Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux makes an ideal launching place to take a trip through history to the final stages of the Second World War. It was on the Normandy coast near Bayeux that the Allies undertook the biggest amphibious landing in history. It was the first stage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 775 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Francois was very engaging and explained everything really well. He made the tour appropriate to our group of 8 which contained 3 different Nationalities and a wide range if ages.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was pretty cool. The guide was very chill and very knowledgeable about the sites that we visited. I only took the half day trip in the afternoon, but it was enough time, as I was doing this for the day from Paris.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, guide very knowledgeable, excellent lunch at the Museum and wonderful stops at the American cemetery and Omaha Beach and a few more stops.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pierre, our guide was very informative. It was a big day but very interesting. The Caen Memorial is well worth the visit. The landing beaches were great to visit and see the remnants of an important time in history. The American War Cemetery was very moving to visit. Pierre was happy to answer all our questions and had lots of anecdotal stories to tell. Lunch at museum was very good. Great tour!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It's a long day, but very much worth it. Our guide was exceptional. Good value for the money.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I was impressed by Julian and his effort to go all the way and never stop presenting interesting information for almost 5 hours solid in French and English! What an impressive young man from Detroit (Indiana for university)! It was neat to share how the gas/fuel lines from England to France were built with Julian as I happened to work for the company that made this undersea pipeline during WWII. Being an old Ranger, Pont Du Hoc spoke to me (225 Rangers took it, held it for 3 days against German counterattack, and ~95 made it through). We got a special treat - cold and rainy weather just like on D-Day. The American cemetary was beautiful even on such a gloomy day and gives the respect due to those brave souls that protected our freedom. This was furthered by Julian's knowledge of key aspects about it. The views of the beaches are incredible and it is fascinating to see items in place on the beaches from the day the were put in place during this period. The museum does a good job of walking a person through the history of this period but bring your reading glasses! I would suggest a slightly better microphone system for the van.

Here is the proud history listed on General Cable's website. Julian - If you read this, here's the link
http://www.combinedops.com/pluto.htm

1942 - Produced a series of wartime posters for the World War II Home-Front Campaign to build morale, to speed production and to encourage economy and conservation of critical materials, which were distributed to the armed forces, government officials and manufacturing plants involved in the war efforts.

1943 - Manufactured 140 miles of hollow tube designed to transport 120 million gallons of diesel fuel between England and France for the D-Day invasion — Code name: "Operation Pluto." PLUTO stood for Pipe Line Under The Ocean.

1944 - Produced 80% of the battlefield telephone wire used by the Allies and 50% of the Navy's power and communications cable.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was worth while doing and even though the time was short our guide managed to get a lot in to it!

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had limited time however was able to see a large area of the d day beaches, sights, and gained a very good overall understanding of the area. The guide, Sunny, was a local from Normandy with good knowledge and a passion for the stories and history as well as respect for the soldiers.

Enjoyed the tour and would recommend if time limited.

Mark, Australia

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was fantastic. Our tour Guide was exceptional. His knowledge of the trip, history, and everything was beyond what I expected. I would recommend this to anyone looking to visit Normandy and the DDay battle fields. I was so impressed with our Guide and he is a great rep for your company

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great experience. Our guide, Katell, was very motivated, well informed and thorough. I will recommend Viator to others.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide, Adrian, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Glad we took the tour and recommend it to others.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Guide was exceptional. She knew her history and we had a reasonable amount of time to visit each location.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was was a great tour. Our guides Linda and Julie were excellent. Perfect day

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message