Bayeux makes an ideal launching place to take a trip through history to the final stages of the Second World War. It was on the Normandy coast near Bayeux that the Allies undertook the biggest amphibious landing in history. It was the first stage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 968 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

As a history teacher and first-time visitor to France, I can't tell you how fascinating it was to see Bayeux and tour around the Normandy landings. My tour guide, Antoine, was very knowledgeable on the subject and took the time to answer all our questions! Would recommend this tour in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

the trip is very good the tours person tell us detail about how to landing on the beach

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful guide, wonderful sites.

The only problem was that I guess I misread that you need to make sure you book the last train to Paris. We booked the 6:57 and thought we were going to have to buy additional tickets. Fortunately, it worked out that we got back in time

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide and driver were excellent. Best tour I have been on in a long time. I was overwhelmed by beauty of location and sacrifice of a great generation. Tour guide knew everything about area and event. Very informative

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide, Sunny, was very informative. She knows her history! She was also passionate about the story she told. We only had 5 hours to see all the sites and she did a great job of getting us to each of them. I sat in the front seat and enjoyed conversation with her throughout the day. Thank you for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent! Our guide was friendly and very informative. Every minute of the tour was worth it. Can't see everything in 4 hours so this was a great way to get a sense of this sacred place.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Marlena was an excellent tour guide. We visited the beaches where the allies landed, explored German bunkers and were quite moved to see the cemetery where so many Americans are laid to rest. It is quite moving. Lunch at the museum was excellent, and it even included wine and dessert! This tour is well worth it.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour employees were right on time, organized, informative, and knowledgeable. The individual tour guide to whom we were assigned, Sandrine, was excellent, personable, incredibly well informed and entertaining. The coordinated scheduling was impressive but also gave us enough individual exploration time to satisfy us.

I'd recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip was wonderful. Laurent, our guide was the best guide that we could have had. The details and the history that he knew were remarkable. A very nice fellow also. He could not do enough for us. The whole tour was excellent. The van was a little crowded with Laurent, the driver and seven passengers but we survived. The lunch was very good and the museum was quite interesting.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a very enjoyable and informative tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was well conducted, planned and documented, it quickly toured a number sites in one full day. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and gave lots of anecdotal information from her parents who directly endured the occupation and subsequently D-Day. There were a number of maps, charts and photos used to thoroughly explain all of the visits and surrounding events. The Normandy area is covered with D-Day sites and they cannot all be covered in one day. This was a best compromise to get a feeling for the battlefield and what went on during the first few days of the allied invasion on D-Day. A trip to Omaha beach effectively showed what the Soldiers were up against once they got on to the beach and off of it into the hedgerows and small fields inland from the beach. Other sites included Sword beach British, the Pegasus Bridge where British glider troops assaulted and held two critical bridges, Merville Artillery Battery which very effectively showed life in a German gun position and a British military cemetery as well as the American cemetery at overlooking Omaha beach. I would recommend this trip for first time visitors to the area or those who have not done extensive reading on the events surrounding D-Day.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour. We got lots of detailed information about the sites and the times. Francois is a knowledgeable and helpful guide. He knew we were disappointed not to join the Canadian tour, so he gave us some additional insights into that aspect

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was so interesting and educational. Lena is a superb guide and our comfort and enjoyment were obviously important to her. The museum is exceptional and the tour of the beaches and cemetery was unforgettable. Lunch was good, too!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour, small group, very knowledgeable guide Maz and we visited a lot of sites in one day.
Good value for money.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Tour was great. Our guide was wonderful and new so many interesting facts and details about D-Day and the area .as an Smerican I am now better informed about such a crucial part of American and World history. It is onebofvtge highlights of our trip to France.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Driver/Guide was excellent and informative. Tour hit the high points I had hoped to see.There were eight of us and we were all very satisfied.

Doing what: Le Havre Shore Excursion: Private Day Tour of Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach and Normandy American Cemetery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic tour! Our guide, François, was born in nearby Caen and grew up hearing stories of World War II from his grandparents and other relatives. He was very knowledgeable about the history of the invasion of Normandy and knew the sites well from having visited them since childhood. At each site we visited, he explained the significance of the site and described in detail the events that transpired there. He was a great source of information that I had not learned from other historical accounts, such as how the Norman landscape caused problems for the Allies and how they overcame those obstacles.
Aside from the tour itself, Lower Normandy is beautiful, and getting to see so much of the countryside was an unexpected bonus. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you want to visit Normandy and understand what it was like for the landing troops and the French living there, then you either need to devote hours to reading, or get on one of these trips. Our guide had an unbelievable wealth of knowledge and made the beaches and countryside, come alive. You then go to pay your respects at the American Cemetery, which everyone should be made to go and see, only seeing all those graves really brings home what those guys gave up for us. We should never forget. Great trip.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was one of the highlights of our trip. Our guide, Laurent, a Caen native, had encyclopedic command of the scope and scale of the historical events leading up to WW II and offered a minute by minute account of the events of the morning of June 6, 1944. And those in the weeks following. A must!!!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Kay D M
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely wonderful! Rosyn Rosie was amazing. Her knowledge, professionalism perspectives from the US /France etc, made our tour so memorable. The lunch was great and we went on a different type of tour later and truly came to appreciate the quality of the tour through Viator and through our guide. My daughter and I basically scheduled this tour for my husband, however, we all benefited and loved it! Great job to all.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was very informative and a wealth of knowledge. Small group of 8 was nice.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message