Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Beihai Park (Beihai Gongyuan)

Before 1911, when the Qing dynasty ended, this park was attached to the Forbidden City. Built in the 10th century, it is one of the most lavish and important Chinese gardens. The landscaping references geological features from all over China. If ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This trip leaves it up to the customer to decide where to go in Beijing so we relied on our guide--who gave us good information. For someone of my "older " years 8 hours was too long--we gave up at 5 hours..
The guide was helpful and her knowledge was great but a little difficult to understand.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Guide Jason was very friendly. In enjoyed the tour very much.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I thought this was a great idea because we could go to places that we wanted to see but weren't quite sure how to get there or how to negotiate things. Michael, our guide, was very friendly and knowledgeable. He helped us explore places all over the city!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Overall our tour was very good. We had provided the tour company with ideas in advance but it didn't seem like all of the pre communicated sights were passed on to our actual guide. That was ok because our guide was flexible and quickly adapted to what we told her we wanted to see. We had requested the use of public transportation and used the metro to get to the first stop but after that our guide suggested we switch to a taxi. The traffic was horrible so this didn't seem like the ideal option. I understand that this may have been more convenient, but I felt like we had a lot of wasted time just sitting in a cab and being in some very frustrating traffic. Our guide was knowledgable and friendly which made for a pleasant tour and she did a great job making sure we fit all of the many things into our day that we wanted to see.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Michael is "the best tour guide ever". He was extremely accommodating and knowledgable. He answered every question that I had and there were many. The tour is the best way to see Beijing in a day.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was a nice experience to visit the Great Wall. We had a nice guide who was able to speak great English. Make sure however to add on a couple of hundred dollars extra as we needed to add on the cost of the car and other items.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent trip, our guide Cynthia was very good. Having your own guide is excellent, provides a much more personnel touch and allows you to ask questions. Cynthia provided us with a great amount of information and was a fun and informative. Getting around in Taxis was easy, we also used the underground which again was pretty straightforward.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent - we used this as a way to supplement a multi-day tour that we were on that wouldn't cover all the things we wanted to see. Our tour guide was Cherry and she was great!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the best way to see the sights of Beijing easily... We went to both the Great Wall at Badaling and the Summer Palace. Our guide was informative, friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Highly Recommend!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Easy way to see the sights of Beijing. The best part? You decide what you want to see! Just make sure to coordinate with your guide / local company after confirmation so they can prepare your itinerary effectively. We went to the Great Wall (at Badaling) and the Summer Palace. Great guide and an overall fantastic day out.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Worth doing but have clear agenda in your mind and don't allow yout guide to waste your time in places like silk store - likewise you are paying for the guide while they are selling something to you (not in a very polite manner). Be ready to spend on taxies - guides charge you for taxies all the time

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We started at Tiananmen Square and then went through the Forbidden City. Our guide, Christina was very good. From there, we caught a cab and went out to the Summer Palace. On the way back we stopped at the Olympic Site to see the Birdcage and the swin cube. Went throught the Silk Museum, which was interesting, but ended with a sales pitch hawking all the silf goods. We did buy some nice silk products, prices were reasonable.

This was a really good way to get to know the city and learn a lot about the history of China.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour was great. Did see Tienamien square, it was super. Then visited the Forbidden city, my guide Cherry was very informative and very helpfull and explained all very well.
Afterwards we went onwards with the driver to the Chinese wall. We went the to less visited Mutianyu.
Absolutely amazing. I was very impressed with all.
All in all it was a super day. A little bit grey at the Chinese wall, but I was very impressed. Loved every minute of it especially since there you found yourself often almost alone on the Chinese wall. Super.
Cherry was very attentive and explained all i wanted to know.
Would definetely recommend private tour with driver.

René - Netherlands - September 28th 2013

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

We gave our guide the spots we wanted to see- Summer Palace, Rickshaw rides to Hutongs,Temple of heaven and wanted to go to a good local place for lunch- she took us to a place that was the worst place we ate at during our trip, and made ha pay for her meal. Our guides's English was also not good.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Terrible, terrible, terrible. Words can not express how bad this was.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message