The small mountain village of Oberammergau, tucked away in the Ammergau Alps on the Austrian border, has secured a place for itself on the Bavarian tourist trail, thanks to its legendary Passion Play.  A tradition dating back to 1634, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 227 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Beautiful views, made friends on the bus with another young couple :) Got a fabulous Beerstein in Oberammergau, astounded by the castles and how mad Mad Ludwig was! Comfortable bus, interesting guide, happily read our Kindles between stops looking out at the Bavarian countryside. As expected, and so glad we went!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was raining in Munich (October 17, 2014) when we caught the bus in front of Karstadt's. We were feeling a little sorry for ourselves, but things improved along the way! There ended up being three couples on our tour including us. The ride from Town to Neuschwanstein, even in the rain, was lovely with commentary by the guide as we rode along. I said to my wife: "You, know the ride alone with the commentary is worth the price of the tour." When we arrived, the rain had stopped. Our guide was excellent. She told us step by step what would happen. We stood in only one line all day and that was for only 10 minutes. Our group going through the castle was about 30 people, 24 of whom were with one tour group. We 6 let them go ahead of us and they would leave each room and we had the room to ourselves. Our guide arranged for a van to shuttle us up to Castle for only 2 Euros each, a good deal. Then she explained how we could catch the horse drawn carriage on the way down, 3 Euros each, still a good deal After Neuschwanstein the guide asked us if we wanted to see The Church in the Meadows, a UNESCO sight. We said yes. Wow, what a treat. When I saw the large Church in the Meadow (seriously) I thought it was nice. When I stepped through the doors and saw the alter, it literally took my breath away! You have to see to believe. Then we went to Oberammergau the home of the Passion Play done by the townspeople every 10 years (not this year). But the little town was a simple fun stop to look at the shops and see the theatre that seats 4,800 and the town is only 5,000. Finally, we got to Linderhoff Castle for our tour. Wonderful. No line. Even though they were closing (DLS time change that was unexpected--Germany doesn't all change on the same day.) our guide called ahead and made arrangements. On the way back to Munich we saw two videos about Ludwig II. The tour was expensive but we knew we were only going once in our lives. Money well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This day was one of the most memorable of my life! The scenery was outstanding! The two castles were so beautiful, both inside and out, and the stop at Oberammergau was great -- so picturesque and a good place to pick up a few gifts at reasonable prices. Ursula was our guide, and she kept us informed and entertained every minute! I have never encountered such a knowledgeable and interesting guide! We were a bit hesitant about signing up for a 10-hour bus tour, but the the day just literally flew by.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is WELL WORTH the few extra dollars (or Euro) for an intimate, smaller-group tour. Francesca was amazing, knew her subject matter quite well (and then some), and allowed for quiet time on the trip back to Munich. She arranged for a private shuttle at Neuschwanstein to arrive at Mary's Bridge quicker and with fewer hills to hike up! She gave each tourist a "goodie bag" and drinks and even took pictures of us with our cameras so that both/all can be in the photo. She was a fantastic guide, and our driver was quite capable as well.
The day was planned out perfectly, and the order that we did everything in was the best way to avoid the crowds. The extra side-trip to Oberammergau was a nice time for shopping and getting gelato, or more traditional Bavarian treats! The guide at Linderhof was especially good - the overall impression I get is that they take great pride in the history and artwork in these gorgeous castles, and convey that message accordingly.
I would recommend this tour to everyone and even take it again myself.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely fabulous! You cannot imagine the beauty of the two castles until you are actually standing inside them. It was a long way to the top to enter Castle Neuschwanstein but taking the horse and cart made it easier. Going down by foot is a must. I was sorry I didn't go to Mary's Bridge where the postcard shots are taken because you are able to see the castle clearly. Some people on our tour did not go inside both castles. They missed out. Do both castles. We did not spend enough time in Oberammerga where the Passion Play is staged every 10 years. Lunch at the hotel in Hohenschwangau was lovely. A very big day but well worth it!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This excursion shows you two extraordinary castles and a short shopping stop in Oberammergau. This day trip was the highligt to our Bavaria visit.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent one day trip to see the Bavarian Alps, Linderhof Castle, Oberammergau and tour Neuschwanstein Castle!! We packed a lot of activity into one day and enjoyed everything. Our guide was excellent and informative. It is very difficult to try to replicate this tour on your own with a car or public transportation. It is well worth the money and day to enjoy this beautiful part of Germany!!! My only disappoint was the lack of time in Oberammergau! Our stop was too short to even walk down the street. An additional half hour added to this stop would increase the value to allow for viewing the town and grabbing a coffee or a quick shopping stop. Also, the lunch in Neuschwanstein recommended was excellent and quick, necessary fuel for hiking to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Superb day. Well worth the money. Elisabeth was a wonderful guide and provided much local and historical insight. Janet did a great job getting us around some tight places. Note, this tour does require a lot of walking if you really want to enjoy the full experience. Linderhof and Oberammergau are both added bonuses

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour you must make this part of your visit to Munich. Tour guide Hannah was excellent very informative and helpful. Everything left on time and the extra visit to Oberammergau was a pleasant surprise. We thoroughly enjoyed our day!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I have used viator twice for this tour: 2011 and now in 2014. Both groups have loved this tour, with the only complaint is wanting to have a little more time at the castles AND definitely more time in the charming town of Oberammergau. We do recommend this tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an outstanding tour. The tour guide was interesting and even funny at times. The Castle did not disappoint and we were thrilled to discover that we were stopping in Oberammergau as well! We would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour company did a good job on this and the countryside was beautiful. We actually think that Linderhof was the better of the two, and the stop at Oberammergau was fun. Our guide, Sophie, was both bubbly and informative and we enjoyed the day with her.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

.The tour guide (Brigitte) was very friendly and spoke excellent English.... She lived in colorado for a number of years. The double decker bus was clean and very comfortable and had a bathroom onboard. You are allowed to eat on the bus as long as it's nothing messy, no ice cream, and drinks are allowed and even are sold on the bus for €1.5 . I advise that you bring snacks since it's a long day.
The tour departed on schedule and we were promptly made aware of the days itinerary and the expected departure times from each location . Linderhof is small but very ornate on the interior and height decadent as it is modeled on the palace of Versailles ( no photography allowed inside). At this stop there are a couple reasonable gift shops and clean restrooms. It is a short walk from the bus parking area to the, it is a beautiful stroll but know that it is a gentle uphill climb. Oberammergau was a nice stop for about 50 mins - the shops there are generally reasonable and the town is absolutely adorable. Very quaint and picturesque Bavarian village. The shops boast many carved wooden objects of beauty. We could've spent more time there but were aware that the main attraction was the next stop,
Neuschwanstein. There The tour had made a reservation at hotel restaurant for lunch called Hotel Muller in Hohenschwangau, located right by the trails that lead up to the castles. We ordered from the express menu and our food arrived hot and tasty in less than 60 seconds!
This allowed us plenty of time to line up to catch the bus up the hill to Neuschwanstein . When you get off the bus you go on a short but steep walk up to Mary's bridge (Marienbrucke) ...Which affords an absolutely not to be missed view of the castle but is a very high pedestrian bridge that is scary for anyone who does not like heights! from there it is a short downhill walk to the castle. Be on time for your tour! FYI, There are 200 steps inside but not to be missed for all who are able.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Linderhof Castle was very ornate. Each room is highly decorated and quite stunning. Very well preserved. Next we stopped in the town of Oberammergau, famous for wood carvers and richly painted houses. The Passion Play is dramatised every 10 years here. Later we stopped in Hohenschwangau, a small but pretty town, at the base of Castle Neuschwanstein. The castle itself is a 35 - 40 min walk uphill. It is rather spectacular and well worth seeing!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic tour of two beautiful buildings and pretty village of Oberammergau. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message