Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

British War Cemetery

The peaceful Bayeux War Cemetery is the largest of the 18 Commonwealth military cemeteries in Normandy. It contains 4,868 graves of soldiers from the UK and 10 other countries (including Germany, in contrast to the American cemetery at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 808 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was outstanding! Informed, passionate, professional.... He could not have been better. Thank you!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved the entire day. The Caen museum is very well done and presents a very balanced view of the war, its causes, and the role of the French leaders and people.

Let me pause to make it clear that the lunch was outstanding!! Trust me, have the duck.

The beach tour was moving and informative.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a fabulous experience! Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and made the afternoon that more interesting -

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an outstanding day tour and our guide was superb. We recommend to anyone in the area, as it is educational, humbling, and beautiful.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

As a history teacher and first-time visitor to France, I can't tell you how fascinating it was to see Bayeux and tour around the Normandy landings. My tour guide, Antoine, was very knowledgeable on the subject and took the time to answer all our questions! Would recommend this tour in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

the trip is very good the tours person tell us detail about how to landing on the beach

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful guide, wonderful sites.

The only problem was that I guess I misread that you need to make sure you book the last train to Paris. We booked the 6:57 and thought we were going to have to buy additional tickets. Fortunately, it worked out that we got back in time

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide and driver were excellent. Best tour I have been on in a long time. I was overwhelmed by beauty of location and sacrifice of a great generation. Tour guide knew everything about area and event. Very informative

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide, Sunny, was very informative. She knows her history! She was also passionate about the story she told. We only had 5 hours to see all the sites and she did a great job of getting us to each of them. I sat in the front seat and enjoyed conversation with her throughout the day. Thank you for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent! Our guide was friendly and very informative. Every minute of the tour was worth it. Can't see everything in 4 hours so this was a great way to get a sense of this sacred place.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Marlena was an excellent tour guide. We visited the beaches where the allies landed, explored German bunkers and were quite moved to see the cemetery where so many Americans are laid to rest. It is quite moving. Lunch at the museum was excellent, and it even included wine and dessert! This tour is well worth it.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour employees were right on time, organized, informative, and knowledgeable. The individual tour guide to whom we were assigned, Sandrine, was excellent, personable, incredibly well informed and entertaining. The coordinated scheduling was impressive but also gave us enough individual exploration time to satisfy us.

I'd recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip was wonderful. Laurent, our guide was the best guide that we could have had. The details and the history that he knew were remarkable. A very nice fellow also. He could not do enough for us. The whole tour was excellent. The van was a little crowded with Laurent, the driver and seven passengers but we survived. The lunch was very good and the museum was quite interesting.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a very enjoyable and informative tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was well conducted, planned and documented, it quickly toured a number sites in one full day. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and gave lots of anecdotal information from her parents who directly endured the occupation and subsequently D-Day. There were a number of maps, charts and photos used to thoroughly explain all of the visits and surrounding events. The Normandy area is covered with D-Day sites and they cannot all be covered in one day. This was a best compromise to get a feeling for the battlefield and what went on during the first few days of the allied invasion on D-Day. A trip to Omaha beach effectively showed what the Soldiers were up against once they got on to the beach and off of it into the hedgerows and small fields inland from the beach. Other sites included Sword beach British, the Pegasus Bridge where British glider troops assaulted and held two critical bridges, Merville Artillery Battery which very effectively showed life in a German gun position and a British military cemetery as well as the American cemetery at overlooking Omaha beach. I would recommend this trip for first time visitors to the area or those who have not done extensive reading on the events surrounding D-Day.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour. We got lots of detailed information about the sites and the times. Francois is a knowledgeable and helpful guide. He knew we were disappointed not to join the Canadian tour, so he gave us some additional insights into that aspect

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was so interesting and educational. Lena is a superb guide and our comfort and enjoyment were obviously important to her. The museum is exceptional and the tour of the beaches and cemetery was unforgettable. Lunch was good, too!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour, small group, very knowledgeable guide Maz and we visited a lot of sites in one day.
Good value for money.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was amazing to see all the historic Canadian sites. Learning about the major role Canada played in the battle of Normandy was amazing. We would have liked more time in the Juno centre however with a half day tour that would be difficult! Would recommend the tour for sure.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - Canadian World War II Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent, well informed guide. Punctual arrival and return to hotel was much appreciated. We saw so much in one day thanks to the experienced guide. Would recommend this tour to everyone! First Class!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - Canadian World War II Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic tour! Our guide, François, was born in nearby Caen and grew up hearing stories of World War II from his grandparents and other relatives. He was very knowledgeable about the history of the invasion of Normandy and knew the sites well from having visited them since childhood. At each site we visited, he explained the significance of the site and described in detail the events that transpired there. He was a great source of information that I had not learned from other historical accounts, such as how the Norman landscape caused problems for the Allies and how they overcame those obstacles.
Aside from the tour itself, Lower Normandy is beautiful, and getting to see so much of the countryside was an unexpected bonus. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message