Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 667 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highly recommended. Long bus trip - but worth it.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a long trip (4.5 hrs from Paris including the rest stop). Also, the level of activity to climb up to the top definitely not moderate. But the breathtaking views made the entire experience unique. Unless you combine this trip with another excursion in Normandy, I can not justify an overnight. The luncheon at the restaurant was good but hardly memorable

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic outing, well worth the day trip! Mont St Michel was awesome! Tour guide was at times difficult to understand with her heavy French accent.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Stephen P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wow what a fantastic tour. Be prepared for a long trip from Paris to Mont St-Michel and back. We upgraded to the guided tour which included lunch. This was worthwhile and I recommend it. Our gUide was very knowledgable. Long day but worthwhile if you have the guide.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A beautiful tour with many lovely sights. Well done!

Doing what: 2-Day Mont St-Michel and Loire Valley Castles Tour from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This is a long trip from Paris, but very worthwhile - this is a beautiful and magical destination. I was on the guided tour, but some of the people on our bus were on an "on your own tour." I don't recall seeing this as an option when I made my reservation, because I definitely would have chosen the "on your own" -- nothing against the guide (she was great), but with the crowds and the typical issues of being with a group, I would have probably seen more on my own. My bad if I missed that option, but if I didn't, Viator should add that as an option.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was nice drive through Normandy and Le Mont St. Michel was definitely worth the trip! Our guide was knowledgeable.. Only wish we had enough time to explore the abbey after the tour..still worth doing!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Unfortunately, our bus had a blowout on the way but it was handled well and they made up the lost time by delaying the return trip. And, it rained a few times while we were there. In spite of that it was definitely a worthwhile experience and we were really glad we went. The medieval village and the abbey are extraordinary and just imagining the labor it took to build it with the tools and equipment of the time is mind bending. We really enjoyed it. We took some pictures and put them on the web site of our trip.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We have been multiple times ,We love it ,this time very crowded ,a lot of changes in its surrounding and environment that we don't like ,the old was much better ,conserve the nature will always be a win win situation .
We definitely appreciate much more the old .

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Trip was nice. The area is very unique. Tour guide was not much help. We did not get the guided tour option at the Mont but we did not get any info on the surrounding on the 4 our road trip which was disappointing.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

If you are in Paris and want to see MSM then this tour works great. The meeting point was easy to find and the tour left on time. We sat on the top to start but found more room and less people on the lower level so switched. It is a four hour bus ride one direction with a brief bathroom/snack break. We had chosen the tour with lunch but upon arriving decided to go out on our own and ended up eating in one of the restaurants on MSM which was the better choice. The grounds only take about 2 hours to walk around. Possibly more if you go into the museums (cost extra). We had loads of time to eat, get drinks and shop. We also decided to bypass the guided tour. The guides present information in several different languages and we were happier just exploring on our own. If you want a tour, I would recommend this one. If you have the time and the means, I think it would be nicer to spend a couple to a few days on the west side of France and work MSM into a longer trip.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Wear comfortable shoes and be prepared to climb mountains and mountains of stairs. The guide was pleasant and informative; the lunch was marvelous. This is a very long trip and I'm glad I did it but, sadly, I wouldn't do it again. This is a shades-of-Disney trip many will enjoy but I wasn't one of those people. Perhaps it's my age or physical stamina, but never again. Before we entered the church I commented, "I'm afraid to go in for fear I will burst into flames," which people found hysterical. It is a beautiful site for sure.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

we expect the water filling up the surrounding area but didnt happen.....

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Far too long a day. From 6:00 am until 11:00 pm, we were exhauted. The worst part was the tour guide, to his credit he had to interpret in 3 languages and his English was not very good. It seemed like he was always talking and he was because he had to repeat everything in three languages, then a different tour guide had to repeat everything in 2 more languages. We would not recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message