At the northernmost tip of New Zealand is one of the country's best kept secrets: the picturesque Bay of Islands. This is where the locals come for holidays - there is something for whatever strikes your fancy: sailing, fishing, snorkeling, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 154 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anthony M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great day and well worth it. Getting to see isolated bays you can't approach from land.
Crew very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Jenny F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fabulous day out despite changes to date because of bad weather - communicated this well and fitted us in the following day
Lunch tasty but not generous , particularly for vegetarians

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great experience, fun climbing the rigging. Very good BBQ chicken lunch. Friendly and helpful crew.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Roger B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great introduction to what New Zealand has to offer. Great views seen in the quiet of sail rather than noise of motor power. Steve and crew kept us entertained and the bbq lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

In a word 'fantastic'.

Will worth the trip.

The pilot was friendly and knowledgeable. A great experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful ship ride with a friendly crew, delicious food on a great boat!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Scott P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

One of the best days I have ever had. Professional and fun crew made everyone feel at ease - what an awesome day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

woodtick United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Helen was a very enthusiastic tour guide. Her excitement and knowledge about all the life in the Rainforest really added experience. Very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

Dave Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour, very informative, fish and chip lunch was terrific. The run up the beach was interesting and fun when they turn in via a river bed. The real fun was the sandboarding, if you have the energy to walk up the sandhill you must give it a go.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Kenneth J P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

There's no better way to see Bay of Islands than by helicopter and landing on the Hole in the Rock was a great thrill. Our pilot/guide was terrific. We highly recommend this adventure.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

jrobinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was fantastic! An absolute must do, even for those of us who are a little bit afraid of flying in a helicopter. The pilot was exceptionally professional and informative. Be sure to include the landing on top of the rock portion of the tour --- it is well worth it.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Ronald W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent Coach Driver from both a comfort view and gave very interesting commentaries.
Would recommend this trip to all visitors to the Bay of Islands

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Jim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The cruise and crew were amazing. The trip to an uninhabited island was interesting. We had a very nice lunch of chicken and salad. Climbing the mast was made easy and fun. Great day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We all thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It was very well conducted and there was just enough time at each stop.
I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone visiting the Bay of Islands.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Christine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great trip. The crew were wonderful, the lunch really tasty and it was the highlight of our trip to the Bay of Islands. My husband got to climb the rigging. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Pamela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour,lovely lunch in nice setting,great drive along the beach and great fun sand boarding.
Our lady driver was lovely.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We missed the start of our tour due to a delay on the ship and we were worried we would have missed it. Ian was waiting on the dock. As we had missed the main tour he took us on a private tour which was amazing. Very knowledgeable. Pointed out lots of plants and animals during our walk through the rainforest. Fantastic company, Highly recommend

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

Davedeeo United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A tour packed full of information and sights. Whilst there was a lot to cover all the stops were of sufficient time whilst keeping on the move to ensure we got everything in. The fish and chips for early lunch were excellent. It was quite surprising to find that the 2WD coach was not significantly different from usual even though it was to drive down a stream bed on to the 90 mile beach.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Kirk A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great time with the crew and captain. My wife Bonnie climbed the rigging I was chicken, we had an awesome lunch, a great hike and a great experience. The icing on the cake was when three killer whales swam along side of us and gave us some terrific photos. We recommend this trip to anyone and will go again when we return to New Zealand next year.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great day - long but we did everything that was promised. Loved riding on the beach and sliding down the dunes! Our tour guide Tipianui did his very best to show us all a good time, and showed patience in herding the folks on and off the bus at our stops!

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Debra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our driver, Robin, was very knowledgable, friendly and helpful. The pick-up was punctual and Robin kept all passengers on schedule so we arrived back in Paihia at the advertised time. The timing between rest breaks / food stops was well paced, I would definitely recommend this tour.
We went on a particularly hot day and better air conditioning on the bus would have been appreciated.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Stephen M. E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was an awesome day. Warm sunny and enough breeze to sail. A once-in-a lifetime day. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to see the Bay of Islands up close and personal. Great staff, good food - the works!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Bruce D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour would do it again well done

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

michael h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

we had only 4 in our group, which was really nice
Ian did a great job of leading us through the forest, pointing out interesting plants and animals
he was very knowledgeable of this environment and demonstrated a lot of enthusiasm for the land and what he does in explaining it to his guests
i would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message