• USD ($)
  • English
There are many people who use Bayeux as a base when they'd like to spend more than a day exploring the WWII battlefields and memorials of the Normandy region. So, while they will book a room and probably grab a bite to eat in town before heading to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide Matt was excellent, a local from the Bayeux area for a number of generations which was very interesting as his family was personally involved in the war. Very moving experience, would highly recommend.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had a limited amount of time and this tour fit the bill. Our guide was well versed on the area, having grown up in Bayeux, and his English was excellent. Made for a really great afternoon

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

After viewing the Bayeux Tapestry in the morning we we collected at our hotel by Jonathan and a full van. The American Cemetery was closed because of the USA government shut down. Jonathan smoothly substituted the German Cemetery. He was very knowledgeable about the war and the allies. We are Australian and he tried to involve us as well as the other nationalities on the tour, Irish and American. His English was easily understood. A microphone would have helped though. I can thoroughly recommend the tour especially if you have Jonathan.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Mag was our guide. She was fantastic. It was overwhelming to stand on Omaha Beach. Our day in Bayeux was filled with emotion. I would encourage anyone going to France to make this stop. We did the half day trip with 6 other Americans who were also doing independent travel. The day before that we went independently to the War Museum in Caen.
While you are in the Normandy area, we would also suggest spending a few days in Rouen. The Cathedrals, the spires, the chimes, Joan of Arc's Church, and their Beaux Arts Museum are just a few of the highlights
Lynne and Allan

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had a wonderful 1/2 day trip to Normandy. We were staying in Paris and took the train from the St. Lazare train to Bayeux...had to switch trains in Caen, but that was easy...small station. We walked from the train station in Bayeux to the Le Conquerant restaurant and had the most reasonably priced meal of our trip...and the folks were pleasant to deal with. We met our guide, Jonathan in front of the Churchill Hotel and he was actually a bit early...nice start to the trip. We drove to where the Army Rangers climbed steep cliffs to attack the Germans and it was awe inspiring. It was hard to imagine anyone doing this without someone shooting at you, I can't imagine the difficulty under fire. From there we went into the bunkers where you could see the damage done by flamethrowers. From there we went to the Normandy beaches where Jonathan explained how the landings went. He did a great drawing on the beach for us that illustrated the landing and went through it step by step. Nice touch. Finally, we went to the American cemetery where almost 10,000 soldiers lay. The whole experience was humbling. From start to finish the trip was first rate...thank you Jonathan and Viator.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent guide named maj and powerful trip. So glad we did this trip as it was a highlight for my 15 year old son. Every American should visit the Normandy beaches if they are in the area. One of the members of our group had a grandfather who died on d-day and she was able to visit his grave and was included in the taps ceremony. Her story made our trip more personal when she explained how her grandfather's death caused a ripple affect in her family. Thank-you to maj and the people of bayeux who continue to honor all of the lives lost on their shores.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fabulous tour. Perfect half day excursion. My fiancé and I took a morning train from Paris to Bayeux and arrived in plenty of time to meet the guide who picked us up right on time at our hotel, a few minutes from the train station. We aren’t huge war experts but visiting Normandy seemed like an important thing to do while in France so I did spend a great deal of time looking around for tours. I had really wanted a full day tour but with the train schedules it just didn’t work out. A half day really turned out to be all we needed as we got to visit three landing beach sites and the American cemetery and had plenty of time at each. A full day would have definitely been too much for us. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly, spoke perfect English, and gave us lots of interesting information on the area. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Awesome tour! We learned so much while seeing gorgeous scenery. I recommend the half day tour for anybody coming from Paris because it takes 2.5 hours get to Bayeux from Paris.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

My husband and I loved this half-day tour. We only had a day to spend in Bayeux and we felt lucky to get such a great half-day tour of the beaches. Most of that was due to the fantastic tour guide we had. He was excellent - spoke good English and did a great job of showing us the area. We were very pleased with the price as well. I highly recommend it.
dl from Texas

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This is a well structured, comprehensive tour with a tour guide who is knowledgable and demonstrated a thorough understanding of historical and statistical information. The tour group of 8 is very suitable, take your jacket to fend off the wind! Travelled by train from Gare du Nord via Caen to Bayeux, a lovely town with cobblestone streets and quaint little boutiques, cafes, bakeries and the Notre Dame of Bayeux, with spires and gargoyles soaring sky high. Half day tour was well worth the effort to get there, takes in all the landing points and the American cemetery. If staying in Bayeux more than a day, would recommend the all day tour. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The tour guide Silvain picked me up from Bayeux station.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was an amazing trip, our tour guide, Matthew was outstanding! He was intelligent and funny. Made the trip a very fun day. Go early or plan to stay later in the town of Bayeux, great town!!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Outstanding day, a great guide, Lucia, and the weather was superb. Take an early train from Paris and take the time in the morning to see the Bayeux Tapestry before embarking on this afternoon tour. You won't be disappointed. A great day!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent tour, Lucy our guide was fabulous. Took the 7:07 train in from Paris and got to Bayeux at 9:30. Our tour started at 1pm, so we walked about 5 minutes into the village. Beautiful cathedral there, which we visited, walked around (bought souvenirs in the village, there was no shops during the tour) had breakfast. Made our way back to the train station, where we were picked up promptly at 1pm. It was a moving experience, and Lucy did an excellent job explaining things to us. One of our highlights of our trip.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We travelled by train from Paris to Bayeux, and arrived early enough to have lunch at the hotel behind the train station. Our tour guide showed up a few minutes late but by then we had met others who were taking the same tour and felt more confident that we were at the right place at the right time! There was no signage so we were a little unsure at first. Elise (sp) was our tour guide and she was very knowledgeable, her driving was excellent, and she had a sense of humor (always appreciated). Her English was good, with an accent of course. Visiting Normandy was one of the highlights of our trip to Europe and you definitely will not regret taking a tour with Viator.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message