Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making Bayeux the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1451 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great the guide really knew great detail and explained every detail on every stop. She grew up in the area and was able to personalize the tour

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very educational experience for our family to visit these D-Day sites, see the remnants of the battlefields and gain new perspective on these historical events. Our guide, Jean-Francois was excellent and gave us background history we did not all know, plus helped us understand what was happening in France and to the French at that time. The American cemetery brought it all together and one is struck by the orderly rows of white headstones, the lush green grass and serenity of the place-- contrasted with what we now understand was uttter chaos at the time and the terrible losses of human life.

I was concerned that a full day might be too much, but so glad we did this rather than try to see it in a half-day tour or drive by ourselves. We would have missed out on so much.

The tour is well paced, our guide was helpful, informative and diplomatic in dealing with all the guests who had different interests and one in particular who was quite a handful. I definitely recommend this tour and our guide, Jean-Francois.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was terrific! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and very nice! We had sufficient time to see pretty much everything outlined in the tour info. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone with interest in D-Day. It was like watching 'The Longest Day' and being there in real life! Thanks again for a great time that I will cherish the rest of my life!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good and knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great experience. Tour guide was very informed and friendly, and the sites themselves were fascinating. I think every American should make this trip to see what generations before us have sacrificed for our futures.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a full day tour. We were met promptly at the office. From there is was a 3 hour or so bus ride through the Normandy countryside. During the ride our guide explained a lot of history about Normandy that you probably never knew about.
Once we arrived we had lunch. I do recommend having the lunch with the tour, it was very good, although they do have restaurants for your choosing. If you had the lunch then you also will have the guided tour for the basilica. This I recommend because there is a lot of history and I don,t think you are going to get it with the paid headset audio tape.
Once we finished the tour we wondered through the small village. There is snack shops and places to by souvenirs. We all met back at the bus, no one got lost, and we. started the long trip back to Paris. Going to and back we did stop so people could stretch their legs and get a snack or coffee. The bus was very comfortable but be careful not to sit in front of the exit because those seats do not recline.
This trip lasts over 12 hours so be prepared but it was well worth it.

Tim and Osit
Virginia

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a wonderful and truly inspiring. Olivier was incredibly knowledgeable and was able to put a lot of the history and events of the day into context with the greater war history. We were also grateful to get almost an hour and a half to explore the American Cemetery and the Visitor Center on our own at the end of the tour. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking of touring the Normandy area.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My son and I were spending a week in Paris. We have always wanted to visit St Michel. What a perfect time to do it. We had looked into getting out there by ourselves. Then we happened upon this tour and it was a no brainer. It was a wonderful tour. The charter from Paris was on time. The guide was personable and both drivers were excellent. The meal at the hotel prior to our tour of the monument was superb. I expected a sandwich and got a first class meal. It more than met my expectation.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Phillip was very knowlegable, pick up on time, gave us an amazing overview of the area.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a good tour and our guide was very knowledgeable although he seemed a bit bored which I can understand due to the repetiveness of the job.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very good and comprehensive. Tour guide was knowledgeable and helpful in understanding the American Battlefield. I would definitely recommend this tour to others

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our half day afternoon tour was an enlightening and moving experience.Our guide Olivier was fully involved with us from the moment he picked us up directly at our Hotel Door.It was a rainy day but seemed fitting to the experience. I recommend this visit and tour to all.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Interesting historic site but the drive is too long and we would not do it again.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message