Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 764 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was wonderful and the guide was very professional. I would have liked at least another hour or two in Normandy. You are on the bus for some time when travelling from Paris. It would be better to stay closer to St. Malo and get up an hour later, than to stop for the evening in Caen and have to leave by 7:45 a.m. the second morning. Mont St. Michel is extremely crowded - beware. All of the stops were amazing!

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The best! I've waited 50 years to st the Mont, and I was not disappointed!!!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great trip. Guide was fun, knowledgeable, considerate of all members elderly in the group, and kept everybody on schedule - no easy feat. Bus ride was smooth, instructions were clear and concise, and communication very clear.

Had a great time and would love to do it again. I'll be back. Thanks.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Although two of the people who took this tour with us were snoring the entire 3 hour drive to Mont Saint Michel we have to give it 5 stars as this place is fabulous! There are no elevators so you get to hike your way up to the top which makes it more of a special experience because you have to wonder how in the world they got all of those heavy stones to the top of that mountain and built this magnificent place! There is a special spirit here and we really enjoyed our trip.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well organized, excellent and knowledgeable tour guides, fantastic place.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Marty L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a long bus ride from Paris to Mont Saint Michel and it was comfortable and the guide was informative and translated the information first English, Spanish then French. The tour was very fascinating and the main walk way through the Mont Saint Michel was very touristy that is to be expected. The tour guide was walking too quick and wasn't paying attention to those less physically fit. There was very few rest stops and we walking up high stairs. My partner had to yell out to her to slow down, there was an elderly lady struggling. She described the various areas in depth and showed great knowledge and we had wi-fi receivers with headphones that we could hear her. The place is amazing and full of history. Expect to pay 50 cents to use the public toilet. Lots of souvenir shops. Some parts were blocked off due to renovations. We got to see a lot of the abbey in our tour. Just be prepared for the climbing of stairs and need to be physically fit to keep up with the tour guide. Would recommend this tour but hopefully they can remind tour guide to be more aware of where their group is and ensure they are OK.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Extremely long day Worth the effort Travelling through beautiful French countryside
First sight of Mont St Michel breathtaking
One off the bucket list

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome trip.Well covered and the tour guide Elizabeth was the biggest highlight.She was too good.Learnt a lot of meaningful history.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent and amazing day tour! Worth the long distance travelling from Paris! However, lunch menu can be improved..

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Had a fantastic day on this tour. Everything was easy. The guide was really nice, very easy to listen to. Mont Saint Michele is amazing and a must see when in France. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide .on the first day, I had forgotten his name, but was great and ensured we were well informed of the monastery. On the last 2 days Elina was amazing. She was made me feel as if we were a family of closely related people and not strangers. She gave me so much insight of a caring person who really enjoyed our company as well. She was most informative, knowledgable and had appropriate answers to any questions. At concluding I felt that she was sad to see our trip end even though the traffic back to Paris was horrendous. 4 hours for 150ks. Thank you for a great trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Mont St-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent driver and tour director. Not really crazy about the raw whipped egg omelet at lunch, but an experience. I chickened out on the climb to the abbey, but my friend went all the way and said it was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great! Amazing view, the guide was good and explained very well, and we had good weather!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Loved the tour but the guide was not the best! She kept switching from English to Spanish, so we had to wait each time till she said everything to everybody in both languages. Since the trip from Paris to Saint Michel is approximately 5 hours, we only had 4 hours at Saint Michel. We felt like we were loosing our time there by following guide and waiting for her to translate in two languages. So we just left the group and wondered on our own - are we glad that we did! We hardly had a time to walk through the BEAUTIFUL Saint Michel abbey and little village streets. We hardly made it back to bus on time. Overall - I recommend the trip, but do it without a guide 50 less expensive. You can just get a brochure and read about the abbey yourself.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Whole day was well organised and we appreciated the very clear commentary. Would have liked to have been given a choice of what drink we wanted for lunch, instead of them just being put on table. Food was very nice.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was good.. Also a very nice place to visit if you are in Paris.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I thought the trip was excellent but the choice of food for the lunch left a lot to be desired.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Worth doing but if I had it to do over again I would have made it an overnight trip. The bus ride takes 4.5 hours each way! After lunch, that leaves you with about 2.5 hours on the island!!! We selected a guided tour in English this wasn't so necessary, you can make better use of your little time on the island without waiting for a whole group to get from place to place. Anyways, the guided tour was in multiple languages! This means that once the guide explained about each place in english, he would then have to spend more time covering the same topic in another language or two...more time wasted.

Island is gorgeous. Weather literally changed every 5 minutes from hot and sunny to cold, windy and raining. Bring shades, rain coat, and warm layer unless in the summer.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We really enjoyed the whole day. The tour bus was very comfortable and communications all day were very well organized. We had a friendly tour guide who was patient with questions and caring towards our group.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great trip! Mont Saint Michel was of course amazing. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and added so much. Nice stops for lunch and bio breaks on the way - and some very important unscheduled time to poke around on our own. Couldn't have been nicer - highly recommended!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fabulous...my first time in France and it's a memory I'll treasure forever. We were picked up promptly and our guide, Adrien, was wonderful. He was friendly, knowledgeable and always ready to answer our questions. We were very lucky to have him assigned to our group you are fortunate to have him on your staff. Thank you for this great experience.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

RubyMay
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This place is incredibly beautiful! I got lost going back to our bus and I called the company and they were able to contact the bus driver. It was my fault but the fact that they actually waited half an hour for me was very helpful! I'm so grateful indeed!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Early start from Paris, hotel pick up was on time but was not needed because our hotel was 2 minutes away from starting point. Long bus trip as expected. Guides were helpful and knowledgeable.
There should be a description of physical activity because it was an exhausting climb to the abbey.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Highly recommended. Nice overnight accomodation.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message