With its stunning coastal scenery and languid waters, the Bay of Islands is a picture-postcard New Zealand destination. The bay is dotted with around 150 islands, reached from the mainland towns of Paihia and Russell. Getting your feet wet in this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 196 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful ship ride with a friendly crew, delicious food on a great boat!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Roger B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great introduction to what New Zealand has to offer. Great views seen in the quiet of sail rather than noise of motor power. Steve and crew kept us entertained and the bbq lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Lorna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was absolutely wonderful even though we couldn't go through the hole because of the currents. We were lucky enough to have a wonderful sunny day. The captain was terrific - warm and informative and she found dolphins for us which was an absolute highlight!! I had 3 friends from overseas and they thought the whole experience was magical - one from the USA had wanted to come to the Bay of Islands for many years and she was totally bowled over. Thanks for a lovely experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Nettie

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful ,informative, beautiful and a relaxing day trip. Saw some much the Bay of Islands

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Stephen L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We had a perfect morning for this cruise, with blue skies and little breeze, so the Bay was calm, except for a few swells out near the rock, which is pretty much in the Pacific Ocean! We saw dolphins and spent maybe 20 minutes near them, so everyone could get pictures. Because the tide was high and there were some strong, predictable currents, our captain decided it was best not to go through the hole in the rock, which was only wise. however, we got great picks. On the way back we had a stop-over and walk on another island, which was just beautiful and we stayed at Russell for lunch, and took the complimentary ferry trip back to Paihia later in the day. Great trip!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

pteach

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The cruise was very good, but the weather was not. We were given the option to cancel, but I don't think the warning was strong enough.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

If there were more stars they would get them all! Fabulous cruise.
Our captain actually drove through the hole in the rock...amazing! A 'must-do'!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Kirk A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great time with the crew and captain. My wife Bonnie climbed the rigging I was chicken, we had an awesome lunch, a great hike and a great experience. The icing on the cake was when three killer whales swam along side of us and gave us some terrific photos. We recommend this trip to anyone and will go again when we return to New Zealand next year.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Christine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great trip. The crew were wonderful, the lunch really tasty and it was the highlight of our trip to the Bay of Islands. My husband got to climb the rigging. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was very good and was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Jim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The cruise and crew were amazing. The trip to an uninhabited island was interesting. We had a very nice lunch of chicken and salad. Climbing the mast was made easy and fun. Great day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Micheal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fully recommend this trip. When we went out the captain Billy told us that he was going off schedule because he had been told of a pod of killer whales in the area he wanted to find for us. He duly found them and the experience was amazing Billy seemed to be able to play with them and encourage them closer to the boat. Went through hole in wall in quite a swell which showed the captain's skill

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

Louise G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a great day out! Saw dolphins as we were coming home after a dull weather day in Paihia turned out to be glorious around the islands. Brilliant and knowledgeable crew.
Will go again if I go back to the bay of islands and recommend you do too.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

Vicki H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved it - I was a bit disappointed that helicopters are able to land on the hole in the rock - spoils the experience and what about the cultural implications? Nevertheless, the trip was wonderful and the whole area is absolutely amazing. Our skipper was hilarious and also extremely informative. Had a lovely day - thank you so much :

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Robert P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a memorable time we had and we actually sailed through the Hole in the Rock. This was our first time in New Zealand and the Bay of Islands is just amazing. So many memories. The young man who sailed us through was great. He had a great sense of humor and extremely informative and good looking as well! What more can I say. Well done and thank you.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Scott P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

One of the best days I have ever had. Professional and fun crew made everyone feel at ease - what an awesome day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Katherine W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful day on the seas. Crew very friendly and got everyone involved with the duties of running the ship if they wanted. Food was awesome as was the scenery! Beautiful area. Gorgeous water and just an all around great day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Theresa P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

It would have been a great excursions if the weather would have been nicer. Rough waters

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Lynn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A lovely day on the water the cruise was very good and the guide was well informed. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

fmuth41

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a fantastic day! The catamaran was good size. Was able to stand right out front to see the great scenery. Would definitely recommend this tour. Since the weather was great we were able to go through the hole. Awesome experience. We enjoyed the island stop-over. Took a walk to the look out for some gorgeous views.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Stephen M. E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was an awesome day. Warm sunny and enough breeze to sail. A once-in-a lifetime day. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to see the Bay of Islands up close and personal. Great staff, good food - the works!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A wonderful day spent cruising the islands. Tammy did a great job of captaining our ship and of providing a very knowledgeable commentary. Great time was had!

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

GD O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great afternoon on the water. The crew were exceptional, very friendly and knowledgeable. Island stopover was good and the views from the top of the hill were absolutely stunning. Would highly recommend this trip, but it is very important to take sunscreen and hat particularly if you are going to sit out on one of the decks

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message