• USD ($)
  • English
Omaha Beach was the location of one of the most significant moments of fighting in World War II. On June 6th 1944, American troops were given the task of securing the beach as part of a strategy to land Allied troops along five points on the coast ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 857 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great! Guide was very informative as well. Only wish I had done the all day tour!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide Matt was excellent, a local from the Bayeux area for a number of generations which was very interesting as his family was personally involved in the war. Very moving experience, would highly recommend.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was the best part of my vacation. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable, and the tour had the perfect mix of structured and free time. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A great guide who was very informative. She never rushed us and was willing to explain details. The tour met our itinerary for the short time we had. Our guide was even able to recommend a restaurant for us before we caught the train back to Paris!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Francoise was our tour guide. He was on time for our pick up at the train station. The tour was very informative. The guide was fun, entertaining and added a good deal of local information to our tour. He also recommended an excellent restaurant and gave us directions for a short 10 minute walk back to the train station.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide François was excellent! He was full of knowledge, energetic and did a great job of pointing out not only the sites, the but the flow of battle at where we were actually standing. He was very knowledgeable and if he did not know the answer to something, he went to his van at a break and come back with an answer. Now that is great service. My only complaint is that I wish we had more time at the US cemetery, we had a half day tour and got backed up and did not get to see the inside exhibits. Overall, excellent tour, excellent tour guide. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was wonderful. Our tour guide, Elise knew every detail about the battlefields. She is a true historian and a lover of maps. She would explain everything with the aid of her maps. Bringing the history of the battles to life, Elise was a true pleasure. We took the small group tour which was so much more manageable with only right people. Elise took us to a small fishing village where we had a wonderful al fresco lunch. It was a pleasant surprise. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

outstanding, great guide, friendly and knowledgeable, picked us up on time, brought us home, provided a lot of extra information, I would strongly recommend to all

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was excellent for the limited time we had. Hit several major points of interest, and our driver/guide Olivier was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and brought the perspective of the local area residents.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent...guide was charming and extremely informative. Three hours was a very short amount of time to cover so much ground but Francois did a great job of balancing his talks with giving us time to explore the bunkers and beaches and American cemetery.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Good length tour and level of detail for my 3 boys, ages 12, 10 and 7. Great info once we arrived at sites. Would have liked more info on the region/commentary as we were driving.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Very nice guide but heavy accent made it hard to understand him.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide, David Basnier, arrived at our hotel just east of Bayeux at the agreed-to time. His large Volkswagen passenger van was comfortable, and easy to get in and out. He spoke excellent English, and has been conducting tours for 17 years. The Normandy Sightseeing Tours guidebook he carried contained a wealth of maps and photos, and David told many stories about the events of those terrible first days of the Battle of Normandy. The breadth of his knowledge of the battlefields and the actions of the invaders and the defenders is amazing, and when he wasn't sure of the answer to a question -- a rare event -- he said so. We started at the Airborne Museum in Ste. Mere Eglise, a display of photos and equipment that should not be missed on any tour. They have a complete C-47 (Dakota) transport airplane, and a WACO CG-4 glider stored inside buildings on the site. We then proceeded to Utah Beach, Point du Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American cemetery with the excellent new museum building. We chose a simple lunch of sandwiches to save time for more touring, and David took us to a little village church behind the beaches where American airborne medics treated everyone brought in, American, French, and German. We saw the bloodstains on the pews, the cracked stone on the floor where the dud German mortar bomb fell through the roof, and the new stained glass windows commemorating the arrival of the airborne troops and the liberation of Normandy. This tour was our second of this area with different members of our family, and both David this time and Olivier back in 2006 took very good care of us. We highly recommend the tour and the guides. It's well worth the money.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide was great. Very personable and knowledgeable. She made history very interesting and relevant. My only regret is that we took just the half day tour. The stop at the American cemetery visitor's center was too short to take it all in, The center deserves several hours all by itself. We are grateful that we made the trip from Paris to see this. I would recommend this tour to any American.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour completely exceeded our expectations!!! Oliver was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. I wish we would have had more time to do a longer your! I would recommend this tour to anyone who has an interest in History. We will definitely be back for another tour!
Thank you again Oliver!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message