• USD ($)
  • English

Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Beihai Park (Beihai Gongyuan)

Before 1911, when the Qing dynasty ended, this park was attached to the Forbidden City. Built in the 10th century, it is one of the most lavish and important Chinese gardens. The landscaping references geological features from all over China. If ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was a nice experience to visit the Great Wall. We had a nice guide who was able to speak great English. Make sure however to add on a couple of hundred dollars extra as we needed to add on the cost of the car and other items.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent trip, our guide Cynthia was very good. Having your own guide is excellent, provides a much more personnel touch and allows you to ask questions. Cynthia provided us with a great amount of information and was a fun and informative. Getting around in Taxis was easy, we also used the underground which again was pretty straightforward.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent - we used this as a way to supplement a multi-day tour that we were on that wouldn't cover all the things we wanted to see. Our tour guide was Cherry and she was great!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the best way to see the sights of Beijing easily... We went to both the Great Wall at Badaling and the Summer Palace. Our guide was informative, friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Highly Recommend!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Easy way to see the sights of Beijing. The best part? You decide what you want to see! Just make sure to coordinate with your guide / local company after confirmation so they can prepare your itinerary effectively. We went to the Great Wall (at Badaling) and the Summer Palace. Great guide and an overall fantastic day out.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Worth doing but have clear agenda in your mind and don't allow yout guide to waste your time in places like silk store - likewise you are paying for the guide while they are selling something to you (not in a very polite manner). Be ready to spend on taxies - guides charge you for taxies all the time

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We started at Tiananmen Square and then went through the Forbidden City. Our guide, Christina was very good. From there, we caught a cab and went out to the Summer Palace. On the way back we stopped at the Olympic Site to see the Birdcage and the swin cube. Went throught the Silk Museum, which was interesting, but ended with a sales pitch hawking all the silf goods. We did buy some nice silk products, prices were reasonable.

This was a really good way to get to know the city and learn a lot about the history of China.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour was great. Did see Tienamien square, it was super. Then visited the Forbidden city, my guide Cherry was very informative and very helpfull and explained all very well.
Afterwards we went onwards with the driver to the Chinese wall. We went the to less visited Mutianyu.
Absolutely amazing. I was very impressed with all.
All in all it was a super day. A little bit grey at the Chinese wall, but I was very impressed. Loved every minute of it especially since there you found yourself often almost alone on the Chinese wall. Super.
Cherry was very attentive and explained all i wanted to know.
Would definetely recommend private tour with driver.

René - Netherlands - September 28th 2013

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

We gave our guide the spots we wanted to see- Summer Palace, Rickshaw rides to Hutongs,Temple of heaven and wanted to go to a good local place for lunch- she took us to a place that was the worst place we ate at during our trip, and made ha pay for her meal. Our guides's English was also not good.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Terrible, terrible, terrible. Words can not express how bad this was.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Firstly, had issues with being picked up from a nearby hotel (guide said he didn't know where it was and therefore wouldn't meet us there but rather at another hotel further away. After negotiations with his manager, this was resolved.

On the day of the tour, the guide was knowledgeable, but mostly about the benefits of other hotels. We would rather have been told about the culture and history more of this city. He did however help us with locating an ATM from which we could withdraw money as this was an issue for us in several ATMs we tried.

The Forbidden Palace section was probably the most enjoyable and the guide was very patient. However, the rest of the tour (Summer Palace and Tiananmen Square) was rushed and not worthwhile. Did not really get a good understanding and had to retrospectively look this up.

The main issue for us was at lunch (we spent just under 2 hours finding an appropriate restaurant. We wanted authentic Chinese food however, we also wanted to know what we were eating - 2 of the restaurants we went to had no English menus and a third restaurant was serving "real, authentic" local food which we really couldn't stomach such as Sea Cucumber and other delicacies). We eventually found somewhere suitable which served local food, had English menus and also was in a suitable price range - make sure you can go somewhere where the guide can eat too unless you are paying for them to dine - we didn't think it was value for money as once the taxis and entrance fees added up on top of the tip.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This is a great tour of the Beijing area, our tour guide Jason,was very knowledgeable and good fun with great English and a great sense of humor... we walked and he talked all interesting facts about Tian'anmen Square and the Forbidden City, we even payed our respects to Chairmen Mao Zedong, we had a great day and would highly recommend this tour and this Guide to anyone visiting Beijing.
Kind Regards, Linda Allan and Sam, QLD Australia

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We had perfect tour guide. A must tour in Beijing!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Cherry was our guide and she was fantastic. Very knowledgeable and her English was easy to understand. We planned our itinerary which included Temple of Heaven, Lama Temple, Confucius Temple and Bei Hai Park. She showed the locals working and playing in the Temple of Heaven Park which we were glad to see. We took the subway and buses and that was an experience. Please be in good condition or request taxis. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Fun day out - just me and my 12yr old who enjoyed it immensely. We hit all the main points/attractions/sights we wanted to see. Thanks Cherry!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message