Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bayeux makes an ideal launching place to take a trip through history to the final stages of the Second World War. It was on the Normandy coast near Bayeux that the Allies undertook the biggest amphibious landing in history. It was the first stage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 873 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Another great experience with a Viator tour!
Our tour was originally booked for an afternoon, but we missed our train from Paris out to Bayeux. I called and they switched the tour to the following morning at no extra cost.
The tour itself was emotional and informative - overall a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a Normandy experience who is short on time.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was amazing and our guide, Francois was so informative!

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing ! Fabulous tour guide from the Caen Memorial Museum. She was very passionate about her work and knowledgeable. Very surreal to visit the beaches where so many sacrificed their lives as well as the American Cementery. A tour not to be forgotten!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour was fantastic! Our guide Jonathan was wonderful. He knew so much about the area, history, and was engaging and entertaining. Could not have had a better experience. Thank you so much for a fantastic afternoon!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Kate, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We took lots of pictures and asked lots of questions. We had a great tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fabulous...my first time in France and it's a memory I'll treasure forever. We were picked up promptly and our guide, Adrien, was wonderful. He was friendly, knowledgeable and always ready to answer our questions. We were very lucky to have him assigned to our group you are fortunate to have him on your staff. Thank you for this great experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries from Bayeux

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The drive was very long and took away from the ability to adequately visit the museums. We very much enjoyed the American cemetery along with the beaches. Our American history is very important to us. These sights brought the events closer in our minds. Our soldiers fought valiantly for freedom.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide Rose was great. I would recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Outstanding tour - Our guide Svatlana performed a great job of explaining Operation Overload, and answering questions. We were impressed with her level of knowledge and detail. Our family would like to visit again and we highly recommend this tour - again, outstanding!!

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Learned lots from and interesting and interested guide!!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I like the tour and the guide, and I had a very good time, thank you so much!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were fortunate to be the only 4 people on this tour during low season. Felt like we had all of Normandy to ourselves ! Our guide was absolutely brilliant. Non-stop interesting, factual information about the WWII battlegrounds and related history. I can assure you we would recommend this same tour to others.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Extremely knowledgable guide, readily answered questions . Tour length was perfect. Very informative and exactly what we hoped for.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message