Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 683 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Romain rocks they. Normandy region. Bright, witty and fun to engage in all sorts on conversations with. He went beyond Mt St Michel and took us to a dairy farm where we met a wonderful family and tasted some great apple cider
Hats off to Normandy Tours!!!

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WOW....... This was a great, great tour. The expert complimentary was fantastic and expert level, and the tour was in depth and well worth the four bus trip from Paris. The one thing is that you need to be fit to attempt this as there is over 300 steps and a decent incline to get to the top. But well worth it. Stunning views, great architecture, fascinating history. WOW

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Rose was an excellent tourguide...very knowledgable and very friendly. She took us on some back roads toget there which we enjoyed tremendously. We would not hesitate to recommend her as a guide. The van she used was clean and comfortable.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience and fun trip. Very knowledgeable guides. I really enjoyed the drive up there through beautiful Normandy and the bus was very comfortable. Highly recommend and can't wait to go again!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Timely hotel pickup. Comfortable bus ride.plenty of time to explore st Michel . Would highly recommend this day trip from paris

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a great day trip with a very good lunch even though the headsets didn't work on the bus ride.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very good guide with an excellent knowledge of Mont Saint Michel.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

GREAT EXPERIENCE WELL WORTH THE MONEY

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour was wonderful. We had a hard time understanding the tour guide and she did not understand us at time. She seemed to always be rushing. She would say don't go to the toilet it would take too much time. So we always felt like we would be holding up the group if we used the bathrooms. Perhaps she was a bit new. The hotel was also below expectations. Rather dirty and smelly.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Fascinating place. We did not hear most of the tour inside because we could not keep up with the group.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

The directions weren't clear at all. I still have the original email that stated the Location as "Pyramids", where we stood from 7:00 am until 7:45 before we realized we had missed our 14 hour day trip to Mont Saint Michel. If the email said under Location, the actual address of the Travel agency we would have given a 5 star. Very Very disappointed. We not only lost out on our tour but lost out on our money as well, as it was a trip for 2 and not cheap.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highly recommended. Long bus trip - but worth it.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a long trip (4.5 hrs from Paris including the rest stop). Also, the level of activity to climb up to the top definitely not moderate. But the breathtaking views made the entire experience unique. Unless you combine this trip with another excursion in Normandy, I can not justify an overnight. The luncheon at the restaurant was good but hardly memorable

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic outing, well worth the day trip! Mont St Michel was awesome! Tour guide was at times difficult to understand with her heavy French accent.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Stephen P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wow what a fantastic tour. Be prepared for a long trip from Paris to Mont St-Michel and back. We upgraded to the guided tour which included lunch. This was worthwhile and I recommend it. Our gUide was very knowledgable. Long day but worthwhile if you have the guide.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message