The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making Bayeux the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1279 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

First rate tour, great value. Our guide, Jean Francoise, was OUTSTANDING! I am sure he has given this tour 100s of times but he was enthusiastic, polite, and patient. I am a buff of WWII, but came away with an even deeper appreciation of the challenges and sacrifices made by the US and our allies during the invasion of Normandy. Lots of bunkers, hardware, and weapons covered during the tour. We toured Omaha at low tide so were able to see the expanse of beach that had to be crossed until rudimentary cover could be reached. I would do this again.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was on our agenda as it was just prior to the 70th anniversary of the D-Day landing. it was most important to both the wife and her sister as their father made the landing on the 7th. Both were very much interested in the Omaha Beach area as that Is where he came ashore. A lot of information in such a short time.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was excellent, guide was knowledgeable and the included meal complemented the tour well as it served some of the local delicacies

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I've been on 4 private tours and this one was great. We had so much info from our guide and he was very enjoyable to be around, especially for an 8 hour tour. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was more than we expected. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave us more than our money's worth. The experience was very moving and the guide made it even more memorable. Great job and we would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in history.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide, sights and great lunch....

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Bus was very comfortable. The midway stop before and after were clean with a lot of food and souvenier options. Tour guide was very personable and knowledgeable. Looked after her group and made the whole tour interesting. She also made the ascent gradual and I noticed that those who were not in the best of shape were able to keep up. Really enjoyed our guide- unfortunately, I can't remember her name.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An amazing sight!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The small intimate tours allows one to ask individual questions while learning small details that the local tour operators know. I was able to look up my uncle on the computer kiosks at the cemetery. Our operator says he learns new things about Normandy Beaches every week. This was definitely a high point of our week in France. Leaving the directions and narrow street driving to someone else allows one to relax and really sight see.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

as it was a last minute booking, I can only book a one-day tour, so most of the time is spent on the road. I missed the high-tide, which is THE aspect of this tour that I was most looking forward to. Both guides were very good and entertaining

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I thought the tour and guide were fantastic ! It was great to have a local girl with the local knowledge ! Sunny gave us a great insight into how it really was on d day ! Viator and your guide will be highly recommended !!!! And thanks for a great experience!!!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Interesting and informative tour - glad we did the full day. Our tour guide, Matthew, was excellent and provided a very good local perspective.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Jean Francoise was knowledgable, enthusiastic and entertaining. He brought the historic D-Day events to life. We highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was excellent and we had ample time to look at all the museums and the American Cemetery.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Matt was a wonderful tour guide - full of interesting facts and personal stories of the area. We had a fantastic time spending the afternoon with him.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message