Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making Bayeux the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1531 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The best! I've waited 50 years to st the Mont, and I was not disappointed!!!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great trip. Guide was fun, knowledgeable, considerate of all members elderly in the group, and kept everybody on schedule - no easy feat. Bus ride was smooth, instructions were clear and concise, and communication very clear.

Had a great time and would love to do it again. I'll be back. Thanks.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Although two of the people who took this tour with us were snoring the entire 3 hour drive to Mont Saint Michel we have to give it 5 stars as this place is fabulous! There are no elevators so you get to hike your way up to the top which makes it more of a special experience because you have to wonder how in the world they got all of those heavy stones to the top of that mountain and built this magnificent place! There is a special spirit here and we really enjoyed our trip.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A very meaningful, memorable experience conducted by 'Amelie' in a friendly professional manner.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well organized, excellent and knowledgeable tour guides, fantastic place.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour exceeded expectation. Adrian was our guide and he was wonderful- very knowledgable, yet personable with the entire group. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. Francois was an exceptional Guide. Fully informed. excellent English and super friendly.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome trip.Well covered and the tour guide Elizabeth was the biggest highlight.She was too good.Learnt a lot of meaningful history.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent and amazing day tour! Worth the long distance travelling from Paris! However, lunch menu can be improved..

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Had a fantastic day on this tour. Everything was easy. The guide was really nice, very easy to listen to. Mont Saint Michele is amazing and a must see when in France. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent driver and tour director. Not really crazy about the raw whipped egg omelet at lunch, but an experience. I chickened out on the climb to the abbey, but my friend went all the way and said it was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide Sunny was on time, professional, experienced and very engaging. We found her knowledge on Operation Overlord and the D-Day invasion to be thrilling to listen to, and she was very good at answering questions.

If you do plan this tour, arrive in Bayeux a couple of hours early and be sure to visit the Bayeux Tapestry Museum.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Loved the tour but the guide was not the best! She kept switching from English to Spanish, so we had to wait each time till she said everything to everybody in both languages. Since the trip from Paris to Saint Michel is approximately 5 hours, we only had 4 hours at Saint Michel. We felt like we were loosing our time there by following guide and waiting for her to translate in two languages. So we just left the group and wondered on our own - are we glad that we did! We hardly had a time to walk through the BEAUTIFUL Saint Michel abbey and little village streets. We hardly made it back to bus on time. Overall - I recommend the trip, but do it without a guide 50 less expensive. You can just get a brochure and read about the abbey yourself.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Whole day was well organised and we appreciated the very clear commentary. Would have liked to have been given a choice of what drink we wanted for lunch, instead of them just being put on table. Food was very nice.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was good.. Also a very nice place to visit if you are in Paris.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Worth doing but if I had it to do over again I would have made it an overnight trip. The bus ride takes 4.5 hours each way! After lunch, that leaves you with about 2.5 hours on the island!!! We selected a guided tour in English this wasn't so necessary, you can make better use of your little time on the island without waiting for a whole group to get from place to place. Anyways, the guided tour was in multiple languages! This means that once the guide explained about each place in english, he would then have to spend more time covering the same topic in another language or two...more time wasted.

Island is gorgeous. Weather literally changed every 5 minutes from hot and sunny to cold, windy and raining. Bring shades, rain coat, and warm layer unless in the summer.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We really enjoyed the whole day. The tour bus was very comfortable and communications all day were very well organized. We had a friendly tour guide who was patient with questions and caring towards our group.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great trip! Mont Saint Michel was of course amazing. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and added so much. Nice stops for lunch and bio breaks on the way - and some very important unscheduled time to poke around on our own. Couldn't have been nicer - highly recommended!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Another great experience with a Viator tour!
Our tour was originally booked for an afternoon, but we missed our train from Paris out to Bayeux. I called and they switched the tour to the following morning at no extra cost.
The tour itself was emotional and informative - overall a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a Normandy experience who is short on time.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was spectacular. Our guide was punctual, well informed, dedicated, and charming. We could not have had a better time.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour was fantastic! Our guide Jonathan was wonderful. He knew so much about the area, history, and was engaging and entertaining. Could not have had a better experience. Thank you so much for a fantastic afternoon!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Kate, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We took lots of pictures and asked lots of questions. We had a great tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message