Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 652 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the trip from Paris. Checked this off of my bucket list!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Such a pleasant day trip! The guides were friendly and willing to answer any questions. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is an outstanding excursion! I wish it was longer since it already took us 3 hours to get there and another 3 hours to return.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well-run tour from Paris to Mont St Michel. Bus was very comfortable (even a double decker!) which was helpful as it was 4 hours away. Our guide Anne was wonderful - gave a great tour of the Abbey and answeried all our questions. Lunch was nice at a lovely restaurant with great views of the island. Our second tour through Viator and would recommend them for any day trip in Europe!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Travellers ; a family of 5, children aged 11, 15 and 17.
Booking: as usual, booking with Viator is easy as well as the communication with them, when need.
Tour: mainly historical and cultural but also very nice sightseeing for people not into history.
Hotels: 1. Novotel Caen: a tired hotel in a desolate area, good enough for a 1 night stay, just to sleep.Nice staff.I've read good reviews about the food there, but in our case, you could see dinners having nice food while tour groups were all served " something" without beeing given an option (many plates were barely touched). Even airlines in economy seats give you an option !.
2. Mercure Gare...: Nice hotel, the dinner was in a restaurant outside the hotel, also no menu options but this time food was good. PLEASE Viator, negociate dinner options.
Tour guide: Ours was Mr. Carlos Martinez, a knowlegeable and very sympathetic guy who added humour to every visit.
Transport: Very comfortable coach. Some stretches of road could be very long, but one could easily nap (much needed)
The experience: it was a very nice and enjoyable tour for every member of our family.Everything was timely and very well organised.

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont St Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip. Wonderful lunch in the relais. Everything worked out well.
Pickup time at our hotel was of concern as I wasn't able to contact anyone on the Friday and Saturday before our Monday morning departure. Finally got someone Sunday in the late afternoon and got the information.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

TOTALLY WORTH IT.
One warning: the beaches of Normandy were rather rushed, so make sure you explore that region FAST. Don't spend too much time looking at the grave sites.

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont St Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Mont St Michel day trip was spectacular although my wife and I are in the older generation we still managed to et to the top (about 1112 steps) but it was worth it, I totally believe that this was one of the best days we had and would recommend it to anyone (you don't have to go to the top) there was so much to see.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was recommended to us by a friend. This is an old abbey and is absolutely massive. It is built on a marsh, which they are in the process of shoring up, and is a two hour drive from Paris. Lunch is included. When we arrived, the tour takes about 3 hours. If I have one suggestion it would be to prepare visitors for, not only the walking, but the number of steps to the top of this massive structure. There are something like 8000 stair steps, all out of rough stone, and very few handrails. Despite my palms being tender from holding on to the stone walls, I made it all the way to the top and all the way down and every room in between with only having to stop once. I had to move at my own pace (have a slight disability) and the drawback was that I soon got out of range of the radio that the tour guide had and so did not hear any of the history other than what I could pick up from other tour guides as I went along. But the view is incredible and it is awesome to think that such a massive structure could all be built by hand and still be standing. I thought this was well worth the money and the time.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very good organised

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding guide. Delicious lunch with a view. The location speaks for itself. Trés bon.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip is well organized with scheduled stops, lunch, and the walking tour. This is a spectacular landmark . . . a recommended visit and work the bus ride.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St. Michel each evoked different emotions, but were all wonderful places to experience. While on the tour, we discovered that current improvements would restore sea water around St. Michel next year. If I had known this earlier, I probably would have waited to visit this site.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and delightful day with our guide Katell! She provided real insight into the Normandy region as a whole, and Mont St Michel in particular and made for a very enjoyable and educational trip.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Caen

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message