Omaha Beach was the location of one of the most significant moments of fighting in World War II. On June 6th 1944, American troops were given the task of securing the beach as part of a strategy to land Allied troops along five points on the coast ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1413 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Claire Z
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The best tour we did. The driver/ tour guide was fabulous, gave quite a bit of information about Normandy, the battles, the cemetery, etc. I can't recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour and Excellent English speaking guide from Cherbourg who could tell us family stories of D Day. Quite impressive all around.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an awesome tour...our tour guide was unsurpassed in her knowledge and had a great sense of humor during what was a long day.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience. Knowledgable guide!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this half-day tour of the Normandy Beaches. Our tour guide was very professional and knowledgeable concerning the D-Day invasion.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were very fortunate to have Julian for out guide. His knowledge of events of D-Day, plus his way of presenting it, made this tour an outstanding one ! The pacing of this tour allows you time to reflect on the importance of these sites. As mentioned this is a good five hour tour !
We had taken the late morning train to Caen and started the 2:00 tour so did NOT have time to visit the Museum, but was able to do that the next day, which in itself is an all day event. At least it was for us.
If one has any interest at all about D-Day do take this tour. It is a WONDERFUL one !!!!!

Doing what: Best Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I really enjoyed my time on this tour. We did so much that the 4 days felt like two weeks! The highlight for me was Mt. Saint Michel, a must go place in France.

Doing what: 4-Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Couldnt have booked a better tourguide!!!
Brilliant and very informative day!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was great! It is a long day, but definitely worth it. The day was extremely well-planned and tightly packed, so we were able to see all of the sights without feeling completely rushed. If you are the kind of person who likes to read every single placard in a museum, then you might feel a bit rushed at some of the sights Utah Beach and Omaha Beach especially, where there are museums, but my fiance and I thought the timing was perfect. The lunch is delicious, as is the cider tasting. Those were fun additions to an otherwise somber day. Overall, we had a wonderful and fascinating day.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This D-Day tour was truly incredible. It was by far one of the best tours I've ever been on. Everything was so well-organized, from the tours to the site visits to transportation to lunch which was just delicious. One of the best things about the tour is being in small groups. As I came to the tour by myself, I was put with a family of 5, and it was the perfect size for a tour like this.

My tour guide Sandrine was really spectacular. She is so knowledgable about everything related to World War II and D-Day, and her passion for it all really shows. Sandrine also has a terrific personality, so if you get her as your tour guide, you're in for a real treat!

I would highly, highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in World War II, D-Day, France, world affairs, but I would also recommend this tour to anyone regardless of their interests! It is a very touching and moving experience. One that I know I will never forget.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was very good. Knowledgeable ,informative, helpful and amicable

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, personable and knowledgeable driver. 7 people in a comfortable van.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome tour. Extra stops to some seldom visited locations made for a very special tour.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great experience Romeo was very informative and very friendly

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Felix and Patrice were great! They kept the historical accounts going the entire time and ensured we knew what we were looking at and that we got everywhere we needed to on time. Of course, it would always be great to have more time at each place, but it is a day trip with a long drive by someone else! from Paris, so it is to be expected. Overall, great trip!

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide, Mag I believe, was wonderful. She was very knowledgable, took us to several places of interest, was very personable and the small group was perfect. It was easy to be picked up, and the trip itself was so interesting. It was nice that she was from the area so was able to give us backrground knowledge of the towns and how they were affected. This is the way to do the trip in a small, airconditioned van! The American Cemetary was very moving. Since my father had been at Utah beach and in the area, it was emotional for me and she made sure to ask if anyone had connections there. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide, Mario, was outstanding. My family and I truly appreciated his knowledge and passion about the D-Day landings, and history of the area. This is a tour every American coming to France should take to appreciate the sacrifices the French, Americans, Canadians, British and all of our allies did to make this world a better world.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing day! Our guides on August 5th were remarkable and a storehouse of knowledge. We were delighted with their expertise, the sites were amazing and the lunch was a lovely break. We would highly recommend this experience.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent tour. Our guide was great and very informative. We highly recommend this tour. It is much easier than trying to see the various sites on your own.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent. Well paced. Tour guides were great!

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an awesome day! Our tour guide was friendly, engaging and very professional. We are so glad that we signed up for this tour!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful wonderful. A highlight of our time in France.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband, parents, preschooler, and I had a wonderful time on our tour with Romain. As luck would have it, the other two people scheduled for the tour cancelled at the last minute, so it was just the five of us. This came in handy when the three-year-old melted down halfway through, and we needed to take a small break to eat chips from the van at Omaha Beach. Three might be a little young for the tour. Romain, who spoke fluent English, gave much more detail about each of the sites we visited than we could have learned from the posted placards, and even told family stories from the German Occupation and Allied Liberation. At the end of the tour, he drove us back to Bayeux through narrow local roads that our rental-car GPS would never have found, which gave a much better idea of what terrain the Allies fought through in 1945 than the modern highways. We spent the rest of the evening talking about how happy we were to have taken the guided tour, rather than going to all of the sites on our own.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Francois was a very informative and entertaining tour guide. This is a tour our family will NEVER forget. Thank you for making it so memorable.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message