The small mountain village of Oberammergau, tucked away in the Ammergau Alps on the Austrian border, has secured a place for itself on the Bavarian tourist trail, thanks to its legendary Passion Play.  A tradition dating back to 1634, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 280 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

iswanto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

First of all, the booking choice and process of 4 consecutive day-trips via Viator was easy and convenient. Having read the previous reviews, all the guides seemed to have a very good knowledge of the history and professional in conducting the tour, so was ours. Markus guide and Markus coach driver were 5 stars in taking and guiding us to 3 different locations, Oberammergau, Neuschwantein and Linderhof, timing was just perfect.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Kristopher K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My friend and I had a blast on this tour. Our tour guides were fantastic. They were informative and entertaining. The trip to the castle was smooth and we also got to visit the beautiful Bavarian town of Oberammergau. I would recommend this trip to others.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Munich with Optional Hohenschwangau Castle Visit or Bike Tour

Cynthia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although it was a drizzly day, our trip was on time and the guide's cheerful attitude made the whole day worthwhile. This tour visits 3 sites - Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein.
The stop at Oberammergau was a quick on-off -run-shop stop...but it was interesting to hear about the Passion Play and the region.
The tours at Linderhof and Neuschwanstein were very interesting. Just a note that the entrance fees are NOT included in the Viator reservation - I think it was an additional 23 euros.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Chris M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a great tour that I would recommend for those who have never explored the 3 locations that you visit: Linderhof palace, Oberammergau town location of the Passion Play, and of course Neuschwanstein, the dream-medieveal castle built by King Ludwig II that inspired the Disney castle. Linderhof palace is a beautiful retreat home built by Ludwig II set back into the mountains on extensive garden grounds near Oberammergau. Linderhof is done in the style of Versailles and is truly visually magnificient and over the top!. I would recommend taking the long walk up to the castle Neuschwanstein, as the walk is full of sights both up to the castle and down across the valley that it overlooks. Taking the horse buggy or bus does not save you from having to walk, so you might as well enjoy it! Unfortunately, like many multi-site tours, it felt like not much time was given to each location. One only has about an hour for Linderhof and Oberammergau each, with the rest of the trip being dedicated to Neuschwanstein and getting to and from locations. While this is ok for a first-time visit to these locations, anyone looking to really dig deep into each one should set out and explore on their own.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Lisa J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A must to see! Our group kicked off and headed to Linderhof Castle for a scenic tour of this smaller castle, then to Oberammergau for time to touring and end at Neuschwanstein. Francesca was fabulous with suggestions to see or do at locations and full of information! We had a GORGEOUS day of weather and so the views were spectacular from the castles. The only drawback was Marien's Bridge Marienbrucke closed for repairs. Still the views are wonderful and well worth the time to visit!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Yvonne Yat May S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The luxury coach is really comfortable and it was really a small-group tour 8 of us. By virtue of the small group which made us agile, the tour guide made a quick stop at Oberammergau which was a BIG bonus. It would be better still if our tour guide could lead a quick walking tour around Oberammergau as we were kind of lost and unsure of the directions. Overall was a pleasant experience especially experiencing winter wonderland during this trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Dorothy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour and excellent guide. The day was packed, but the pace was good. We had ample time to view both castles. I highly recommend visiting the castles through a tour group to avoid ticket and entry disappointment.
Oberammergau was also a charming little town. Unfortunately, the day we visited was a holiday, so everything was closed, but the shop windows were all very interesting and the history provided by the guide was as well.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyable trip to visit the castles at Neuschwanstein and Linderhof with a stop at Oberammergau. Our tour guide was outstanding and we enjoyed all three stops. The castles are amazing, and the highlight of our time in Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The small tour bus was the most luxurious bus we have ever been on. 25 large swivel chairs made the 12 hour trip very enjoyable and comfortable

The tour director and bus driver were very knowledgeable of the area of Germany we traveled through.
Neuschwanstein and Schwangau castles is in a beautiful area of the Alps The history behind the castles are very interesting. We had plenty of time to explore the area. The tour guide had tickets for our tour of the Neauschwanstein castle at an appointed time.

There was a nice stop at Oberammergau for lunch, snack or shopping. It is a cute little village in The Alps.
The final stop was at Linderhoff Palace. The palace tour is beautiful from the interior rooms to the exterior statues and fountains.

On the ride back we were treated to wine and beer to enjoy while we drove back to Munich.
If I have the chance to take a small group tour again I will The additional cost is definitely worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

jwjoycej

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It is a lot to take in one day, but we knew we only had one day to see the castles. This is a great highlight tour. Our guide was very good. Wish we had time to see the blue grotto and a bit more shopping in Oberammergau. It was a large tour group, but it worked out fine. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Maurice F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great day visiting the Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles, and we had a very informative and experienced tour guide named Sofie and bus driver named Sam. Sofie shared many interesting facts along the way and provided good advice and directions. We had a great experience! The stop in the town of Oberammergau was also nice with souvenir shops and decorated homes.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Joy.M D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good day, thoroughly enjoyed it, except our time at Oberammergau was much to short. Our guide was a lovely lady and very helpful. The climb to the Neuschwanstein Castle is not for everybody, with a long walk up and then many steps up into the castle and rooms.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

voget United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great day visiting the castles and we had a very informative and experienced guide named Elizabeth. She made sure that everyone was comfortable, clear on directions and she clearly loves the area and shares many interesting facts along the way. The bus trip was comfortable and we had a great experience! The stop in Oberammergau was a treat, too!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jie Lin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great trip, everything was super punctual and on time. Picked up from the Karsdat department store in Munich and left promptly at 8.30, Lindenhof was first and even though it was a hot day, the air conditioned bus was a nice reprieve. A little ice cream and coffeebreak in Oberammergau, I would suggest getting your touristy German souvenirs here, they were much cheaper than those in Munich and better quality. Especially the beer steins. Also tax free!
Then off to Neuschwanstein. First Lunch, We chose to walk up the hill even though it was blistering hot. Everyone else was in t-shirts and shorts, and here I am as the girl who chose to wear woollen skirts and a corset with a long haired wig prancing around as Sleeping Beauty to visit the sleeping Beauty castle.
Great fun though! Spend the time going up to Mary's Bridge to take photos.
The interior of Linderhof is more impressive than Neuschwanstein, but they both have their charms.
Then ran for the bus so we can get home. Even with traffic we got back at around 7pm in Munich. Great day.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Steven R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Elizabeth gave a great tour to the castles and kept everything on schedule and was full of information. Linderhof is the small hunting palace of the eccentric King Ludwig II. It was beautiful and the inside tour was short but informative. Very nice walk around the grounds.
Short stop at Oberammergau for cappuccino and apple strudel was fun and a nice break.
Neuschwanstein Castle was beyond imagination. The city where you start was very busy and it is a hike to the castle. We took the bus up to the bridge and then hiked up above Mary's bridge. The bridge will be closed for repair soon.
Alexander did a great job driving thru the small streets.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a day. ,out of this world. Amazing scenery through the. Great tours. Loved our pit stop in Oberammergau giving us time for ice-cream on a very hot day. Plenty time at each stop to explore and the advice given by our amazing guide was fantastic. Lots of interesting history of the area given by the tour guide during the very comfortable bus journey to and from Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

myk_11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Bavarian country side was such a beauty to behold. Winding roads, lush green fields, tall trees, massive mountains everything added to the charm of this place. Our first stop was palace Linderhof, which had stunning landscapes. Second stop was the charming old town of Oberammergau with its painted houses and famous wood works. Via the Romantic road, we reached our final destination The Neuschwanstein Castle, such a secluded and stunning piece of work. Our tour guide was so very informative not just about the tour but Munich in general. The coach was very comfortable with push-back seats, toilet, refreshments, TV, luggage stowing and an upper deck for better views. Very much recommended and worth the money.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Debbie Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This small group tour was lovely - so much nicer than tours involving a double decker bus full of people. We had a delightful guide Franziska who was well informed and interesting and who, with her lovely gentle voice, was a pleasure to listen to. The castles were definitely worth the visit and we also enjoyed the time spent in the gorgeous town of Oberammergau was also very worthwhile. Everything ran smoothly during the day and we felt spoilt by our lovely guide and driver.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Konacallahans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent time touring Neuschwanstein, Oberammergau, and Linderhof. Christine was a fabulous tour guide and the luxury coach was well worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant day trip to the castles , informative and witty tour guide Maria.
Comfortable double decker air condition coach.
Excellent driver , cheap cold beer and water on board.
Couldn't have imagined trip to be any better ... Though would have liked longer at Linderhof to look round gardens and also would have preferred to take lunch at Obergmau passion play village!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Kim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day! Our guide, Franceska was extremely informative and personally saw to the needs of everyone in the group. The benefits of a small group meant virtually no waiting in queues, 'no hassel' meeting times and a genuinely social and relaxed atmosphere. The palaces were well worth the visit and Oberammergau was stunning, agreed more time there would have been great. The bus was a dream . . . single recliner seats with plenty of space, snacks and drinks available at all times. A most pleasurable Sunday Franceska and Elfrieda, our bus driver. The best tour of my five week trip to Europe.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Edward G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I believe the tour guide's name was Christine. She was excellent. Linderhof is amazing and the landscaped grounds awesome. Oberammergau stop was way to short. However, Neuschwanstein was stunningly beautiful! Make sure you go to Mary's Bridge for the incredible view.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Leticia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guided tour, amazing castles plus a quick stop in Oberammergau, so beautiful!
I'll highly recommend it, you just give her the fee and the guide takes care of buying your entrance tickets, no lines and on time. Nice and clean bus.
Mother and daughter unforgettable day trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jeanneen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. Wish we could have spent more time in Oberammergau

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Wendy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed this excursion very much. The weather was kind to us which helped and our guide, Ursula was engaging and knowledgable. Be aware that the walk up to Neuschwanstein is hard work and took us about 30 minutes plus another 15 to get to the bridge. Despite all the huffing and puffing, it was well worth it. The castle is stunning and there are some amazing views from the bridge. My only disappointment was the very short stop in Oberammergau. A quick coffee and that was it......not enough time to appreciate the town itself.
All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message