Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 986 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

johnnyv2009

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Exactly what we were looking for, comfortable transportation to and from the site with the freedom to explore on our own. Modern double-decker buses that made pit-stops allowing us to stretch our legs and grab a snack. Initially I was concerned about a nearly ten hour round-trip by bus. But a ride through the beautiful countryside topped off with the opportunity to experience an incredible UNESCO site made the entire trip worth it!

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

Tegan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth taking the 4h each way bus ride from Paris for a day!

We took the independent version no guided tour or lunch and I recommend this approach. You can explore the abbey right away instead of going to the lunch outside of Mont St Michel with the group. You beat the crowds and see the Abbey without tons of people around.

Bus was comfortable. Seats go far back for easy napping. Bring your phone USB charger as the bus has USB plugs.

The bus stops for 30 mins each way. This is a bit longer than necessary but with groups it is expected.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

Charles R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was well timed, well planned, and well guided. We had just the right amount of time at the site, We had two perfectly timed comfort stops and a delicious lunch. I high recommend this trip

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Barbara Dolter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed our time here!! Worth the trip. Due to traffic delays, we skipped the lunch to have more time at Mont Saint Michel. Instead of four hours to each way, our time was 5 1/2 hours each way to the monument. Upon arrival in the morning at the station, it was a little disorganized.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Juan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellente!!!!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Lynn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mont Saint Michel bas a bucket list location for me, and I included the tour in a trip to Paris. The tour exceeded my expectations. The tour guide was fantastic. She was extremely knowledgeable about the history, food and culture of Normandy which she entertained us with on the drive to the Mont. We happened to be there on the Sunday of a three day holiday weekend, and the island was overrun with tourists and navigating the streets was extremely difficult. Our headsets and audio systems were lifesavers, as our guide was able to provide instructions of where to link up with the group if you became separated. She knew the back route for leaving the monastery to avoid some of the crowds, The tour provided a tasty salmon lunch with local cider and cake, and the bus was well equipped with outlets to charge phones and computers for the trip there and back. It was a long day from Paris, but well worth it I am so happy I booked this trip.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Beverly F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was excellent and the journey and accommodations perfect. I will book with your agency again.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Rajesh B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very professionaly managed tour. Loved it.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

Anna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a Long trip (as MSM is quite far away), but the trip is amazing and well worth it! Thanks to the Drivers and #39; safe and comfy driving and the charming tour guides Girod!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Anne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Loved it. Our guide, Fliorence H, was wonderful! She was knowledgeable and very interesting.

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont Saint-Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

Anne V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I really enjoyed my tour immensely. My guide Roberto was very knowledgeable and didn and #39;t mind if you lagged behind a little. We always had time ro explore alone and get a feel for each stop on the tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

carrie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is spectacular! Of all the tours I did while visiting Paris, this was my favorite. I did not do the guided tour and I am glad I didn't. I had just enough time to see everything on my own. When you make it up to the abbey, you can buy an audio tour for about 5 euro. Abbey is a truly beautiful place. The grounds and gardens are very nice. The village has restaurants and creperies and souvenirs including linens and statuary. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

klp330

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The bus was very comfortable and our guide was wonderful. It rainmed all day so that did put a damper on tje day. If it had been sunny, it would have been a greatr day.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Harry T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Trip and site were fantastic. Food not so much you are better off eating at the sites many restaurants rather than the offered restaurant in the package. The guide was not engaging and very monotones while on the bus, what better on the site tour.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

rdmlam3

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Lots of steps for old people. We nice once we made it to the top.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Melissa W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Visiting Mont Saint Michel was an amazing experience, highly recommended! I liked not having to worry about transport, and having time to myself to explore the abbey and island.

However, I also recommended that Paris City Tours, who organise the transport to and from Mont Saint Michel, update their e-ticket to include more information about the tour. Such as the fact that the e-ticket needs to be swapped before boarding the bus, for a pass. I was treated rather rudely when I tried to get on the bus with my e-ticket, even though it it is not explained anywhere that these needs to be swapped at the Paris City Tours desk.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

Peter B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour guides were relatively knowledgable and entertaining however, the Novatel used for the overnight stay was terrible. It needed refurbishing, and the food was barely edible - especially at breakfast.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

William B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

An excellent way to see the local, rural countryside of western France. Our drive Nico, and guide Roberto were super. Both of them were very professional and competent in their jobs. The information provided could not have been found on a website regarding the sites and places we visited. A bit challenging at times with a mixture of languages being presented, but with an additional guide on board to handle Spanish and French, our English speaking tour was enjoyable. We could not have possibly seen or experienced what we did on our own. Would highly recommend this trip or portions of it , if you wish to see Normandy and the Loire Valley.

Doing what: 4-Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour

Domenic C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour,great lunch and very knowledgeable guide a must do.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

krlndye4u

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

THIS WAS A GOOD TOUR.. AND WE SAW LOTS OF PLACES IN JUST A SHORT TIME.. ALSO.. be aware that when you get to MONT ST MICHEL.. tour guide gave out tickets and then took off and left to our own.. no details on the castle.... and VERY VERY HILLY.. NOT GOOD FOR ELDERLY..IF NOT IN GOOD SHAPE.. AND CAN GET VERY WINDED.. we looked forward ro going there, but were only able to do a few step s.. INVESTIGATE.. we.. saw more of the town after going to the castle..very crowded..

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Alan K

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Overall, satisfactory. Overall itinerary at Mont St-Michel felt a bit rushed. The tour guide's English had a strong French accent, and her explanation was sometimes hard to follow. The place was highly recommended by some of our friends, but it was either meeting expectation or slightly below expectation.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

YU HIN N

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The trip was too rush given an hour was spent on the restaurant the meal was not particularly impressive and not much time to spend on the actual Mount. The tour could have skipped the meal part and let the group eat by themselves at the Mount. Our tour guide was informative.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

David W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Viator tours failed to pick us up for the tour so this was the worst experience ever.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Barbara M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This tour was very disappointing. The pictures and description give one the impression that the tour will have significant focus on d-day, however that is not the case. We were given just 10 minutes at Omaha beach, 15 minutes at another beach and just one hour at the American cemetery. We spent more time waiting for later returnees at Honfleur than we did at the beaches. The hotel was ridiculous, clearly not a 3 star as advertised, in its current state of renovation, maybe a 1 star. The included dinner was terrible, but because the hotel is not centrally located there were no other dining choices. The tour guide was impossible to understand, and cared little for his tourists.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message