Bay of Islands ATTRACTIONS See all

Bay of Islands Cruise Port

The Bay of Islands is a corner of the world that was meant to be explored by boat. This was the first part of the North Island to be settled by Europeans, and you can see from the islands and turquoise coves why they were immediately taken with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Instead of having the Kerikeri tour, due to an exceptionally low tide water, we were rescheduled on a longer Bay of Islands boat tour. It was a fabulous experience. We shall also warmly thank the flexibility of organisation to provide an alternative great experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Sightseeing Cruise and Kerikeri Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This walk was definitely a highlight of our trip to New Zealand. Ian knew the rainforest so well and it we felt as if we were wandering in a magic world far removed from modern times.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had an awesome adventure on our Rain Forest Hike. Barb picked us up at the pier, after we arrived from our ship tender. She drove us to the Puketi Rainforest where we met our guide Ian. This was an exhilarating walk throughout the rainforest, actually more of a hike, which was totally fine for us. We enjoyed the challenge. Ian was an endless source of information about the vegetation, Kauri trees, and the wildlife of the area. After we finished our hike we had bottled water and homemade muffins, made by Barb (a nice touch). This tour exceeded our expectations, and we would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a hiking challenge.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Definitely worth it.would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Scenic Helicopter Tour Including Hole in the Rock

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Guides/hosts were great and take their conservation responsiibilites seriously. Would have given it 5 except not as advertized. this is a STRENUOUS, not moderate walk through a protected preserve (trust). The concept of walking on a boaded walk is nonsense as most of the trek was up and down steep inclines on narrow, muddy paths. Recommend dressing for a tough 2-2.5 mile hike. The guides are knowledgeable and it was one of the most education tours we have been on. The tour guides are good people and the work they do is impressive and with simple clarification in what to expect think everyone should go as possible but it could be dangerous for some in poor health

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This hike was beautiful and the people running the tour were wonderful. However it is a hike and not a walk. The first portion was a lovely walk thru the forest. The second portion was definitely a hike thru a slippery muddy narrow path over tree roots with both some serious uphill and downhill portions. The mud of course is not under anyone's control but the steepness of portions of the path were a little hard on my 60 year old knees. I would recommend this tour but be forewarned about the physical effort required.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

AMANDA E
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Really top tour! The start time was changed when we arrived but that just gave us more time in the quaint village and a vist to the local markets. The big plus on this tour was the visit to Ake Ake winery - stunning wines and the owner was a joy to listen to. The visit to the chocolate shop was a waste of time - too short and they only offered us two small pieces to taste. The boat ride was fab and the guide on the boat was very good. A very pretty spot at KeriKeri and the gardens were gorgeous.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Sightseeing Cruise and Kerikeri Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Everything is so beautiful in NZ - and Bay of Islands is the best. The bus driver was engaging and the drive into the hills above the bay was a nice glimpse into real life there. The stops were a winery, chocolate factory and wood workshop. We also saw a waterfall and many breathtaking views. I would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Sightseeing Cruise and Kerikeri Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This is nice to do if you enjoy a walk through a forest. The Guide loved the place and his enthusiasm shone through. The people running the tour were full of bon viveur.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

Meredith
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

As we were only able to do the second half of the tour I can only rate out of 2.5. Our disappointment at not being taken seriously around our tender arrival time by the supplier meant that we were booked on a tour that we should never have been accepted on. Don't book this if you are tendering on arrival at the Bay of Islands, you'll miss the cruise portion. Book a boat Shore Excursion. The portion of the tour we did to Kerkeri was quite good. We enjoyed the Ake Ake winery, the chocolate factory and the historic buildings. The guide was very good.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Sightseeing Cruise and Kerikeri Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message