of his way to take us to the court rooms.

Doing what: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds and Old Town Tour

Chas
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Achim, was great. Intelligent discussion, especially about the Nazi past. The most difficult part of the tour, was the cold weather. There were not many sheltered places to stop and talk, so most of it was outside. First two hours was old town Nuremberg, and disappointing to my wife was that although we got to see the Durer house, and the imperial castle, it was walking around outside these, and not going in, but for me, this was a great way to get my bearings so we could spend the next day doing these in depth. For example,the Durer house museum took 1-2 hours, itself. Lunch was at the excellent Bratwursthustle, quick and so good we went back again the next day. The sauerkraut was the best we have ever had, and the special Nurnberg brats were outstanding. Quick public bus ride to the Nazi Party Rally Grounds was easy, but by then the temperature dropped even more, and the wind picked up, and the guide suggested it was "too bloody cold" to take the walking tour of the 22 acre site, and not one person protested. Instead, after a quick walking tour of the unfinished Congress hall, we then went to the Documentation Center museum on the grounds. Unlike the boring sounding name, this was one of the best museums we had been in ever, clearly documenting the rise of the Nazi party, and its consequences. The architecture was outstanding and emotional, especially the long dark tunnel/bridge to exit. It really was like coming back from immersion in a different time to present day. Achim provided excellent commentary and some in depth philosophical discussion during quiet times as we rode the tram back to Hauptbanhof (central railroad station).

And his Lebkuchen shop stop near the Albrecht Durer hotel did prove to be a good one. We compared them to others available at the ChristKindlesMarkt, and the bakery fresh ones really were very good.

Doing what: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds and Old Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an incredible trip and day in Nuremberg. Our check-in, meeting, and departure were very easy and we were well informed on how the day would unfold. Our time in Nuremberg while seeing the numerous WWII sites, mixed with the beauty and charm of the city, were a perfect combination. Our guide, Keith, has a vast knowledge of the city, and incredible insight regarding WWII history. He also has a very pleasant and kind demeanor in shepherding the group with a pace that worked for everyone. I would highly recommend this trip and look forward to others offered through Viator.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent trip on the train to and from Nuremberg - a good way to go from Munich. The guide was very good - taking time to meet and talk to each member of the group. The walking part of the trip was very informative and we enjoyed walking round the city.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and tour guide Keith was really infiormative.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic day made so by the excellent guide

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an amazing trip, and our tour guide was outstanding!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message