Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux makes an ideal launching place to take a trip through history to the final stages of the Second World War. It was on the Normandy coast near Bayeux that the Allies undertook the biggest amphibious landing in history. It was the first stage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 845 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was everything that my friend and I were hoping for. The guide was extremely knowledgable about the entire area of Normandy as well as the history leading up to and during WWII. It is well worth spending a day to get out there and take part in this tour. Even the lunch at the museum restaurant was delicious.

The only complaint I have is that we didn't get to spend as much time as I would have liked in the museum itself. However, unlike most people, I prefer to read almost every piece of literature in the place so that is understandable.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was very good. He went above and beyond service-wise and was very knowledgeable. The sites were very interesting as well as moving. We will treasure our memories of Caen and all the sites we visited in the Normandy area.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Moving experience. The beaches and American Cemetery were very interesting and well worth the trip from Paris. But the museum at Caen was a real surprise. We thought it would be a walk through, but the museum tells the story behind World War II and the results. Our guide Maryann spoke with personal experience having seen the war through the eyes of her parents and grandparents. It's a long day, but worth the effort.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great Tour experience with comfort and very knowledgable tour guide..Enjoyed it very much....

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a wonderful and truly inspiring. Olivier was incredibly knowledgeable and was able to put a lot of the history and events of the day into context with the greater war history. We were also grateful to get almost an hour and a half to explore the American Cemetery and the Visitor Center on our own at the end of the tour. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking of touring the Normandy area.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was great. Info on his grandfather and his history of connecting with his grandfather over their shared connection through his job. The restaurant we went to was great. We certainly enjoyed our tour!

Doing what: Le Havre Shore Excursion: Private Day Tour of Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach and Normandy American Cemetery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful tour. Guide was excellent, had family ties to Normandy and spoke Engish very well. We stayed in Caen but wished we had stayed in Bayeux which looked like a small quaint town. Cane is a city and a 20 minute train ride from Bayeux. Definitely recommend half day tour.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Liza S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our half day was well worth it with only a couple of days in Bayeux (which is such abeautiful, friendly town). Adeline (I hope I spelt that correctly) was so informative. You see and hear a lot of documentaries, but being there is quite something else. It was December and we were blessed with a sunny day and absolutely no other visitors around....it really was a reverant experience. If you and it's winter, rug up.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulously knowledgeable guide Mario really made our day, and brought back to life the courage, determination, bravery and suffering of all those who took part whether combatants or civilians. The museum added more horrific yet poignant memories of a world that can so easily slip into conflict and spotlight the impotence and failure of humankind to learn the lessons of history. An experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour guide who was a native of area. She was very knowledgable of the area and the history of the fight. Great day

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour of the beaches/cemetery was amazing. The lunch was average. I would rather have had more time at the museum and beaches than to go to the cider drinking stop.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable, pleasant, and gave us a good overall tour of the area.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our half day afternoon tour was an enlightening and moving experience.Our guide Olivier was fully involved with us from the moment he picked us up directly at our Hotel Door.It was a rainy day but seemed fitting to the experience. I recommend this visit and tour to all.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Stunning, memorable, humbling

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

For a half-day tour, it was well worth it! Phillip was very knowledgeable, doing a wonderful job detailing the events of D-day. Would definitely recommend this company and tour!!! They were even flexible with a change in our pick-up location that morning. Thanks for a memorable day!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message