The resort town of Paihia services the villages and islands of the Bay of Islands. Boasting the area’s best accommodation and restaurants, Paihia Harbour is the ideal place to base yourself while you explore this lovely part of New Zealand.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 175 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very scenic. Lots of dolphins. Beautiful country!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Just do it! Great tour from the 100km trip up 90 Mile beach in a bus, to the sand boarding to the spiritual Cape Reinga we really enjoyed this trip.We also loved the small places we drove though, Monganui and all of Doubtless Bay is some of the best scenery in the world. Very much recommended.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Well organized and good commentary on a beautiful part of the world.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I really enjoyed this tour, we even had dolphins putting on a show for us. Fabulous

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An exciting viewing of dolphins. The boat was a little crowded so that when there was a sighting people rushed to the side pushing others out of the way. Booking on-line was easy and I would recommend collecting boarding passes the day before if you can so that you can get near the front of the boarding queue, particulary if there are cruise boats in. This is the second time that I have taken this trip and I enjoyed it as much again. The commentary was informative and enjoyable and I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to see the coast line, but take your swim gear for the time on the island.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

OZYMIKE2
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This cruise was the best ever,having said that i would like to thank young ROSS for helping me out,i was late for this cruise i got my times wrong and missed the boat ,but he went out of his way to help us out and put us on the afternoon one.We had a great time and we got to see killer whales feeding on stingrays,and the dolphins were swimming in front of the bow of the boat,it was amazing to see.The rest of the cruise was great and we saw the hole in the rock but we didn't go through it the swell was too high.Overall i would recommend Viator and this cruise to everyone i give it 10 out of TEN.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very nice tour. Guide was most knowledgeable.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great trip anyone that has not been to the hole in the rock will enjoy it.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was the best day we spent in the bay of Islands . The staff were very good and helpful and plenty of information . The dolphin swim and dolphin watching were highlights

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise - Original Cream Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was amazing. The dolphin watching and seeing the new babies. Watching other people do the net surfing. Wow. We had been on this trip about 10 years ago and much has changed, for the better. Our friends had not done this before and they were thrilled. Thanks for a great time,

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise - Original Cream Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

we had a great driver, Barry. wow this was a great trip. Everything was great from the coach, the commentary and the lunch. What a wonderful way to show our friends that part of New Zealand.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Karen Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great morning. Didn't believe the large cateman ferry we were on would fit through the Hole in the Rock, but it did - tight but Captain did a great job. It was a very full cruise but there was space for everyone to see. Great stop on island for walk to hilltop lookout.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Karen Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic day on the water - great stop. Able to put up most of the sails on the day. Skipper and staff were so obliging. BBQ lunch was good.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A wonderful day spent meandering through the islands enhanced by beautiful weather. We managed to go through the Hole in the Rock which was great handling of the vessel as it was a bit rough - tours the following two days were cancelled due to bad weather as a result of Cyclone Lusi. We saw a number of dolphins although not in an area where people could swim with them,.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise - Original Cream Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message