Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Omaha Beach was the location of one of the most significant moments of fighting in World War II. On June 6th 1944, American troops were given the task of securing the beach as part of a strategy to land Allied troops along five points on the coast ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1171 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was everything that my friend and I were hoping for. The guide was extremely knowledgable about the entire area of Normandy as well as the history leading up to and during WWII. It is well worth spending a day to get out there and take part in this tour. Even the lunch at the museum restaurant was delicious.

The only complaint I have is that we didn't get to spend as much time as I would have liked in the museum itself. However, unlike most people, I prefer to read almost every piece of literature in the place so that is understandable.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great the guide really knew great detail and explained every detail on every stop. She grew up in the area and was able to personalize the tour

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very educational experience for our family to visit these D-Day sites, see the remnants of the battlefields and gain new perspective on these historical events. Our guide, Jean-Francois was excellent and gave us background history we did not all know, plus helped us understand what was happening in France and to the French at that time. The American cemetery brought it all together and one is struck by the orderly rows of white headstones, the lush green grass and serenity of the place-- contrasted with what we now understand was uttter chaos at the time and the terrible losses of human life.

I was concerned that a full day might be too much, but so glad we did this rather than try to see it in a half-day tour or drive by ourselves. We would have missed out on so much.

The tour is well paced, our guide was helpful, informative and diplomatic in dealing with all the guests who had different interests and one in particular who was quite a handful. I definitely recommend this tour and our guide, Jean-Francois.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was terrific! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and very nice! We had sufficient time to see pretty much everything outlined in the tour info. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone with interest in D-Day. It was like watching 'The Longest Day' and being there in real life! Thanks again for a great time that I will cherish the rest of my life!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was very good. He went above and beyond service-wise and was very knowledgeable. The sites were very interesting as well as moving. We will treasure our memories of Caen and all the sites we visited in the Normandy area.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good and knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Moving experience. The beaches and American Cemetery were very interesting and well worth the trip from Paris. But the museum at Caen was a real surprise. We thought it would be a walk through, but the museum tells the story behind World War II and the results. Our guide Maryann spoke with personal experience having seen the war through the eyes of her parents and grandparents. It's a long day, but worth the effort.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great Tour experience with comfort and very knowledgable tour guide..Enjoyed it very much....

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great experience. Tour guide was very informed and friendly, and the sites themselves were fascinating. I think every American should make this trip to see what generations before us have sacrificed for our futures.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a wonderful and truly inspiring. Olivier was incredibly knowledgeable and was able to put a lot of the history and events of the day into context with the greater war history. We were also grateful to get almost an hour and a half to explore the American Cemetery and the Visitor Center on our own at the end of the tour. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking of touring the Normandy area.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour of the beaches/cemetery was amazing. The lunch was average. I would rather have had more time at the museum and beaches than to go to the cider drinking stop.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Phillip was very knowlegable, pick up on time, gave us an amazing overview of the area.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable, pleasant, and gave us a good overall tour of the area.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a good tour and our guide was very knowledgeable although he seemed a bit bored which I can understand due to the repetiveness of the job.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very good and comprehensive. Tour guide was knowledgeable and helpful in understanding the American Battlefield. I would definitely recommend this tour to others

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message