With its stunning coastal scenery and languid waters, the Bay of Islands is a picture-postcard New Zealand destination. The bay is dotted with around 150 islands, reached from the mainland towns of Paihia and Russell. Getting your feet wet in this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A must do!!! Amazing scenery and well worth the cost.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

hobbit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was awesome! The cruise was so well organized and the crew was very friendly. The scenery was so beautiful and the narration of the captain was fun and interesting. We saw so many dolphins and they are so much fun to watch. The sea cooperated and we were able to sail through the 'Hole in the Rock too . Ther was alot of bang for the buck.Thanks to all for a great time.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Joni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent trip. Well organised and helpfull staff. Who did their best to make sure everyone enjoyed their day.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

Vui L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great tour guide and exhilarating experience going through the hole in the rock.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

lanefamily5

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Really well organised trip very interesting commentry very beautiful scenery. Had a perfect day saw some dolphins playing and bow riding under another boat and we even went through the hole in the rock.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Gigi K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Enjoyed to see dolphins, pass through the Hole

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Rayomand Pavri P Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Did not get a chance to see the Hole In Rock

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Blair P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The best time ever..the crew and vessel were amazing..

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Albert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic tour operator and had opportunity to see killer whales next to boat

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Diane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a fantastic day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Thomas K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The crew and personnel did not communicate the options for bad weather days. Disappointed with their free return as it isn't as it seems.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

JC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome trip and well worth the relaxing tour, great staff and informative. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

macjim Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Picked up at motel by friendly helpful staff, saw the dolphins in three different areas, bit to rough to go through the 'hole', dropped off at Russell and free trip back to mainland.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The experience could not have been better. The crew took good care of us and we got to see dolphins, sea lions and travel through the tunnel that a boat could go through. The weather was perfect. If you are in this area you should do this.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Nancy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great experience. Very professional and knowledgeable tour guides and providers. Loved the special opportunity to see tons of Orcas! Lots of information. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

flockhound

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Brilliant cruise. This was the best excursion trip we experienced. The cruise alone was extremely enjoyable and was easily accessed from the cruise shuttle bus. The hole in the rock wasn't passed through due to weather and sea conditions but the lady Captain reversed into the hole and gave us the full view and feel for natures creation. Well done driver, a brilliant piece of boat handling skills, I'll try to remember this before criticising lady drivers.
What a bonus we had though, there was a pod of local Okra killer whales in and around one of the bays we visited. They were very close and surfacing often as they were feeding on Rays in the shallow waters of the bay. This made for an unexpected once in a lifetime experience which will be remembered for years to come. Not guaranteed on the trip but you never know your luck!
Value for money, excellent, we saved 60 two of us on this trip through Viator compared to our cruise ship excursion.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Marjorie K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Bay of Islands cruise was very good. We would definitely recommend it. Our only problem was the boat was packed because a cruise ship was in port.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Pearl

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

A lovely tour, with thoughtful crew, everyone got a chance to see the highlights. I thought the length was just right.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Lyndall H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great crew! The cruise suited diverse tastes and ages. Wonderful scenery and wildlife. A day to remember!

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

susan v

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Friendly crew, lunch was great. Perfect weather, the whole day was fabulous

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

phildoyle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Nice big catamaran with snacks and toilets on board. Good narration. Beautiful scenery. Well worth the money. Tip: do not wait to be picked up by a bus. Go into the shop and check in at the big white desk. Boat loads at the pier out in back.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Caitlin C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Pretty much the only planned activity we did while staying in Paihia, and definitely worth it. We saw beautiful islands, the boat ride was very smooth, and the captain's commentary was informative without being boring. We didn't see any dolphins and only a handful of people maybe saw a whale but I understand that's not really on the crew. The only thing I would change is have the stopover on the island be a little longer, we basically had to run to the top of the hill to take some pics, then run back down.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Vicki L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic, the scenery, the meal and the staff were brilliant. Just a shame that it was so still on the day so we didn't travel far.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Heather S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I would have liked more time at the island we stopped at and explore and have lunch. but overall beautiful and fun

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Christine A T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely fantastic. Beautiful boat, lovely crew and a stunning location. What more could you want?

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message