The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making Bayeux the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1654 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lots of steps but well worth it. Wonderful guide!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was outstanding! Informed, passionate, professional.... He could not have been better. Thank you!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a fabulous experience! Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and made the afternoon that more interesting -

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful trip but the lunch was my favourite. Next time I would plan to eat in the town instead

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was everything we hoped it would be. Our guide, Mattieu, was delightful and so knowledgeable. We learned much. A beautiful, inspirational and memorable day. Merci beaucoup. Sally Graves

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were extremely pleased with our tour to Mont Saint Michel. This is a marvel of medieval architecture and history. Our trip was in early June 2015. We picked up our tour bus at the travel office. You go inside the office with your voucher to obtain the bus tickets. The staff is very organize and will direct you to the line for your bus. The bus ride is long but it does stop at a very nice rest stop coming and going where you can stretch your legs, purchase snacks and use the rest rooms. We had lunch before taking a shuttle bus with our guide to the island. The restaurant was very clean and the staff was efficient in serving the large group. Although it is a fixed menu, the food was fine not great. For a first time visit, we highly recommend the guided tour to hear the long and incredible history of the Abby which makes the trip more meaningful. Also a guide can efficiently escort you through this immense structure. Sufficient time is allowed to see the Abby and free time to visit some of the small shops the streets were crowed with tourists. The weather was lovely, so we walked on the promenade about 20-25 minutes to return to the tour bus. However, you can take the shuttle. The shuttles can have long lines and fill up quickly. Just plan appropriately to get back to the bus in time for departure. This was a great trip that was very well organized!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Andrea C was a fantastic guide. He had an answer to all the questions no matter how obscure the subject was. I have and will continue to recommend this tour.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour of Mont St. Michel. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and was very helpful.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely no complaints. The guide was enthusiastic and knowledgable Francois His passion for his job was obvious and appreciated. Fantastic experience for us and our teenagers.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide was one of our best we have ever had. Only bad thing was too many people in the van. It was very tight and uncomfortable.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was my favorite day in France. I was worried there wouldn't be enough time at the abby but it did not feel rushed. I recommend it and bring a light rain jacket with you.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour guide and beautiful views!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding. Our guide Francois has a thorough and accurate knowledge of not only the military but political and strategic aspects of the D Day invasion. Although we only took the 1 day US sector tour, he helped us with ideas for excursions in the British and Canadian Sectors.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great Tour. Highly recomended.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

fabulous!!!!!!!! a lot for one day but left us wanted more! excellent english guide. super bus. great food t our stop..

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Adrien C picked us up at our hotel in Bayeux and lead us on an incredible journey for the next 9 hours. He did an outstanding job taking us to many of the important places that played a part in the Normandy Invasion from all perspectives. He was extremely knowledgeable and challenged us to ask questions. It was an emotional day and one my husband and I will not forget. Amazing job, Adrien.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very informative - Fracoise was very good

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous! Guide was great and very knowledgable, great English, very personable. Tour was very well done and I would do it again.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Exactly what we were looking for! Mag, our guide, was simply perfect she even went out of her way to bring us to a specific site that had special meaning to my father. The pace was quick, but efficient and effective. We had a lovely, memorable and meaningful day!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was outstanding. Guide was great.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful tour, very informed and friendly tour guide.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our family ranging in age from 9 to 64 enjoyed this tour so much. Our guide, Romain, was truly knowledgeable about all things concerning the area and D-day history. He articulated information so well that even the youngest of our group stayed interested all day. The van was clean and comfortable for all the sites we visited included stops at the German cemetery, Sainte-Mère-Église, Utah Beach, the gun battery at Pointe Du Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American Cemetery. At Utah Beach, we had lunch at Le Roosevelt Cafe. The cost of lunch wasn't included in the tour fee, but the prices were reasonable. The memorabilia in the cafe was impressive and lunch was enjoyable.

I would recommend the American D-Day tour to all ages! Wonderful time.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Kate, was very knowledgeable on the topic. We really enjoyed this tour!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you are in France, Mont Saint Michel is a place you have to visit! The place itself is amazing! We took the tour from Paris, it took about 5 hours to get there but we stopped once. I was with my mother and we selected the option with lunch included, the lunch was ok. Since summer is a very busy time, we were 50 persons in this tour with 3 different languages. The guides were able to manage all people perfectly, and we all came back safe. The free time after the visit is enough to spend som time in the stores and see the town. Please be prepared with umbrella, tennis and shorts since you never know how the weather will be the day of the visit. If you are overweight or have some health problems, please consider this before taking the tour because you have to walk a lot and do a lot of stairs. The service from the provider was excellent, I really recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Kate was wonderfully engaging. Her enthusiasm for the subject, born out of her personal family experience was very contagious. She was kind enough to pick us up and drop us off at the Bayeux train station, otherwise we could not have gone when we did. It also gave us the opportunity to experience the French rails as opposed to driving in a bus.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message