The little town of Waitangi looms large in New Zealand’s national psyche. It was here in 1840 that the famous Treaty of Waitangi was signed by local Maori chiefs and representatives of Queen Victoria. The Waitangi Treaty recognized Maori ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Bradley N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great Tour have to say it was very organized. Always had are names and picked up on time.
All buses were great as they all had free wifi on board. All bus drivers were very informative and friendly. Highly recommend this trip all the activities are great

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

mail

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

The bus was modern and comfortable and the driver excellent but this trip entailed a long drive to Pahia - itself hardly an attractive location. The tour of the Waitangi treaty grounds was interesting but our guide needs serious coaching in presentation skills. The ferry ride to Russell was enjoyable but there's little, if anything, to do in the town other than wait for the return ferry. To make the long drive worthwhile it's best to arrange a boat trip around the bay.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous! Each day was different and with a different company. However it was well organized and a lot of fun. I loved doing 3 days instead of just one so we could slow down and take in the sights in Pahia. We thought it was too much to do in just one day. 90 mile Beach and going to the light house in Cape Regina were the highlights for us.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Raul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

All the reservations, connections and transports worked.
The places visited were nice and very interesting.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

monika.lamprecht

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An absolutely impressing tour - the only disadvantage: due to big distances sometimes simply to much driving. But all the visits on the tour: just grandious! Will go back to some places one time, that is for sure.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Raymond D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Everything went off without a hitch. Accommodation was very good.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

John C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Bear in mind that this is essentially two tour packages--one based from Paihia, the other based from Rotorua, that are stapled together by a day-long journey on the regular Intercity Bus. In other words, instead of being on a comfortable tour couch with an entertaining and knowledgeable driver who stops at scenic locales along the route, you waste one day of your vacation on crowded mass transit that stops in the least scenic part of every town, spending 9 hours on a journey that should only take 5.

With the exception of Day 3, all of the tour activities handled primarily by Great Sights New Zealand were quite enjoyable and professionally done. The drivers handled the logistics of luggage transport very well my bags were waiting in my hotel room when I arrived after the cruise on Day 1, although there were a couple of occasions where there wasn't enough time between activities to eat lunch is only provided on one day. Great Sights seems to hire guides with big personalities and long memories, so you end up learning a lot about NZ.

Of all the activities, the Bay of Islands boat tour was the most enjoyable and unexpected treat. The bay is beautiful and while we didn't see any dolphins, we did see orca, which I was assured is even better! The final day felt a bit rushed, with three tours around Rotorua in the morning and then the Hobbiton set in the afternoon. I would have happily skipped the sheep-shearing demonstration for more time to relax at the Green Dragon Inn in Hobbiton which features a very mellow cat asleep by the fireplace.

One last note: Rotorua STINKS. The volcanic activity responsible for its hotsprings also means the entire town, inside and out, smells of rotten eggs. I never got used to it, and spent most of my stay breathing through my mouth. If you go to the hot springs not included, be sure to wash your swimsuit before packing, or the smell will get on everything.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Jeff D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour, great people on tour from all over the world!

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour run by Great Sights, our driver Ben took us on a couple of extra stops as all the passengers were good with the time keeping and getting on the bus on time. The Treaty Grounds was an excellent introduction to the Moari history and traditions. The Cruise also was excellent, we saw many Dolphins and we were lucky enough to be able to go through the Hole in the Rock.

Doing what: Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise departs Auckland

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

There were two in my party, myself and my wife. In the past we have taken bus tours where you literally stay with the same vehicle for the tour duration. Your approach of using whatever transport was available at the time it was required was new to us, and we found it marvelous. It was a genuine attempt to maximize the use of your resources.

All of your drivers were great. They were respectful, incredibly knowledgeable, had a good sense of humour and were always on time. Perhaps one day, we will return to New Zealand and use your facilities again. Until then we will recommend you to any of our friends who are planning a New Zealand holiday.

Regards and thanks for a memorable trip,

Chris and Anita Taylor.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

maureenbowers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was very enjoyable and informative. Everything was organised well and the coach drivers were particularly helpful. The north of the island has spectacular scenery and the trip to Cape Reinga was unmissable.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Sandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This day trip was excellent. The bus was very comfortable. The driver was excellent, the scenery was amazing. We really enjoyed the trip around Russell and the driver was very informative. My friend loved her trip in the helicopter. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

WILLIAM W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable day but no time allowed to eat our lunch

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Mikolaj M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good and informative tour. Nicely planned, so you do not have to rush and run all the time. Quite amazing views.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Simone Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We only had 4 days and this tour was perfect. We saw and covered so much that we could not have if we did on our on in that time. The drivers, tour guides were amazing, organised and professional, but most of all fun! Accommodation was clean and the staff were lovely. I can't say enough good things about my three day tour in the beautiful Bay of Islands. I would highly recommend this tour if you don't have a lot of time, but want to make the most of the time you have.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Chris B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an excellent trip, well organized, full of surprises and real value for money. The Scenic Hotel was excellent as were the breakfasts. The drive along the sands is a keeper as is the tour of Russell.
Overall, most enjoyable and I would defiantly recommend it to friends.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

kristy b

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Enjoyable drive. Very scenic. The russles tour was really beautiful. Was not a fan of the treaty sighning reserve as the gude used head phones and i found it hard to walk and listen at the same time. I had no idea what the sight was for in the end, and did not find it informative.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time. Everything worked exactly as it was supposed to. The itinerary was challenging but very enjoyable. We were able to see a lot of the best of the North Island over a limited duration. EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We very much liked our Bay of Islands tour and will recommend it to others. Thank you, Pete of California

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Jim

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The coach captain was excellent. His commentary enroute was most informative. We went on the ferry to Russell and did not travel on the launch to view orcas and see the hole in the rock. The mini bus on Russell was quite interesting - the driver commentary was great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

declanjoshua

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Most of the time is travelling, but the guide/driver was superb,....and once there, location is truly stunning

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

marie.strong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The whole tour was amazing and superb value for money. Everyone involved was so helpful and enthusiastic and there was such a wide range of different activities involved. The accommodation in the Bay of Islands was superb and there was just the right amount of downtime. We thought that if anything you undersold it on the website.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message