Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Omaha Beach was the location of one of the most significant moments of fighting in World War II. On June 6th 1944, American troops were given the task of securing the beach as part of a strategy to land Allied troops along five points on the coast ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1236 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was wonderful and the guide was very professional. I would have liked at least another hour or two in Normandy. You are on the bus for some time when travelling from Paris. It would be better to stay closer to St. Malo and get up an hour later, than to stop for the evening in Caen and have to leave by 7:45 a.m. the second morning. Mont St. Michel is extremely crowded - beware. All of the stops were amazing!

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was one of the most memorable experiences of my life! The guide, Svetlana, was AMAZING. She was extremely knowledgeable and kind! Highly recommended for everyone!

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We booked this tour with 3 other couples we met on Cruise Critic for a transatlantic cruise we took 4/15/15 as an alternative to the more expensive tours offered by the cruise line. I am so glad we did! Katie our tour guide was AMAZING! Friendly, incredibly knowledgable, she is so passionate about this subject. Her enthusiasm and respect made her tour unforgettable. We HIGHLY recommend this tour and if you are lucky enough to get Katie as your tour guide you will love it.

Doing what: Le Havre Shore Excursion: Private Day Tour of Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach and Normandy American Cemetery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide is an employee of the memorial museum and not just a random tour company, so her credentials were impeccable. Her English was perfect even though it is her third language. Since it was early May our group was very small, only four of us, so we got really personal attention.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A very meaningful, memorable experience conducted by 'Amelie' in a friendly professional manner.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide was excellent - very knowledgeable and personable.
We'd recommend this tour 100.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour exceeded expectation. Adrian was our guide and he was wonderful- very knowledgable, yet personable with the entire group. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. Francois was an exceptional Guide. Fully informed. excellent English and super friendly.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Without a doubt we lucked out with an amazing guide, Laurent from the time we arrived at the train station to our goodbye at the end of the day. His enthusiasm, knowledge and commitment to ensuring we understood what we were hearing about made it such a memorable day. The entire experience was well organized, informative, personal and so moving. The Caen Memorial Museum is a testament to remembering all that we owe our veterans and the citizens of Normandy for enduring the devastation as the war was waged. I highly recommend this tour and hope to come back to do the Canadian version. Having said that visiting the beaches we did and having the time to spend at the American Memorial cemetary was very very powerful.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very informative and touching. The lunch at the museum was also very good.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide Sunny was on time, professional, experienced and very engaging. We found her knowledge on Operation Overlord and the D-Day invasion to be thrilling to listen to, and she was very good at answering questions.

If you do plan this tour, arrive in Bayeux a couple of hours early and be sure to visit the Bayeux Tapestry Museum.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Mag was very good as a tour guide.she was very informative and made our day very enjoyable

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Another great experience with a Viator tour!
Our tour was originally booked for an afternoon, but we missed our train from Paris out to Bayeux. I called and they switched the tour to the following morning at no extra cost.
The tour itself was emotional and informative - overall a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a Normandy experience who is short on time.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was spectacular. Our guide was punctual, well informed, dedicated, and charming. We could not have had a better time.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was amazing and our guide, Francois was so informative!

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing ! Fabulous tour guide from the Caen Memorial Museum. She was very passionate about her work and knowledgeable. Very surreal to visit the beaches where so many sacrificed their lives as well as the American Cementery. A tour not to be forgotten!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour was fantastic! Our guide Jonathan was wonderful. He knew so much about the area, history, and was engaging and entertaining. Could not have had a better experience. Thank you so much for a fantastic afternoon!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Kate, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We took lots of pictures and asked lots of questions. We had a great tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My father was a member of Company E of the 502 PIR who dropped at Normandy. The day we were there would have been his 90th birthday. Visiting this area was very moving and I do not mean the 50 mph winds and light rain we had most of the day. Our guide was great and tour was well organized.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Highly recommended. Nice overnight accomodation.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We did the full day tour of the American Sites. I would DEFINITELY recommend it. The tour was very cool. To be honest, you can't really visit EVERYTHING in Normandy in one day but the tour hits alot of the big spots. Me and my friend were very pleased with the tour guide and the tour in general. She spoke pretty good English and was able to explain alot of the little details about each stop. If we could give any recommendations I would say that I wish we had more time in St. Mere Eglise. The guide saved the last 1.5 hours for the American Cemetary and while the cemetary was very moving, me and my friend found ourselves just wandering and looking around at the end while we had to rush to get through everything in St Mere Eglise in the beginning. Expect it to be fairly breezy/windy. The van was very nice, clean and has an internal speaker system so the guide can talk while driving explaining things and everyone can hear her very clearly. The small group your paired with is efficient. And you get time at each stop to go and do your own thing and see what you want after the guide explains everything.

Would recommend this company to EVERYONE I know that goes to Normandy.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message