Beijing's hutongs are a glimpse - fast disappearing - of what the city used to look like before the skyscrapers started munching the skyline. A hutong is a narrow alleyway formed by joining together courtyard residences. When you hear people speak ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I just wanted to say that I thoroughly enjoyed the Hutong Rickshaw Half Day Tour yesterday morning with Tony and the Beijing Night Walking Tour with Lucy last night. Both tour guides were very enthusiastic, fun and knowledgeable, and the locations visited were all well chosen and very interesting. Both were really magical experiences in their own way. I will recommend the tours highly to anyone visiting Beijing.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I enjoyed my tour through the old hutongs. My tour guide, Cherry, spoke English well and is very knowledgeable. I like that I was able to travel solo without having to pay a group price. Thank you.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The Hutong tour was our first tour of Beijing and it was much more than we expected. Jason was our guide and he provided an excellent tour!

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

I would recommend this tour for an honest view of life in the Hutongs of Beijing. The tour is well planned, and takes place at a relaxed pace. The range of activities within the tour allows for a sampling of many aspects of Chinese culture. Links with local people are good, allowing for local interactions.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Hutong Rickshaw Ride and Dumpling Making in Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Myself and my husband absolutely LOVED this tour and recommend it highly as a fun and different way to experience Beijing at night.

Our tour guide Daniel was fantastic, and provided us with many interesting facts about the city, as well as ensuring we navigated around the city on our bikes safely.

Highlights included the lake area, the narrow hutongs, cycling round Tiannamen Square at night, and feeling like a local by travelling on bike.

We highly recommend this tour, the tour guide Daniel, and the tour company to all travellers in Beijing.

Doing what: Private Beijing Bike Tour at Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our tour was terrific! The guide at the Hutongs was very good. She included additional information and her English was also very good.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

Marian P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a very good tour. Gina was delightful and provided great insights into all sorts of things that we passed or which came up in conversation. Her English was excellent and if we came across a word which caused a problem, we sorted this out swiftly and with no difficulty. The tour is well worth doing to see the wonderful hutongs, Baihei Park in the growing darkness is fabulous and the food market an education in itself. Thank you very much.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Beijing's Hutong neighborhood of small alleys is too small for a tour bus, and, really, too small even for automobiles; rickshaw is the ideal mode of transportation. The opportunity to visit a real home in this neighborhood is extraordinary. It turns out that the Olympic Aquatic Center "Water Cube" provides public swimming sessions, either in a family-style water park, or for lap swimmers in the "warm-up" pool; had I been prepared, I would have left the tour at the end for a swim!

Doing what: Beijing's Present and Past: Olympic Park and Hutong Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The Tour was nice - especially Mr. Lee who guided us from hotel to city and back-! One guy (Michael) asked for more tip - although tip is not usual in China (we gave him 20 Yuan). This was the worst thing on this tour! Because he was very unpolite! The hutongs and the Belltower were interesting to see. The tea-factory could have been left behind!!!!

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This was an interesting tour through the narrow streets of beijing. The hutong we visited is only a remnant of what we were told hutongs used to be like. We were shown a model of an ancient hutong which consisted of many rooms and courtyards, the dwelling we saw was only two rooms with a central courtyard and kitchen annex. It was spotless and our host was welcoming and it was interesting to see how people live in this way. Our hostess at the tea shop was both amusing and informative. The rickshaw cyclist did a great job especially considering the day was very warm and humid.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Peter our guide was charming. We were suppose to have another guide but we had Peter. Our three hour tour was barely 2 hours. We went to the food trucks very fast we tasted a few things than we walked for at least 40 min to a piece of the wall of the forbidden city. He sang a song for us and had a beer for us to share than we walked a hutong again very quickly. I than have a feeling that Peter was expected somewhere else since he was on the phone a lot. We had to share a yogurt amongst us. Again fast cause we have to leave the bottle there. He was not sure we're it was but he took us to place to eat dumplings and had to leave. Than he left. Bye bye! less than 2 hours had passed.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Sam
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

I enjoyed the Old Hutongs Rickshaw tour but only last probably no more than 30-40 minutes. I think something else needs to be incorporated with the rickshaw tour. I did not enjoy or cared for the porcelain tour/medicine centre tour.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

Hui Yen L
Singapore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

Was supposed to visit Prince Gong's Mansion, but the tour guide didn't bring me there. Instead, I was brought to a tea house. Tour around Hutongs was a bit too short. May be better to do this as a walking tour, and include the services and facilities that residents provide and enjoy in the Hutongs.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

What a waste of time, really not sure what we paid for with this tour. The guide picked us up from hotel took us to Hutong and passed us over to another guide and driver who took us thru Huntong area we then had to pay the guide and the driver. The Hutong guide was excellent but I dont know why we were not told that we would have a 2nd guide and driver that we had to pay as well. We then had to go to tea ceremony,Lunch was terrible as usual on these tours. We then went to the Olympic park where we got to walk around the stadium we asked about going in but were told we would have to but tickets which we did and went in alone. This tour is a joke, as I

Doing what: Beijing's Present and Past: Olympic Park and Hutong Tour

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2010

This tour was not at all like the description. We started the tour at 9AM, and it was not even one hour, as I was back at my friend's condo at 10:20 (20 minutes for traffic both ways). The tour guide dropped me at one of the hutongs where the rickshaws took off. Before he handed me off to the rickshaw guide, he told me that I should tip both the rickshaw driver and the guide 20 yuan each at the end -- which, I found problematic for two reasons: 1) tipping is not customary in China at all and 2) even though I'm more than happy to tip guides (and have done so in the past regardless of custom) I don't like being told or pressured that I should do so. The one bright spot in the tour was the rickshaw ride and the hutong guide, but the ride around the hutong was the only part of the tour was like the description. Unfortunately, the ride and tour only lasted 25 minutes tops. At the end of the rickshaw ride, instead of going to Prince Gong's mansion, I was pointed to a porcelain factory in the same alley as the rickshaw drop off, where a docent showed how porcelain was made for 5 minutes and then led me to a gallery so I could purchase some souvenirs. It felt like the purpose of this tour was to get me to shell out additional $ when I'd already paid 50 USD for the tour itself! Overall, I think the description was misleading, and I didn't get what I paid for. I could've easily arranged a rickshaw ride on my own because that’s all I got. I recommend booking a different activity, as this wasn’t worth the money.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message