• USD ($)
  • English
The small mountain village of Oberammergau, tucked away in the Ammergau Alps on the Austrian border, has secured a place for itself on the Bavarian tourist trail, thanks to its legendary Passion Play.  A tradition dating back to 1634, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent organisation and guide. Good pace with plenty of time for coffee and toilet stops! The stop in Oberammergau was a lovely extra, just time to stretch legs and get some fresh air.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It is a well thought out trip but a bit crowded. Probably it would be worth making it an hour or so longer in time, so that to allow a bit more time in Oberammergau (I absolutely loved it) and to walk about in Hohenschwangau and on/along the shore of the amazingly beautiful Alpsee. My full praise must go to the guide: her English is just simply overwhelmingly good and she is also very knowledgeable: she gave a lot of interesting information about Bavaria, its people, traditions and history, and also about what we could see on the way from the coach. We were very lucky with the weather but she was the absolute star of the day. Thank you (and shame on me for not remembering her name). I definitely recommend this tour to all.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was well organised and executed from the moment we got on the coach. Our guide was very well informed and gave us information on the journey and history of where we were visiting.
Couldn't rate it more highly. Only so many beerhalls you can sit in in Munich, so lovely to see Oberammergau as well as the two castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Simply unforgettable.
Before visiting Neuschwanstein, I travelled in France to visit the castles of Valée du Loire, which have very beautiful gardens. However, Neuschwanstein is unique. Inside the castle there are lots of stunning paints and artworks, and a reproduction of the cave of Venus. This is worthy of being visited by those who admire Richard Wagner and their operas.
Worthy of note are also the town of Oberammergau and the small castle of Linderhof. At that time it was covered by snow, which added more beauty to it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great tour of two castles that aren't easily accessible by public transportation. The drive through the alps and the hike up to Neuschwanstein and Marien Brücke (Mary's Bridge) were really highlights for me. They surrounding grounds were more impressive than the inside of the castle.

I had never heard of Linderhof, but it was a pleasant stopover that I probably would have never scheduled as part of my trip if I were doing the tour on my own. The grounds must be amazing in the Spring and Summer. I was there in the winter and the property was still impressive.

I enjoyed the stopover in Oberammergau. I loved the shopping there, and the traditional craft stores, but we only had 45 minutes to explore the town. I would have loved to have lunch there instead of at the base of Neuschwanstein.

I also wish the tour also included a stop at Hohenschwangau Castle. It was beautiful on the outside and what I read in my travel guide, it is interesting from a historic perspective.

Bridget, our guide, was enthusiastic and friendly. She kept the group on schedule, which I imagine, when it comes to tourists, is like herding cats. She did a great job.

Pickup and drop-off is conveniently located across from the main train station. I would recommend this tour to others.

Neuschwanstein was on my bucket list and I was very happy that this tour enabled me to get there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Me and my husband visited this tour in February! Beautiful places (Linderhof, "fairy-tale" village of Oberammergau and of course Castle of Neuschwanstein). Professional and knowledgeable tour guide Christine gives you a detail overview of the Bavaria region. Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour guide was knowledgable and organized and knew how to guide us on the bus without being cheesy or overbearing. He gave us the freedom to explore each area we were in but made sure to tell us a specific departure time so we could accomplish everything we needed in the day. It was the perfect day tour, getting to see both castles and the small town of Oberammergau. It did help that we had perfect, snowy weather the day of the tour! Bavaria is just beautiful and I thoroughly enjoyed the sights.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Highly recommended!

The castles and their grounds and surroundings are beautiful, especially set against a brilliant blue sky contrasting with the glistening white underfoot.

Buses do not run up to Neuschwanstein castle during the winter season but it is possible to take a horse and cart shuttle to quite near the castle. There were 5 running on December 20th 2013. Each holds about 11 people and the driver. The queue time was at least 30 minutes for us so this in mind in terms of not missing your timed castle tour.

Oberammergau is very picturesque and was a nice stop.

The guide, Gerta, was efficient, helpful and extremely warm. I heard her giving all kinds of travel and local advice to various passengers. Steffan, the driver, was also very helpful.

It seems like a very long day but the longest unbroken journey we had was the 1.5 hours leg back to Munich.

The entire group of people who booked this trip the day we went filled 3 double decker coaches. Each coach, however, had its own guide and did the tour independently of the others. The coach was very clean, cosy and comfortable and had a WC along with cola, water and beer for sale on board.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Diana
Costa Rica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The castles are amazing. The guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. The stop at Oberammergau was a great plus, it's a beautiful town. Worth every cent.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A great day out - would thoroughly recommend! Christine was our guide - really informative on route and nothing was too much trouble for her. LInderhof was beautiful. The morning coffee stop was at Oberammergau - but we decided to look around the village - it has really pretty houses and good wood shops. It would have been good to maybe have 30 mins longer here to look in a few more shops though! Neuschwanstein was amazing - it was excellent weather which I think also made a difference. We grabbed some lunch from a stall near the coach stop and then walked up to the castle. Would definitely do this rather than getting the bus or a horse and cart ride as you can see the amazing views. Also walked to the bridge - where you get fantastic views back of the castle. However, you will only have time to do this if you do not linger for lunch at the bottom. The tour of the castle was quite short and the groups are big, but it is informative. Excellent coach driver and very comfortable coach. If you are in Munich - ensure you book on this tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Initially I surprised by the number of people booked on this trip on a cold Sunday in December. However, the scrum opposite the Karstadt Department store was soon sorted into the appropriate coaches. The guide was excellent, solicitous, knowledgeable and, when needed, forceful in ensuring that customers returned to the coach on time. The trip itself was enhanced by the good weather and the laying snow in the mountain areas, which gave it quite a magical Christmassy effect. The castles themselves and Oberammergau were well worth visiting and we were also given an insight into the somewhat eccentric world of King Ludwig II. Perhaps the only two reservations I have about this excursion are, firstly, the time spent in Oberammergau was extremely limited and, as a minimum, needed at least another quarter of an hour. More problematic, especially as one of our party had some difficulty walking, was that the excursion required quite a lot of walking. The distance from the coach park to the entrance of Neuschwanstein castle was over 1km and that uphill. Furthermore the castles themselves, perhaps inevitably, were marked by the number of stairs that had to be climbed.
Despite that the tour itself was professionally operated and well worth the money.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great trip to see the Bavarian countryside and the castles. The castles are stunning and the views spectacular. The stop in Oberammergau is pleasant but doesn't really add anything to the trip just a chance to stretch your legs and buy some souvenirs. Bring an umbrella if there is a chance of rain as they are rip off prices at the castle. Overall very good trip and well worth doing.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour is a must do for anyone who has a day to spare while in Munich. It's a 10 hour day but so worth it. The guide (Bettina) and bus driver (Mikki) were great. I wish we could have spent more time at Linderhof rather than stopping at Oberammergau. We hiked the Pollat Schlucht trail to get to/from Neuschwanstein, which was wonderful. The only negative about the trip is no photos were allowed inside the castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A real treat. The Linderhof Castle was great to see. So unlike King Ludwig II's other castles. Beautiful grounds and other amenities. Oberammergau was delightful. Not enough time to explore it however. Also we were there on a Sunday so most of the stores and shops were closed. Very picturesque.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Getting onto the bus was a bit chaotic with too few staff members visible to help and confusion when a bus door closed while waiting in line to get on (it took some time for the message to get out that the bus was full and which bus we should get on). However, once on the bus and we started moving, the problems were quickly forgotten. The commentary was interesting and the locations were fantastic. While I didn't feel rushed, there isn't a lot of time at Linderhof or Oberammergau, so we couldn't explore much before needing to return to the bus. Overall I thought it was a fantastic tour and am very happy I spent the day on it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message