Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux makes an ideal launching place to take a trip through history to the final stages of the Second World War. It was on the Normandy coast near Bayeux that the Allies undertook the biggest amphibious landing in history. It was the first stage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 819 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Definately 5 stars!
A must for everyone! Every minute was well spent. The guides are 'etremely' knowlageable. The museum tour is an eye opener and explains how World War I caused World War II. The museum is one of the best and the lunch served to the group is fantastic! The battle field tour is excellent, you can enter many German bunkers, Omaha beach is breath taking, the Mulberry's are awesome, Pont du Hoc cliffs are steep and give you a deeper appreciation of what our Ranger accomplished and our American cemetery is sobering and beautiful. I would do this trip again and again!
It is definately worth the cost!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I took a day trip from Paris. Our guide picked us up and took us to all the important sites with plenty of time to walk around and explore them. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the historic events.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was the highlight of our European vacation. Tour guide Pierre-Samuel was so knowledgeable and articulate. His command of English and the details of the history as well as the maneuvers of the Normandy invasion were clear, compelling. The tour took the whole day, which we all dreaded, but don't be put off by the length of time. Every facet of the D-Day Tour was thoughtful, interesting, not to be missed. Breaking the larger group down to smaller 7-person vans after lunch (which was DELICIOUS!) was great ... we got to know the other travelers and have opportunity to ask Pierre-Samuel questions as we drove from one site to the next. Trying to understand the significance of each site along the coast would have been impossible without a guide. We rate this Five Star!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative. Our guide was very knowledgable about the events that took place on D Day as well as other WWII history that happened in the area.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very enjoyable tour. Tour guide excellent

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Great guide. Good lunch. Beautiful weather. Highly recommended.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was great! The guides were very knowledgable and fun! We learned a lot about the details of the D-Day battle. The visit to the American cemetery was very emotional. A great tour I would highly recommend taking!

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Taking this tour proved to be a very memorable and moving experience for me. After travelling by train from Paris to Caen we were greeted by a number of Guides who explained in English the plan of the day and everything from then on went faultlessly. After riding in coaches to the Memorial de Caen Museum we were divided into smaller groups and given a first hand tour of the museum. I could have spent a couple of days there it was so interesting. Our guide Particia was extremely knowledgeable on every aspect of WWII and after a delightful lunch at the museum we journeyed via minibus to visit Point Du Hoc, Omaha Beach, US Cemetery, Longues-Sur-Mer and finally Arromanches. It's hard to pick a highlight but to walk on Omaha Beach where so many had fallen and then see the graves of these young men was particularly moving. On my next visit to France I would like to spend more time in this region as in one day you only scratch the surface. Highly recommended to military and history buffs. It is a long day if you travel from Paris but well worth the effort.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Pick up location and time were perfect. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable, courteous, thoughtful. Her presentations were filled with respect and gratitude for the sacrifices made by the Allies as well as the French people on June 6, 1944.

She also took special care for my 86 year-old mother who uses a walker.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Pick up location and time were perfect. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable, courteous, thoughtful. Her presentations were filled with respect and gratitude for the sacrifices made by the Allies as well as the French people on June 6, 1944.

She also took special care for my 86 year-old mother who uses a walker.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

from the moment we were picked up on the big bus at the train station to the museum put into 7 passenger vans toured the beaches everything was excellent couldn't ask for a better guide than Fatim she made the tour so much better I cant find a complaint

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a terrific time. MJ was a great tour guide!! As we went thru exhibits in the museum and at the battlefields she had mentioned virtually everything written at the displays. Every moment of our tour she was sharing information about the war in general and Normandy specifically. Time and money well spent. The only regret was that we did not have time to do an additional day.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Laura, was very knowledgable and sweet as can be!! She picked us up right on time at our B and B and delivered us after the tour was finished. Unless you are a real WWII buff a half day was perfect.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great day at Normandy. A full agenda and we still had some time to sit and take in the history. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was very interesting.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message