Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 692 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We'll worth the time, guide was very informative. Lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great experience. I'd been to Mont Saint Michel a few times but it was the first time for my wife, and this was something she'd wanted to do for years. We met at the Viator tour office near the Louvre at 6:45 on a Saturday morning. At check-in we were told that we would get on the bus in thirty minutes, so we walked across the street to a nice cafe for some coffee and pain chocolate. Promptly at 7:15 we were on the bus and soon underway. NOTE: DO NOT TAKE THE SEATS IMMEDIATELY IN FRONT OF THE BACK EXIT. We learned that lesson the hard way. Those seats don't recline and as soon as the people in front us violently reclined their seats, we were squashed flat. Our guide, Emilia, was terrific and thoroughly knowledgeable about the history of Normandy and the abbey at Mont St. Michel. It was a very long day but well worth it. Be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. According to my fitbit, we climbed 50 FLIGHTs of stairs, approximately 500 feet. We got to Mont Saint Michel around 11:30 and immediately had lunch at a restaurant at the foot of the causeway leading to the island. It had a great view of the abbey. Lunch was quite good, though I'm a bit underwhelmed by the appetizer. We were back at the bus at 4:30 in the afternoon and were back in Paris around 9:15. There was a 30-minute rest stop both going to and coming back from the destination. All it all, it was a great outing and well-worth the money.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Good guide, and good tour. Wish there had been more commentary on the way from Paris to Mont Saint-Michel.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Romain rocks they. Normandy region. Bright, witty and fun to engage in all sorts on conversations with. He went beyond Mt St Michel and took us to a dairy farm where we met a wonderful family and tasted some great apple cider
Hats off to Normandy Tours!!!

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WOW....... This was a great, great tour. The expert complimentary was fantastic and expert level, and the tour was in depth and well worth the four bus trip from Paris. The one thing is that you need to be fit to attempt this as there is over 300 steps and a decent incline to get to the top. But well worth it. Stunning views, great architecture, fascinating history. WOW

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Rose was an excellent tourguide...very knowledgable and very friendly. She took us on some back roads toget there which we enjoyed tremendously. We would not hesitate to recommend her as a guide. The van she used was clean and comfortable.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience and fun trip. Very knowledgeable guides. I really enjoyed the drive up there through beautiful Normandy and the bus was very comfortable. Highly recommend and can't wait to go again!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, well organized! Comfortable lodging overnight. Plenty of free time to see the places we visited, most importantly in Mt. St. Michel.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very nice lunch, spectacular day out.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a wonderful tour. The interior of this monastery feels serene and provides the visitor with a unique spiritual experience not to be forgotten.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was such a nice trip. The bus ride was enjoyable and the tour guide was so good. We really enjoyed this trip. Very much worth the price.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

You must visit Mont St-Michel if you're in France. The bus ride from paris is long, fortunately, there is a stop half way, both ways. The bus is large and a comfortable ride. In my opinion the independent tour is the way to go. I was able to tour the Abbey at my own pace and chose the restaurant where I had lunch…which lead me to the best tiramisu I've ever had! The Mont is one of the most beautiful places I've ever been.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome....this place is amazing. Independent tour is the best way to go as it gives you more free time to explore on the mount . It is a long day tour from paris but well worth the effort.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Timely hotel pickup. Comfortable bus ride.plenty of time to explore st Michel . Would highly recommend this day trip from paris

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a great day trip with a very good lunch even though the headsets didn't work on the bus ride.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message