At the northernmost tip of New Zealand is one of the country's best kept secrets: the picturesque Bay of Islands. This is where the locals come for holidays - there is something for whatever strikes your fancy: sailing, fishing, snorkeling, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Was a wonderful day on the water. The old style boat is beautifully maintained and many enjoyed climbing the rigging and sitting way out on the bowsprit. Had a lovely swim to shore when we moored for lunch and the BBQ chicken was delicious. We saw killer whales, fairy penguins, lots of dolphins and many sea birds. A great day out!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

Isobel M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Amazing. Great views and a chance to help sailing the ship. Very friendly and knowledgable crew. Lovely lunch. Was great to know the profits go to running trips for young people who could not afford to go otherwise.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This walk was definitely a highlight of our trip to New Zealand. Ian knew the rainforest so well and it we felt as if we were wandering in a magic world far removed from modern times.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long trip to drive on your own and our tour guide was very informative. Was thankful we hadn't purchased lunch as it was included for free and was a bowl of delicious fish and chips but not worth the purchasing price. Be prepared for a hike as it is quite a walk down to the Lighthouse and even steeper walk back. We needed the full 45 minutes they offered and many on our tour could not attempt. If you have a good camera you can still get great shots from up top .. It was an unbelievable experience to ride 90km per hour for 90 miles on the Beach! Getting out and walking that beautiful stretch was amazing as well!!

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Good product, well delivered by the driver/guide Kevin. The promised BBQ lunch became, without explanation, a second grade buffet lunch - in itself, not value for money. Otherwise, an enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Wonderful tour! So unlike the big bus tours that the cruise line offers. Very knowledgeable guide. Ride out to tour went through beautiful scenery. We opted to include a trip to the glow worm cave which was well worth the additional price.

Doing what: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Just do it! Great tour from the 100km trip up 90 Mile beach in a bus, to the sand boarding to the spiritual Cape Reinga we really enjoyed this trip.We also loved the small places we drove though, Monganui and all of Doubtless Bay is some of the best scenery in the world. Very much recommended.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

While the walk was a bit harder than expected, the rainforest was stunning and our guide was knowledgeable and very friendly and accommodating.

Doing what: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had an awesome adventure on our Rain Forest Hike. Barb picked us up at the pier, after we arrived from our ship tender. She drove us to the Puketi Rainforest where we met our guide Ian. This was an exhilarating walk throughout the rainforest, actually more of a hike, which was totally fine for us. We enjoyed the challenge. Ian was an endless source of information about the vegetation, Kauri trees, and the wildlife of the area. After we finished our hike we had bottled water and homemade muffins, made by Barb (a nice touch). This tour exceeded our expectations, and we would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a hiking challenge.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

we had a great driver, Barry. wow this was a great trip. Everything was great from the coach, the commentary and the lunch. What a wonderful way to show our friends that part of New Zealand.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Karen Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic day on the water - great stop. Able to put up most of the sails on the day. Skipper and staff were so obliging. BBQ lunch was good.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

good trip, good number of activities, comfortable, friendly and professional staff , good information of about the sites and places,

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was the first time my husband and myself have ever been in a helicopter. It was such an amazing feeling. We could have not picked a better place or time of day to do it. It was just wonderful. We are definatly hooked.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great family day out. The crew really made a big effort for the children, even giving them fake pirate tattoos. From the views to the food and private beach swimming this is definetly a bay of islands must do. Thank you to all the crew

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message