Bayeux makes an ideal launching place to take a trip through history to the final stages of the Second World War. It was on the Normandy coast near Bayeux that the Allies undertook the biggest amphibious landing in history. It was the first stage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1205 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

carole

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour! Our guide, Kate, was outstanding - full of knowledge and made the tour a memorable experience.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Nancy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Comprehensive coverage in single, well paced day. Day is long, but each stop is worthwhile. Knowledgable guide with good English. Nice that it is limited to a small group.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Patricia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can not stop raving about this tour. My original idea was that the tour would be more efficient re: finding the correct places to see etc. It was all of that and so much more! our guide Mike exudes enthusiasm about his job and the subject at hand. His anecdotes, hand-help map cards, and style of presenting held our interest the entire day. We would recommend this tour and told the BB owners about it too to anyone seeking a rewarding, and educational day at the Beaches and memorials. well done!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Rachel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were on a 10 day trip around Europe, squeezing in as many sights as we could. Thus, we did several tours within those 10 days. This tour was by far the best! Lloyd was our tour guide and he was tremendous! He was obviously passionate about his job and very knowledgeable! We would highly recommend this tour to anybody and everybody! He was very accommodating to the various needs of members of our tour. We cannot say enough wonderful things about this day.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

mary katheryn f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

this was the best tour. The guide was very knowledgeable. I did another tour last September with my niece and this one was head and shoulders better than the last tour I did . I would highly recommended this tour

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Alaina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Trying to squeeze in a day trip to Normandy during your trip to Paris? If so, I highly recommend this tour! With only one day to see everything, I got so much more out of our visit thanks to all the insight from the tour guide. I also loved that it was a small group so we could ask lots of questions. It was a very long day coming from/returning to Paris, but it was definitely worth it!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My sister and I had a wonderful half day tour of the American highlights - Point du Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American Cemetery. Our guide, Antoine, was very good and really made the history come alive. It helped that the weather was beautiful, too. Making the reservations and meeting up with the group was very easy. And being that it was a small group - 6 made it very enjoyable. Don Smart, Carnation, WA, USA

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Laura L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I thought this tour was excellent and would highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide was Mike Van Den Dobbelsteen. He was very knowledgeable and made the day interesting with his many stories. The van we rode in was very comfortable. It was equipped with a monitor that showed D-Day footage. Between the videos and Mike's historical stories we learned more about D-Day or our history lessons from the past were refreshed. Standing on Omaha Beach was a humbling experience. Also, emotional remembering the men who died on that stretch of beach fighting for the freedom of others. The German and American cemeteries were both moving and beautiful. This tour was one of the best features of our stay in France.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Matt H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

John did a great job. He had answers to all questions and knew his stuff. He was able to share lots of info on little things that few people think about.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Jacque K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Rose our tour guide was wonderful! The tour was fantastic and gave us plenty of time to see Omaha Beach and the cemetery. Did not feel rushed. I also liked that it was a small group of 8 people.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Julia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although it would have been nice to have more free time to explore all of the sites a bit more, the guide was fantastic and the amount of ground covered in one day was perfect for the short amount of time we had in Normandy. Great price, too.
C'était parfait : la guide, le temps et les sites !

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Stephen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hadrian was an excellent guide-very well informed and spoke excellent English. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Joseph F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful tour guide named Kate whose family has lived in Normandy for over 200 years. She was very personable and very knowledgeable about D-Day. The tour consisted of 3 stops --- Point du Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the U.S. cemetery, and they were all very interesting. The tour lasted about 5 hours, which was a very good length. I would highly recommend this tour and Kate !.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

msplaine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide was first rate

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Katharine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour was great. We had an unfortunate problem with our return train reservation and had to leave the tour early. Our tour guide was very helpful and got us transportation to the station. We will definitely come back for another tour.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Tim L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was a history buff. Point du Hoc was the highlight of the tour. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Le Havre Shore Excursion: Private Day Tour of Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach and Normandy American Cemetery

Pamela F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was great. Kate was a very knowledgable guide and provided excellent service. Her passion in her profession and about the area in which she specializes was second to none.

Doing what: Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries from Bayeux

Jeffrey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour of the D-Day sites and the Caen Memorial Museum provided us with a better understanding of the magnitude of the D-Day invasion and of the young heros who paid the ultimate price for the valor. The guide and driver were on time and very informative regarding the questions we had and they gave us time to explore on our own especially when we visited the American Cemetery. A good value for the tour, museum and audio guide.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Stanley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had the best guide - Mario! He was passionate, informative, and even quizzed us as we moved from place to place. I love history, and I learned so much more at the museum and as we drove to the various beaches and the cemetery. My only change to the itinerary would be to skip the last part - the Arromanches: the last stop. you do not really see anything more than at the other stops. It was not really needed. We had a wonderful lunch at the musuam - top quality food. Once again, Viator does not disappoint!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip, terrific tour guide! Doable as a day trip from Paris if you take the train to Bayeux.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Patrice W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed this tour not only because of the knowledgeable and interesting commentary of our guide, Charles, but also because of the small group setting which allowed us to ask lots of questions as well as get to know our fellow tour members. We came away with a much greater appreciation of the enormity of the D-Day operation as well as the many hardships and obstacles faced by the troops. We were returned to our hotel by 5:30 which gave us plenty of time to enjoy the remainder of the evening exploring the streets of Bayeux. I would highly recommend this tour if you are looking for an interesting overview of the American D-Day operation.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Stanley F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an incredible experience.Our tour was made all the more perfect by our guide Sunni. She was extremely knowledgeable. couteous and friendly. 5 stars.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well EMILY. made our trip so worthwhile. Her energy, clarity, ability to even anticipate questions was simply wonderful and remarkable.
The pictures she shared to emphasize what it was like we're extremely helpful

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful Trip and great guide. We did the half-day tour, which is about right. Our guide was very knowledgeable. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone who has an interest in history.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message