• USD ($)
  • English
Beijing's hutongs are a glimpse - fast disappearing - of what the city used to look like before the skyscrapers started munching the skyline. A hutong is a narrow alleyway formed by joining together courtyard residences. When you hear people speak ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cychbo
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

I had an incredible evening with my tour guide, Tina! Not only did we enjoy a lovely stroll through some major streets and back alleys around the heart of Beijing, Tina offered excellent insight to Chinese history, heritage, culture, architecture, China's people and even some quirky facts about Beijingers. A lovely way to truly experience Beijing with a knowledgable local, highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Fabulous tour. We really enjoyed it and the guide was brilliant!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We had a great evening walk with Daniel our guide for the above tour. He was funny and very informative. I highly recommend this tour for anyone who wishes to see Beijing night life.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Like:
Picked up on time
Itinerary well arranged
Informative guide in the beginning
A quilt on rickshaw protected from winter wind
Lunch delish

Don't like:
Asked 15 RMB for rickshaw tip
Tea ceremony = sales product presentation
Persuaded hard to buy tea
Guide busy w/ his gadget, guessing for myself

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Hutong Rickshaw Ride and Dumpling Making in Beijing

Note from Viator: This review is based on a previous itinerary. The tea ceremony is no longer included on this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We wish to advise that we all really enjoyed our tour today with your representative Emma. Emma was good at understanding and speaking English and we were able to ask her a lot of questions about china history which she knew well. She is very polite and caring and ensured our safety all the time. The richshaw driver was also so very kind. The meal in the family home was beautiful and how special it was to be welcomed by the family. We highly recommend the tour to any western travellers thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Hutong Rickshaw Ride and Dumpling Making in Beijing

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fabulous tour. Charlie and Joshua really enjoyed it and said the guide was brilliant! - H

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fabulous tour and brilliant tour guide. Unlike many companies, Viator does what it says - the tour descriptions are accurate. No high pressure sales visits to tourist traps. Just good honest interesting tours that you will love.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

What a waste of time, really not sure what we paid for with this tour. The guide picked us up from hotel took us to Hutong and passed us over to another guide and driver who took us thru Huntong area we then had to pay the guide and the driver. The Hutong guide was excellent but I dont know why we were not told that we would have a 2nd guide and driver that we had to pay as well. We then had to go to tea ceremony,Lunch was terrible as usual on these tours. We then went to the Olympic park where we got to walk around the stadium we asked about going in but were told we would have to but tickets which we did and went in alone. This tour is a joke, as I

Doing what: Beijing's Present and Past: Olympic Park and Hutong Tour

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

Marian P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a very good tour. Gina was delightful and provided great insights into all sorts of things that we passed or which came up in conversation. Her English was excellent and if we came across a word which caused a problem, we sorted this out swiftly and with no difficulty. The tour is well worth doing to see the wonderful hutongs, Baihei Park in the growing darkness is fabulous and the food market an education in itself. Thank you very much.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Took my little boy and we had a great time:) Amy our guide was just wonderful!

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Hutong Rickshaw Ride and Dumpling Making in Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Took my little boy and we had a great time:) Amy our guide was just wonderful!

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Hutong Rickshaw Ride and Dumpling Making in Beijing

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I recently had some tours from some of your lovely guides around Beijing of the forbidden city, temple of heaven, Beijing opera and the night walking tour. The tour guides were wonderful; very knowledgeable of the areas, and fun people to spend time with. I was very impressed with their prompt and timely starts to the tours, which was especially important being in a new city as it was reassuring that I was meeting them in the correct place and there was no confusion. I have experienced poor timeliness in the past so I was really appreciative of the tour guides for this attribute. The tours were well structured, and very good value for money, and I was happy that I was neither rushed nor delayed with the time I spent at each location and with the guides. The mixture of private cars, local transportation, and planned meals was excellent and I feel that I had a well rounded and informative experience in Beijing learning about the history and culture of the intriguing city. I particularly appreciated the professional experience and coordination between the main office, the guides, the locations visited and the drivers. I have been very happy with the experience and I fully recommend that others use Viator for planning their own tours. In light of this I have copied into this email my friend Ester who would like to organise some tours for Beijing, and I hope you are able to organise some fun activities for her! She is particularly interested in going to the Great Wall of China. Thank you very much for the wonderful experiences which I will carry with me for a life time!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Good tour - Prince Gong's Mansion is not quite as interesting as many of the other sights in Beijing, but the Capital Museum, the Drum Tower, the ride in a rickshaw and the visit to a hutong are all a must see. Lunch was OK, but not one of the better meals we ate in Beijing.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Beijing's Hutong neighborhood of small alleys is too small for a tour bus, and, really, too small even for automobiles; rickshaw is the ideal mode of transportation. The opportunity to visit a real home in this neighborhood is extraordinary. It turns out that the Olympic Aquatic Center "Water Cube" provides public swimming sessions, either in a family-style water park, or for lap swimmers in the "warm-up" pool; had I been prepared, I would have left the tour at the end for a swim!

Doing what: Beijing's Present and Past: Olympic Park and Hutong Tour

Ed K
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

I want to say we very much enjoyed out tour today with Daniel. The visit to the drum tower for drum beating at 9:30 was perfect. I have a poor heart and Daniel made sure I safely walked up. Thank you. Very much enjoyed visit with Mr. and Mrs. Liu for lunch. Please extend special thankyou to Daniel for his kind attention and service.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Hutong Rickshaw Ride and Dumpling Making in Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message