Bayeux makes an ideal launching place to take a trip through history to the final stages of the Second World War. It was on the Normandy coast near Bayeux that the Allies undertook the biggest amphibious landing in history. It was the first stage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 731 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

All 5 of us in our group, ages ranging from 13-67, were pleased with this tour. Our guide, Rosine, was just what you would want a guide to be, knowledgeable, personable, helpful, I could go on and on. Not only did she give us all the factual information we could digest, but she also had local information and stories to give us. Great tour!!!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a fantastic tour! While the 14 hour day seems daunting, my husband and I agreed that we could easily have spent more time at each location. Our guide, Caroline, was very well versed in WWII history and did a great job sharing information and stories surrounding the landing at Normandy. The sites themselves were very moving and the museums were definitely worth seeing.
We had a fabulous lunch and the Cider tasting was a nice, lighthearted break in the middle of an otherwise emotionally charged day.
If you only have one day to spend at Normandy, I would highly recommend this tour! Be sure to brush up on your history beforehand, or even watch a couple of movies (Saving Private Ryan, Band of Brothers) to gain some insight into what incredible odds the men and women who served at Normandy faced in 1944.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide Patricia was GREAT and this tour was AMAZING.... the highlight of our 11 day France family vacation. This was the family's favorite tour!!!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Exceeded expectations! I thought when booking this tour that it was going to be an incredibly long day with moments of exhaustion but that couldn't have been further form the truth! The guides were incredibly knowledgeable, personable and because the groups were smaller all of our questions were answered thoroughly along with side notes we would never have heard about having not gone on this tour. Every aspect was engaging. If you have a limited time in Caen as we did this is an absolute MUST!!!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had Matt as our guide, he was amazing. The people we were with on the tour were not so worried about getting back to the bus on time, so that was annoying. When you are on a tour, you need to be responsible to not impact the others on your bus. Please be responsible for your children as well.

The tour itself was so educational, and emotional for me. We loved it. It was probably a "once in the lifetime" trip for us, and we are so glad we saw Normandy. The Cider Tasting and Lunch was SO fun! The food was amazing at the sea-side restaurant.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour to gain a quick overview of the history and visit a few select sites. I never like how quick these tours go as we would like to have more free time. However, this tour was an excellent way for us to get the overview and then go back the next day on our own time.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a great tour. The lady guide/driver has done a fantastic job telling a story that associated with the site we visited.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great. Lots of facts and info. The guide Phillip was very friendly and helpfull and full of information.The only downside was it was too short. We did'nt have enough time at any of the venues covered, especially the American Cemetry which was our last stop.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Really good tour. Very informative and makes me want to return to the area for another trip. We did the half day afternoon tour and wish we had done it in the morning to give ourselves more time to explore.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Excellent, informative tour that gives an overview of that heroic time in history. Now that we've.taken it, though, I'd go back on my own and spend much more time. While it was a half day trip, I felt rushed and unable.to explore.the visitors center and beaches as much as I'd have liked. Taps at the cemetery was very moving. I wish all Americans could.take this tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon and the guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We will however book the all day tour next time as the 5 hour one we chose, seemed too short and rushed. It felt like we were in and out of the mini-bus constantly chasing the clock, to get round to see everything during the afternoon with no real time to reflect on what we had listened to or seen. Good trip though and would recommend!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Tour and guide were great. Problem with no refund on two no shows. Company not willing to negotiate even after they filled the two seats with other visitors

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Comprehensive tour of museum, beaches and cemetery., our guide was knowledgable, but his lack of true English language made it difficult to have conversation that would have helped the tour narrative. Other fhN that, it was well organized, but perhaps an hour too long.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Kate was wonderful. Very informative tour that covered a lot of history. Enjoyed very much!

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had to cancel but appreciated the opportunity to view this sacred ground. Next time in France....

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message