Omaha Beach was the location of one of the most significant moments of fighting in World War II. On June 6th 1944, American troops were given the task of securing the beach as part of a strategy to land Allied troops along five points on the coast ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1578 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Charlotte Ann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Memorable and moving tour. Our guide Katell, I believe was exceptional - very knowledgeable, very efficient, and very pleasant. One of the highlights of our trip. Ann

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

SHEILA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was so knowledgeable and the group size was perfect. We loved being at Pont du Hoc first thing. We were alone out there and it just added to the tour. Thank you so much for such a great experience!

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Roger W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Out guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and easy to understand. The transportation was comfortable and the stops were efficient. I have studied the D-Day invasion for years and still learned a lot from this tour. Would recommend this tour to anyone traveling to France.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Viator Travel ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour group was small 8 participants with hotel pickup. Tour was extensive, visiting German Cemetary, Utah Beach, Omaha Beach, and American Cemetery, in addition to other minor stops. Tour guide was great, very knowledgeable, well educated, well spoken, professional, attentive, and polite. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Geoffrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Francois provided a very detailed and thorough explanation of events.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Joanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an excellent tour. I learned so much from the guide. It would have been good if we could have stopped once in a while to take some special photos that popped up along the way but that was a small thing. Thank you.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

CHRISBARRY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was excellent in terms of content. the tour guide, Felix really knew his facts and he was truly a student of history. I really liked all of the stops we made, but I felt as though we needed a bit more time to truly see the museum at Utah Beach. I would recommend that there be less time spent on the cider stop and increase the time at the museum. Also, I wonder if there is any type of museum at Omaha Beach where we could have spent some time. Overall it was a great experience for me and I would recommend it to others visiting in France.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Dana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Tour! Very well informed guide.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Baxter Kent W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was an outstanding day. Matt, our Tour guide, was expectional in his knowledge and relationship with the group. First trip to Normandy, and the order of sites was also very well done, finishing the day at the American Cemetery, after starting at the German Cemetery. Five star!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Penelope C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide and driver were marvelous. I saw and learned so much. Very pleasant hotels. With the walking and stairs I didn't have to worry about calories.

Doing what: 4-Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour

Manon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very articulate and concise information on this 2 days tour. Excellent tour guide.
I recommend this tour to every one. This was an unforgettable experience!
Worth every penny.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Jim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was exceptional. He was passionate about his own experience with veterans that had come back to share their history or their parents history of the war. An understanding that it is the individual stories that are the important part of history

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Gal B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great guide and tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Barbara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide, Dominique, was exceptional. Her knowledge and English was excellent. She gave us the right amount of information both on the bus while driving through towns and while touring the different sights. She also gave us great tips for our free time. It would have been nice to have a little more time at Omaha Beach and a little less time at the Graves, but that wasn't her choice. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont Saint-Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

HARRIET R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Going to Normandy with Maryline our guide was an unforgettable experience. Her explanation at the Memorial de Caen Museum was so informative. Lunch at La Terrasse was excellent. The guided tour of the D-Day Beaches was amazing. We had time on our own as well as the chance to listen to Maryline. I will definitely consider using Viator again for another city tour.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Melissa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide did a great job, she was very knowledgble.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Steven H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and always went above and beyond to be helpful. The trip's itinerary was fantastic. We highly recommend d this tour.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Bindya S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This trip was very good except that the food on the first night at the Novotel Caen Hotel was the worst. It was like they just provided for the sake of providing Many people in our group left the whole plate as it is...some even said it is like dogs food. Overall trip was good but the last section on Chateaux of Chambord was too quick, they did not give us enough time to see it...it was just a rush. Driver was very good.

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont Saint-Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

Debbie J

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Daniel was very informative and we had a good time. The air conditioning was not working on the bus on the way home so that made it a little uncomfortable. But all in all, a good day.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

absannwald

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Would have wanted more time at Omaha Beach. The tour guide was wonderful, the bus was comfortable and our overnight accommodations were very good.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

John C. R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great. Enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Sal

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was my and my husband's first multi-day tour. All in all we had a good time. Our guide, Corinne, was very knowledgeable and gave us information that made the viewing more interesting and added to our general store of knowledge. The bus was very comfortable. My husband has a bad back, and because the bus was never full, he was able to utilize the back row of seats. The windows all over were big and allowed great viewing of the sights. This is especially true on the small country roads in Normandy where we could see the thatched roofs on the cottages up close. Although there were adequate bathroom stops, the bus bathroom did come in handy and was clean and comfortable. We were lucky enough to have good weather for half the trip, so sites like Honfleur and the chateau Chenonceau were particularly beautiful. Sights like Omaha Beach and Mont. St. Michel were almost better in rainy ominous weather. The hotels we stayed in were quite comfortable, modern and clean. The breakfasts were delicious, with a huge array of pastries, cold cuts, eggs, fruits, etc. Lunches were up to us, and since I did research online ahead of time, we found a couple of really good restaurants. My main complaint were the dinners provided by the hotels. With a couple of notable exceptions, the dishes were not very flavorful and were in fact rather odd. When the kitchens fell back on traditional French cooking, it was much better. Frankly, I would rather have the option to pay for dinner myself. One thing we discovered is that the nature of the tour was a little hard-going for us. It would have been easier to be able to return to the bus when we got tired, and the early rising and little time between arriving at the hotels and dinner kept us somewhat tired. It is understandable, though, that a tour has to keep us going to make best use of the time. In retrospect we are glad we saw so much.

Doing what: 4-Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour

Robert W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Very disappointed at the DDay beaches part of the tour. Definitely would have been much better if the guide had taken us onto the beach and gave a few stories about the men who landed on Omaha Beach. No significant information how and where they managed to finally break out of the beach.
Museum tour was okay if you wanted a history lesson on the Weimar Republic or the treatment of he Jews by the Nazis and the French now apologizing for what part they played.
Definitely need to return and visit Omaha again. I will get a private guide next time. My Father landed at Omaha Beach with the 18th Regiment of the Big Red One so I was probably hoping for more description of the combat than we were given.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message