The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making Bayeux the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1621 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lots of steps but well worth it. Wonderful guide!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was outstanding! Informed, passionate, professional.... He could not have been better. Thank you!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were extremely pleased with our tour to Mont Saint Michel. This is a marvel of medieval architecture and history. Our trip was in early June 2015. We picked up our tour bus at the travel office. You go inside the office with your voucher to obtain the bus tickets. The staff is very organize and will direct you to the line for your bus. The bus ride is long but it does stop at a very nice rest stop coming and going where you can stretch your legs, purchase snacks and use the rest rooms. We had lunch before taking a shuttle bus with our guide to the island. The restaurant was very clean and the staff was efficient in serving the large group. Although it is a fixed menu, the food was fine not great. For a first time visit, we highly recommend the guided tour to hear the long and incredible history of the Abby which makes the trip more meaningful. Also a guide can efficiently escort you through this immense structure. Sufficient time is allowed to see the Abby and free time to visit some of the small shops the streets were crowed with tourists. The weather was lovely, so we walked on the promenade about 20-25 minutes to return to the tour bus. However, you can take the shuttle. The shuttles can have long lines and fill up quickly. Just plan appropriately to get back to the bus in time for departure. This was a great trip that was very well organized!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This full day tour was fascinating. It seemed like it would be a tiring day, but the bus was comfortable and rest stops were timely. The tour up to the top of the Abbey was a bit long; the warning about walking should be heeded. I enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

As a history teacher and first-time visitor to France, I can't tell you how fascinating it was to see Bayeux and tour around the Normandy landings. My tour guide, Antoine, was very knowledgeable on the subject and took the time to answer all our questions! Would recommend this tour in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended as an overview for anyone who has not previously seen these sights. Our guide, Sunny, was very informative and included experiences from her grandparents during the occupation.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Kate was very prompt and professional and her English was excellent. She was also very well prepared and passionate about her personal experiences and appreciation for the tremendous sacrifices made by the soldiers who led the invasion in June of 1944. The only slight drawback was the necessity to travel from our hotel to the train station to start the tour otherwise it was excellent.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent. Our guide had lots of knowledge and anecdotes of what happened on the beaches and after. If you want to see the beaches and get an overview of d-day, in the American sector, then this is a great tour.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide, Sunny, was very informative. She knows her history! She was also passionate about the story she told. We only had 5 hours to see all the sites and she did a great job of getting us to each of them. I sat in the front seat and enjoyed conversation with her throughout the day. Thank you for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent! Our guide was friendly and very informative. Every minute of the tour was worth it. Can't see everything in 4 hours so this was a great way to get a sense of this sacred place.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide, David, was exceptional. Long day but was well worth it.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is in fact not my first visit to Paris. But this trip is somehow different. I decided to take a full day tour to Mont San Michel in Normandy. The journey took about four and a half hours each way, and it was really worth it.
Our guide was excellent once we we went up the 400 steps to the top.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and friendly with excellent English.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Definitely a highlight of our vacation. The guided tour was well worth it and gave so much fascinating information. The trip was long, but the countryside is so lovely that it was not even an issue.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a very enjoyable and informative tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent tour by an excellent guide. He tailored the tour to our interests and knowledge. Even more important, he was a genuinely nice person.


N

Doing what: Private Tour: Rouen and Giverny Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ann-Sophie is so knowledgable plus she is an excellent driver! Couldn't be better! So many pluses on this tour. The 82nd airborne museum is excellent. We had a great stop for lunch at the le Roosevelt. Thanks! You made the trip worthwhile.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly informative and interesting. Our tour guide, Sophie, was excellent.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour. We got lots of detailed information about the sites and the times. Francois is a knowledgeable and helpful guide. He knew we were disappointed not to join the Canadian tour, so he gave us some additional insights into that aspect

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Frankly, a wonder for all the world to visit. So glad we visited this marvelous world heritage site. We will never forget this place. Before you meet your maker, you must visit this place. The tour company we were led to, was very professional and attentive.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ann Sophie our guide was great! She was easy to ask questions of, pleasant and informative . Would re come d her and the tour to anyone!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour, with a terrific guide. Well worth the money and time!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic tour! Our guide, François, was born in nearby Caen and grew up hearing stories of World War II from his grandparents and other relatives. He was very knowledgeable about the history of the invasion of Normandy and knew the sites well from having visited them since childhood. At each site we visited, he explained the significance of the site and described in detail the events that transpired there. He was a great source of information that I had not learned from other historical accounts, such as how the Norman landscape caused problems for the Allies and how they overcame those obstacles.
Aside from the tour itself, Lower Normandy is beautiful, and getting to see so much of the countryside was an unexpected bonus. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely fantastic great guide amazing information everything and more bus trip really good comfortable and good stops enough time for sightseeing after tour would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message