Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux makes an ideal launching place to take a trip through history to the final stages of the Second World War. It was on the Normandy coast near Bayeux that the Allies undertook the biggest amphibious landing in history. It was the first stage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 831 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

For a half-day tour, it was well worth it! Phillip was very knowledgeable, doing a wonderful job detailing the events of D-day. Would definitely recommend this company and tour!!! They were even flexible with a change in our pick-up location that morning. Thanks for a memorable day!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour and museum was an excellent, 5-star, highly recommended experience. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and did a superb job covering the D-Day details. It was an emotional and highly rewarding experience. There is so much to see in the museum that we ran out of time. The folks were very accommodating and we were allowed to come back within a 24-hour period. Needless to say, we were back first thing in the morning and spent the day. Exceptional!

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Although a long day, this tour was excellent and our guide, Linda, fantastic. We visited Utah Beach, the American Cemetary at Omaha Beach, and Pont du Hoc. Instead of just a fact based history, Linda provided a very human insight into what was occurring at that time. For a break in the history, we visited an apple orchard and producer of cider, calvados and liqueur, and had a lovely lunch at a seaside restaurant for some traditional Normandy fare. All in all a great day and we can thoroughly recommend this tour and Linda.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was awesome. I can't begin to explain the emotions I felt when walking on Omaha Beach. To think of those brave young heroes who came ashore not knowing what to expect or if they would survive to live another day. Our tour guide was a young English born man who had lived in France most of his life. I think his name is Phillip. I couldn't have been more pleased with his commentary. He is VERY knowledgeable and showed a great deal of respect for those very important sites including the American cemetery. I will do this tour again but I want to go at low tide to see the full expanse of the beach and get a better feel for what the G.I.s actually faced when they began to come ashore about 6:30 A.M. that morning of 6/6/44. My own father, who died in early 1951, and I never knew was actually on the English channel on D-day on a Destroyer Escort whos job was to retrieve damaged landing craft and tow them back to England to be repaired. This fact made it especially important that I make this trip. All in all this tour was possibly the greates trip I have ever taken. I HIGHLY recommend it. Thank you Viator.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

MY STRONG CRITICISM WE WERE SEATED IN THE BACK OF THE VAN AND COULD NOT HEAR OUR TOUR GUIDE SPEAK. I WOULD HIGHLY SUGGEST YOU PUT A MICROPHONE IN THE CAR SO WE CAN EQUALLY ENJOY THE TRIP AS OUR FRONT SEAT PASSENGERS. WE LOST A GREAT PART OF THE EXPLANATIONS

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Tour was short, well planned . Guide picked us up has planned. The sites were more then I expected. Guide was knowlegable. Would have perfered a longer tour. Overall god experience.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Definately 5 stars!
A must for everyone! Every minute was well spent. The guides are 'etremely' knowlageable. The museum tour is an eye opener and explains how World War I caused World War II. The museum is one of the best and the lunch served to the group is fantastic! The battle field tour is excellent, you can enter many German bunkers, Omaha beach is breath taking, the Mulberry's are awesome, Pont du Hoc cliffs are steep and give you a deeper appreciation of what our Ranger accomplished and our American cemetery is sobering and beautiful. I would do this trip again and again!
It is definately worth the cost!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I took a day trip from Paris. Our guide picked us up and took us to all the important sites with plenty of time to walk around and explore them. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the historic events.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was the highlight of our European vacation. Tour guide Pierre-Samuel was so knowledgeable and articulate. His command of English and the details of the history as well as the maneuvers of the Normandy invasion were clear, compelling. The tour took the whole day, which we all dreaded, but don't be put off by the length of time. Every facet of the D-Day Tour was thoughtful, interesting, not to be missed. Breaking the larger group down to smaller 7-person vans after lunch (which was DELICIOUS!) was great ... we got to know the other travelers and have opportunity to ask Pierre-Samuel questions as we drove from one site to the next. Trying to understand the significance of each site along the coast would have been impossible without a guide. We rate this Five Star!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative. Our guide was very knowledgable about the events that took place on D Day as well as other WWII history that happened in the area.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very enjoyable tour. Tour guide excellent

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Great guide. Good lunch. Beautiful weather. Highly recommended.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was great! The guides were very knowledgable and fun! We learned a lot about the details of the D-Day battle. The visit to the American cemetery was very emotional. A great tour I would highly recommend taking!

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Taking this tour proved to be a very memorable and moving experience for me. After travelling by train from Paris to Caen we were greeted by a number of Guides who explained in English the plan of the day and everything from then on went faultlessly. After riding in coaches to the Memorial de Caen Museum we were divided into smaller groups and given a first hand tour of the museum. I could have spent a couple of days there it was so interesting. Our guide Particia was extremely knowledgeable on every aspect of WWII and after a delightful lunch at the museum we journeyed via minibus to visit Point Du Hoc, Omaha Beach, US Cemetery, Longues-Sur-Mer and finally Arromanches. It's hard to pick a highlight but to walk on Omaha Beach where so many had fallen and then see the graves of these young men was particularly moving. On my next visit to France I would like to spend more time in this region as in one day you only scratch the surface. Highly recommended to military and history buffs. It is a long day if you travel from Paris but well worth the effort.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message