Bayeux makes an ideal launching place to take a trip through history to the final stages of the Second World War. It was on the Normandy coast near Bayeux that the Allies undertook the biggest amphibious landing in history. It was the first stage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1126 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lyn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely a marvelous way to see this area. Charles was an enthusiastic guide and was quite informative. Despite the dreadful weather - brutally cold and rainy all day - the 15 of us were well taken care of. I highly recommend this tour since I can't imagine driving there without the ongoing narration.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Tamara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Matthew, our guide, was amazing. From family anecdotes to all the details! Was a much better experience than I had anticipated and came away with not only respect for the people of Normandy for how they honor our soldiers but also a renewed interest to learn from history!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Vivian F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great one day tour to Normandy! Daniel was a fantastic guide. More time would have been better, we wished we had had time for the two day tour.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Colin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely brilliant!! Our guide a really pleasant lady whose name I forget, unfortunately was exceptional. So friendly, making us all comfortable as if in the company of a lifelong friend. So important for our family, as this was my father's 80th birthday present and involved visiting a relative's grave the day after the tour. Her knowledge was outstanding and made the tour from being a good tour to a great tour!! The driver Frank was also friendly with a good sense of humour. This is a 'must-do' tour if in Caen....you won't be disappointed. The lunch with wine was also outstanding.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Susan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was Wonderful!!! It was personal and informative. We had fantastic, brilliant guides and they accommodated even our small requests! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

tammy s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Our guide picked us up on time and was full of information about the history and the area. The guide was from the area and spoke English well. We only had time for a half day tour and would recommend it if you don't have time for the full day tour. Thanks for the wonderful experience!

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Katherine B K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very personable tour guide who provided lots of information. Packed day full of stops and videos in the van in between. Lunch was nice. Enjoyed finding the grave of the soldier who had died the date we were there in 1945. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour to anyone visiting Normandy.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

helenholland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely amazing! It was a long day, but manageable with our awesome tour guides, Daniel and Felix. Very informative tour and the cider tasting was a fun treat! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Anil C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Short and sweet trip, fitted well with our schedule - we could only budget half a day. Very punctual pick-up and drop. Very courteous and knowledgeable tour operator / guide. The only suggestion I have is that it visitors should be advised to have their lunch and come, as there was no restaurant or time budgeted in the tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Andrew C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Terrible customer service. 0/10 would NOT reccomend

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Emmanuel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was an excellent tour with lots of valuable information provided by the guide who was exceptional. I was picked up at the train station and taken on a personal tour of the museum followed by a tour of the landing sites. The lunch too was very good. I would recommend this tour to interested people.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a wonderful experience. Our guide was exceptional, the museum was very well done, and the location of one of humanity's greatest victories is something everyone should see.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Rodrigo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic! Our tour guide was amazing and the half day tour was simply outstanding.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An absolutely amazing trip with the most knowledgeable guide! We would highly recommend it!!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

SusanLHawkins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a day - and wonderful experience. Dan the Irish Guy was our guide, and he was very knowledgeable. It is a long trip, but well worth it. My son and I spent 6 days in Paris and this trip was, by far, our favorite.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Eileen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Sandrine was informative, pleasant, energetic. Excellent tour.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Thomas L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

It a great informational trip is you love WWII history. I wished we would have had more time to explore then just hear the history.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Charles G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I'm just sorry we only did a half day tour, I highly recommend a full day tour.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Carol G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave us a wonderful overview while traveling on the bus. The length of tour was just right for us, as we had no family connection to D-day. If we had, we would have wanted additional time. The cider farm and lunch were delightful. It was an excellent experience.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

pauline s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A very informative tour and guide. Highly recommended. the only downside was the dreadful rain the entire tour!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Dona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Best Viator tour yet! Our guide met us at the train station at 9AM and never left our side until we were back at the train station at 7PM! She was pleasant and so very knowledgeable. We enjoyed every part of it. Not to be missed!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Kaan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Alison H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was quite the most amazing trip I have ever done..so pleased a that I booked it. We took our American friends to Normandy as a 50th wedding anniversary treat..and I booked this day as the highlight of the 4 day trip. It could not have been better..we were picked up from our hotel by our guide Phillip who was the best..very comfortable people mover and he worked so hard to give us a day to remember..he planned our day round places and things we asked to see and added so much more into the mix . I hadn't realised just how big the area was to cover but he did it and kept us enthralled all day with the history and stories. One of our group had mobility issues and Phillip was so respectful and helpful..finding the best places to park and knowing how much of a particular activity that he would be able to manage...excellent. Point du Hoc was probably the most moving and difficult to traverse..the German battery was in redible to see and hear about and the weather joined in to give us a real feel for what it might have been like for our brave troops..Phillip had a wealth of knowledge and a good British sense of humour which went down well with us all..he was good company and excellent at his job..but it didn't seem like a job..he was delightful and took us to a restaurant for lunch that we would never have found ourselves...so many things we did that day we wouldn't have seen or even thought of seeing if we hadn't been on this trip. The German cemetery was one of them..we wouldn't give but for Phillip and I am so glad that we did..a very sombre place but essential to look at the other side too....very moving.
We wanted to find some personal graves too and Phillip sourced those for us making the whole thing much easier...I seriously would have booked another day if I had known just how good this would be...don't hesitate..it is excellent value to have such a personal experience and it is one the 4 of us will ever forget...thank you

Doing what: Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries from Bayeux

bang810

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

very knowledgeable guide! Very enthusiastic and humorous.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message