The northern end of Ninety Mile Beach is lit by the flashing beacon of Cape Reinga lighthouse. Lighting the point where the Tasman Sea and Pacific Ocean meet, the remote lighthouse has an atmospheric end-of-the-world feeling, the ideal spot for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an awesome tour. I would reccomend this to anyone visiting the Bay of Islands area !

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant tour. Exceptional guide. A long but great day. Lunch the only weak point but venue was excellent.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

this tour was made all the more interesting by our tour guide Chris who told us about the Maori tribes which he was one of Great tour motoring on 90 mile beach excellent fish and chips for lunch overlooking the water fabulous The Kauri trees amazing so much to see and do

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great trip the only minus is that the 11 hours was a little long and the seating alittle tight for larger people. Robin was our driver and was a wealth of information even it was a little stretched at times overall rating out of 10 with 10 being the highest we would give the overall experience 9.99%

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Isobel M
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Good mix of activities which included a boardwalk,visit to Cape Reinga lighthouse, sand boarding and a stop on 90 mile beach as well as two stops for tea and one for lunch. Unfortunately the hotel pickups were very late ( mine was 15 mins) and at the last one the people had gone back inside so we were about 30 mins late starting off. This was referred to constantly during the trip and I felt we were hurried along and activities cut short. The coach itself was virtually full and very uncomfortable. I am only 5 cms shorter than the average height for a woman but there was no footrest and I could not put both my feet on the floor and have my back supported by the seat - I could only do one or the other. By the end of the trip I was in significant discomfort which lasted the following day.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long trip to drive on your own and our tour guide was very informative. Was thankful we hadn't purchased lunch as it was included for free and was a bowl of delicious fish and chips but not worth the purchasing price. Be prepared for a hike as it is quite a walk down to the Lighthouse and even steeper walk back. We needed the full 45 minutes they offered and many on our tour could not attempt. If you have a good camera you can still get great shots from up top .. It was an unbelievable experience to ride 90km per hour for 90 miles on the Beach! Getting out and walking that beautiful stretch was amazing as well!!

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very good tour. Best part was the ride down the sand dune. Very enjoyable driver. Lunch was not up to expectations.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Good product, well delivered by the driver/guide Kevin. The promised BBQ lunch became, without explanation, a second grade buffet lunch - in itself, not value for money. Otherwise, an enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Had a fantastic coach driver (Huey), a wealth of knowledge. Loved Cape Reinga, sand dunes and driving along beach, Kauri Kingdom was average but buffet lunch was overpriced and very poor as agreed by all on coach.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Just do it! Great tour from the 100km trip up 90 Mile beach in a bus, to the sand boarding to the spiritual Cape Reinga we really enjoyed this trip.We also loved the small places we drove though, Monganui and all of Doubtless Bay is some of the best scenery in the world. Very much recommended.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

we had a great driver, Barry. wow this was a great trip. Everything was great from the coach, the commentary and the lunch. What a wonderful way to show our friends that part of New Zealand.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The coach driver was great a really nice friendly guy good commentary the only thing was the food stop was a bit of a scramble and not well set out, the food was mediocre. Of our four meals two persons fish was soggy and undercooked.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

T0ur guide was very good and kept us all interested and amused during the long day. We opted for the buffet meal but didn't consider the meal to be value for money and we had to eat at 10.30am which was too early iin the day. The walk down to the lighthouse was good (although we had inclement weather) and views were great, especially seeing where the Tasman and Pacific Oceans met. My husband took part in the sand boarding and thoroughly enjoyed the activity - thought he was a teenager again.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

good trip, good number of activities, comfortable, friendly and professional staff , good information of about the sites and places,

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent drivers. Comfortable coach. Superb lunch. Perfect day!

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Sand boarding , beach drive, light house, creek traverse and a tyre blo9w out on the way home. A full, exciting event filled day.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very nice tour whats make a beatifull day.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a wonderful day. We did not do the sand boarding but had fun watching others. Certainly a great day out and did not seem to be an especially long day. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2013

Well, we thought this was the most boring, expensive non event of our trip. The only thing that was good was the sand boarding - for those that could do it. 64 miles of travelling on a beach didn't cut it for us, nor did the fact that the booking clerk got it wrong, and we were left waiting for half an hour before they realised their mistake, before they picked us up. Then we were the last to be dropped off the bus... at the entrance to the Holiday Park some 600 metres of a walk - fine for able bodies, but I have a stick and that was the last gasp. 11 hours - ugh!

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

A Long day but worth it to be at the very top of NZ The drive through to the sand dunes was terrific. Dont know of many places that can be accessed by 4wd through a water course to massive sand dunes.

Vicki

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Great day. Very informative with many points of interest. Loved the sand dunes.Would not been able to do this part of interest unless you are on a tour

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Fantastic tour .One of the high lights of our visit to NZ. Roger the guide /driver was excellent!

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellente journée bien que le temps n'ait pas été fantastique : on voyait le phare de Cape Reinga une fois arrivés dessous !
La virée en bus sur la plage et le surf sur les dunes sont vraiment excellents ! Notre chauffeur était génial !

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message