The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making Bayeux the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1339 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the trip from Paris. Checked this off of my bucket list!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Such a pleasant day trip! The guides were friendly and willing to answer any questions. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is an outstanding excursion! I wish it was longer since it already took us 3 hours to get there and another 3 hours to return.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was a highlight of our trip to France. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and passionate in sharing information with us. We felt he truly wanted us to get the most out of the tour. We enjoyed the small group because it allowed us to ask questions. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour was a once-in-lifetime experience. Our guide Romain was awesome. He was so well-informed, he had so much information, and he even had pictures and diagrams to show you. It's easy to do in one day from Paris: catch the early train from Paris St. Lazare, wander around the village for awhile, have lunch, and then hustle back to the train station to be picked up. Romain got us back to the train station in plenty of time for the return to Paris. Our trip highlighted Pointe-du-Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American Cemetery. Wow, what a great trip!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very well-run tour from Paris to Mont St Michel. Bus was very comfortable (even a double decker!) which was helpful as it was 4 hours away. Our guide Anne was wonderful - gave a great tour of the Abbey and answeried all our questions. Lunch was nice at a lovely restaurant with great views of the island. Our second tour through Viator and would recommend them for any day trip in Europe!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip. Wonderful lunch in the relais. Everything worked out well.
Pickup time at our hotel was of concern as I wasn't able to contact anyone on the Friday and Saturday before our Monday morning departure. Finally got someone Sunday in the late afternoon and got the information.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed the trip. Our guide, Lucille, was excellent.
She was knowledgeable and insightful. I would highly recommend
her for anybody interested in learning about WW2 history at Normandy.

RF Chicago IL

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Mont St Michel day trip was spectacular although my wife and I are in the older generation we still managed to et to the top (about 1112 steps) but it was worth it, I totally believe that this was one of the best days we had and would recommend it to anyone (you don't have to go to the top) there was so much to see.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding trip! Laura our guide was an encyclopaedia of knowledge. For a region that doesn't need much explanation she covered all topics and questions with aplomb. For war history buffs 1 day not enough for this part of the world.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip! Wish we would have had more time in the American cemetery. Thanks, Joyce

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was recommended to us by a friend. This is an old abbey and is absolutely massive. It is built on a marsh, which they are in the process of shoring up, and is a two hour drive from Paris. Lunch is included. When we arrived, the tour takes about 3 hours. If I have one suggestion it would be to prepare visitors for, not only the walking, but the number of steps to the top of this massive structure. There are something like 8000 stair steps, all out of rough stone, and very few handrails. Despite my palms being tender from holding on to the stone walls, I made it all the way to the top and all the way down and every room in between with only having to stop once. I had to move at my own pace (have a slight disability) and the drawback was that I soon got out of range of the radio that the tour guide had and so did not hear any of the history other than what I could pick up from other tour guides as I went along. But the view is incredible and it is awesome to think that such a massive structure could all be built by hand and still be standing. I thought this was well worth the money and the time.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour to gain a quick overview of the history and visit a few select sites. I never like how quick these tours go as we would like to have more free time. However, this tour was an excellent way for us to get the overview and then go back the next day on our own time.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very good organised

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed this tour! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message