• USD ($)
  • English
The small mountain village of Oberammergau, tucked away in the Ammergau Alps on the Austrian border, has secured a place for itself on the Bavarian tourist trail, thanks to its legendary Passion Play.  A tradition dating back to 1634, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 211 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was very good. The bus, the tour guide, the drive and schedule were all super. The visits and stops: Linderhof, Oberammergau, and Newschwanstein were all very well telegraphed and carried out. The tour guide was very professional and provided just the right amount of information: informative without being boring or intrusive. The bus itself was very comfortable. The driving was smooth and without incident - just the way it should be. I'd strongly recommend for those traveling for the first time or have limited mobility. For families or 3 or more and able to walk you can do this trip on your own in your car. One word of caution: Neuschwanstein has its own weather pattern. We left sunny Munich but caught some rain in the Fuessen area in southern Bavaria. There is a cable car ride in the vicinity that I caught a glimpse of but it is not part of this tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I have used viator twice for this tour: 2011 and now in 2014. Both groups have loved this tour, with the only complaint is wanting to have a little more time at the castles AND definitely more time in the charming town of Oberammergau. We do recommend this tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an outstanding tour. The tour guide was interesting and even funny at times. The Castle did not disappoint and we were thrilled to discover that we were stopping in Oberammergau as well! We would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour company did a good job on this and the countryside was beautiful. We actually think that Linderhof was the better of the two, and the stop at Oberammergau was fun. Our guide, Sophie, was both bubbly and informative and we enjoyed the day with her.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

.The tour guide (Brigitte) was very friendly and spoke excellent English.... She lived in colorado for a number of years. The double decker bus was clean and very comfortable and had a bathroom onboard. You are allowed to eat on the bus as long as it's nothing messy, no ice cream, and drinks are allowed and even are sold on the bus for €1.5 . I advise that you bring snacks since it's a long day.
The tour departed on schedule and we were promptly made aware of the days itinerary and the expected departure times from each location . Linderhof is small but very ornate on the interior and height decadent as it is modeled on the palace of Versailles ( no photography allowed inside). At this stop there are a couple reasonable gift shops and clean restrooms. It is a short walk from the bus parking area to the, it is a beautiful stroll but know that it is a gentle uphill climb. Oberammergau was a nice stop for about 50 mins - the shops there are generally reasonable and the town is absolutely adorable. Very quaint and picturesque Bavarian village. The shops boast many carved wooden objects of beauty. We could've spent more time there but were aware that the main attraction was the next stop,
Neuschwanstein. There The tour had made a reservation at hotel restaurant for lunch called Hotel Muller in Hohenschwangau, located right by the trails that lead up to the castles. We ordered from the express menu and our food arrived hot and tasty in less than 60 seconds!
This allowed us plenty of time to line up to catch the bus up the hill to Neuschwanstein . When you get off the bus you go on a short but steep walk up to Mary's bridge (Marienbrucke) ...Which affords an absolutely not to be missed view of the castle but is a very high pedestrian bridge that is scary for anyone who does not like heights! from there it is a short downhill walk to the castle. Be on time for your tour! FYI, There are 200 steps inside but not to be missed for all who are able.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Linderhof Castle was very ornate. Each room is highly decorated and quite stunning. Very well preserved. Next we stopped in the town of Oberammergau, famous for wood carvers and richly painted houses. The Passion Play is dramatised every 10 years here. Later we stopped in Hohenschwangau, a small but pretty town, at the base of Castle Neuschwanstein. The castle itself is a 35 - 40 min walk uphill. It is rather spectacular and well worth seeing!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic tour of two beautiful buildings and pretty village of Oberammergau. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was very good and very well organised. Our guide Ursula was very knowledgeable and explained us the history and background of the castles and king Ludwig. She tried her best to keep the tourists entertained during the trip. The only comment I want to make that the stay in the village of Oberammergau should include time for lunch as the village is set in very nice surroundings and has few good restaurants whereas at the castle there is not much choice and except seeing the castle there is not much to do.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We really enjoyed the tours of these two castles plus a (too short!) stop in the picturesque town of Oberammergau. Although the pacing was tight, it was a well organized tour with times clearly communicated. Props goes to our tour guide, Christine, who was both friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our family loved every minute of this trip. Ursula was a seasoned and enthusiastic tourguide who kept us informed and entertained all day. The Linderholf and Neuschwanstein castles were unbelievable and the quick trip through Oberammergau village was delightful. It was a perfect day in every way, a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Dawn
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was great and you certainly do need the 10.5 hours to fit it all in. In fact, more time would be nice for spending at Oberammergau. Oh well, a reason to go back :-)

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Dawn
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was great and you certainly do need the 10.5 hours to fit it all in. In fact, more time would be nice for spending at Oberammergau. Oh well, a reason to go back :-)

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent organisation and guide. Good pace with plenty of time for coffee and toilet stops! The stop in Oberammergau was a lovely extra, just time to stretch legs and get some fresh air.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It is a well thought out trip but a bit crowded. Probably it would be worth making it an hour or so longer in time, so that to allow a bit more time in Oberammergau (I absolutely loved it) and to walk about in Hohenschwangau and on/along the shore of the amazingly beautiful Alpsee. My full praise must go to the guide: her English is just simply overwhelmingly good and she is also very knowledgeable: she gave a lot of interesting information about Bavaria, its people, traditions and history, and also about what we could see on the way from the coach. We were very lucky with the weather but she was the absolute star of the day. Thank you (and shame on me for not remembering her name). I definitely recommend this tour to all.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was well organised and executed from the moment we got on the coach. Our guide was very well informed and gave us information on the journey and history of where we were visiting.
Couldn't rate it more highly. Only so many beerhalls you can sit in in Munich, so lovely to see Oberammergau as well as the two castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message