Beijing's hutongs are a glimpse - fast disappearing - of what the city used to look like before the skyscrapers started munching the skyline. A hutong is a narrow alleyway formed by joining together courtyard residences. When you hear people speak ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My tour Guide Tony was very helpful and knowledgeable, he was also very friendly. Great tour, I especially enjoyed doing caligraphy with the local family and their little girl is beautiful. Thanl you to the family for hosting me.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Hutong Rickshaw Ride and Dumpling Making in Beijing

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour for our first night in the city. It let us see some of the local hang-outs. The night "food" market was a kick. I'm glad we had our guide so she could suggest what we should NOT eat.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Annie was great. She took us to the perfect spots and made our tour very interesting. Excellent hostess!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good walk around some of the most attractive streets in central Beijing brought to life by the very pleasant and industrious Lucy who tried her very best to convey the history of the city. Enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We enjoyed the Hutoon Rickshaw ride and dumpling tour in Beijing. We appreciated the ability to confirm the tour by e-mail and the immediate response that our confirmation was received. Our tour guide, Annie, contacted us the night before to confirm the time and place to meet. The tour was wonderful and Annie helped a lot by her knowledge and lively conversation about the area. We appreciated the lunch. In addiiton, Annie was very helpful in being aware of my wife's dietary and walking problems and we really appreciate it. Just wanted to let you know we had a good tour and appreciated Annie's knowledge and helpfulness! R and A

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Hutong Rickshaw Ride and Dumpling Making in Beijing

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We were taken on a very interesting & information filled tour with Annie as our guide. She was most knowledge-full & was able to respond to all of our questions regarding the local area, history & culture. It was a very interesting route that took us from higher Level living standards & entertainment to the opposite end of the scale in that regard. We would recommend the tour to any of those who asked for our opinion. We would also recommend that they request Annie for their guide. R & F

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

hi there, just to let you know that the tour guides were great and we would use your company again.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Hutong Rickshaw Ride and Dumpling Making in Beijing

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This tour starts off in a very upbeat high end part of Beijing (the people's street) and winds you through parts of Beijing where the inhabitants are living and working in accommodations that are at the lower end of the economic scale. You get to experience a cross section of Beijing life styles first hand. It is a lengthy leisurely walk that terminates in what is called the bar area. From there you catch a cab (low cost) back to your hotel. It is a very enjoyable and informative way to spend 3 hours

Ray and Fran

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

cychbo
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

I had an incredible evening with my tour guide, Tina! Not only did we enjoy a lovely stroll through some major streets and back alleys around the heart of Beijing, Tina offered excellent insight to Chinese history, heritage, culture, architecture, China's people and even some quirky facts about Beijingers. A lovely way to truly experience Beijing with a knowledgable local, highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Fabulous tour. We really enjoyed it and the guide was brilliant!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We had a great evening walk with Daniel our guide for the above tour. He was funny and very informative. I highly recommend this tour for anyone who wishes to see Beijing night life.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Like:
Picked up on time
Itinerary well arranged
Informative guide in the beginning
A quilt on rickshaw protected from winter wind
Lunch delish

Don't like:
Asked 15 RMB for rickshaw tip
Tea ceremony = sales product presentation
Persuaded hard to buy tea
Guide busy w/ his gadget, guessing for myself

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Hutong Rickshaw Ride and Dumpling Making in Beijing

Note from Viator: This review is based on a previous itinerary. The tea ceremony is no longer included on this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We wish to advise that we all really enjoyed our tour today with your representative Emma. Emma was good at understanding and speaking English and we were able to ask her a lot of questions about china history which she knew well. She is very polite and caring and ensured our safety all the time. The richshaw driver was also so very kind. The meal in the family home was beautiful and how special it was to be welcomed by the family. We highly recommend the tour to any western travellers thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Hutong Rickshaw Ride and Dumpling Making in Beijing

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fabulous tour. Charlie and Joshua really enjoyed it and said the guide was brilliant! - H

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fabulous tour and brilliant tour guide. Unlike many companies, Viator does what it says - the tour descriptions are accurate. No high pressure sales visits to tourist traps. Just good honest interesting tours that you will love.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message