• USD ($)
  • English

Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Back Lakes (Hou Hai)

Beijing has modernized so rapidly that it’s hard to imagine what it must have been like in decades past. One neighborhood in Beijing has managed to hold on to its old-style hutong architecture, the Back Lakes (Hou Hai). Named after the three lakes ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Annie was great. She took us to the perfect spots and made our tour very interesting. Excellent hostess!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We were taken on a very interesting & information filled tour with Annie as our guide. She was most knowledge-full & was able to respond to all of our questions regarding the local area, history & culture. It was a very interesting route that took us from higher Level living standards & entertainment to the opposite end of the scale in that regard. We would recommend the tour to any of those who asked for our opinion. We would also recommend that they request Annie for their guide. R & F

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

cychbo
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

I had an incredible evening with my tour guide, Tina! Not only did we enjoy a lovely stroll through some major streets and back alleys around the heart of Beijing, Tina offered excellent insight to Chinese history, heritage, culture, architecture, China's people and even some quirky facts about Beijingers. A lovely way to truly experience Beijing with a knowledgable local, highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We had a great evening walk with Daniel our guide for the above tour. He was funny and very informative. I highly recommend this tour for anyone who wishes to see Beijing night life.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Fabulous tour. We really enjoyed it and the guide was brilliant!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

What a great tour,Lilly,our guide was knowledgeable with good English. We got a taste of how it was in the Hutong area of Beijing, on this tour you will experience local transport, local life and cuisine we loved it all and would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Beijing. Thank You Lilly for a great tour. Kind Regards Linda Allan and Sam QLD Australia

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Tour at Night Including Dumpling Making

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fabulous tour and brilliant tour guide. Unlike many companies, Viator does what it says - the tour descriptions are accurate. No high pressure sales visits to tourist traps. Just good honest interesting tours that you will love.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

had a fantastic time! It was just me and another traveler, and our guide, Lilly was very relaxed, nice and knowledgeable. the homemade food was delicious :)

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Tour at Night Including Dumpling Making

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fabulous tour. Charlie and Joshua really enjoyed it and said the guide was brilliant! - H

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I recently had some tours from some of your lovely guides around Beijing of the forbidden city, temple of heaven, Beijing opera and the night walking tour. The tour guides were wonderful; very knowledgeable of the areas, and fun people to spend time with. I was very impressed with their prompt and timely starts to the tours, which was especially important being in a new city as it was reassuring that I was meeting them in the correct place and there was no confusion. I have experienced poor timeliness in the past so I was really appreciative of the tour guides for this attribute. The tours were well structured, and very good value for money, and I was happy that I was neither rushed nor delayed with the time I spent at each location and with the guides. The mixture of private cars, local transportation, and planned meals was excellent and I feel that I had a well rounded and informative experience in Beijing learning about the history and culture of the intriguing city. I particularly appreciated the professional experience and coordination between the main office, the guides, the locations visited and the drivers. I have been very happy with the experience and I fully recommend that others use Viator for planning their own tours. In light of this I have copied into this email my friend Ester who would like to organise some tours for Beijing, and I hope you are able to organise some fun activities for her! She is particularly interested in going to the Great Wall of China. Thank you very much for the wonderful experiences which I will carry with me for a life time!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good walk around some of the most attractive streets in central Beijing brought to life by the very pleasant and industrious Lucy who tried her very best to convey the history of the city. Enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This tour starts off in a very upbeat high end part of Beijing (the people's street) and winds you through parts of Beijing where the inhabitants are living and working in accommodations that are at the lower end of the economic scale. You get to experience a cross section of Beijing life styles first hand. It is a lengthy leisurely walk that terminates in what is called the bar area. From there you catch a cab (low cost) back to your hotel. It is a very enjoyable and informative way to spend 3 hours

Ray and Fran

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Marian P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a very good tour. Gina was delightful and provided great insights into all sorts of things that we passed or which came up in conversation. Her English was excellent and if we came across a word which caused a problem, we sorted this out swiftly and with no difficulty. The tour is well worth doing to see the wonderful hutongs, Baihei Park in the growing darkness is fabulous and the food market an education in itself. Thank you very much.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The tour guide got us lost at one point, the night market was closed but the food was exceptional, and the views weren't bad. There should be a further note that this tour requires a lot of walking, i mean a lot! Meeting a family in their home was quite the experience bring a trinket from your home town for them, like a US pin or MUG or frame it would be very special for them.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Tour at Night Including Dumpling Making

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message