The North Island’s Ninety Mile Beach runs northwards along the west coast near Kaitaia all the way to Cape Reinga on New Zealand’s northernmost tip. This seemingly endless stretch of wave-lapped sand is rimmed by dunes and topped by the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

monika.lamprecht

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An absolutely impressing tour - the only disadvantage: due to big distances sometimes simply to much driving. But all the visits on the tour: just grandious! Will go back to some places one time, that is for sure.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Raul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

All the reservations, connections and transports worked.
The places visited were nice and very interesting.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Joni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Such a great trip. Knowledgeable driver/guide. A lot sucked into one day.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Forrest R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Best way to see this area! Loved this experience! Simply amazing!

Doing what: Cape Reinga Half-Day Tour including Scenic Flight

kim p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip - very well organised and our pilot Dan was extremely good and informative throughout. Would recommend this as a must for anybody wishing to see the wonderful landscape in its entirity of the Bay of Islands. Trip was nicely broken up by some fun features and a welcome cup of coffee!

Doing what: Cape Reinga Half-Day Tour including Scenic Flight

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous! Each day was different and with a different company. However it was well organized and a lot of fun. I loved doing 3 days instead of just one so we could slow down and take in the sights in Pahia. We thought it was too much to do in just one day. 90 mile Beach and going to the light house in Cape Regina were the highlights for us.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

There were two in my party, myself and my wife. In the past we have taken bus tours where you literally stay with the same vehicle for the tour duration. Your approach of using whatever transport was available at the time it was required was new to us, and we found it marvelous. It was a genuine attempt to maximize the use of your resources.

All of your drivers were great. They were respectful, incredibly knowledgeable, had a good sense of humour and were always on time. Perhaps one day, we will return to New Zealand and use your facilities again. Until then we will recommend you to any of our friends who are planning a New Zealand holiday.

Regards and thanks for a memorable trip,

Chris and Anita Taylor.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

maureenbowers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was very enjoyable and informative. Everything was organised well and the coach drivers were particularly helpful. The north of the island has spectacular scenery and the trip to Cape Reinga was unmissable.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Jeff D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour, great people on tour from all over the world!

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Simone Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We only had 4 days and this tour was perfect. We saw and covered so much that we could not have if we did on our on in that time. The drivers, tour guides were amazing, organised and professional, but most of all fun! Accommodation was clean and the staff were lovely. I can't say enough good things about my three day tour in the beautiful Bay of Islands. I would highly recommend this tour if you don't have a lot of time, but want to make the most of the time you have.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Mike H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A fabulous tour - professional and well organised. It made our trip to NZ complete.

Doing what: Cape Reinga Half-Day Tour including Scenic Flight

Lawrence B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Top trip up to the Cape. The guide was the best. Always helpful. The views were to 'die for'. Really enjoyed the sand boarding.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Chris B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an excellent trip, well organized, full of surprises and real value for money. The Scenic Hotel was excellent as were the breakfasts. The drive along the sands is a keeper as is the tour of Russell.
Overall, most enjoyable and I would defiantly recommend it to friends.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time. Everything worked exactly as it was supposed to. The itinerary was challenging but very enjoyable. We were able to see a lot of the best of the North Island over a limited duration. EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

marie.strong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The whole tour was amazing and superb value for money. Everyone involved was so helpful and enthusiastic and there was such a wide range of different activities involved. The accommodation in the Bay of Islands was superb and there was just the right amount of downtime. We thought that if anything you undersold it on the website.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Lorraine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an awesome tour. I would reccomend this to anyone visiting the Bay of Islands area !

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

christine w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

this tour was made all the more interesting by our tour guide Chris who told us about the Maori tribes which he was one of Great tour motoring on 90 mile beach excellent fish and chips for lunch overlooking the water fabulous The Kauri trees amazing so much to see and do

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

mandgsto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant tour. Exceptional guide. A long but great day. Lunch the only weak point but venue was excellent.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Douglas T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long trip to drive on your own and our tour guide was very informative. Was thankful we hadn't purchased lunch as it was included for free and was a bowl of delicious fish and chips but not worth the purchasing price. Be prepared for a hike as it is quite a walk down to the Lighthouse and even steeper walk back. We needed the full 45 minutes they offered and many on our tour could not attempt. If you have a good camera you can still get great shots from up top .. It was an unbelievable experience to ride 90km per hour for 90 miles on the Beach! Getting out and walking that beautiful stretch was amazing as well!!

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Lawrence B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Good product, well delivered by the driver/guide Kevin. The promised BBQ lunch became, without explanation, a second grade buffet lunch - in itself, not value for money. Otherwise, an enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

V. Good if u dont have much time. We had a week in total for all NZ - flew to Auckland on Sun, had the evening, then next day, with this 5 day tour starting on Tues-Sat. It basically takes you around the northern half of the north isl. and covers it all pretty well. Day1- Leave city in a coach, drive over the bridge and begin journey to beautiful Paihia - see nice countryside on way with a cpl stops here and there. It is narrated and I enjoyed this trip. The cruise was very fun. We didn't get to see all sights due to weather, but we did see alot more that normally isn't included. We also didn't see dolphins, so they gave us a another trip for free with no expiry date. The choppy water made the cruise really fun - for me anyways. After the cruise, you get taken to your hotel room. We chose Superior accom, and the rooms were nice, although the hotels were a little away from main areas, then again not really that far though - we walked. I had nothing to complain of. Day2- Long bus drive to the northernmost tip of NZ, and when you get there not really too much to see/do. There's a little lighthouse, and U can see where 2 oceans meet. it was good, but then worth the drive?? The trip back was where it paid off - instead of the same route back, the bus actually takes you onto the 90 mile beach and drives through the water. On the way you get to stop at giant skysrcaper sized sand dunes and boogie board down them. Really fun and weird driving in a bus through water. Buffet lunch provided was not buffet - fish and chips. Day3- Really long drive back to Auckland, Really long drive to Rotorua. Full day. Enough said. Day4- Rotorua is awesome and my favorite place on this journey. So many things to do. Caves were incredible. Glowworms were cool. Afternoon off to wander the town was welcome. We skipped Maori dance. Day5 - Geysers fantastic, all shows fantastic, Hobbiton cool and lame - way too many people to enjoy it properly. Will be back to PaiHia and Rotorua for sure. Very fun!

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Karen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Just do it! Great tour from the 100km trip up 90 Mile beach in a bus, to the sand boarding to the spiritual Cape Reinga we really enjoyed this trip.We also loved the small places we drove though, Monganui and all of Doubtless Bay is some of the best scenery in the world. Very much recommended.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

we had a great driver, Barry. wow this was a great trip. Everything was great from the coach, the commentary and the lunch. What a wonderful way to show our friends that part of New Zealand.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Paul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Everything went very smoothly and according to schedule. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and fun. It was a dream come true to see Hobbiton and the tours were incredible. I definitely recommend going on this trip!

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message