Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 716 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The picturesque Mont St Michel is worth it if you have a day to spare from Paris. The journey was about 4 hours there and four and half hours back with a pit stop each way at a petrol station for snacks and a toilet break. The four hours we had there was a good length of time to explore the 'island'. Food options available off the island at the drop off point (we had to take a separate complimentary shuttle to the island) and at Mont St Michel itself. Tends to be a bit more chilly than Paris!

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a full day tour. We were met promptly at the office. From there is was a 3 hour or so bus ride through the Normandy countryside. During the ride our guide explained a lot of history about Normandy that you probably never knew about.
Once we arrived we had lunch. I do recommend having the lunch with the tour, it was very good, although they do have restaurants for your choosing. If you had the lunch then you also will have the guided tour for the basilica. This I recommend because there is a lot of history and I don,t think you are going to get it with the paid headset audio tape.
Once we finished the tour we wondered through the small village. There is snack shops and places to by souvenirs. We all met back at the bus, no one got lost, and we. started the long trip back to Paris. Going to and back we did stop so people could stretch their legs and get a snack or coffee. The bus was very comfortable but be careful not to sit in front of the exit because those seats do not recline.
This trip lasts over 12 hours so be prepared but it was well worth it.

Tim and Osit
Virginia

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My son and I were spending a week in Paris. We have always wanted to visit St Michel. What a perfect time to do it. We had looked into getting out there by ourselves. Then we happened upon this tour and it was a no brainer. It was a wonderful tour. The charter from Paris was on time. The guide was personable and both drivers were excellent. The meal at the hotel prior to our tour of the monument was superb. I expected a sandwich and got a first class meal. It more than met my expectation.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was amazing! I have always wanted to go..
Even though it was a self-guided tour, it would've been good had the tour guide included everyone in the telling of the history on the trip to Mont Saint Michel.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip was amazing. The tour guide was very informed and friendly.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

10 of us started out quite early on Nov. 15 heading to MSM for a 4-hour coach ride which was quite comfortable and scenic on route. Upon arrival, it was a little disappointing when we found the "guide" was not as friendly as he should be, maybe he was too busy rushing to the restaurant. Yet as a whole, it was fine.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It's a long journey, but worth it. My sister and I had a great time. The weather was a little wet which added different feel to the place. Lunch was OK, not for a vegetarian. Fench do not know how to cook vegetarian food well. Overall it's a good trip.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, with informative guide who did a great job. The included meal was fair, but felt could have been better.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, with informative guide who did a great job. The included meal was fair, but felt could have been better.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, with informative guide who did a great job. The included meal was fair, but felt could have been better.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, with informative guide who did a great job. The included meal was fair, but felt could have been better.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, with informative guide who did a great job. The included meal was fair, but felt could have been better.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We had a great day! The bus trip was smooth and there were enough stops for food and toilets. Arriving at Le Mont Saint Michel we had a delicious meal before heading off to the island. It was spectacular! Our tour guide was really informative and it was great to have some free time afterwards. The tour was all we expected and we highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message