• USD ($)
  • English

Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

British War Cemetery

The peaceful Bayeux War Cemetery is the largest of the 18 Commonwealth military cemeteries in Normandy. It contains 4,868 graves of soldiers from the UK and 10 other countries (including Germany, in contrast to the American cemetery at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 607 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a must if you are in the area. Gives perspective on WWII
and a great way to see Normany landing sights and museum.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very complete and tour if the American cemetery was very moving

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

As the guides work at the museum they are deeply knowledgeable and sensitive to the interests and sensitivities of visitors. My family rates the day we spent on this tour as one of the most memorable of our extended trip to France and the UK. For my money, that is what I was trying for when I booked this tour.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Chelle
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was one of the highlights of our holiday thanks to our guide Lawrence. We thoroughly enjoyed his commentary and insight into D-Day and the sites we visited. We definitely have a better understanding of how and what happened on that day. I suggest you allow a few hours to visit the Museum as it is well worth seeing. Make sure you visit the "Bunker" while you're there too. This is a must see.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good service and nice people always there to help you!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful tour, we had just the right amount of time at each location, not to long or short. We were allowed free time at each location after a brief lhisotry lesson from our informative guide. Only 7 people on the tour made it much more comfortable. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were not able to make the scheduled tour because our flight was delayed and luggage was lost. However, we went to the museum at Caen on June 28th. I talked to the tour people, who called the manager for me. He told me that the tour with the mini-van that was scheduled for that day was full, but they could put us on the bus tour, as a compromise. As it turned out, there were seven of us who spoke English, so we had the same number of people with the English-speaking guide as we would have had in the mini-van. Everything else was the same as what we had paid for originally... a win-win situation.
The tour was excellent in every way. All the members of my party were gratified by the arrangements, and I was able to talk about it last night at a meeting I had here in the U.S. Your guide was superb, so well-informed and historically accurate. She was from Mali, but I cannot remember her name. The four of us in my group (my husband and I and friends) are all veterans, and this was a very meaningful trip for us because our fathers fought in WWII. The remainder of our two-week stay was spent in a rented thatched cottage near Pont-Audemer, but I would recommend the Caen Memorial tour to anyone who visits Normandy.
Dorothy Davis
Commander, U.S. Navy (Ret.)

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide "Mag" was exceptional. She made the experience come alive.
Everything was very prompt, professional and personal. We left with tons of new information and an inside perspective about the occupation and liberation.

It was a very full tour and could have easily done the full day tour, however the time was used well and we hit all the important spots and with enough time to soak it in.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was overall a wonderful learning experience! Beautiful scenery as well! Our tour guide, Olivier, was extremely knowledgeable on the subject of Normandy. We enjoyed being in a small group when going to the beaches and the American Cemetery. Lunch was really good at the Museum and gave us a chance to get to know others in our group. It's a great tour if you have limited time and want to fit it in from Paris, but it is a very long day (you have approx. 2 hr train ride each way) otherwise I would suggest staying in the area for a few days and taking it all in at a more leisure pace.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My 16 year old daughter wanted to go to one of the beaches where allied troops landed because she studied the allied invasion of Normandy during the 2013-14 school year. We are glad we took this tour of Omaha Beach, Pointe du Hoc and the American Cemetery.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an outstanding experience and my wife and I especially appreciated our guide, Sandrine. She greatly enhanced and already moving and powerful experience. Bravo to Sandrine and Viator.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was outstanding. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and had interesting informative stories. The small van held 6 of us with the driver/guide and was a congenial group.

I would definitely do another of these Normandy tours with this company.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour. Our tour guide was fabulous. She was very knowledgeable, professional, and very friendly. She definitely knew her history and we all learned quite a bit. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour. Our tour guide was fabulous. She was very knowledgeable, professional, and very friendly. She definitely knew her history and we all learned quite a bit. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message