With its stunning coastal scenery and languid waters, the Bay of Islands is a picture-postcard New Zealand destination. The bay is dotted with around 150 islands, reached from the mainland towns of Paihia and Russell. Getting your feet wet in this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 146 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely fantastic. Beautiful boat, lovely crew and a stunning location. What more could you want?

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

beautiful trip. loved the dolphins and the colour of the water was crystal clear loved it all really

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Best looking boat captain......ever.....

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Even though it rained part of the trip, we had a Marvel experience, we saw so many dolphins. The Skipper, Tammy, was brilliant as was the rest of the crew. We had a wonderful time and thoroughly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I would highly recommend this trip for anyone! I booked this trip for a group of my friends and we all enjoyed our day! The crew, food, the hands on experience sailing and the views were so memorable!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

it was one of the best tour that we did

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An amazing tour! We saw orga's and dolphins. The captain of the boat gave us the time to take photos and watch then. Very enjoyable cruise amongst beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent way to see and experience a very special place

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

AWESOME TRIP!! Highlight of our trip! Loved every minute

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent day despite the cloudy weather. Great crew with informative commentary.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent day experience not to be missed. Very friendly staff

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Most enjoyable and relaxing. Magnificent scenery (wanted more wild life!) pleasant and helpful staff

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Cruise was wonderful saw many dolphins and the Hole in the Rock was marvelous. Plus the narration during the cruise was very informative.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great trip. Crew were very friendly, hospitable and fun. Even though there was no wind on the ride out, we had a great time. I highly recommend this trip to anyone in the area.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great day, enjoyed by kids and adults alike. The captain was superb, steering us through the hole in the rock in a big swell...very exciting! Scenery was beautiful and the sun kept us company all day.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Viewed dolphins swiming next to the boat
Went through the hole in the boat

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great half day out amongst beautiful islands aboard of large boat. Plenty of dolphins and different birds. No lunch included though (a hike over a hill is suggested instead) so Explorer cruise with lunch may be a more attractive option for some. No going through the whole-in-the-rock as the boat was too big. You need a much smaller vessel if you want this experience and reasonably calm seas!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

beautiful place to be on a boat crew great and we were able to sail through the "hole in the rock" safely recommend this tour

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

This tour should have been cancelled due to the aftermath of Cyclone Pam. The weather was starting to improve, but when this tour commenced, it was wet and windy and quite uncomfortable waiting to get onboard the boat. The views were impaired due to the rain and could not go through the Hole in the Rock due to high swells. Staying around the Hole in the Rock made it quite uncomfortable due to the rough seas while the Captain gave us extra commentary of the area. It became so uncomfortable that my partner was physically sick. There were times of no rain during the tour, but it was mainly wet, windy and should have been cancelled.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

This tour was extremely disappointing. Boat was in my view over crowded,there was approximately 230 people on the boat,people were cranky because they couldn't see. No life jackets in site,when asked they said they were in wheel house,imagine everyone scrambling to wheel house for life jackets.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message