Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1436 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An emotional experience. Our tour guide was Sunny, whose smile and effervescence matched her name. She was knowledgeable, interesting, thorough, and a total delight for the entire day. She gave us sufficient time to explore various sites and sights on our own, but kept the time limits reasonable so we would be able to cover all destinations. We wish all guides were as good as she is.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

For a half-day tour, it was well worth it! Phillip was very knowledgeable, doing a wonderful job detailing the events of D-day. Would definitely recommend this company and tour!!! They were even flexible with a change in our pick-up location that morning. Thanks for a memorable day!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We'll worth the time, guide was very informative. Lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Definitely recommended. There is so much to see, you really need a guide to cover the major highlights with explanations of the historical importance.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was awesome. I can't begin to explain the emotions I felt when walking on Omaha Beach. To think of those brave young heroes who came ashore not knowing what to expect or if they would survive to live another day. Our tour guide was a young English born man who had lived in France most of his life. I think his name is Phillip. I couldn't have been more pleased with his commentary. He is VERY knowledgeable and showed a great deal of respect for those very important sites including the American cemetery. I will do this tour again but I want to go at low tide to see the full expanse of the beach and get a better feel for what the G.I.s actually faced when they began to come ashore about 6:30 A.M. that morning of 6/6/44. My own father, who died in early 1951, and I never knew was actually on the English channel on D-day on a Destroyer Escort whos job was to retrieve damaged landing craft and tow them back to England to be repaired. This fact made it especially important that I make this trip. All in all this tour was possibly the greates trip I have ever taken. I HIGHLY recommend it. Thank you Viator.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great experience. I'd been to Mont Saint Michel a few times but it was the first time for my wife, and this was something she'd wanted to do for years. We met at the Viator tour office near the Louvre at 6:45 on a Saturday morning. At check-in we were told that we would get on the bus in thirty minutes, so we walked across the street to a nice cafe for some coffee and pain chocolate. Promptly at 7:15 we were on the bus and soon underway. NOTE: DO NOT TAKE THE SEATS IMMEDIATELY IN FRONT OF THE BACK EXIT. We learned that lesson the hard way. Those seats don't recline and as soon as the people in front us violently reclined their seats, we were squashed flat. Our guide, Emilia, was terrific and thoroughly knowledgeable about the history of Normandy and the abbey at Mont St. Michel. It was a very long day but well worth it. Be prepared to climb a lot of stairs. According to my fitbit, we climbed 50 FLIGHTs of stairs, approximately 500 feet. We got to Mont Saint Michel around 11:30 and immediately had lunch at a restaurant at the foot of the causeway leading to the island. It had a great view of the abbey. Lunch was quite good, though I'm a bit underwhelmed by the appetizer. We were back at the bus at 4:30 in the afternoon and were back in Paris around 9:15. There was a 30-minute rest stop both going to and coming back from the destination. All it all, it was a great outing and well-worth the money.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Good guide, and good tour. Wish there had been more commentary on the way from Paris to Mont Saint-Michel.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

MY STRONG CRITICISM WE WERE SEATED IN THE BACK OF THE VAN AND COULD NOT HEAR OUR TOUR GUIDE SPEAK. I WOULD HIGHLY SUGGEST YOU PUT A MICROPHONE IN THE CAR SO WE CAN EQUALLY ENJOY THE TRIP AS OUR FRONT SEAT PASSENGERS. WE LOST A GREAT PART OF THE EXPLANATIONS

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The full day tour was beautifully led by the very knowledgable Romain who was a font of information.
The entire day pace was satisfying and the visits to the German and American cemeteries very moving.
The visits to the landing beaches at Utah and Omaha brought history alive under Romain's detailed descrptions of events. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone who seeks to honor our history and the beauty of the Normandy area.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I took a day trip from Paris. Our guide picked us up and took us to all the important sites with plenty of time to walk around and explore them. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the historic events.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Small van tour with 8 guests.very knowledgeable guide and driver that provided an over view of Operation Overload to provide context for the invasion of Omaha and Utah Beaches. He also provided anecdotal stories about individuals that made a special sacrifices necessary to achieve the overall mission. He made it real and I misted up a couple of times.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A really fabulous day. Extremely interesting. The guide, Jean Francious, was brilliant, very informative and knowledgable.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was perfect for both me and my wife. It covered what I wanted to see, but was not too long for her. Our guide, Francoise, was outstanding - personable and knowledgable.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant - would absolutely recommend.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative. Our guide was very knowledgable about the events that took place on D Day as well as other WWII history that happened in the area.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message