Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 740 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We really enjoyed the whole day. The tour bus was very comfortable and communications all day were very well organized. We had a friendly tour guide who was patient with questions and caring towards our group.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great trip! Mont Saint Michel was of course amazing. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and added so much. Nice stops for lunch and bio breaks on the way - and some very important unscheduled time to poke around on our own. Couldn't have been nicer - highly recommended!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fabulous...my first time in France and it's a memory I'll treasure forever. We were picked up promptly and our guide, Adrien, was wonderful. He was friendly, knowledgeable and always ready to answer our questions. We were very lucky to have him assigned to our group you are fortunate to have him on your staff. Thank you for this great experience.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

RubyMay
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This place is incredibly beautiful! I got lost going back to our bus and I called the company and they were able to contact the bus driver. It was my fault but the fact that they actually waited half an hour for me was very helpful! I'm so grateful indeed!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Early start from Paris, hotel pick up was on time but was not needed because our hotel was 2 minutes away from starting point. Long bus trip as expected. Guides were helpful and knowledgeable.
There should be a description of physical activity because it was an exhausting climb to the abbey.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Highly recommended. Nice overnight accomodation.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Francesca, our guide, was a wealth of information. The monastery was amazing and a truly special place. The only complaint was the lunch before the visit was, in my opinion, too long- 3 courses weren't necessary and would have like more time to wander in our free time before the bus trip home

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Tour is worth doing as it covers a lot of ground in 2 days however too much time spent at St Malo and not enough at Mont St Michel.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Long trip

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

it's a shame the bulk of the day is spent getting to and from this wonderful historic attraction. this would be a fairly difficult activity for older travelers or those with mobility issues, as the climbing was difficult. however, it was well worth it!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I can't rate this tour highly enough! From the hotel pick up (and drop off in the evening), to the comfortable touring coach, to the lovely restaurant lunch, to the tour guides and historical commentary, it was a fantastic day out and a highlight of my trip to Paris. I am already planning my next trip back to France and will definitely book more tours with this organisation. Fabulous :)

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We loved this trip. This independent package was perfect for us: We just let Viator took care of the driving and we relaxed on the bus for this long drive. One thing I would like to warn the ladies, that is, be mindful of taking in the amount of liquid during travel. It's a 4.5 hour drive each way; the bus will stop half way for toilet break, but the line to get to the restroom is enormously long! my experience on this trip was that there were about 50-70 ladies waiting in line to get to the restroom. (on the way there, and on the way back!) So be ready to make that a priority as soon as the bus stops; else, you may end up stand in line at the end of the queue. We had plenty of time to each lunch, tour the castle, and shop. We highly recommend this.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message