Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

British War Cemetery

The peaceful Bayeux War Cemetery is the largest of the 18 Commonwealth military cemeteries in Normandy. It contains 4,868 graves of soldiers from the UK and 10 other countries (including Germany, in contrast to the American cemetery at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were very fortunate to have Julian for out guide. His knowledge of events of D-Day, plus his way of presenting it, made this tour an outstanding one ! The pacing of this tour allows you time to reflect on the importance of these sites. As mentioned this is a good five hour tour !
We had taken the late morning train to Caen and started the 2:00 tour so did NOT have time to visit the Museum, but was able to do that the next day, which in itself is an all day event. At least it was for us.
If one has any interest at all about D-Day do take this tour. It is a WONDERFUL one !!!!!

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved the tour, all very informative and well led.
Would have liked a little longer in some places but on the other hand perhaps that would have meant not seeing so much? So on balance, excellent, would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was a good day. The tour guide seemed to have the facts accurate as we are history buffs.
Would have enjoyed more time at Point du Hoc and American Cemetery.
It was too bad the others were not able to see Omaha Beach at Low tide. It has such more of an impact. Luckily we stayed at Omaha and were able to walk the beaches at low tide. I would suggest arranging the day differently.
Other low points: The bus has 12 large adults and it was uncomfortable as it felt over-crowded.
Pegasus Bridge was reproduction and the original was 1 block away at a museum which we just walked past.
With as many places as there are to eat including Hotel du Casino Omaha Beach and many others, were taken to Bayeux and directed to a few streets to pick our own, but it worked.
The following day, we had a rented car and did enjoy this much more at our own pace, but the roads can be a bit confusing so the tour does work well for that.
We will go back to Normandy as there are is so much to see. If were to do it again, we should have chosen the American Sectors for us.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It rained for most of our tour but it was still an unforgettable experience. The museum was also eye-opening! It was a very solemn and heart-rendering display.

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing experience. Our guide Olivia was outstanding! I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Francois was great! So enthusiastic and informative about WW2 and always able to answer any extra questions we had. There was no rushing anything
Thanks Francois !

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was well conducted, planned and documented, it quickly toured a number sites in one full day. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and gave lots of anecdotal information from her parents who directly endured the occupation and subsequently D-Day. There were a number of maps, charts and photos used to thoroughly explain all of the visits and surrounding events. The Normandy area is covered with D-Day sites and they cannot all be covered in one day. This was a best compromise to get a feeling for the battlefield and what went on during the first few days of the allied invasion on D-Day. A trip to Omaha beach effectively showed what the Soldiers were up against once they got on to the beach and off of it into the hedgerows and small fields inland from the beach. Other sites included Sword beach British, the Pegasus Bridge where British glider troops assaulted and held two critical bridges, Merville Artillery Battery which very effectively showed life in a German gun position and a British military cemetery as well as the American cemetery at overlooking Omaha beach. I would recommend this trip for first time visitors to the area or those who have not done extensive reading on the events surrounding D-Day.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour, small group, very knowledgeable guide Maz and we visited a lot of sites in one day.
Good value for money.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a wonderful tour and very personal as it turns out my husband and I were the only ones in the group. As it is, they never have more than 7 people in the van. Our tour guide, Prisca, was very well informed and did an excellent job of relaying lots of information about Normandy and what came before that. We felt the tour was interesting and moving.

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Half day trip to American Beaches. Excellent guide, Julian, which gave as a lot of information. He also had some maps and photos to better present what he explained. Very small group, some 7 people, so very personal and I could ask question anytime. I took this trip, because I was not able to find some good bus connections between places I wanted to visit. I think, this is the bes way how to visit this area. Now, after 2 weeks I still see those places and remember what I learned. I also think about our guide and our driver, which as a duo or brothers, made this great trip unforgettable. Thank you to both of you again.

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did this trip on June 20 our tour guide was fantastic he was a fountain of knowledge would defiantly recommend this trip thank u
Sandra and Mark Caterham ,Surrey UK

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very informative and well knowledge guide who spoke both fluent English and French. Awesome staff! The tour was approximately 5 hours but my friend and I felt it was not long enough. If this tour was one hour longer I would have rated it higher. But definitely a good tour. I would return to the points of interest on my own and spend more time at the cemetery and Omaha beaches.

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good - very knowledgable guide. A little more time spent exploring at some places would have been nice.

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was one of the most memorable experiences of my life! The guide, Svetlana, was AMAZING. She was extremely knowledgeable and kind! Highly recommended for everyone!

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Mag was very good as a tour guide.she was very informative and made our day very enjoyable

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Outstanding tour - Our guide Svatlana performed a great job of explaining Operation Overload, and answering questions. We were impressed with her level of knowledge and detail. Our family would like to visit again and we highly recommend this tour - again, outstanding!!

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was amazing. Our guide, Svetlana, spoke flawless English and provided a through and interesting history of D-day and the sights. She paced both the tour and her commentary perfectly. Our 18 year-old said it was the highlight of her week in Paris.

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great Tour experience with comfort and very knowledgable tour guide..Enjoyed it very much....

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulously knowledgeable guide Mario really made our day, and brought back to life the courage, determination, bravery and suffering of all those who took part whether combatants or civilians. The museum added more horrific yet poignant memories of a world that can so easily slip into conflict and spotlight the impotence and failure of humankind to learn the lessons of history. An experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour and museum was an excellent, 5-star, highly recommended experience. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and did a superb job covering the D-Day details. It was an emotional and highly rewarding experience. There is so much to see in the museum that we ran out of time. The folks were very accommodating and we were allowed to come back within a 24-hour period. Needless to say, we were back first thing in the morning and spent the day. Exceptional!

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message