Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 831 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lots of steps but well worth it. Wonderful guide!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful trip but the lunch was my favourite. Next time I would plan to eat in the town instead

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Five stars - our guide Amelie went out of her way to make sure we had a great day. We wanted to also see a specific memorial which she fitted into the itinerary which made our day. Highly recommended

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were extremely pleased with our tour to Mont Saint Michel. This is a marvel of medieval architecture and history. Our trip was in early June 2015. We picked up our tour bus at the travel office. You go inside the office with your voucher to obtain the bus tickets. The staff is very organize and will direct you to the line for your bus. The bus ride is long but it does stop at a very nice rest stop coming and going where you can stretch your legs, purchase snacks and use the rest rooms. We had lunch before taking a shuttle bus with our guide to the island. The restaurant was very clean and the staff was efficient in serving the large group. Although it is a fixed menu, the food was fine not great. For a first time visit, we highly recommend the guided tour to hear the long and incredible history of the Abby which makes the trip more meaningful. Also a guide can efficiently escort you through this immense structure. Sufficient time is allowed to see the Abby and free time to visit some of the small shops the streets were crowed with tourists. The weather was lovely, so we walked on the promenade about 20-25 minutes to return to the tour bus. However, you can take the shuttle. The shuttles can have long lines and fill up quickly. Just plan appropriately to get back to the bus in time for departure. This was a great trip that was very well organized!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

One of the best tour I have taken, if it was not for one of the guide who was rude.
Normandy beach and Mt St Michel is a must for foreign tourist

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour of Mont St. Michel. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and was very helpful.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excelent experience. Variety of language to answer questions. Good people. Love this place and Im plannig to return.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was my favorite day in France. I was worried there wouldn't be enough time at the abby but it did not feel rushed. I recommend it and bring a light rain jacket with you.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour guide and beautiful views!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

fabulous!!!!!!!! a lot for one day but left us wanted more! excellent english guide. super bus. great food t our stop..

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Loved the day apart from the crowds of tourists. our guide was excellent, very passionate with his knowledge

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Pretty amazing place. A long haul to get there and City Wonders wasn't the greatest tour company n my view historical narration and logistics were a bit lacking, but Mont Saint Michel was beautiful. Every picture looks like a post card.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide was funny and knowledgeable. The view is magnificent, worth 8 hours on the road,

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great tour be prepared to do lots climbing but well worth it to to see all the workmanship and the views plus to hear the history of Mont St. Michel.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide, beautiful scenery and got to see the French countryside. Lots of walking up stairs, need to be fit and the lunch was only so so. Skip the lunch and eat in the town at the base of the monastery.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting to see this abbey. Quite a long day from Paris but worth it. Major annoyance was needing to provide a paper receipt when checking in at an office. Why?? Major problem if you have no printer at hand and who does not use a smart phone for this? Also, arriving back at 10 PM no where to take my 9 year old to a WC. There should be facilities at the office.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We were very happy with excursion and choose to do the independent option of this tour as it allowed us more time on the Mont to explore it at our leisure. There were many lovely places to enjoy a meal or simply a coffee if that is your option. Whilst it was a long day with hours of travel it was well worth it.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Long drive but worth it

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

I enjoyed the tour of the place. There was seemless pick-up from my hotel that day and return also. What was terrible was the luncheon served with the tour. I thought the French can cook anything, but not that meal we were served. The salmon wasn't cooked properly and the vegetables were boiled to death. Ugh. I wasn't aware from the website that you could elect the unguided tour with NO lunch. That is the best option, so you don't have to pay for unwanted amenities.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Tour guide was very stand-offish. Gave us info but could have given more. Most of long bus trip was in silence. He was big on giving us instructions on what we could not do on bus and exactly when bus was leaving. Very disappointed in a very expensive day. Mont St Michel was beautiful.. Lunch was just ok. Let me qualify this statement with- with a different guide it may have been more enjoyable

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This full day tour was fascinating. It seemed like it would be a tiring day, but the bus was comfortable and rest stops were timely. The tour up to the top of the Abbey was a bit long; the warning about walking should be heeded. I enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I can't rate this highly enough! The tour was very well organized from the informative guides to the hotel accommodations to the meals. Everything was punctual and professional. The blend of sites was amazing. We felt we had learned and seen so much in those 3 days!

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont Saint-Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was excellent, very well planned with enough time at each site. Our tour guide was very good, she was very knowledgeable and provided good insights.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is in fact not my first visit to Paris. But this trip is somehow different. I decided to take a full day tour to Mont San Michel in Normandy. The journey took about four and a half hours each way, and it was really worth it.
Our guide was excellent once we we went up the 400 steps to the top.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Veronique did a great job guiding this tour in several languages, the cities were beautiful and the experience was unforgettable

Doing what: 4-Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message