The northern end of Ninety Mile Beach is lit by the flashing beacon of Cape Reinga lighthouse. Lighting the point where the Tasman Sea and Pacific Ocean meet, the remote lighthouse has an atmospheric end-of-the-world feeling, the ideal spot for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bruce D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour would do it again well done

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Bradley N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great Tour have to say it was very organized. Always had are names and picked up on time.
All buses were great as they all had free wifi on board. All bus drivers were very informative and friendly. Highly recommend this trip all the activities are great

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous! Each day was different and with a different company. However it was well organized and a lot of fun. I loved doing 3 days instead of just one so we could slow down and take in the sights in Pahia. We thought it was too much to do in just one day. 90 mile Beach and going to the light house in Cape Regina were the highlights for us.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

kim p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip - very well organised and our pilot Dan was extremely good and informative throughout. Would recommend this as a must for anybody wishing to see the wonderful landscape in its entirity of the Bay of Islands. Trip was nicely broken up by some fun features and a welcome cup of coffee!

Doing what: Cape Reinga Half-Day Tour including Scenic Flight

Forrest R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Best way to see this area! Loved this experience! Simply amazing!

Doing what: Cape Reinga Half-Day Tour including Scenic Flight

Joni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Such a great trip. Knowledgeable driver/guide. A lot sucked into one day.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Raul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

All the reservations, connections and transports worked.
The places visited were nice and very interesting.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

monika.lamprecht

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An absolutely impressing tour - the only disadvantage: due to big distances sometimes simply to much driving. But all the visits on the tour: just grandious! Will go back to some places one time, that is for sure.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Raymond D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Everything went off without a hitch. Accommodation was very good.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

John C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Bear in mind that this is essentially two tour packages--one based from Paihia, the other based from Rotorua, that are stapled together by a day-long journey on the regular Intercity Bus. In other words, instead of being on a comfortable tour couch with an entertaining and knowledgeable driver who stops at scenic locales along the route, you waste one day of your vacation on crowded mass transit that stops in the least scenic part of every town, spending 9 hours on a journey that should only take 5.

With the exception of Day 3, all of the tour activities handled primarily by Great Sights New Zealand were quite enjoyable and professionally done. The drivers handled the logistics of luggage transport very well my bags were waiting in my hotel room when I arrived after the cruise on Day 1, although there were a couple of occasions where there wasn't enough time between activities to eat lunch is only provided on one day. Great Sights seems to hire guides with big personalities and long memories, so you end up learning a lot about NZ.

Of all the activities, the Bay of Islands boat tour was the most enjoyable and unexpected treat. The bay is beautiful and while we didn't see any dolphins, we did see orca, which I was assured is even better! The final day felt a bit rushed, with three tours around Rotorua in the morning and then the Hobbiton set in the afternoon. I would have happily skipped the sheep-shearing demonstration for more time to relax at the Green Dragon Inn in Hobbiton which features a very mellow cat asleep by the fireplace.

One last note: Rotorua STINKS. The volcanic activity responsible for its hotsprings also means the entire town, inside and out, smells of rotten eggs. I never got used to it, and spent most of my stay breathing through my mouth. If you go to the hot springs not included, be sure to wash your swimsuit before packing, or the smell will get on everything.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Jeff D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour, great people on tour from all over the world!

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

There were two in my party, myself and my wife. In the past we have taken bus tours where you literally stay with the same vehicle for the tour duration. Your approach of using whatever transport was available at the time it was required was new to us, and we found it marvelous. It was a genuine attempt to maximize the use of your resources.

All of your drivers were great. They were respectful, incredibly knowledgeable, had a good sense of humour and were always on time. Perhaps one day, we will return to New Zealand and use your facilities again. Until then we will recommend you to any of our friends who are planning a New Zealand holiday.

Regards and thanks for a memorable trip,

Chris and Anita Taylor.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

maureenbowers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was very enjoyable and informative. Everything was organised well and the coach drivers were particularly helpful. The north of the island has spectacular scenery and the trip to Cape Reinga was unmissable.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Simone Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We only had 4 days and this tour was perfect. We saw and covered so much that we could not have if we did on our on in that time. The drivers, tour guides were amazing, organised and professional, but most of all fun! Accommodation was clean and the staff were lovely. I can't say enough good things about my three day tour in the beautiful Bay of Islands. I would highly recommend this tour if you don't have a lot of time, but want to make the most of the time you have.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Chris B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an excellent trip, well organized, full of surprises and real value for money. The Scenic Hotel was excellent as were the breakfasts. The drive along the sands is a keeper as is the tour of Russell.
Overall, most enjoyable and I would defiantly recommend it to friends.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Lawrence B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Top trip up to the Cape. The guide was the best. Always helpful. The views were to 'die for'. Really enjoyed the sand boarding.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Mike H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A fabulous tour - professional and well organised. It made our trip to NZ complete.

Doing what: Cape Reinga Half-Day Tour including Scenic Flight

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time. Everything worked exactly as it was supposed to. The itinerary was challenging but very enjoyable. We were able to see a lot of the best of the North Island over a limited duration. EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Lorraine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an awesome tour. I would reccomend this to anyone visiting the Bay of Islands area !

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

marie.strong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The whole tour was amazing and superb value for money. Everyone involved was so helpful and enthusiastic and there was such a wide range of different activities involved. The accommodation in the Bay of Islands was superb and there was just the right amount of downtime. We thought that if anything you undersold it on the website.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

mandgsto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant tour. Exceptional guide. A long but great day. Lunch the only weak point but venue was excellent.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

christine w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

this tour was made all the more interesting by our tour guide Chris who told us about the Maori tribes which he was one of Great tour motoring on 90 mile beach excellent fish and chips for lunch overlooking the water fabulous The Kauri trees amazing so much to see and do

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Garry T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great trip the only minus is that the 11 hours was a little long and the seating alittle tight for larger people. Robin was our driver and was a wealth of information even it was a little stretched at times overall rating out of 10 with 10 being the highest we would give the overall experience 9.99%

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Jennifer B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The only disappointment was the accommodation in Rotorua (Ibis). Standard of hotel was very poor, would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message