Bay of Islands ATTRACTIONS See all

Cape Brett Hole-in-the-Rock

Wild and lonely Cape Brett is a remote location on the scenic back road leading along the coast from Russell. Along the route is the traditional Maori village of Rawhiti, the starting point for the rugged 7.5-hour trek to Cape Brett. On ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 209 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

In a word 'fantastic'.

Will worth the trip.

The pilot was friendly and knowledgeable. A great experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Lorna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was absolutely wonderful even though we couldn't go through the hole because of the currents. We were lucky enough to have a wonderful sunny day. The captain was terrific - warm and informative and she found dolphins for us which was an absolute highlight!! I had 3 friends from overseas and they thought the whole experience was magical - one from the USA had wanted to come to the Bay of Islands for many years and she was totally bowled over. Thanks for a lovely experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Nettie

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful ,informative, beautiful and a relaxing day trip. Saw some much the Bay of Islands

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Stephen L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We had a perfect morning for this cruise, with blue skies and little breeze, so the Bay was calm, except for a few swells out near the rock, which is pretty much in the Pacific Ocean! We saw dolphins and spent maybe 20 minutes near them, so everyone could get pictures. Because the tide was high and there were some strong, predictable currents, our captain decided it was best not to go through the hole in the rock, which was only wise. however, we got great picks. On the way back we had a stop-over and walk on another island, which was just beautiful and we stayed at Russell for lunch, and took the complimentary ferry trip back to Paihia later in the day. Great trip!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

pteach

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The cruise was very good, but the weather was not. We were given the option to cancel, but I don't think the warning was strong enough.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

If there were more stars they would get them all! Fabulous cruise.
Our captain actually drove through the hole in the rock...amazing! A 'must-do'!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was very good and was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Micheal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fully recommend this trip. When we went out the captain Billy told us that he was going off schedule because he had been told of a pod of killer whales in the area he wanted to find for us. He duly found them and the experience was amazing Billy seemed to be able to play with them and encourage them closer to the boat. Went through hole in wall in quite a swell which showed the captain's skill

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

Louise G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a great day out! Saw dolphins as we were coming home after a dull weather day in Paihia turned out to be glorious around the islands. Brilliant and knowledgeable crew.
Will go again if I go back to the bay of islands and recommend you do too.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

jrobinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was fantastic! An absolute must do, even for those of us who are a little bit afraid of flying in a helicopter. The pilot was exceptionally professional and informative. Be sure to include the landing on top of the rock portion of the tour --- it is well worth it.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Kenneth J P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

There's no better way to see Bay of Islands than by helicopter and landing on the Hole in the Rock was a great thrill. Our pilot/guide was terrific. We highly recommend this adventure.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Vicki H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved it - I was a bit disappointed that helicopters are able to land on the hole in the rock - spoils the experience and what about the cultural implications? Nevertheless, the trip was wonderful and the whole area is absolutely amazing. Our skipper was hilarious and also extremely informative. Had a lovely day - thank you so much :

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Robert P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a memorable time we had and we actually sailed through the Hole in the Rock. This was our first time in New Zealand and the Bay of Islands is just amazing. So many memories. The young man who sailed us through was great. He had a great sense of humor and extremely informative and good looking as well! What more can I say. Well done and thank you.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Theresa P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

It would have been a great excursions if the weather would have been nicer. Rough waters

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Bradley N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great Tour have to say it was very organized. Always had are names and picked up on time.
All buses were great as they all had free wifi on board. All bus drivers were very informative and friendly. Highly recommend this trip all the activities are great

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Lynn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A lovely day on the water the cruise was very good and the guide was well informed. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

fmuth41

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a fantastic day! The catamaran was good size. Was able to stand right out front to see the great scenery. Would definitely recommend this tour. Since the weather was great we were able to go through the hole. Awesome experience. We enjoyed the island stop-over. Took a walk to the look out for some gorgeous views.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A wonderful day spent cruising the islands. Tammy did a great job of captaining our ship and of providing a very knowledgeable commentary. Great time was had!

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

GD O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great afternoon on the water. The crew were exceptional, very friendly and knowledgeable. Island stopover was good and the views from the top of the hill were absolutely stunning. Would highly recommend this trip, but it is very important to take sunscreen and hat particularly if you are going to sit out on one of the decks

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

David B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

Not something I would recommend to others. Basically just boating around.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Richard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A must do!!! Amazing scenery and well worth the cost.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous! Each day was different and with a different company. However it was well organized and a lot of fun. I loved doing 3 days instead of just one so we could slow down and take in the sights in Pahia. We thought it was too much to do in just one day. 90 mile Beach and going to the light house in Cape Regina were the highlights for us.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

hobbit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was awesome! The cruise was so well organized and the crew was very friendly. The scenery was so beautiful and the narration of the captain was fun and interesting. We saw so many dolphins and they are so much fun to watch. The sea cooperated and we were able to sail through the 'Hole in the Rock too . Ther was alot of bang for the buck.Thanks to all for a great time.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Joni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent trip. Well organised and helpfull staff. Who did their best to make sure everyone enjoyed their day.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message