At the northernmost tip of New Zealand is one of the country's best kept secrets: the picturesque Bay of Islands. This is where the locals come for holidays - there is something for whatever strikes your fancy: sailing, fishing, snorkeling, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic, the scenery, the meal and the staff were brilliant. Just a shame that it was so still on the day so we didn't travel far.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely fantastic. Beautiful boat, lovely crew and a stunning location. What more could you want?

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I would highly recommend this trip for anyone! I booked this trip for a group of my friends and we all enjoyed our day! The crew, food, the hands on experience sailing and the views were so memorable!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an awesome tour. I would reccomend this to anyone visiting the Bay of Islands area !

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

this tour was made all the more interesting by our tour guide Chris who told us about the Maori tribes which he was one of Great tour motoring on 90 mile beach excellent fish and chips for lunch overlooking the water fabulous The Kauri trees amazing so much to see and do

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great trip. Crew were very friendly, hospitable and fun. Even though there was no wind on the ride out, we had a great time. I highly recommend this trip to anyone in the area.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant tour. Exceptional guide. A long but great day. Lunch the only weak point but venue was excellent.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent day experience not to be missed. Very friendly staff

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was brilliant. It exceeded our expectations. The scenery was breathtaking!

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent way to see and experience a very special place

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Landing on the Hole in the Rock was a very special experience highly recommended

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Ian was an excellent guide who made the trip both informative and enjoyable.

Doing what: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great trip out to Cape Brett with Sean in the R44. Clear blue sky and sparkling waters. Great comentary about local history.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Crew were fantastic and friendly, BBq lunch was excellent as was the trip itself.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Was a wonderful day on the water. The old style boat is beautifully maintained and many enjoyed climbing the rigging and sitting way out on the bowsprit. Had a lovely swim to shore when we moored for lunch and the BBQ chicken was delicious. We saw killer whales, fairy penguins, lots of dolphins and many sea birds. A great day out!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

Isobel M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Amazing. Great views and a chance to help sailing the ship. Very friendly and knowledgable crew. Lovely lunch. Was great to know the profits go to running trips for young people who could not afford to go otherwise.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long trip to drive on your own and our tour guide was very informative. Was thankful we hadn't purchased lunch as it was included for free and was a bowl of delicious fish and chips but not worth the purchasing price. Be prepared for a hike as it is quite a walk down to the Lighthouse and even steeper walk back. We needed the full 45 minutes they offered and many on our tour could not attempt. If you have a good camera you can still get great shots from up top .. It was an unbelievable experience to ride 90km per hour for 90 miles on the Beach! Getting out and walking that beautiful stretch was amazing as well!!

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Good product, well delivered by the driver/guide Kevin. The promised BBQ lunch became, without explanation, a second grade buffet lunch - in itself, not value for money. Otherwise, an enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Wonderful tour! So unlike the big bus tours that the cruise line offers. Very knowledgeable guide. Ride out to tour went through beautiful scenery. We opted to include a trip to the glow worm cave which was well worth the additional price.

Doing what: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Just do it! Great tour from the 100km trip up 90 Mile beach in a bus, to the sand boarding to the spiritual Cape Reinga we really enjoyed this trip.We also loved the small places we drove though, Monganui and all of Doubtless Bay is some of the best scenery in the world. Very much recommended.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

While the walk was a bit harder than expected, the rainforest was stunning and our guide was knowledgeable and very friendly and accommodating.

Doing what: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

we had a great driver, Barry. wow this was a great trip. Everything was great from the coach, the commentary and the lunch. What a wonderful way to show our friends that part of New Zealand.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message