The North Island’s Ninety Mile Beach runs northwards along the west coast near Kaitaia all the way to Cape Reinga on New Zealand’s northernmost tip. This seemingly endless stretch of wave-lapped sand is rimmed by dunes and topped by the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time. Everything worked exactly as it was supposed to. The itinerary was challenging but very enjoyable. We were able to see a lot of the best of the North Island over a limited duration. EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The whole tour was amazing and superb value for money. Everyone involved was so helpful and enthusiastic and there was such a wide range of different activities involved. The accommodation in the Bay of Islands was superb and there was just the right amount of downtime. We thought that if anything you undersold it on the website.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an awesome tour. I would reccomend this to anyone visiting the Bay of Islands area !

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

this tour was made all the more interesting by our tour guide Chris who told us about the Maori tribes which he was one of Great tour motoring on 90 mile beach excellent fish and chips for lunch overlooking the water fabulous The Kauri trees amazing so much to see and do

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant tour. Exceptional guide. A long but great day. Lunch the only weak point but venue was excellent.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long trip to drive on your own and our tour guide was very informative. Was thankful we hadn't purchased lunch as it was included for free and was a bowl of delicious fish and chips but not worth the purchasing price. Be prepared for a hike as it is quite a walk down to the Lighthouse and even steeper walk back. We needed the full 45 minutes they offered and many on our tour could not attempt. If you have a good camera you can still get great shots from up top .. It was an unbelievable experience to ride 90km per hour for 90 miles on the Beach! Getting out and walking that beautiful stretch was amazing as well!!

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Good product, well delivered by the driver/guide Kevin. The promised BBQ lunch became, without explanation, a second grade buffet lunch - in itself, not value for money. Otherwise, an enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

V. Good if u dont have much time. We had a week in total for all NZ - flew to Auckland on Sun, had the evening, then next day, with this 5 day tour starting on Tues-Sat. It basically takes you around the northern half of the north isl. and covers it all pretty well. Day1- Leave city in a coach, drive over the bridge and begin journey to beautiful Paihia - see nice countryside on way with a cpl stops here and there. It is narrated and I enjoyed this trip. The cruise was very fun. We didn't get to see all sights due to weather, but we did see alot more that normally isn't included. We also didn't see dolphins, so they gave us a another trip for free with no expiry date. The choppy water made the cruise really fun - for me anyways. After the cruise, you get taken to your hotel room. We chose Superior accom, and the rooms were nice, although the hotels were a little away from main areas, then again not really that far though - we walked. I had nothing to complain of. Day2- Long bus drive to the northernmost tip of NZ, and when you get there not really too much to see/do. There's a little lighthouse, and U can see where 2 oceans meet. it was good, but then worth the drive?? The trip back was where it paid off - instead of the same route back, the bus actually takes you onto the 90 mile beach and drives through the water. On the way you get to stop at giant skysrcaper sized sand dunes and boogie board down them. Really fun and weird driving in a bus through water. Buffet lunch provided was not buffet - fish and chips. Day3- Really long drive back to Auckland, Really long drive to Rotorua. Full day. Enough said. Day4- Rotorua is awesome and my favorite place on this journey. So many things to do. Caves were incredible. Glowworms were cool. Afternoon off to wander the town was welcome. We skipped Maori dance. Day5 - Geysers fantastic, all shows fantastic, Hobbiton cool and lame - way too many people to enjoy it properly. Will be back to PaiHia and Rotorua for sure. Very fun!

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Just do it! Great tour from the 100km trip up 90 Mile beach in a bus, to the sand boarding to the spiritual Cape Reinga we really enjoyed this trip.We also loved the small places we drove though, Monganui and all of Doubtless Bay is some of the best scenery in the world. Very much recommended.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

we had a great driver, Barry. wow this was a great trip. Everything was great from the coach, the commentary and the lunch. What a wonderful way to show our friends that part of New Zealand.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Everything went very smoothly and according to schedule. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and fun. It was a dream come true to see Hobbiton and the tours were incredible. I definitely recommend going on this trip!

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

good trip, good number of activities, comfortable, friendly and professional staff , good information of about the sites and places,

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent drivers. Comfortable coach. Superb lunch. Perfect day!

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a wonderful day. We did not do the sand boarding but had fun watching others. Certainly a great day out and did not seem to be an especially long day. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Shuttle pick up from Auckland hotel and return was very efficient and did not involve coach going to every hotel in city. Hotel in Bay of Islands was good, nice pool, friendly staff and easy walk to restaurants and ferries. Delivery and collection of luggage to hotel worked extremely well.
Tours were all excellent.Loved the trip to Cape Reinga and 90 mile beach. Driver/guide was excellent and spent time showing party how to board down the dunes safely. Boat trip to Hole in the Rock and Russell Town were very enjoyable and we loved seeing so many Dolphins.
Excellent value and well worth doing. Many thanks.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

A Long day but worth it to be at the very top of NZ The drive through to the sand dunes was terrific. Dont know of many places that can be accessed by 4wd through a water course to massive sand dunes.

Vicki

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Fantastic day out with a very knowledgeable and friendly driver. Thought that the lunch provided was exceptional. It is a long day but a day that you could not cover if driving your own vehicle, nor as a tourist, find what we were taken to see.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent tour. Very informative guide and very entertaining. Even tried the sand tobogganing. Would highly recommend to everyone visiting the top of North Island.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellente journée bien que le temps n'ait pas été fantastique : on voyait le phare de Cape Reinga une fois arrivés dessous !
La virée en bus sur la plage et le surf sur les dunes sont vraiment excellents ! Notre chauffeur était génial !

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Fantastic tour .One of the high lights of our visit to NZ. Roger the guide /driver was excellent!

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Terrific day - Derek the driver/guide gave an excellent commentary of the area, flora and fauna, and culture - with a great sense of humour - and took us sand-boarding on the dunes - definitely a highlight of my holiday. Recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed it, so glad to have done it. Living in NZ for 18 yrs and finally got there.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great day with Barry... Lots of fun and informative as well

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent! I couldn't have had more fun. One of the most memorable times of my trip. 5 out of 5.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message