Omaha Beach was the location of one of the most significant moments of fighting in World War II. On June 6th 1944, American troops were given the task of securing the beach as part of a strategy to land Allied troops along five points on the coast ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1332 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I can't rate this highly enough! The tour was very well organized from the informative guides to the hotel accommodations to the meals. Everything was punctual and professional. The blend of sites was amazing. We felt we had learned and seen so much in those 3 days!

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont Saint-Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

As a history teacher and first-time visitor to France, I can't tell you how fascinating it was to see Bayeux and tour around the Normandy landings. My tour guide, Antoine, was very knowledgeable on the subject and took the time to answer all our questions! Would recommend this tour in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

the trip is very good the tours person tell us detail about how to landing on the beach

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended as an overview for anyone who has not previously seen these sights. Our guide, Sunny, was very informative and included experiences from her grandparents during the occupation.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful guide, wonderful sites.

The only problem was that I guess I misread that you need to make sure you book the last train to Paris. We booked the 6:57 and thought we were going to have to buy additional tickets. Fortunately, it worked out that we got back in time

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Kate was very prompt and professional and her English was excellent. She was also very well prepared and passionate about her personal experiences and appreciation for the tremendous sacrifices made by the soldiers who led the invasion in June of 1944. The only slight drawback was the necessity to travel from our hotel to the train station to start the tour otherwise it was excellent.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide and driver were excellent. Best tour I have been on in a long time. I was overwhelmed by beauty of location and sacrifice of a great generation. Tour guide knew everything about area and event. Very informative

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent. Our guide had lots of knowledge and anecdotes of what happened on the beaches and after. If you want to see the beaches and get an overview of d-day, in the American sector, then this is a great tour.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide, Sunny, was very informative. She knows her history! She was also passionate about the story she told. We only had 5 hours to see all the sites and she did a great job of getting us to each of them. I sat in the front seat and enjoyed conversation with her throughout the day. Thank you for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was excellent, very well planned with enough time at each site. Our tour guide was very good, she was very knowledgeable and provided good insights.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent! Our guide was friendly and very informative. Every minute of the tour was worth it. Can't see everything in 4 hours so this was a great way to get a sense of this sacred place.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide, David, was exceptional. Long day but was well worth it.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Veronique did a great job guiding this tour in several languages, the cities were beautiful and the experience was unforgettable

Doing what: 4-Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Marlena was an excellent tour guide. We visited the beaches where the allies landed, explored German bunkers and were quite moved to see the cemetery where so many Americans are laid to rest. It is quite moving. Lunch at the museum was excellent, and it even included wine and dessert! This tour is well worth it.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and friendly with excellent English.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour employees were right on time, organized, informative, and knowledgeable. The individual tour guide to whom we were assigned, Sandrine, was excellent, personable, incredibly well informed and entertaining. The coordinated scheduling was impressive but also gave us enough individual exploration time to satisfy us.

I'd recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip was wonderful. Laurent, our guide was the best guide that we could have had. The details and the history that he knew were remarkable. A very nice fellow also. He could not do enough for us. The whole tour was excellent. The van was a little crowded with Laurent, the driver and seven passengers but we survived. The lunch was very good and the museum was quite interesting.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a very enjoyable and informative tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was well conducted, planned and documented, it quickly toured a number sites in one full day. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and gave lots of anecdotal information from her parents who directly endured the occupation and subsequently D-Day. There were a number of maps, charts and photos used to thoroughly explain all of the visits and surrounding events. The Normandy area is covered with D-Day sites and they cannot all be covered in one day. This was a best compromise to get a feeling for the battlefield and what went on during the first few days of the allied invasion on D-Day. A trip to Omaha beach effectively showed what the Soldiers were up against once they got on to the beach and off of it into the hedgerows and small fields inland from the beach. Other sites included Sword beach British, the Pegasus Bridge where British glider troops assaulted and held two critical bridges, Merville Artillery Battery which very effectively showed life in a German gun position and a British military cemetery as well as the American cemetery at overlooking Omaha beach. I would recommend this trip for first time visitors to the area or those who have not done extensive reading on the events surrounding D-Day.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ann-Sophie is so knowledgable plus she is an excellent driver! Couldn't be better! So many pluses on this tour. The 82nd airborne museum is excellent. We had a great stop for lunch at the le Roosevelt. Thanks! You made the trip worthwhile.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly informative and interesting. Our tour guide, Sophie, was excellent.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour. We got lots of detailed information about the sites and the times. Francois is a knowledgeable and helpful guide. He knew we were disappointed not to join the Canadian tour, so he gave us some additional insights into that aspect

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message