Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making Bayeux the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1505 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We really enjoyed the whole day. The tour bus was very comfortable and communications all day were very well organized. We had a friendly tour guide who was patient with questions and caring towards our group.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great trip! Mont Saint Michel was of course amazing. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and added so much. Nice stops for lunch and bio breaks on the way - and some very important unscheduled time to poke around on our own. Couldn't have been nicer - highly recommended!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Another great experience with a Viator tour!
Our tour was originally booked for an afternoon, but we missed our train from Paris out to Bayeux. I called and they switched the tour to the following morning at no extra cost.
The tour itself was emotional and informative - overall a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a Normandy experience who is short on time.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was spectacular. Our guide was punctual, well informed, dedicated, and charming. We could not have had a better time.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour was fantastic! Our guide Jonathan was wonderful. He knew so much about the area, history, and was engaging and entertaining. Could not have had a better experience. Thank you so much for a fantastic afternoon!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Kate, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We took lots of pictures and asked lots of questions. We had a great tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fabulous...my first time in France and it's a memory I'll treasure forever. We were picked up promptly and our guide, Adrien, was wonderful. He was friendly, knowledgeable and always ready to answer our questions. We were very lucky to have him assigned to our group you are fortunate to have him on your staff. Thank you for this great experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My father was a member of Company E of the 502 PIR who dropped at Normandy. The day we were there would have been his 90th birthday. Visiting this area was very moving and I do not mean the 50 mph winds and light rain we had most of the day. Our guide was great and tour was well organized.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

RubyMay
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This place is incredibly beautiful! I got lost going back to our bus and I called the company and they were able to contact the bus driver. It was my fault but the fact that they actually waited half an hour for me was very helpful! I'm so grateful indeed!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Early start from Paris, hotel pick up was on time but was not needed because our hotel was 2 minutes away from starting point. Long bus trip as expected. Guides were helpful and knowledgeable.
There should be a description of physical activity because it was an exhausting climb to the abbey.

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We did the full day tour of the American Sites. I would DEFINITELY recommend it. The tour was very cool. To be honest, you can't really visit EVERYTHING in Normandy in one day but the tour hits alot of the big spots. Me and my friend were very pleased with the tour guide and the tour in general. She spoke pretty good English and was able to explain alot of the little details about each stop. If we could give any recommendations I would say that I wish we had more time in St. Mere Eglise. The guide saved the last 1.5 hours for the American Cemetary and while the cemetary was very moving, me and my friend found ourselves just wandering and looking around at the end while we had to rush to get through everything in St Mere Eglise in the beginning. Expect it to be fairly breezy/windy. The van was very nice, clean and has an internal speaker system so the guide can talk while driving explaining things and everyone can hear her very clearly. The small group your paired with is efficient. And you get time at each stop to go and do your own thing and see what you want after the guide explains everything.

Would recommend this company to EVERYONE I know that goes to Normandy.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Francesca, our guide, was a wealth of information. The monastery was amazing and a truly special place. The only complaint was the lunch before the visit was, in my opinion, too long- 3 courses weren't necessary and would have like more time to wander in our free time before the bus trip home

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Long trip

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

it's a shame the bulk of the day is spent getting to and from this wonderful historic attraction. this would be a fairly difficult activity for older travelers or those with mobility issues, as the climbing was difficult. however, it was well worth it!

Doing what: Mont Saint Michel Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message