Beijing's hutongs are a glimpse - fast disappearing - of what the city used to look like before the skyscrapers started munching the skyline. A hutong is a narrow alleyway formed by joining together courtyard residences. When you hear people speak ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour and Joe did a fantastic job. We covered A LOT of ground on our tour and it lasted approximately 8.5 hours from hotel pickup to drop off. We did 4 private tours during our recent visit to Beijing and in my opinion this tour was the best. It gives you a really good feel of the city and the local way of life which is always nice to see instead of only seeing the main tourist spots.

Doing what: Be A Real Beijinger For A Day: Tai chi, Dumpling Making and Cycling in Hutongs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the highlight of my Beijing visit. What a wonderful guide who spoke English well and showed me the sights of Beijing on foot.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Dean is a very kind and friendly tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It was a private tour and the young lady who walked with me was somewhat helpful, but really it was awkward at times. I learned a little but really not much. I could have skipped this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Incredible tour. Dean did an amazing job showing me all the sights, sounds and smells of Beijing at night. He did an excellent job explaining the culture and history of the city, and kept me very very safe and entertained the entire time. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My tour guide Robert really knew where to go and waited for me for every vendor I stopped and shopped at. Very good tour that shows you the true residential insides of Beijing.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Peter our guide was charming. We were suppose to have another guide but we had Peter. Our three hour tour was barely 2 hours. We went to the food trucks very fast we tasted a few things than we walked for at least 40 min to a piece of the wall of the forbidden city. He sang a song for us and had a beer for us to share than we walked a hutong again very quickly. I than have a feeling that Peter was expected somewhere else since he was on the phone a lot. We had to share a yogurt amongst us. Again fast cause we have to leave the bottle there. He was not sure we're it was but he took us to place to eat dumplings and had to leave. Than he left. Bye bye! less than 2 hours had passed.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A note to thank you for a delightful evening tour in Beijing. Peter was a pleasure. He made the tour interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A note to thank you for a delightful evening tour in Beijing. Peter was a pleasure. He made the tour interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My wife and I are both interested in Easten culture, therefore, we choose China for our honeymoon. I’d like to say that it’s the best choice I have ever made. We had a great time in this trip. We visited the top attractions in China. All of them are terrific. The Great Wall is magnificent, the Forbidden City is spectacular, the life-sized Terracotta Warriors are gorgeous. Each attraction in my mind possesses it’s own unique beauty. Sorry for the short list. We took a lot of photos for a good memory. And I’m sure that we will cherish them forever. At last, I want to give my great thanks to our nice guide David who is very considerate and helped us a lot during this pleasant period.

Doing what: 11-Day Splendors of China: Beijing, Xi'an, Shanghai and Chongqing with Yangtze River Cruise

Bing
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I had a great time in China. I visited many interesting places during this trip. Besides, I appreciated many wonderful performance in each attraction. Our tour guide is very passionate and considerate. With her help, my trip became more pleasant and memorable. Those well know scenic spots like the Great Wall, the Fobidden City, the Summer Palace never fail to stir my excitement.

Doing what: 11-Day Splendors of China: Beijing, Xi'an, Shanghai and Chongqing with Yangtze River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was such a sweet evening. I had such a great walk and talk with Lucy. She was a treat. A great tour -- where I would not have gone out alone. Thanks

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I just wanted to say that I thoroughly enjoyed the Hutong Rickshaw Half Day Tour yesterday morning with Tony and the Beijing Night Walking Tour with Lucy last night. Both tour guides were very enthusiastic, fun and knowledgeable, and the locations visited were all well chosen and very interesting. Both were really magical experiences in their own way. I will recommend the tours highly to anyone visiting Beijing.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I just wanted to let you know my girlfriend and I very much enjoyed our tour with Lucy. She was very attentive, patient, and professional. I will recommend this tour to my coworkers who fly to Beijing often.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Annie was great. She was personable and extremely informative. As we were the only people on this particular night it was great to have Annie walk and guide us through the night. She answered all of our questions and my wife and I were extremely comfortable with her. At the end of the tour she hailed down a taxi for us which took us back to our hotel. If the rest of your guides are like Annie then you certainly have a very high quality team working for you.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Myself and a friend were on this tour this evening. Our guide was Amy and I want you to pass on our thanks to her. The tour was fantastic and great fun. She's a great guide and a real bonus for your company. Once again many thanks.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

JOHN D
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amy was our guide on this trip.She was brilliant!We would completely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A small group of four with an excellent tour guide. Amy was knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. The places visited were interesting and the pace was good. The opportunity to taste a food of choice from the street markets was a nice surprise.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My tour Guide Tony was very helpful and knowledgeable, he was also very friendly. Great tour, I especially enjoyed doing caligraphy with the local family and their little girl is beautiful. Thanl you to the family for hosting me.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Hutong Rickshaw Ride and Dumpling Making in Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We did this tour our first night in Beijing. I recommend doing this tour on your first night in the city. This is not much of a food tasting tour (although you do go through various markets and can stop at leisure to try different foods). This is a wonderful way to get acclimated with Beijing and to learn your way around. Our guide was excellent and he stayed with us an extra 1.5 hours to help us translate in a tea shop!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour for our first night in the city. It let us see some of the local hang-outs. The night "food" market was a kick. I'm glad we had our guide so she could suggest what we should NOT eat.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Annie was great. She took us to the perfect spots and made our tour very interesting. Excellent hostess!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good walk around some of the most attractive streets in central Beijing brought to life by the very pleasant and industrious Lucy who tried her very best to convey the history of the city. Enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We enjoyed the Hutoon Rickshaw ride and dumpling tour in Beijing. We appreciated the ability to confirm the tour by e-mail and the immediate response that our confirmation was received. Our tour guide, Annie, contacted us the night before to confirm the time and place to meet. The tour was wonderful and Annie helped a lot by her knowledge and lively conversation about the area. We appreciated the lunch. In addiiton, Annie was very helpful in being aware of my wife's dietary and walking problems and we really appreciate it. Just wanted to let you know we had a good tour and appreciated Annie's knowledge and helpfulness! R and A

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Hutong Rickshaw Ride and Dumpling Making in Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message