Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 616 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was excellent, guide was knowledgeable and the included meal complemented the tour well as it served some of the local delicacies

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Bus was very comfortable. The midway stop before and after were clean with a lot of food and souvenier options. Tour guide was very personable and knowledgeable. Looked after her group and made the whole tour interesting. She also made the ascent gradual and I noticed that those who were not in the best of shape were able to keep up. Really enjoyed our guide- unfortunately, I can't remember her name.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An amazing sight!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

as it was a last minute booking, I can only book a one-day tour, so most of the time is spent on the road. I missed the high-tide, which is THE aspect of this tour that I was most looking forward to. Both guides were very good and entertaining

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This is a beautiful piece of architecture and, if you're traveling in western Normandy, by all means, it's worth the visit. However, it's probably only good for a 2-4 hour visit and, unless you want all the historical info, you need not take the guided tour. Unfortunately, because this was on my "bucket list" I made it a day trip out of Paris. This entailed 9 hours on a bus for a fairly brief visit to the Abbey. In retrospect, sacrificing the day in Paris wasn't a good trade. If I had to do it over, I wouldn't try to do it as a day-trip from Paris.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing Experience! A must if you have an entire day to do it. It is a full day 7am get back to Paris at 9pm. Office/meeting spot is easy to find.
The bus ride was very comfortable. Double decker bus. the ride is about 4 1/2 hours from Paris and they do make a stop half way each way to use the restroom and get a snack. Mont Saint Michel is a true wonder of the world and is amazing to see in person. The 4 hours we were there was a perfect amount of time in my opinion. Before you arrive you stop just about 300 yards away for a fabulous lunch with a view of the Mont in the background. A very good lunch at a very nice restaurant. omelet, salmon, and desert! Delicious! And the omelet has history from this region. I will let you find out that surprise on your own! Tour through the facility was very well done with a lot of information given to you. Spectacular views from the top, but be warned, lots of up hill stair walking is required, and it would be a waste of a trip in my opinion not to walk to the top. Tour guide was good, but it seemed more like a history lesson than her making it fun and relatable. But regardless, she was great and I enjoyed very much. Would definitely go if you have a week in Paris and want a day outside the city.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A long bus ride but it was worth the trip. A beautiful area to see. The tour guide was excellent. It was a nice area to visit.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I loved the double decker bus. Made the long ride to Mont St. Michel more interesting. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly. The lunch was okay. If I were to do it again I would go to the island itself to have lunch on my own in one of the quaint restaurants instead of at the hotel on the mainland. Thus giving me more time on the island. Wish we had more time to explore.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was ideal for a 2 day visit to the Dday beaches and Mt. Ste. Michel. We were picked up at the cruise ship terminals of Honfleur and Cherbourg for an additional charge. Guy was the guide, and he was quite knowledgeable and willing to squeeze in as much as possible on both days.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a great way to see many sites without the hassle of arranging travel and hotels. And best of all, Florence, our guide was both knowledgeable and entertaining. Everything was well planned and although we all would have enjoyed more time at each location, that's not possible when you want to see so many places in only 3 days. There wasn't any stop on this tour we didn't love!

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont St Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Well worth the money,great trip cheers,joe,Karen and Isla

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

very nice place! Great cookies, great lunch.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Terrific experience. Could have used more free time in the town. Standing around for a variety of
language translations is time consuming and unnecessary.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Had a great day. It is a very long day - but it has to be. The staff were very good - didn't talk all the time so knew when to just let us rest. Lunch was good too.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Phil
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

From Paris, it is a long day and unfortunately for us, a grey, wet day. However, the Abbey and its setting is stunning - one can only imagine on a bright, sunny day, how it would look. The majority of the Abbey is in its original condition, which differentiates it from other similar type structures - cathedrals, palaces, castles - and that adds to the spectacle. The history is interesting, so soak it in and wander around.
It is crowded, there are road works in front and there are plenty of souvenir shops, but don't let that stop you going.
The tour included lunch. The tour company did an excellent job and were well organised, with over 40 people on a coach to attend to.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message