Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Omaha Beach was the location of one of the most significant moments of fighting in World War II. On June 6th 1944, American troops were given the task of securing the beach as part of a strategy to land Allied troops along five points on the coast ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1184 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing! Olivier was a fantastic guide, and tailored our tour to the areas we were most interested in. We learned so much through the tour!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What a wonderful day! Our guide was SO knowledgable and made the day one to remember. This was money well spent and I would recommend it for anyone wanting to travel in this area. Had we done it on our own, we wouldn't have enjoyed it half as much, and we wouldn't have learnt as much as we did.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour was amazing! It was only two of us in our group, it was so nice and personal. We couldn't have asked for a better tour guide, she was so nice and well informed. Highly recommend to all my friends and family

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was amazing. Our guide, Svetlana, spoke flawless English and provided a through and interesting history of D-day and the sights. She paced both the tour and her commentary perfectly. Our 18 year-old said it was the highlight of her week in Paris.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The only way to get around this area unless you drive yourself. Then you would miss out on the superb guide we had. Began with one of the best museums Ive experienced. Lunch was good. The trip was very interesting because we learnt lots.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

David was very knowledgeable and it was a great tour.
I will definitely be back for the full day tour and some more time to explore the many museums.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

KNOWLEDGEABLE GUIDE AND INFORMATIVE!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Overall, a very nice tour. The guide was very informative, but not very patient with those on the tour. Omaha Beach is a little anticlimactic, as the impediments faced by the allies have been removed, obviously. Still, I would recommend this tour to anyne travelling through the area.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

A wonderful tour. Kareen was super. Her knowledge of the events was amazing. She was enthusiastic, a good driver and concerned for everyones safely. Excellent experience. Would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was everything that my friend and I were hoping for. The guide was extremely knowledgable about the entire area of Normandy as well as the history leading up to and during WWII. It is well worth spending a day to get out there and take part in this tour. Even the lunch at the museum restaurant was delicious.

The only complaint I have is that we didn't get to spend as much time as I would have liked in the museum itself. However, unlike most people, I prefer to read almost every piece of literature in the place so that is understandable.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great the guide really knew great detail and explained every detail on every stop. She grew up in the area and was able to personalize the tour

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very educational experience for our family to visit these D-Day sites, see the remnants of the battlefields and gain new perspective on these historical events. Our guide, Jean-Francois was excellent and gave us background history we did not all know, plus helped us understand what was happening in France and to the French at that time. The American cemetery brought it all together and one is struck by the orderly rows of white headstones, the lush green grass and serenity of the place-- contrasted with what we now understand was uttter chaos at the time and the terrible losses of human life.

I was concerned that a full day might be too much, but so glad we did this rather than try to see it in a half-day tour or drive by ourselves. We would have missed out on so much.

The tour is well paced, our guide was helpful, informative and diplomatic in dealing with all the guests who had different interests and one in particular who was quite a handful. I definitely recommend this tour and our guide, Jean-Francois.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was terrific! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and very nice! We had sufficient time to see pretty much everything outlined in the tour info. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone with interest in D-Day. It was like watching 'The Longest Day' and being there in real life! Thanks again for a great time that I will cherish the rest of my life!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message