With its stunning coastal scenery and languid waters, the Bay of Islands is a picture-postcard New Zealand destination. The bay is dotted with around 150 islands, reached from the mainland towns of Paihia and Russell. Getting your feet wet in this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 156 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great time on this excursion. Did exactly what it said on the tin and more. Would 100% recommend. Bay of Islands is also beautiful.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour. Loved the information given during the tour. The highlight was seeing the dolphins as well as the hole in the rock. Very comfortable boat and good facilities.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A fantastic day out for the 4 of us - worth every penny.

Glorious sunshine helped, the hour to stretch on an island beach, and the opportunity for the younger ones to swim with the dolphins - all contributed to a great day. And, just as if that was not enough, we got to see a couple of Orcas just outside the Bay.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise - Original Cream Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous. The dolphins were out in force and chasing the boat. Loved going through the Hole in the Rock.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip was fantastic. The captain was enthusiastic and extremely knowledgable about his local area and history. His passion was obvious. His skill in skippering a large vessel was great. He took us right up to rock faces, into caves and through the hole in hte rock with ease. I enjoyed the fact that there was no particular structure or time limit on things. If hte captain heard something interesting on the radio we went looking for it. The crew were happy and helpful. We were encouraged to move around the boat and enjoy the experience of all decks and areas as there were not that many people on board (compared to the half day trips which were packed and looked uncomfortable). I highly recommend taking the full day trip it was well worth it.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise - Original Cream Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The all day Cream trip is well worth the money. The Captain and crew are friendly and knowledgeable and take you to lots of places the half day cruises don't get to. Highly recommend this cruise

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise - Original Cream Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great morning. Lunch was very good, as were the scones for morning snack. Smooth sailing and enjoyed the hike. Workers were great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on R. Tucker Thompson including BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Great day!! Crew were fantastic and the Captain was very knowledgeable and enjoyable to listen to!!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Jacqueline H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant. Saw lots of dolphins. Actually cruised through hole in rock. Also saw seals and blue penguins. Scenery was beautiful. The island we stopped off was beautiful with good walks. They also dropped us off in Russell and gave us free ferry tickets to Paihia.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was early spring and we were very lucky to go on a beautiful morning. Enjoyed the boat trip and the commentary. We thought we'd miss seeing any dolphins but on our return there were a few in the harbor and had seen a couple of penguins bobbing in the ocean. Good tour!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very scenic. Lots of dolphins. Beautiful country!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great cruise , good commentry ,
hole in the rock spectacular

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great trip anyone that has not been to the hole in the rock will enjoy it.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message