At the northernmost tip of New Zealand is one of the country's best kept secrets: the picturesque Bay of Islands. This is where the locals come for holidays - there is something for whatever strikes your fancy: sailing, fishing, snorkeling, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 126 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bruce D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour would do it again well done

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

michael h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

we had only 4 in our group, which was really nice
Ian did a great job of leading us through the forest, pointing out interesting plants and animals
he was very knowledgeable of this environment and demonstrated a lot of enthusiasm for the land and what he does in explaining it to his guests
i would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

TREVOR C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was great and our tour guide was very knowledgeable. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Kerikeri and Crafts Half-Day Tour from Bay of Islands

Joni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Such a great trip. Knowledgeable driver/guide. A lot sucked into one day.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

grannyo2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Ian was an excellent guide. Had a great hike in the woods and learned much about the local area.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

Curtis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is definitely the way to see the Bay of Islands! This was one of the highlights of our trip. The helicopter company was on time and the pilot was very informative. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Blair P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The best time ever..the crew and vessel were amazing..

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Tracy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Just got back form 2 weeks exploring the North Island of New Zealand, including a couple days in the Bay of Islands. If you are up that way, thoroughly recommend taking the time to take a guided walk through the Puketi Rain Forest.

Barabra the tour operator looked after me with quick follow up on any questions I had before the tour, including arranging pick up and drop off form my Pahai hotel for me. She made a fabulous lunch including to die for home made chocolate mud muffins. She is called the muffin queen for a very good reason.

Helen my guide was awesome, very knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and passionate about the forest, the wildlife and flora. I did the 6 hour hike and thoroughly enjoyed myself, with one of the highlights having our lunch at the base of a 1000 year old Kauri tree magical. The little touches on the tour made it very special, home made muffins, a fantastic lunch, Helen provided me with a print out of the area and where we walked with information on the forest and region, and Helens took the time to point out all the things that made the forest special. The time flew by. This is a must do in the Bay of Islands.

Doing what: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walks

Lawrence B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Top trip up to the Cape. The guide was the best. Always helpful. The views were to 'die for'. Really enjoyed the sand boarding.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Vicki L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic, the scenery, the meal and the staff were brilliant. Just a shame that it was so still on the day so we didn't travel far.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Christine A T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely fantastic. Beautiful boat, lovely crew and a stunning location. What more could you want?

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Ronald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I would highly recommend this trip for anyone! I booked this trip for a group of my friends and we all enjoyed our day! The crew, food, the hands on experience sailing and the views were so memorable!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Lorraine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an awesome tour. I would reccomend this to anyone visiting the Bay of Islands area !

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

christine w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

this tour was made all the more interesting by our tour guide Chris who told us about the Maori tribes which he was one of Great tour motoring on 90 mile beach excellent fish and chips for lunch overlooking the water fabulous The Kauri trees amazing so much to see and do

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Carolyn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great trip. Crew were very friendly, hospitable and fun. Even though there was no wind on the ride out, we had a great time. I highly recommend this trip to anyone in the area.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

mandgsto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant tour. Exceptional guide. A long but great day. Lunch the only weak point but venue was excellent.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

ian b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent day experience not to be missed. Very friendly staff

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

catherine g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was brilliant. It exceeded our expectations. The scenery was breathtaking!

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent way to see and experience a very special place

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Landing on the Hole in the Rock was a very special experience highly recommended

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Ian was an excellent guide who made the trip both informative and enjoyable.

Doing what: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walks

Robert W L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great trip out to Cape Brett with Sean in the R44. Clear blue sky and sparkling waters. Great comentary about local history.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Alastair W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Crew were fantastic and friendly, BBq lunch was excellent as was the trip itself.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message