Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

British War Cemetery

The peaceful Bayeux War Cemetery is the largest of the 18 Commonwealth military cemeteries in Normandy. It contains 4,868 graves of soldiers from the UK and 10 other countries (including Germany, in contrast to the American cemetery at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It rained for most of our tour but it was still an unforgettable experience. The museum was also eye-opening! It was a very solemn and heart-rendering display.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing experience. Our guide Olivia was outstanding! I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Francois was great! So enthusiastic and informative about WW2 and always able to answer any extra questions we had. There was no rushing anything
Thanks Francois !

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was well conducted, planned and documented, it quickly toured a number sites in one full day. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and gave lots of anecdotal information from her parents who directly endured the occupation and subsequently D-Day. There were a number of maps, charts and photos used to thoroughly explain all of the visits and surrounding events. The Normandy area is covered with D-Day sites and they cannot all be covered in one day. This was a best compromise to get a feeling for the battlefield and what went on during the first few days of the allied invasion on D-Day. A trip to Omaha beach effectively showed what the Soldiers were up against once they got on to the beach and off of it into the hedgerows and small fields inland from the beach. Other sites included Sword beach British, the Pegasus Bridge where British glider troops assaulted and held two critical bridges, Merville Artillery Battery which very effectively showed life in a German gun position and a British military cemetery as well as the American cemetery at overlooking Omaha beach. I would recommend this trip for first time visitors to the area or those who have not done extensive reading on the events surrounding D-Day.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour, small group, very knowledgeable guide Maz and we visited a lot of sites in one day.
Good value for money.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a wonderful tour and very personal as it turns out my husband and I were the only ones in the group. As it is, they never have more than 7 people in the van. Our tour guide, Prisca, was very well informed and did an excellent job of relaying lots of information about Normandy and what came before that. We felt the tour was interesting and moving.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Half day trip to American Beaches. Excellent guide, Julian, which gave as a lot of information. He also had some maps and photos to better present what he explained. Very small group, some 7 people, so very personal and I could ask question anytime. I took this trip, because I was not able to find some good bus connections between places I wanted to visit. I think, this is the bes way how to visit this area. Now, after 2 weeks I still see those places and remember what I learned. I also think about our guide and our driver, which as a duo or brothers, made this great trip unforgettable. Thank you to both of you again.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did this trip on June 20 our tour guide was fantastic he was a fountain of knowledge would defiantly recommend this trip thank u
Sandra and Mark Caterham ,Surrey UK

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very informative and well knowledge guide who spoke both fluent English and French. Awesome staff! The tour was approximately 5 hours but my friend and I felt it was not long enough. If this tour was one hour longer I would have rated it higher. But definitely a good tour. I would return to the points of interest on my own and spend more time at the cemetery and Omaha beaches.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good - very knowledgable guide. A little more time spent exploring at some places would have been nice.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was one of the most memorable experiences of my life! The guide, Svetlana, was AMAZING. She was extremely knowledgeable and kind! Highly recommended for everyone!

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Mag was very good as a tour guide.she was very informative and made our day very enjoyable

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Outstanding tour - Our guide Svatlana performed a great job of explaining Operation Overload, and answering questions. We were impressed with her level of knowledge and detail. Our family would like to visit again and we highly recommend this tour - again, outstanding!!

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was amazing. Our guide, Svetlana, spoke flawless English and provided a through and interesting history of D-day and the sights. She paced both the tour and her commentary perfectly. Our 18 year-old said it was the highlight of her week in Paris.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great Tour experience with comfort and very knowledgable tour guide..Enjoyed it very much....

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulously knowledgeable guide Mario really made our day, and brought back to life the courage, determination, bravery and suffering of all those who took part whether combatants or civilians. The museum added more horrific yet poignant memories of a world that can so easily slip into conflict and spotlight the impotence and failure of humankind to learn the lessons of history. An experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour and museum was an excellent, 5-star, highly recommended experience. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and did a superb job covering the D-Day details. It was an emotional and highly rewarding experience. There is so much to see in the museum that we ran out of time. The folks were very accommodating and we were allowed to come back within a 24-hour period. Needless to say, we were back first thing in the morning and spent the day. Exceptional!

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Knowledgeable and informative guide. Very moving tour.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well organized;very comprehensive to be able to fit everything into a single day. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The Museum is extraordinary - I spent twice as long there as I have ever done in any other museum and still was not sure I had seen everything.
The Tour too was excellent, with a very knowledgeable and interested guide (Prisca). If I have a quibble, it is that the tour, and therefore the commentary, focussed on US actions. I was told that there was no demand for a similar tour concentrating on British landing beaches and specific actions, like Pegasus Bridge, but is that a real reflection of interest or cause and effect - no tour therefore no demand?
On a more general note, the tour understandably looks at Normandy in isolation rather than as a key part of WW2. In particular, I think that it would enlighten many Americans to be told why their troops took part. It was not altruism or 'coming to the rescue' - it was because immediately after Pearl Harbour Hitler declared war on the US so the US had no choice. Apologies if these comments sound like complaints - they are not. I was very glad to have made the trip - I am 73 and was born and grew up in London so DDay has always been part of my history - and I think it marvellous that Caen and the Region devote so much effort to keeping the memory of the sacrifice of so many alive 70 years on.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Once we actually found the right bus to get up to the Museum it was well worth the visit. Give yourself plenty of time as there is so much to read and observe. The history covers so much. A great facility and well set out. The guided tour to D-Day sites was rushed. There was just too much to see in 1/2 a day. The guide was very knowledgeable. Felt that we arrived at the cemetery too late to really appreciate the site.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message