Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

British War Cemetery

The peaceful Bayeux War Cemetery is the largest of the 18 Commonwealth military cemeteries in Normandy. It contains 4,868 graves of soldiers from the UK and 10 other countries (including Germany, in contrast to the American cemetery at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 702 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was everything that my friend and I were hoping for. The guide was extremely knowledgable about the entire area of Normandy as well as the history leading up to and during WWII. It is well worth spending a day to get out there and take part in this tour. Even the lunch at the museum restaurant was delicious.

The only complaint I have is that we didn't get to spend as much time as I would have liked in the museum itself. However, unlike most people, I prefer to read almost every piece of literature in the place so that is understandable.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was very good. He went above and beyond service-wise and was very knowledgeable. The sites were very interesting as well as moving. We will treasure our memories of Caen and all the sites we visited in the Normandy area.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Moving experience. The beaches and American Cemetery were very interesting and well worth the trip from Paris. But the museum at Caen was a real surprise. We thought it would be a walk through, but the museum tells the story behind World War II and the results. Our guide Maryann spoke with personal experience having seen the war through the eyes of her parents and grandparents. It's a long day, but worth the effort.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great Tour experience with comfort and very knowledgable tour guide..Enjoyed it very much....

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a wonderful and truly inspiring. Olivier was incredibly knowledgeable and was able to put a lot of the history and events of the day into context with the greater war history. We were also grateful to get almost an hour and a half to explore the American Cemetery and the Visitor Center on our own at the end of the tour. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking of touring the Normandy area.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable, pleasant, and gave us a good overall tour of the area.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our half day afternoon tour was an enlightening and moving experience.Our guide Olivier was fully involved with us from the moment he picked us up directly at our Hotel Door.It was a rainy day but seemed fitting to the experience. I recommend this visit and tour to all.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

For a half-day tour, it was well worth it! Phillip was very knowledgeable, doing a wonderful job detailing the events of D-day. Would definitely recommend this company and tour!!! They were even flexible with a change in our pick-up location that morning. Thanks for a memorable day!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour and museum was an excellent, 5-star, highly recommended experience. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and did a superb job covering the D-Day details. It was an emotional and highly rewarding experience. There is so much to see in the museum that we ran out of time. The folks were very accommodating and we were allowed to come back within a 24-hour period. Needless to say, we were back first thing in the morning and spent the day. Exceptional!

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was awesome. I can't begin to explain the emotions I felt when walking on Omaha Beach. To think of those brave young heroes who came ashore not knowing what to expect or if they would survive to live another day. Our tour guide was a young English born man who had lived in France most of his life. I think his name is Phillip. I couldn't have been more pleased with his commentary. He is VERY knowledgeable and showed a great deal of respect for those very important sites including the American cemetery. I will do this tour again but I want to go at low tide to see the full expanse of the beach and get a better feel for what the G.I.s actually faced when they began to come ashore about 6:30 A.M. that morning of 6/6/44. My own father, who died in early 1951, and I never knew was actually on the English channel on D-day on a Destroyer Escort whos job was to retrieve damaged landing craft and tow them back to England to be repaired. This fact made it especially important that I make this trip. All in all this tour was possibly the greates trip I have ever taken. I HIGHLY recommend it. Thank you Viator.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

MY STRONG CRITICISM WE WERE SEATED IN THE BACK OF THE VAN AND COULD NOT HEAR OUR TOUR GUIDE SPEAK. I WOULD HIGHLY SUGGEST YOU PUT A MICROPHONE IN THE CAR SO WE CAN EQUALLY ENJOY THE TRIP AS OUR FRONT SEAT PASSENGERS. WE LOST A GREAT PART OF THE EXPLANATIONS

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Definately 5 stars!
A must for everyone! Every minute was well spent. The guides are 'etremely' knowlageable. The museum tour is an eye opener and explains how World War I caused World War II. The museum is one of the best and the lunch served to the group is fantastic! The battle field tour is excellent, you can enter many German bunkers, Omaha beach is breath taking, the Mulberry's are awesome, Pont du Hoc cliffs are steep and give you a deeper appreciation of what our Ranger accomplished and our American cemetery is sobering and beautiful. I would do this trip again and again!
It is definately worth the cost!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I took a day trip from Paris. Our guide picked us up and took us to all the important sites with plenty of time to walk around and explore them. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the historic events.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was the highlight of our European vacation. Tour guide Pierre-Samuel was so knowledgeable and articulate. His command of English and the details of the history as well as the maneuvers of the Normandy invasion were clear, compelling. The tour took the whole day, which we all dreaded, but don't be put off by the length of time. Every facet of the D-Day Tour was thoughtful, interesting, not to be missed. Breaking the larger group down to smaller 7-person vans after lunch (which was DELICIOUS!) was great ... we got to know the other travelers and have opportunity to ask Pierre-Samuel questions as we drove from one site to the next. Trying to understand the significance of each site along the coast would have been impossible without a guide. We rate this Five Star!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative. Our guide was very knowledgable about the events that took place on D Day as well as other WWII history that happened in the area.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message