Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1415 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The full day tour was beautifully led by the very knowledgable Romain who was a font of information.
The entire day pace was satisfying and the visits to the German and American cemeteries very moving.
The visits to the landing beaches at Utah and Omaha brought history alive under Romain's detailed descrptions of events. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone who seeks to honor our history and the beauty of the Normandy area.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I took a day trip from Paris. Our guide picked us up and took us to all the important sites with plenty of time to walk around and explore them. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the historic events.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Small van tour with 8 guests.very knowledgeable guide and driver that provided an over view of Operation Overload to provide context for the invasion of Omaha and Utah Beaches. He also provided anecdotal stories about individuals that made a special sacrifices necessary to achieve the overall mission. He made it real and I misted up a couple of times.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A really fabulous day. Extremely interesting. The guide, Jean Francious, was brilliant, very informative and knowledgable.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was perfect for both me and my wife. It covered what I wanted to see, but was not too long for her. Our guide, Francoise, was outstanding - personable and knowledgable.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant - would absolutely recommend.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative. Our guide was very knowledgable about the events that took place on D Day as well as other WWII history that happened in the area.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very enjoyable tour. Tour guide excellent

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Mag was an excellent tour Director. I would highly recommend her and Viator tours
Bob and Jackie G

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Mag was an excellent tour Director. I would highly recommend her and Viator tours
Bob and Jackie G

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We truly enjoyed this tour! Francois, our guide, did an amazing job. Despite the fact that half of our group spoke French and Francois had to give the tour in two languages! He was so passionate and knowledgeable about the locations and history of D-Day event!! The tour was everything we had hoped and more. We were given ample time to explore each location. Every spot we visited was rich with history. We enjoyed our lunch stop! It was a moving and wonderful tour which we would definitely recommend to others!!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Pick up location and time were perfect. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable, courteous, thoughtful. Her presentations were filled with respect and gratitude for the sacrifices made by the Allies as well as the French people on June 6, 1944.

She also took special care for my 86 year-old mother who uses a walker.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Pick up location and time were perfect. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable, courteous, thoughtful. Her presentations were filled with respect and gratitude for the sacrifices made by the Allies as well as the French people on June 6, 1944.

She also took special care for my 86 year-old mother who uses a walker.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Laura, was very knowledgable and sweet as can be!! She picked us up right on time at our B and B and delivered us after the tour was finished. Unless you are a real WWII buff a half day was perfect.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message