Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

British War Cemetery

The peaceful Bayeux War Cemetery is the largest of the 18 Commonwealth military cemeteries in Normandy. It contains 4,868 graves of soldiers from the UK and 10 other countries (including Germany, in contrast to the American cemetery at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 711 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour was amazing! It was only two of us in our group, it was so nice and personal. We couldn't have asked for a better tour guide, she was so nice and well informed. Highly recommend to all my friends and family

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was amazing. Our guide, Svetlana, spoke flawless English and provided a through and interesting history of D-day and the sights. She paced both the tour and her commentary perfectly. Our 18 year-old said it was the highlight of her week in Paris.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The only way to get around this area unless you drive yourself. Then you would miss out on the superb guide we had. Began with one of the best museums Ive experienced. Lunch was good. The trip was very interesting because we learnt lots.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

David was very knowledgeable and it was a great tour.
I will definitely be back for the full day tour and some more time to explore the many museums.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

KNOWLEDGEABLE GUIDE AND INFORMATIVE!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Overall, a very nice tour. The guide was very informative, but not very patient with those on the tour. Omaha Beach is a little anticlimactic, as the impediments faced by the allies have been removed, obviously. Still, I would recommend this tour to anyne travelling through the area.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

A wonderful tour. Kareen was super. Her knowledge of the events was amazing. She was enthusiastic, a good driver and concerned for everyones safely. Excellent experience. Would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was everything that my friend and I were hoping for. The guide was extremely knowledgable about the entire area of Normandy as well as the history leading up to and during WWII. It is well worth spending a day to get out there and take part in this tour. Even the lunch at the museum restaurant was delicious.

The only complaint I have is that we didn't get to spend as much time as I would have liked in the museum itself. However, unlike most people, I prefer to read almost every piece of literature in the place so that is understandable.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was very good. He went above and beyond service-wise and was very knowledgeable. The sites were very interesting as well as moving. We will treasure our memories of Caen and all the sites we visited in the Normandy area.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Moving experience. The beaches and American Cemetery were very interesting and well worth the trip from Paris. But the museum at Caen was a real surprise. We thought it would be a walk through, but the museum tells the story behind World War II and the results. Our guide Maryann spoke with personal experience having seen the war through the eyes of her parents and grandparents. It's a long day, but worth the effort.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great Tour experience with comfort and very knowledgable tour guide..Enjoyed it very much....

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a wonderful and truly inspiring. Olivier was incredibly knowledgeable and was able to put a lot of the history and events of the day into context with the greater war history. We were also grateful to get almost an hour and a half to explore the American Cemetery and the Visitor Center on our own at the end of the tour. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking of touring the Normandy area.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulously knowledgeable guide Mario really made our day, and brought back to life the courage, determination, bravery and suffering of all those who took part whether combatants or civilians. The museum added more horrific yet poignant memories of a world that can so easily slip into conflict and spotlight the impotence and failure of humankind to learn the lessons of history. An experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message