Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 698 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The picturesque Mont St Michel is worth it if you have a day to spare from Paris. The journey was about 4 hours there and four and half hours back with a pit stop each way at a petrol station for snacks and a toilet break. The four hours we had there was a good length of time to explore the 'island'. Food options available off the island at the drop off point (we had to take a separate complimentary shuttle to the island) and at Mont St Michel itself. Tends to be a bit more chilly than Paris!

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a full day tour. We were met promptly at the office. From there is was a 3 hour or so bus ride through the Normandy countryside. During the ride our guide explained a lot of history about Normandy that you probably never knew about.
Once we arrived we had lunch. I do recommend having the lunch with the tour, it was very good, although they do have restaurants for your choosing. If you had the lunch then you also will have the guided tour for the basilica. This I recommend because there is a lot of history and I don,t think you are going to get it with the paid headset audio tape.
Once we finished the tour we wondered through the small village. There is snack shops and places to by souvenirs. We all met back at the bus, no one got lost, and we. started the long trip back to Paris. Going to and back we did stop so people could stretch their legs and get a snack or coffee. The bus was very comfortable but be careful not to sit in front of the exit because those seats do not recline.
This trip lasts over 12 hours so be prepared but it was well worth it.

Tim and Osit
Virginia

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My son and I were spending a week in Paris. We have always wanted to visit St Michel. What a perfect time to do it. We had looked into getting out there by ourselves. Then we happened upon this tour and it was a no brainer. It was a wonderful tour. The charter from Paris was on time. The guide was personable and both drivers were excellent. The meal at the hotel prior to our tour of the monument was superb. I expected a sandwich and got a first class meal. It more than met my expectation.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Interesting historic site but the drive is too long and we would not do it again.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We'll worth the time, guide was very informative. Lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great experience. I'd been to Mont Saint Michel a few times but it was the first time for my wife, and this was something she'd wanted to do for years. We met at the Viator tour office near the Louvre at 6:45 on a Saturday morning. At check-in we were told that we would get on the bus in thirty minutes, so we walked across the street to a nice cafe for some coffee and pain chocolate. Promptly at 7:15 we were on the bus and soon underway. NOTE: DO NOT TAKE THE SEATS IMMEDIATELY IN FRONT OF THE BACK EXIT. We learned that lesson the hard way. Those seats don't recline and as soon as the people in front us violently reclined their seats, we were squashed flat. Our guide, Emilia, was terrific and thoroughly knowledgeable about the history of Normandy and the abbey at Mont St. Michel. It was a very long day but well worth it. Be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. According to my fitbit, we climbed 50 FLIGHTs of stairs, approximately 500 feet. We got to Mont Saint Michel around 11:30 and immediately had lunch at a restaurant at the foot of the causeway leading to the island. It had a great view of the abbey. Lunch was quite good, though I'm a bit underwhelmed by the appetizer. We were back at the bus at 4:30 in the afternoon and were back in Paris around 9:15. There was a 30-minute rest stop both going to and coming back from the destination. All it all, it was a great outing and well-worth the money.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Good guide, and good tour. Wish there had been more commentary on the way from Paris to Mont Saint-Michel.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Romain rocks they. Normandy region. Bright, witty and fun to engage in all sorts on conversations with. He went beyond Mt St Michel and took us to a dairy farm where we met a wonderful family and tasted some great apple cider
Hats off to Normandy Tours!!!

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WOW....... This was a great, great tour. The expert complimentary was fantastic and expert level, and the tour was in depth and well worth the four bus trip from Paris. The one thing is that you need to be fit to attempt this as there is over 300 steps and a decent incline to get to the top. But well worth it. Stunning views, great architecture, fascinating history. WOW

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Rose was an excellent tourguide...very knowledgable and very friendly. She took us on some back roads toget there which we enjoyed tremendously. We would not hesitate to recommend her as a guide. The van she used was clean and comfortable.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience and fun trip. Very knowledgeable guides. I really enjoyed the drive up there through beautiful Normandy and the bus was very comfortable. Highly recommend and can't wait to go again!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, well organized! Comfortable lodging overnight. Plenty of free time to see the places we visited, most importantly in Mt. St. Michel.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very nice lunch, spectacular day out.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message