The small mountain village of Oberammergau, tucked away in the Ammergau Alps on the Austrian border, has secured a place for itself on the Bavarian tourist trail, thanks to its legendary Passion Play.  A tradition dating back to 1634, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 262 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good day, thoroughly enjoyed it, except our time at Oberammergau was much to short. Our guide was a lovely lady and very helpful. The climb to the Neuschwanstein Castle is not for everybody, with a long walk up and then many steps up into the castle and rooms.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

voget
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great day visiting the castles and we had a very informative and experienced guide named Elizabeth. She made sure that everyone was comfortable, clear on directions and she clearly loves the area and shares many interesting facts along the way. The bus trip was comfortable and we had a great experience! The stop in Oberammergau was a treat, too!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great trip, everything was super punctual and on time. Picked up from the Karsdat department store in Munich and left promptly at 8.30, Lindenhof was first and even though it was a hot day, the air conditioned bus was a nice reprieve. A little ice cream and coffeebreak in Oberammergau, I would suggest getting your touristy German souvenirs here, they were much cheaper than those in Munich and better quality. Especially the beer steins. Also tax free!
Then off to Neuschwanstein. First Lunch, We chose to walk up the hill even though it was blistering hot. Everyone else was in t-shirts and shorts, and here I am as the girl who chose to wear woollen skirts and a corset with a long haired wig prancing around as Sleeping Beauty to visit the sleeping Beauty castle.
Great fun though! Spend the time going up to Mary's Bridge to take photos.
The interior of Linderhof is more impressive than Neuschwanstein, but they both have their charms.
Then ran for the bus so we can get home. Even with traffic we got back at around 7pm in Munich. Great day.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Elizabeth gave a great tour to the castles and kept everything on schedule and was full of information. Linderhof is the small hunting palace of the eccentric King Ludwig II. It was beautiful and the inside tour was short but informative. Very nice walk around the grounds.
Short stop at Oberammergau for cappuccino and apple strudel was fun and a nice break.
Neuschwanstein Castle was beyond imagination. The city where you start was very busy and it is a hike to the castle. We took the bus up to the bridge and then hiked up above Mary's bridge. The bridge will be closed for repair soon.
Alexander did a great job driving thru the small streets.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a day. ,out of this world. Amazing scenery through the. Great tours. Loved our pit stop in Oberammergau giving us time for ice-cream on a very hot day. Plenty time at each stop to explore and the advice given by our amazing guide was fantastic. Lots of interesting history of the area given by the tour guide during the very comfortable bus journey to and from Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Bavarian country side was such a beauty to behold. Winding roads, lush green fields, tall trees, massive mountains everything added to the charm of this place. Our first stop was palace Linderhof, which had stunning landscapes. Second stop was the charming old town of Oberammergau with its painted houses and famous wood works. Via the Romantic road, we reached our final destination The Neuschwanstein Castle, such a secluded and stunning piece of work. Our tour guide was so very informative not just about the tour but Munich in general. The coach was very comfortable with push-back seats, toilet, refreshments, TV, luggage stowing and an upper deck for better views. Very much recommended and worth the money.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Debbie
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This small group tour was lovely - so much nicer than tours involving a double decker bus full of people. We had a delightful guide Franziska who was well informed and interesting and who, with her lovely gentle voice, was a pleasure to listen to. The castles were definitely worth the visit and we also enjoyed the time spent in the gorgeous town of Oberammergau was also very worthwhile. Everything ran smoothly during the day and we felt spoilt by our lovely guide and driver.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent time touring Neuschwanstein, Oberammergau, and Linderhof. Christine was a fabulous tour guide and the luxury coach was well worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant day trip to the castles , informative and witty tour guide Maria.
Comfortable double decker air condition coach.
Excellent driver , cheap cold beer and water on board.
Couldn't have imagined trip to be any better ... Though would have liked longer at Linderhof to look round gardens and also would have preferred to take lunch at Obergmau passion play village!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day! Our guide, Franceska was extremely informative and personally saw to the needs of everyone in the group. The benefits of a small group meant virtually no waiting in queues, 'no hassel' meeting times and a genuinely social and relaxed atmosphere. The palaces were well worth the visit and Oberammergau was stunning, agreed more time there would have been great. The bus was a dream . . . single recliner seats with plenty of space, snacks and drinks available at all times. A most pleasurable Sunday Franceska and Elfrieda, our bus driver. The best tour of my five week trip to Europe.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I believe the tour guide's name was Christine. She was excellent. Linderhof is amazing and the landscaped grounds awesome. Oberammergau stop was way to short. However, Neuschwanstein was stunningly beautiful! Make sure you go to Mary's Bridge for the incredible view.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guided tour, amazing castles plus a quick stop in Oberammergau, so beautiful!
I'll highly recommend it, you just give her the fee and the guide takes care of buying your entrance tickets, no lines and on time. Nice and clean bus.
Mother and daughter unforgettable day trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. Wish we could have spent more time in Oberammergau

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed this excursion very much. The weather was kind to us which helped and our guide, Ursula was engaging and knowledgable. Be aware that the walk up to Neuschwanstein is hard work and took us about 30 minutes plus another 15 to get to the bridge. Despite all the huffing and puffing, it was well worth it. The castle is stunning and there are some amazing views from the bridge. My only disappointment was the very short stop in Oberammergau. A quick coffee and that was it......not enough time to appreciate the town itself.
All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour- guide was really knowledgeable and time allotted to each site was the perfect amount. The only thing I could recommend the tour company is cut out the hour rest stop at Oberammergau after Linderhof. It just felt like an useless random stop in the middle of nowhere. Everyone was anxious to see the highlight of the tour- Neuschwanstein!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic day trip! The tour guide was excellent. My family really enjoyed listening to the history of Bavaria and the castles during the bus ride. She also spoke perfect English so it was easy for everyone to understand. The countryside is incredibly beautiful. We found some great souvenirs during our short stop in the village of Oberammergau. Neuschwanstein is built upon a ridge which gives it the most spectacular views of the Alps I've ever seem. The only downside was the 1 mile walk uphill from the bus stop to the castle. However, my family made it up the hill easily in 30 minutes at a very slow walking pace. It was also nice that they sold drinks on the bus ride. I recommend bringing some snacks. Overall it was a great value. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We loved this tour. First, we went to Linderhof, where our guide, Elisabeth, arranged getting the tickets for the preguided tour into the castle. We had plenty of time to take pictures around the grounds. Then, we stopped at Oberammergau, a cute little town, for about a half hour. We were there on Sunday, so unfortunately, most of the shops were closed, but we had ice cream and walked around. The last event of the day was Neuschwanstein. Again, we had plenty of time, and our tickets were arranged by Elisabeth. Make sure you bring cash to give to your guide for the tickets. The bus ride is a great inexperience in itself because of the scenic views, and our guide provided us some history/background on the bus ride there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wonderful trip into Bavaria to visit the castles. Very well organised tour and an extremely knowledgable tour guide. I wonder whether it would be worth cutting out the stop in Oberammergau. It's a lovely little place but that time would probably be better spent at Neuschwanstein. Beautiful memories!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was brilliant. First to Linderhof to show St Ludwig 2nds villa then Oberammergau for a little pit stop and finally Neuschwanstein. Be warned the tour guidd recommended eating at muller, which is packed, but further down there is a lake with a restaurant called Alpenrose Am See.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Chas
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see three sites, Linderhoff, Oberammergau, and Neuschwantstein. The tour guide Francizka (sp?) was very good and knowlegable with a pleasant, and easy to understand accent and voice quality. The time of year was a double edged sword...the cold weather meant many of the beautiful figures/statues, fountains and plants were covered with structures to protect them from the snow and ice, and the late fall seems to be the time for rennovations after the busy summer, with work trucks, tractors and other temporarty barriers. The colder weather made for quicker tours, although they were still packed with 50 or so per group, possibly more at Neuschwanstein. Speaking of colder weather, the Neuschwantstein schloss was blanketed in fog and drizzle, and was not visible until you were within a few hundred meters from the castle, where it was a dark shape rising out of the fog, totally indistinct...more appropriate for Halloween.
As for separate sections of the tour, there was never enough time, especially in Oberammergau, but enough to give you a flavor and want to come back.

Tours of Linderhof and Neuschwantstein were in English, and very understandable. One caveat. Our tour was separated into two sections, an English guided tour, and multi language guided audio tour. We were disappointed to be put into the audio tour where we picked up an English language device which was keyed on as you moved from room to room. It turns out this was a blessing in disguise. At least we could hear clearly what was being said. The majority of our tour that was placed on the English language guided tour said that with 50-80 people in the group, the tour guide was often not able to be heard, and was hard to keep up with. We travelled in early Dec, and this apparently meant wait times were quite short. In the summer, often there wre 1.5 hour waits, according to the guide, instead of the 20 minutes. Beware the walk up the hill to Neuschwanstein is strenuous for many.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful experience. There were only three couples plus our excellent guide Astrid; so it was like a private tour. Astrid was very knowledgeable, being from the area, and was most helpful, offering advice regarding the rest of our trip plans. I would love to go on another of her guided tours one day. Highly recommend this guided tour. We got in and out of the castles quickly and avoided the confusion of getting tickets, parking, etc. Also, the carriage ride was a pleasant experience. It was also nice having a stop at the beautiful church and having shopping time in Oberammergau. Although I am 60 years old and not in the best of shape, there was not too much walking for me. Just very brief stretches of challenging walk or stair climbing. All in all, a very good day.

Doing what: Bavaria Highlights Tour from Fuessen: Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Oberammergau and Hohenschwangau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was just as it was explained in the booking process. To be clear, Viator books the tour, but the tour is run by a tour company so you are on with others not having booked with Viator. Likewise, the guide is from the tour company. This was not obvious to me from booking and /or reviews. So then, our guide Franciska (sp?) was wonderful. Very good information on the bus both there and back, with time, especially on the return, for resting. She was nmot our guide for either of the castles.
Linderhof was very special and our castle guide was great. Jaw dropping rooms and further interesting info about King Ludwig II. Oberammergau was a delightful stop. A little short, but so much to fit into one day. Neuschwanstein was amazing, but to me more for the exteriors than the interiors--after seeing Linderhof.
Be forewarned, there is considerable walking for Neuschwanstein, no matter how you approach it. My sister, 80, opted not to do that part, but the small visiting area below the castle provided entertainment whileI visited the castle--a very nice museum. So it worked out for us.
All staff were very accommodating and attentive to our concerns.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour overall, the only drawback was that 90% of the shops in Oberammergau were closed because it was Sunday. Because of this it would have been better to skip that city and dedicated more time to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Beautiful views, made friends on the bus with another young couple :) Got a fabulous Beerstein in Oberammergau, astounded by the castles and how mad Mad Ludwig was! Comfortable bus, interesting guide, happily read our Kindles between stops looking out at the Bavarian countryside. As expected, and so glad we went!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was raining in Munich (October 17, 2014) when we caught the bus in front of Karstadt's. We were feeling a little sorry for ourselves, but things improved along the way! There ended up being three couples on our tour including us. The ride from Town to Neuschwanstein, even in the rain, was lovely with commentary by the guide as we rode along. I said to my wife: "You, know the ride alone with the commentary is worth the price of the tour." When we arrived, the rain had stopped. Our guide was excellent. She told us step by step what would happen. We stood in only one line all day and that was for only 10 minutes. Our group going through the castle was about 30 people, 24 of whom were with one tour group. We 6 let them go ahead of us and they would leave each room and we had the room to ourselves. Our guide arranged for a van to shuttle us up to Castle for only 2 Euros each, a good deal. Then she explained how we could catch the horse drawn carriage on the way down, 3 Euros each, still a good deal After Neuschwanstein the guide asked us if we wanted to see The Church in the Meadows, a UNESCO sight. We said yes. Wow, what a treat. When I saw the large Church in the Meadow (seriously) I thought it was nice. When I stepped through the doors and saw the alter, it literally took my breath away! You have to see to believe. Then we went to Oberammergau the home of the Passion Play done by the townspeople every 10 years (not this year). But the little town was a simple fun stop to look at the shops and see the theatre that seats 4,800 and the town is only 5,000. Finally, we got to Linderhoff Castle for our tour. Wonderful. No line. Even though they were closing (DLS time change that was unexpected--Germany doesn't all change on the same day.) our guide called ahead and made arrangements. On the way back to Munich we saw two videos about Ludwig II. The tour was expensive but we knew we were only going once in our lives. Money well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message