The resort town of Paihia services the villages and islands of the Bay of Islands. Boasting the area’s best accommodation and restaurants, Paihia Harbour is the ideal place to base yourself while you explore this lovely part of New Zealand.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 284 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

TREVOR C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was great and our tour guide was very knowledgeable. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Kerikeri and Crafts Half-Day Tour from Bay of Islands

monika.lamprecht

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An absolutely impressing tour - the only disadvantage: due to big distances sometimes simply to much driving. But all the visits on the tour: just grandious! Will go back to some places one time, that is for sure.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Raul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

All the reservations, connections and transports worked.
The places visited were nice and very interesting.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Joni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Such a great trip. Knowledgeable driver/guide. A lot sucked into one day.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Joni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent trip. Well organised and helpfull staff. Who did their best to make sure everyone enjoyed their day.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

Forrest R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Best way to see this area! Loved this experience! Simply amazing!

Doing what: Cape Reinga Half-Day Tour including Scenic Flight

kim p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip - very well organised and our pilot Dan was extremely good and informative throughout. Would recommend this as a must for anybody wishing to see the wonderful landscape in its entirity of the Bay of Islands. Trip was nicely broken up by some fun features and a welcome cup of coffee!

Doing what: Cape Reinga Half-Day Tour including Scenic Flight

hobbit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was awesome! The cruise was so well organized and the crew was very friendly. The scenery was so beautiful and the narration of the captain was fun and interesting. We saw so many dolphins and they are so much fun to watch. The sea cooperated and we were able to sail through the 'Hole in the Rock too . Ther was alot of bang for the buck.Thanks to all for a great time.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Richard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A must do!!! Amazing scenery and well worth the cost.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous! Each day was different and with a different company. However it was well organized and a lot of fun. I loved doing 3 days instead of just one so we could slow down and take in the sights in Pahia. We thought it was too much to do in just one day. 90 mile Beach and going to the light house in Cape Regina were the highlights for us.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Diane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a fantastic day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

There were two in my party, myself and my wife. In the past we have taken bus tours where you literally stay with the same vehicle for the tour duration. Your approach of using whatever transport was available at the time it was required was new to us, and we found it marvelous. It was a genuine attempt to maximize the use of your resources.

All of your drivers were great. They were respectful, incredibly knowledgeable, had a good sense of humour and were always on time. Perhaps one day, we will return to New Zealand and use your facilities again. Until then we will recommend you to any of our friends who are planning a New Zealand holiday.

Regards and thanks for a memorable trip,

Chris and Anita Taylor.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

maureenbowers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was very enjoyable and informative. Everything was organised well and the coach drivers were particularly helpful. The north of the island has spectacular scenery and the trip to Cape Reinga was unmissable.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Albert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic tour operator and had opportunity to see killer whales next to boat

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Curtis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is definitely the way to see the Bay of Islands! This was one of the highlights of our trip. The helicopter company was on time and the pilot was very informative. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Blair P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The best time ever..the crew and vessel were amazing..

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Jeff D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour, great people on tour from all over the world!

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

flockhound

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Brilliant cruise. This was the best excursion trip we experienced. The cruise alone was extremely enjoyable and was easily accessed from the cruise shuttle bus. The hole in the rock wasn't passed through due to weather and sea conditions but the lady Captain reversed into the hole and gave us the full view and feel for natures creation. Well done driver, a brilliant piece of boat handling skills, I'll try to remember this before criticising lady drivers.
What a bonus we had though, there was a pod of local Okra killer whales in and around one of the bays we visited. They were very close and surfacing often as they were feeding on Rays in the shallow waters of the bay. This made for an unexpected once in a lifetime experience which will be remembered for years to come. Not guaranteed on the trip but you never know your luck!
Value for money, excellent, we saved 60 two of us on this trip through Viator compared to our cruise ship excursion.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Nancy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great experience. Very professional and knowledgeable tour guides and providers. Loved the special opportunity to see tons of Orcas! Lots of information. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Simone Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We only had 4 days and this tour was perfect. We saw and covered so much that we could not have if we did on our on in that time. The drivers, tour guides were amazing, organised and professional, but most of all fun! Accommodation was clean and the staff were lovely. I can't say enough good things about my three day tour in the beautiful Bay of Islands. I would highly recommend this tour if you don't have a lot of time, but want to make the most of the time you have.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The experience could not have been better. The crew took good care of us and we got to see dolphins, sea lions and travel through the tunnel that a boat could go through. The weather was perfect. If you are in this area you should do this.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

macjim Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Picked up at motel by friendly helpful staff, saw the dolphins in three different areas, bit to rough to go through the 'hole', dropped off at Russell and free trip back to mainland.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

JC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome trip and well worth the relaxing tour, great staff and informative. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

phildoyle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Nice big catamaran with snacks and toilets on board. Good narration. Beautiful scenery. Well worth the money. Tip: do not wait to be picked up by a bus. Go into the shop and check in at the big white desk. Boat loads at the pier out in back.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Mike H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A fabulous tour - professional and well organised. It made our trip to NZ complete.

Doing what: Cape Reinga Half-Day Tour including Scenic Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message