Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 815 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lots of steps but well worth it. Wonderful guide!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were extremely pleased with our tour to Mont Saint Michel. This is a marvel of medieval architecture and history. Our trip was in early June 2015. We picked up our tour bus at the travel office. You go inside the office with your voucher to obtain the bus tickets. The staff is very organize and will direct you to the line for your bus. The bus ride is long but it does stop at a very nice rest stop coming and going where you can stretch your legs, purchase snacks and use the rest rooms. We had lunch before taking a shuttle bus with our guide to the island. The restaurant was very clean and the staff was efficient in serving the large group. Although it is a fixed menu, the food was fine not great. For a first time visit, we highly recommend the guided tour to hear the long and incredible history of the Abby which makes the trip more meaningful. Also a guide can efficiently escort you through this immense structure. Sufficient time is allowed to see the Abby and free time to visit some of the small shops the streets were crowed with tourists. The weather was lovely, so we walked on the promenade about 20-25 minutes to return to the tour bus. However, you can take the shuttle. The shuttles can have long lines and fill up quickly. Just plan appropriately to get back to the bus in time for departure. This was a great trip that was very well organized!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great tour be prepared to do lots climbing but well worth it to to see all the workmanship and the views plus to hear the history of Mont St. Michel.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide, beautiful scenery and got to see the French countryside. Lots of walking up stairs, need to be fit and the lunch was only so so. Skip the lunch and eat in the town at the base of the monastery.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This full day tour was fascinating. It seemed like it would be a tiring day, but the bus was comfortable and rest stops were timely. The tour up to the top of the Abbey was a bit long; the warning about walking should be heeded. I enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I can't rate this highly enough! The tour was very well organized from the informative guides to the hotel accommodations to the meals. Everything was punctual and professional. The blend of sites was amazing. We felt we had learned and seen so much in those 3 days!

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont Saint-Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was excellent, very well planned with enough time at each site. Our tour guide was very good, she was very knowledgeable and provided good insights.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is in fact not my first visit to Paris. But this trip is somehow different. I decided to take a full day tour to Mont San Michel in Normandy. The journey took about four and a half hours each way, and it was really worth it.
Our guide was excellent once we we went up the 400 steps to the top.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Veronique did a great job guiding this tour in several languages, the cities were beautiful and the experience was unforgettable

Doing what: 4-Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Definitely a highlight of our vacation. The guided tour was well worth it and gave so much fascinating information. The trip was long, but the countryside is so lovely that it was not even an issue.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Frankly, a wonder for all the world to visit. So glad we visited this marvelous world heritage site. We will never forget this place. Before you meet your maker, you must visit this place. The tour company we were led to, was very professional and attentive.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely fantastic great guide amazing information everything and more bus trip really good comfortable and good stops enough time for sightseeing after tour would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour all of it so informative, knowledgeable, good way to tour for mont st michel

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very beautiful and historic, lunch was excellent. Did not realize it was a 4 hour trip by bus to get there,but it was worth the money for the experince.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great way to see Versailles. Enjoyed choosing and buying our lunch at the market. Our guide, Johnnie, was friendly and informative. Bike ride was fun and grounds were beautiful. Palace was worth seeing even though crowded. Great dsy trip from Paris

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a wonderful trip. It is a good 4 hour drive but it is so interesting. The village is very small, a bit touristy now, but once housed a small village and the monastery. It is an interesting climb up to the top and to the cloister and prison. Our guide was very informative and you could envision how this was centuries ago.
The village once restricted to only a legacy of families, it is now a series of shops and little pubs. the character of the town is still there, down to the little cemetery

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent tour with an excellent guide. Highly recommend

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good trip. Well organized and interesting.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! This is a long day but very worth the journey.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very long way to go from Paris but it is very nice. My recommendation is to skip the lunch.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide provided very good commentary.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wow. It's a long way from Paris, but it was the highlight of the trip. An incredible place with an incredible history. Words don't really do it justice. Just gorgeous.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour i and my wife really love it

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message