Bay of Islands ATTRACTIONS See all

Cape Brett Hole-in-the-Rock

Wild and lonely Cape Brett is a remote location on the scenic back road leading along the coast from Russell. Along the route is the traditional Maori village of Rawhiti, the starting point for the rugged 7.5-hour trek to Cape Brett. On ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 156 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time. Everything worked exactly as it was supposed to. The itinerary was challenging but very enjoyable. We were able to see a lot of the best of the North Island over a limited duration. EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I would have liked more time at the island we stopped at and explore and have lunch. but overall beautiful and fun

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

beautiful trip. loved the dolphins and the colour of the water was crystal clear loved it all really

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Best looking boat captain......ever.....

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Even though it rained part of the trip, we had a Marvel experience, we saw so many dolphins. The Skipper, Tammy, was brilliant as was the rest of the crew. We had a wonderful time and thoroughly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The whole tour was amazing and superb value for money. Everyone involved was so helpful and enthusiastic and there was such a wide range of different activities involved. The accommodation in the Bay of Islands was superb and there was just the right amount of downtime. We thought that if anything you undersold it on the website.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

it was one of the best tour that we did

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An amazing tour! We saw orga's and dolphins. The captain of the boat gave us the time to take photos and watch then. Very enjoyable cruise amongst beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Landing on the Hole in the Rock was a very special experience highly recommended

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was brilliant. It exceeded our expectations. The scenery was breathtaking!

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

AWESOME TRIP!! Highlight of our trip! Loved every minute

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent day despite the cloudy weather. Great crew with informative commentary.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Most enjoyable and relaxing. Magnificent scenery (wanted more wild life!) pleasant and helpful staff

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Cruise was wonderful saw many dolphins and the Hole in the Rock was marvelous. Plus the narration during the cruise was very informative.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great day, enjoyed by kids and adults alike. The captain was superb, steering us through the hole in the rock in a big swell...very exciting! Scenery was beautiful and the sun kept us company all day.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The only disappointment was the accommodation in Rotorua (Ibis). Standard of hotel was very poor, would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Viewed dolphins swiming next to the boat
Went through the hole in the boat

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great half day out amongst beautiful islands aboard of large boat. Plenty of dolphins and different birds. No lunch included though (a hike over a hill is suggested instead) so Explorer cruise with lunch may be a more attractive option for some. No going through the whole-in-the-rock as the boat was too big. You need a much smaller vessel if you want this experience and reasonably calm seas!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very nice! We met dolphin! A little bit disappointment is we didn't cross the hole boz the sea surface condition of that day was not very good. I really deeply felt the emotions of the water!

Doing what: Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise departs Auckland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

beautiful place to be on a boat crew great and we were able to sail through the "hole in the rock" safely recommend this tour

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

This tour should have been cancelled due to the aftermath of Cyclone Pam. The weather was starting to improve, but when this tour commenced, it was wet and windy and quite uncomfortable waiting to get onboard the boat. The views were impaired due to the rain and could not go through the Hole in the Rock due to high swells. Staying around the Hole in the Rock made it quite uncomfortable due to the rough seas while the Captain gave us extra commentary of the area. It became so uncomfortable that my partner was physically sick. There were times of no rain during the tour, but it was mainly wet, windy and should have been cancelled.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message