The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making Bayeux the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1679 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience. Knowledgable guide!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing site, highly recommend.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wow! What a great day. This tour is a must if you have a spare day in France. Just be careful with the lunch meal, it is a set menu so no choice, we were served salmon and 4 people on our table didn't eat fish. We also would've liked a bit of time to visit the little shops in the townsite. Mont Saint Michel is wonderful and worth the long walk to the top.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this half-day tour of the Normandy Beaches. Our tour guide was very professional and knowledgeable concerning the D-Day invasion.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Couldnt have booked a better tourguide!!!
Brilliant and very informative day!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely breathe taking. Loved this place!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was very good. Knowledgeable ,informative, helpful and amicable

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, personable and knowledgeable driver. 7 people in a comfortable van.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Breathtaking, awesome, magnificent!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome tour. Extra stops to some seldom visited locations made for a very special tour.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

great experience Romeo was very informative and very friendly

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was amazing!!! Thank you very much!!!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide, Mag I believe, was wonderful. She was very knowledgable, took us to several places of interest, was very personable and the small group was perfect. It was easy to be picked up, and the trip itself was so interesting. It was nice that she was from the area so was able to give us backrground knowledge of the towns and how they were affected. This is the way to do the trip in a small, airconditioned van! The American Cemetary was very moving. Since my father had been at Utah beach and in the area, it was emotional for me and she made sure to ask if anyone had connections there. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My husband, parents, preschooler, and I had a wonderful time on our tour with Romain. As luck would have it, the other two people scheduled for the tour cancelled at the last minute, so it was just the five of us. This came in handy when the three-year-old melted down halfway through, and we needed to take a small break to eat chips from the van at Omaha Beach. Three might be a little young for the tour. Romain, who spoke fluent English, gave much more detail about each of the sites we visited than we could have learned from the posted placards, and even told family stories from the German Occupation and Allied Liberation. At the end of the tour, he drove us back to Bayeux through narrow local roads that our rental-car GPS would never have found, which gave a much better idea of what terrain the Allies fought through in 1945 than the modern highways. We spent the rest of the evening talking about how happy we were to have taken the guided tour, rather than going to all of the sites on our own.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Francois was a very informative and entertaining tour guide. This is a tour our family will NEVER forget. Thank you for making it so memorable.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent trip to a memorable destination! Large tour bus was comfortable for the long ride from Paris.
The only very minor issue is that the lunch which is included in the trip was a fixed menu with no choices. The main course was salmon, which I found delicious, but not everyone likes fish. A few people in the group who were allergic to fish got an alternative meal after assuring the guide that they are truly allergic and don't simple dislike fish!, which seemed to be unnecessarily rigid I wish the restaurant could be a bit more flexible. Otherwise, an excellent trip - well organized, interesting guide.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent. Sonny was humorous, knowledgeable and informative.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The Mont Saint Michel was awe inspiring. It look like a castle up in the air from a distance, beautiful to gaze upon.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The trip was excellent . The guide was informative and friendly. The trip was just the right length of time for our itinerary. The town was very nice and the shop keepers congenial.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our guide Johnathan was very knowledgeable and we really enjoyed the information he presented. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Simply magnificent! Skip the pre-paid lunch though, is not worth the extra money you paid for it as they only have a set menu.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Unbelievable. The 4 hour drive north out of Paris was worth it. Our tour guide and driver were fantastic. The lunch and view at Relais Saint Michel was excellent. Just wish we'd had another hour at the site. Felt a little rushed and had no time to explore the village. Definitely a wonder in our world!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Tamas D
Hungary

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

long drive but amazing place. Food in the restaurant was terrible

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message