Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 639 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the trip from Paris. Checked this off of my bucket list!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Such a pleasant day trip! The guides were friendly and willing to answer any questions. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well-run tour from Paris to Mont St Michel. Bus was very comfortable (even a double decker!) which was helpful as it was 4 hours away. Our guide Anne was wonderful - gave a great tour of the Abbey and answeried all our questions. Lunch was nice at a lovely restaurant with great views of the island. Our second tour through Viator and would recommend them for any day trip in Europe!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Travellers ; a family of 5, children aged 11, 15 and 17.
Booking: as usual, booking with Viator is easy as well as the communication with them, when need.
Tour: mainly historical and cultural but also very nice sightseeing for people not into history.
Hotels: 1. Novotel Caen: a tired hotel in a desolate area, good enough for a 1 night stay, just to sleep.Nice staff.I've read good reviews about the food there, but in our case, you could see dinners having nice food while tour groups were all served " something" without beeing given an option (many plates were barely touched). Even airlines in economy seats give you an option !.
2. Mercure Gare...: Nice hotel, the dinner was in a restaurant outside the hotel, also no menu options but this time food was good. PLEASE Viator, negociate dinner options.
Tour guide: Ours was Mr. Carlos Martinez, a knowlegeable and very sympathetic guy who added humour to every visit.
Transport: Very comfortable coach. Some stretches of road could be very long, but one could easily nap (much needed)
The experience: it was a very nice and enjoyable tour for every member of our family.Everything was timely and very well organised.

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont St Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

TOTALLY WORTH IT.
One warning: the beaches of Normandy were rather rushed, so make sure you explore that region FAST. Don't spend too much time looking at the grave sites.

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont St Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was recommended to us by a friend. This is an old abbey and is absolutely massive. It is built on a marsh, which they are in the process of shoring up, and is a two hour drive from Paris. Lunch is included. When we arrived, the tour takes about 3 hours. If I have one suggestion it would be to prepare visitors for, not only the walking, but the number of steps to the top of this massive structure. There are something like 8000 stair steps, all out of rough stone, and very few handrails. Despite my palms being tender from holding on to the stone walls, I made it all the way to the top and all the way down and every room in between with only having to stop once. I had to move at my own pace (have a slight disability) and the drawback was that I soon got out of range of the radio that the tour guide had and so did not hear any of the history other than what I could pick up from other tour guides as I went along. But the view is incredible and it is awesome to think that such a massive structure could all be built by hand and still be standing. I thought this was well worth the money and the time.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very good organised

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding guide. Delicious lunch with a view. The location speaks for itself. Trés bon.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Travellers ; a family of 5, children aged 11, 15 and 17.
Booking: as usual, booking with Viator is easy as well as the communication with them, when need.
Tour: mainly historical and cultural but also very nice sightseeing for people not into history.
Hotels: 1. Novotel Caen: a tired hotel in a desolate area, good enough for a 1 night stay, just to sleep.Nice staff.I've read good reviews about the food there, but in our case, you could see dinners having nice food while tour groups were all served " something" without beeing given an option (many plates were barely touched). Even airlines in economy seats give you an option !.
2. Mercure Gare...: Nice hotel, the dinner was in a restaurant outside the hotel, also no menu options but this time food was good. PLEASE Viator, negociate dinner options.
Tour guide: Ours was Mr. Carlos Martinez, a knowlegeable and very sympathetic guy who added humour to every visit.
Transport: Very comfortable coach. Some stretches of road could be very long, but one could easily nap (much needed)
The experience: it was a very nice and enjoyable tour for every member of our family.Everything was timely and very well organised.

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont St Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

very efficient agency in paris , good modern buses, good leaders, done as well as could be done considering the distance and time constraints. Sheila troutman

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Well run. Glad I went, but great amount of walking and stairs. Unbelievable crowds. Felt like I was at Disneyland. Assistance for physically challenged would have been greatly appreciated.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Normandy, and St. Malo, we're lovely as an independent day trip. The guides were knowledgeable and were able to tell us about the regions. We felt very rushed and not enough time was left for exploring the area. Hotel accommodations and food for evening meal were average to poor quality.

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont St Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was excellent, guide was knowledgeable and the included meal complemented the tour well as it served some of the local delicacies

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Bus was very comfortable. The midway stop before and after were clean with a lot of food and souvenier options. Tour guide was very personable and knowledgeable. Looked after her group and made the whole tour interesting. She also made the ascent gradual and I noticed that those who were not in the best of shape were able to keep up. Really enjoyed our guide- unfortunately, I can't remember her name.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An amazing sight!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message