The resort town of Paihia services the villages and islands of the Bay of Islands. Boasting the area’s best accommodation and restaurants, Paihia Harbour is the ideal place to base yourself while you explore this lovely part of New Zealand.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 331 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lorna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was absolutely wonderful even though we couldn't go through the hole because of the currents. We were lucky enough to have a wonderful sunny day. The captain was terrific - warm and informative and she found dolphins for us which was an absolute highlight!! I had 3 friends from overseas and they thought the whole experience was magical - one from the USA had wanted to come to the Bay of Islands for many years and she was totally bowled over. Thanks for a lovely experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Roger B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great introduction to what New Zealand has to offer. Great views seen in the quiet of sail rather than noise of motor power. Steve and crew kept us entertained and the bbq lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Marion E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

amazing views we had already been on boat trip so it was good to see from the sky as well.The company was very helpful as when we arrived for our pre booked flight it was quite misty so we couldn't go but when we suggested we would do boat trip first they were very accommodating with changing time

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Scenic Helicopter Tour Including Hole in the Rock

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

In a word 'fantastic'.

Will worth the trip.

The pilot was friendly and knowledgeable. A great experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful ship ride with a friendly crew, delicious food on a great boat!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Scott P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

One of the best days I have ever had. Professional and fun crew made everyone feel at ease - what an awesome day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Vicki H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved it - I was a bit disappointed that helicopters are able to land on the hole in the rock - spoils the experience and what about the cultural implications? Nevertheless, the trip was wonderful and the whole area is absolutely amazing. Our skipper was hilarious and also extremely informative. Had a lovely day - thank you so much :

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

D C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

As we left the rain was still falling but Paul assured us it would get better-and it did. We had a fabulous day-Paul was a great driver and kept us entertained all day with plenty of information and funny comments too. It was nice to have the faster coach at first before swapping to the beach vehicle.We had a good lunch-all ready for us- no delay as it was a buffet. We had plenty of time at each stop along the way. Paul gave us a very good lesson on how to use the sand boards so no-one had a problem. The walk out to Cape Reinga was stunning in the sunshine-the two seas met and the white horses were very visible-amazing. We enjoyed the detour to see the wild horses along the beach. Only thing that didn't quite work today was the view along the beach and out to the alternative hole in the rock as the spray was obscuring it a bit-no-one's fault! Our last stop at the chippie was great-and again the card system meant no long queue-but plenty of time to eat looking at the sun and sea. An excellent day enhanced by Paul-a very good guide. Thanks.

Doing what: Far North New Zealand Tour including 90 Mile Beach and Cape Reinga from Paihia

Robert P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a memorable time we had and we actually sailed through the Hole in the Rock. This was our first time in New Zealand and the Bay of Islands is just amazing. So many memories. The young man who sailed us through was great. He had a great sense of humor and extremely informative and good looking as well! What more can I say. Well done and thank you.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Dave Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour, very informative, fish and chip lunch was terrific. The run up the beach was interesting and fun when they turn in via a river bed. The real fun was the sandboarding, if you have the energy to walk up the sandhill you must give it a go.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Kenneth J P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

There's no better way to see Bay of Islands than by helicopter and landing on the Hole in the Rock was a great thrill. Our pilot/guide was terrific. We highly recommend this adventure.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Geoff M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed this tour.
My neice and I chose this as a independent shore tour on a cruise ship visit for about one third the cost of anything on offer from the ship.

The fast boat was fun might be a bit rock n roll in rough weather and the bays, islands, and rocks were visually stunning..... Only the one cave visit, but the two hours covered a good section of the area.
We enjoyed glimpses of Russell while picking up and dropping of passengers you could take regular ferry to Russell before joining.

A highlight was the visit to Motuarohia island where Captain Cook went ashore and scaled the peak you can too if energetic ..... We chose a quick swim in the gorgeous lagoon.

My only regret is I wish the tour went a little longer to allow more time on Motuarohia

Remember if doing this as a cruise ship shore tour alternative .... It is a Tender Port which makes the early tour8.30am and the afternoon tour 2pm impossible due to the time needed for the tender process. We did the 11am tour.... This allowed time to get an early tender, walk from Waitangi to Paihia shuttles are available , have a look around before the tour.

We had a fabulous weather day.... And of course that turns beautiful into spectacular.

Doing what: Island Cliffs and Caves Adventure Tour

Louise G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a great day out! Saw dolphins as we were coming home after a dull weather day in Paihia turned out to be glorious around the islands. Brilliant and knowledgeable crew.
Will go again if I go back to the bay of islands and recommend you do too.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

jrobinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was fantastic! An absolute must do, even for those of us who are a little bit afraid of flying in a helicopter. The pilot was exceptionally professional and informative. Be sure to include the landing on top of the rock portion of the tour --- it is well worth it.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Ronald W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent Coach Driver from both a comfort view and gave very interesting commentaries.
Would recommend this trip to all visitors to the Bay of Islands

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Jim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The cruise and crew were amazing. The trip to an uninhabited island was interesting. We had a very nice lunch of chicken and salad. Climbing the mast was made easy and fun. Great day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Micheal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fully recommend this trip. When we went out the captain Billy told us that he was going off schedule because he had been told of a pod of killer whales in the area he wanted to find for us. He duly found them and the experience was amazing Billy seemed to be able to play with them and encourage them closer to the boat. Went through hole in wall in quite a swell which showed the captain's skill

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was very good and was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We all thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It was very well conducted and there was just enough time at each stop.
I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone visiting the Bay of Islands.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Christine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great trip. The crew were wonderful, the lunch really tasty and it was the highlight of our trip to the Bay of Islands. My husband got to climb the rigging. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Pamela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour,lovely lunch in nice setting,great drive along the beach and great fun sand boarding.
Our lady driver was lovely.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Davedeeo United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A tour packed full of information and sights. Whilst there was a lot to cover all the stops were of sufficient time whilst keeping on the move to ensure we got everything in. The fish and chips for early lunch were excellent. It was quite surprising to find that the 2WD coach was not significantly different from usual even though it was to drive down a stream bed on to the 90 mile beach.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Kirk A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great time with the crew and captain. My wife Bonnie climbed the rigging I was chicken, we had an awesome lunch, a great hike and a great experience. The icing on the cake was when three killer whales swam along side of us and gave us some terrific photos. We recommend this trip to anyone and will go again when we return to New Zealand next year.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

If there were more stars they would get them all! Fabulous cruise.
Our captain actually drove through the hole in the rock...amazing! A 'must-do'!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message