Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

British War Cemetery

The peaceful Bayeux War Cemetery is the largest of the 18 Commonwealth military cemeteries in Normandy. It contains 4,868 graves of soldiers from the UK and 10 other countries (including Germany, in contrast to the American cemetery at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 644 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Francois was very engaging and explained everything really well. He made the tour appropriate to our group of 8 which contained 3 different Nationalities and a wide range if ages.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was pretty cool. The guide was very chill and very knowledgeable about the sites that we visited. I only took the half day trip in the afternoon, but it was enough time, as I was doing this for the day from Paris.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, guide very knowledgeable, excellent lunch at the Museum and wonderful stops at the American cemetery and Omaha Beach and a few more stops.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pierre, our guide was very informative. It was a big day but very interesting. The Caen Memorial is well worth the visit. The landing beaches were great to visit and see the remnants of an important time in history. The American War Cemetery was very moving to visit. Pierre was happy to answer all our questions and had lots of anecdotal stories to tell. Lunch at museum was very good. Great tour!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Guide was exceptional. She knew her history and we had a reasonable amount of time to visit each location.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, very informative, correct speed! Saw and did everything I wanted, had terrific guide!!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I would of loved to have more time at the sites and less time at the museum. Five minutes to take pictures at the sites isn't enough time. Other than that I really enjoyed the tour and the tour guides.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Disappointed in the tour.Our guide rushed us at every stop and we didn't have enough time to see everything. Also you're not clear on the tour . We thought the tour, 9am to 2pm incl. Museum visit. We traveled 6000 mi. and never got to visit the museum. We would have taken a later train back to Paris.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

All 5 of us in our group, ages ranging from 13-67, were pleased with this tour. Our guide, Rosine, was just what you would want a guide to be, knowledgeable, personable, helpful, I could go on and on. Not only did she give us all the factual information we could digest, but she also had local information and stories to give us. Great tour!!!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip and fabulous guide! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were in Europe, (Spain, Italy, France) for 25 days, and this was one of the real high points for us. We were so impressed by our tour guide and her knowledge, so touched by the stories and the locations, as well as the museum. As an aside, the food was great. :-). The only small disappointment was finding out that there was a "Canadian" tour the day before and that we could have gone to Juno beach as part of our experience. The tour guide was super and she made certain to refer to relevant Canadian information when she could. However, I went back to the website and found nothing about the Canadian and British tour options. If it is there, I could not find it and I was actively looking. Please fix this on Viatour website.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was a highlight of our trip to France. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and passionate in sharing information with us. We felt he truly wanted us to get the most out of the tour. We enjoyed the small group because it allowed us to ask questions. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour was a once-in-lifetime experience. Our guide Romain was awesome. He was so well-informed, he had so much information, and he even had pictures and diagrams to show you. It's easy to do in one day from Paris: catch the early train from Paris St. Lazare, wander around the village for awhile, have lunch, and then hustle back to the train station to be picked up. Romain got us back to the train station in plenty of time for the return to Paris. Our trip highlighted Pointe-du-Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American Cemetery. Wow, what a great trip!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Patricia was GREAT and this tour was AMAZING.... the highlight of our 11 day France family vacation. This was the family's favorite tour!!!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message