The small mountain village of Oberammergau, tucked away in the Ammergau Alps on the Austrian border, has secured a place for itself on the Bavarian tourist trail, thanks to its legendary Passion Play.  A tradition dating back to 1634, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 237 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic day trip! The tour guide was excellent. My family really enjoyed listening to the history of Bavaria and the castles during the bus ride. She also spoke perfect English so it was easy for everyone to understand. The countryside is incredibly beautiful. We found some great souvenirs during our short stop in the village of Oberammergau. Neuschwanstein is built upon a ridge which gives it the most spectacular views of the Alps I've ever seem. The only downside was the 1 mile walk uphill from the bus stop to the castle. However, my family made it up the hill easily in 30 minutes at a very slow walking pace. It was also nice that they sold drinks on the bus ride. I recommend bringing some snacks. Overall it was a great value. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We loved this tour. First, we went to Linderhof, where our guide, Elisabeth, arranged getting the tickets for the preguided tour into the castle. We had plenty of time to take pictures around the grounds. Then, we stopped at Oberammergau, a cute little town, for about a half hour. We were there on Sunday, so unfortunately, most of the shops were closed, but we had ice cream and walked around. The last event of the day was Neuschwanstein. Again, we had plenty of time, and our tickets were arranged by Elisabeth. Make sure you bring cash to give to your guide for the tickets. The bus ride is a great inexperience in itself because of the scenic views, and our guide provided us some history/background on the bus ride there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wonderful trip into Bavaria to visit the castles. Very well organised tour and an extremely knowledgable tour guide. I wonder whether it would be worth cutting out the stop in Oberammergau. It's a lovely little place but that time would probably be better spent at Neuschwanstein. Beautiful memories!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was brilliant. First to Linderhof to show St Ludwig 2nds villa then Oberammergau for a little pit stop and finally Neuschwanstein. Be warned the tour guidd recommended eating at muller, which is packed, but further down there is a lake with a restaurant called Alpenrose Am See.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Chas
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see three sites, Linderhoff, Oberammergau, and Neuschwantstein. The tour guide Francizka (sp?) was very good and knowlegable with a pleasant, and easy to understand accent and voice quality. The time of year was a double edged sword...the cold weather meant many of the beautiful figures/statues, fountains and plants were covered with structures to protect them from the snow and ice, and the late fall seems to be the time for rennovations after the busy summer, with work trucks, tractors and other temporarty barriers. The colder weather made for quicker tours, although they were still packed with 50 or so per group, possibly more at Neuschwanstein. Speaking of colder weather, the Neuschwantstein schloss was blanketed in fog and drizzle, and was not visible until you were within a few hundred meters from the castle, where it was a dark shape rising out of the fog, totally indistinct...more appropriate for Halloween.
As for separate sections of the tour, there was never enough time, especially in Oberammergau, but enough to give you a flavor and want to come back.

Tours of Linderhof and Neuschwantstein were in English, and very understandable. One caveat. Our tour was separated into two sections, an English guided tour, and multi language guided audio tour. We were disappointed to be put into the audio tour where we picked up an English language device which was keyed on as you moved from room to room. It turns out this was a blessing in disguise. At least we could hear clearly what was being said. The majority of our tour that was placed on the English language guided tour said that with 50-80 people in the group, the tour guide was often not able to be heard, and was hard to keep up with. We travelled in early Dec, and this apparently meant wait times were quite short. In the summer, often there wre 1.5 hour waits, according to the guide, instead of the 20 minutes. Beware the walk up the hill to Neuschwanstein is strenuous for many.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful experience. There were only three couples plus our excellent guide Astrid; so it was like a private tour. Astrid was very knowledgeable, being from the area, and was most helpful, offering advice regarding the rest of our trip plans. I would love to go on another of her guided tours one day. Highly recommend this guided tour. We got in and out of the castles quickly and avoided the confusion of getting tickets, parking, etc. Also, the carriage ride was a pleasant experience. It was also nice having a stop at the beautiful church and having shopping time in Oberammergau. Although I am 60 years old and not in the best of shape, there was not too much walking for me. Just very brief stretches of challenging walk or stair climbing. All in all, a very good day.

Doing what: Bavaria Highlights Tour from Fuessen: Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Oberammergau and Hohenschwangau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was just as it was explained in the booking process. To be clear, Viator books the tour, but the tour is run by a tour company so you are on with others not having booked with Viator. Likewise, the guide is from the tour company. This was not obvious to me from booking and /or reviews. So then, our guide Franciska (sp?) was wonderful. Very good information on the bus both there and back, with time, especially on the return, for resting. She was nmot our guide for either of the castles.
Linderhof was very special and our castle guide was great. Jaw dropping rooms and further interesting info about King Ludwig II. Oberammergau was a delightful stop. A little short, but so much to fit into one day. Neuschwanstein was amazing, but to me more for the exteriors than the interiors--after seeing Linderhof.
Be forewarned, there is considerable walking for Neuschwanstein, no matter how you approach it. My sister, 80, opted not to do that part, but the small visiting area below the castle provided entertainment whileI visited the castle--a very nice museum. So it worked out for us.
All staff were very accommodating and attentive to our concerns.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour overall, the only drawback was that 90% of the shops in Oberammergau were closed because it was Sunday. Because of this it would have been better to skip that city and dedicated more time to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Beautiful views, made friends on the bus with another young couple :) Got a fabulous Beerstein in Oberammergau, astounded by the castles and how mad Mad Ludwig was! Comfortable bus, interesting guide, happily read our Kindles between stops looking out at the Bavarian countryside. As expected, and so glad we went!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was raining in Munich (October 17, 2014) when we caught the bus in front of Karstadt's. We were feeling a little sorry for ourselves, but things improved along the way! There ended up being three couples on our tour including us. The ride from Town to Neuschwanstein, even in the rain, was lovely with commentary by the guide as we rode along. I said to my wife: "You, know the ride alone with the commentary is worth the price of the tour." When we arrived, the rain had stopped. Our guide was excellent. She told us step by step what would happen. We stood in only one line all day and that was for only 10 minutes. Our group going through the castle was about 30 people, 24 of whom were with one tour group. We 6 let them go ahead of us and they would leave each room and we had the room to ourselves. Our guide arranged for a van to shuttle us up to Castle for only 2 Euros each, a good deal. Then she explained how we could catch the horse drawn carriage on the way down, 3 Euros each, still a good deal After Neuschwanstein the guide asked us if we wanted to see The Church in the Meadows, a UNESCO sight. We said yes. Wow, what a treat. When I saw the large Church in the Meadow (seriously) I thought it was nice. When I stepped through the doors and saw the alter, it literally took my breath away! You have to see to believe. Then we went to Oberammergau the home of the Passion Play done by the townspeople every 10 years (not this year). But the little town was a simple fun stop to look at the shops and see the theatre that seats 4,800 and the town is only 5,000. Finally, we got to Linderhoff Castle for our tour. Wonderful. No line. Even though they were closing (DLS time change that was unexpected--Germany doesn't all change on the same day.) our guide called ahead and made arrangements. On the way back to Munich we saw two videos about Ludwig II. The tour was expensive but we knew we were only going once in our lives. Money well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This day was one of the most memorable of my life! The scenery was outstanding! The two castles were so beautiful, both inside and out, and the stop at Oberammergau was great -- so picturesque and a good place to pick up a few gifts at reasonable prices. Ursula was our guide, and she kept us informed and entertained every minute! I have never encountered such a knowledgeable and interesting guide! We were a bit hesitant about signing up for a 10-hour bus tour, but the the day just literally flew by.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is WELL WORTH the few extra dollars (or Euro) for an intimate, smaller-group tour. Francesca was amazing, knew her subject matter quite well (and then some), and allowed for quiet time on the trip back to Munich. She arranged for a private shuttle at Neuschwanstein to arrive at Mary's Bridge quicker and with fewer hills to hike up! She gave each tourist a "goodie bag" and drinks and even took pictures of us with our cameras so that both/all can be in the photo. She was a fantastic guide, and our driver was quite capable as well.
The day was planned out perfectly, and the order that we did everything in was the best way to avoid the crowds. The extra side-trip to Oberammergau was a nice time for shopping and getting gelato, or more traditional Bavarian treats! The guide at Linderhof was especially good - the overall impression I get is that they take great pride in the history and artwork in these gorgeous castles, and convey that message accordingly.
I would recommend this tour to everyone and even take it again myself.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely fabulous! You cannot imagine the beauty of the two castles until you are actually standing inside them. It was a long way to the top to enter Castle Neuschwanstein but taking the horse and cart made it easier. Going down by foot is a must. I was sorry I didn't go to Mary's Bridge where the postcard shots are taken because you are able to see the castle clearly. Some people on our tour did not go inside both castles. They missed out. Do both castles. We did not spend enough time in Oberammerga where the Passion Play is staged every 10 years. Lunch at the hotel in Hohenschwangau was lovely. A very big day but well worth it!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This excursion shows you two extraordinary castles and a short shopping stop in Oberammergau. This day trip was the highligt to our Bavaria visit.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent one day trip to see the Bavarian Alps, Linderhof Castle, Oberammergau and tour Neuschwanstein Castle!! We packed a lot of activity into one day and enjoyed everything. Our guide was excellent and informative. It is very difficult to try to replicate this tour on your own with a car or public transportation. It is well worth the money and day to enjoy this beautiful part of Germany!!! My only disappoint was the lack of time in Oberammergau! Our stop was too short to even walk down the street. An additional half hour added to this stop would increase the value to allow for viewing the town and grabbing a coffee or a quick shopping stop. Also, the lunch in Neuschwanstein recommended was excellent and quick, necessary fuel for hiking to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message