Bay of Islands ATTRACTIONS See all

Cape Brett Hole-in-the-Rock

Wild and lonely Cape Brett is a remote location on the scenic back road leading along the coast from Russell. Along the route is the traditional Maori village of Rawhiti, the starting point for the rugged 7.5-hour trek to Cape Brett. On ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A must do!!! Amazing scenery and well worth the cost.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous! Each day was different and with a different company. However it was well organized and a lot of fun. I loved doing 3 days instead of just one so we could slow down and take in the sights in Pahia. We thought it was too much to do in just one day. 90 mile Beach and going to the light house in Cape Regina were the highlights for us.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

hobbit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was awesome! The cruise was so well organized and the crew was very friendly. The scenery was so beautiful and the narration of the captain was fun and interesting. We saw so many dolphins and they are so much fun to watch. The sea cooperated and we were able to sail through the 'Hole in the Rock too . Ther was alot of bang for the buck.Thanks to all for a great time.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Joni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent trip. Well organised and helpfull staff. Who did their best to make sure everyone enjoyed their day.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

Raul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

All the reservations, connections and transports worked.
The places visited were nice and very interesting.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

monika.lamprecht

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An absolutely impressing tour - the only disadvantage: due to big distances sometimes simply to much driving. But all the visits on the tour: just grandious! Will go back to some places one time, that is for sure.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Vui L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great tour guide and exhilarating experience going through the hole in the rock.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

lanefamily5

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Really well organised trip very interesting commentry very beautiful scenery. Had a perfect day saw some dolphins playing and bow riding under another boat and we even went through the hole in the rock.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Gigi K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Enjoyed to see dolphins, pass through the Hole

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Raymond D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Everything went off without a hitch. Accommodation was very good.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

John C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Bear in mind that this is essentially two tour packages--one based from Paihia, the other based from Rotorua, that are stapled together by a day-long journey on the regular Intercity Bus. In other words, instead of being on a comfortable tour couch with an entertaining and knowledgeable driver who stops at scenic locales along the route, you waste one day of your vacation on crowded mass transit that stops in the least scenic part of every town, spending 9 hours on a journey that should only take 5.

With the exception of Day 3, all of the tour activities handled primarily by Great Sights New Zealand were quite enjoyable and professionally done. The drivers handled the logistics of luggage transport very well my bags were waiting in my hotel room when I arrived after the cruise on Day 1, although there were a couple of occasions where there wasn't enough time between activities to eat lunch is only provided on one day. Great Sights seems to hire guides with big personalities and long memories, so you end up learning a lot about NZ.

Of all the activities, the Bay of Islands boat tour was the most enjoyable and unexpected treat. The bay is beautiful and while we didn't see any dolphins, we did see orca, which I was assured is even better! The final day felt a bit rushed, with three tours around Rotorua in the morning and then the Hobbiton set in the afternoon. I would have happily skipped the sheep-shearing demonstration for more time to relax at the Green Dragon Inn in Hobbiton which features a very mellow cat asleep by the fireplace.

One last note: Rotorua STINKS. The volcanic activity responsible for its hotsprings also means the entire town, inside and out, smells of rotten eggs. I never got used to it, and spent most of my stay breathing through my mouth. If you go to the hot springs not included, be sure to wash your swimsuit before packing, or the smell will get on everything.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Rayomand Pavri P Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Did not get a chance to see the Hole In Rock

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Jeff D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour, great people on tour from all over the world!

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Curtis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is definitely the way to see the Bay of Islands! This was one of the highlights of our trip. The helicopter company was on time and the pilot was very informative. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour run by Great Sights, our driver Ben took us on a couple of extra stops as all the passengers were good with the time keeping and getting on the bus on time. The Treaty Grounds was an excellent introduction to the Moari history and traditions. The Cruise also was excellent, we saw many Dolphins and we were lucky enough to be able to go through the Hole in the Rock.

Doing what: Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise departs Auckland

Albert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic tour operator and had opportunity to see killer whales next to boat

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

There were two in my party, myself and my wife. In the past we have taken bus tours where you literally stay with the same vehicle for the tour duration. Your approach of using whatever transport was available at the time it was required was new to us, and we found it marvelous. It was a genuine attempt to maximize the use of your resources.

All of your drivers were great. They were respectful, incredibly knowledgeable, had a good sense of humour and were always on time. Perhaps one day, we will return to New Zealand and use your facilities again. Until then we will recommend you to any of our friends who are planning a New Zealand holiday.

Regards and thanks for a memorable trip,

Chris and Anita Taylor.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

maureenbowers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was very enjoyable and informative. Everything was organised well and the coach drivers were particularly helpful. The north of the island has spectacular scenery and the trip to Cape Reinga was unmissable.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Diane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a fantastic day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Thomas K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The crew and personnel did not communicate the options for bad weather days. Disappointed with their free return as it isn't as it seems.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

JC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome trip and well worth the relaxing tour, great staff and informative. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

macjim Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Picked up at motel by friendly helpful staff, saw the dolphins in three different areas, bit to rough to go through the 'hole', dropped off at Russell and free trip back to mainland.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The experience could not have been better. The crew took good care of us and we got to see dolphins, sea lions and travel through the tunnel that a boat could go through. The weather was perfect. If you are in this area you should do this.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Simone Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We only had 4 days and this tour was perfect. We saw and covered so much that we could not have if we did on our on in that time. The drivers, tour guides were amazing, organised and professional, but most of all fun! Accommodation was clean and the staff were lovely. I can't say enough good things about my three day tour in the beautiful Bay of Islands. I would highly recommend this tour if you don't have a lot of time, but want to make the most of the time you have.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Nancy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great experience. Very professional and knowledgeable tour guides and providers. Loved the special opportunity to see tons of Orcas! Lots of information. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message