Gong Wang Fu, or Prince Gong’s Mansion, was a Qing Dynasty imperial residence that has since been converted into an excellent museum. Built in 1777, the mansion belonged to several members of the imperial family over the years, but it got its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I had a great tour and overall experience. Being off-season (December 4), I ended up being the only one on the tour. My tour guide, Cynthia, did a great job combining a good bit of explanation and personal conversation. She was very colorful and enthusiastic, and a great tour guide. The driver was also good and worked very well with Cynthia. The hostess at the home-stop was very sweet and gracious.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I enjoyed my tour through the old hutongs. My tour guide, Cherry, spoke English well and is very knowledgeable. I like that I was able to travel solo without having to pay a group price. Thank you.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I really liked exploring the 'old' alleys of Beijing. I also liked seeing someone's home upclose, and I didn't feel pressured to purchase anything (though I did, after I saw her paint inside a bottle and she let us try it ourselves and it was impossible).

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was amazing. I learned so much about early Beijing life. My guide, Karlynn(spelling?). Was extremely accommodating and knowledgable. I would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The Hutong tour was our first tour of Beijing and it was much more than we expected. Jason was our guide and he provided an excellent tour!

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

Phil
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

An enjoyable morning in the "old" part of Beijing. One on one with Guide, Cherry, which added to the experience.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our tour was terrific! The guide at the Hutongs was very good. She included additional information and her English was also very good.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

It could not have been a better experience. We had Micheal as our guide, he was patient and kind and had a good sense of humor.They we always on time and thorough. In fact so much info we couldn't rememeber all of it. We felt comfortable and extremely satisfied with how we got exactly what we had signed up for. We would highly recomend Viator!!!

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

What fun! This is certainly a must do tour!

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

Linda M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Can only be described as one of our all-time favourite travel memories. Particularly loved visit to private home, which was included in tour. Host fantastic; shared pot of tea, met her family. Thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

vivi
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

is interesting to see the way they live, but what I do not like is that during the visit have some crafts for sale expensive and expect you to buy

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Our tour was very interesting. Our guide Zoe was extremely helpful and told us all the history of China during the tour. We enjoyed our guide and tour so much - we booked a Great Wall tour the next weekend with Zoe.
Drs. Bart Lardner and Karen Schwean-Lardner

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The Tour was nice - especially Mr. Lee who guided us from hotel to city and back-! One guy (Michael) asked for more tip - although tip is not usual in China (we gave him 20 Yuan). This was the worst thing on this tour! Because he was very unpolite! The hutongs and the Belltower were interesting to see. The tea-factory could have been left behind!!!!

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Great first day tour!

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

Nerida C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Great tour.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Interesting. My guide was very nice and teached me a lot about chinese culture, but the family house visit was a bit disappointing. We visited a house the was not habited for a family, but had a young boy and an uncle. He was there only to serve tea and show the photos when the family used to live there.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This was an interesting tour through the narrow streets of beijing. The hutong we visited is only a remnant of what we were told hutongs used to be like. We were shown a model of an ancient hutong which consisted of many rooms and courtyards, the dwelling we saw was only two rooms with a central courtyard and kitchen annex. It was spotless and our host was welcoming and it was interesting to see how people live in this way. Our hostess at the tea shop was both amusing and informative. The rickshaw cyclist did a great job especially considering the day was very warm and humid.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

We were late to meet the tour. Our guide was courteous. However, we did not get much explanation as to what we were seeing.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

Steve F
New Zealand

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Greta trip in to the older part of Beijing. tour guide was great and had alot of information on teh history of the area , wort doing

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

The tour was really nice. It was a little bit expensive taking into account services offered.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

annmarie
Denmark

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2013

The tour was 'okay', but definately not note-worthy. The guide was sweet, but stood by and watched as the sales people at the tea house over charged me heavily, and even told me to pay in cash, i am sure they shared the revenue. Perhaps I am naive, but when I pay for the services of a guide, I feel he or she should help me, not help others take advantage of me. This being said, I will use Viator again, if needed.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

Sam
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

I enjoyed the Old Hutongs Rickshaw tour but only last probably no more than 30-40 minutes. I think something else needs to be incorporated with the rickshaw tour. I did not enjoy or cared for the porcelain tour/medicine centre tour.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

Michael R
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2010

OK but too much set up for the tourist, didnt see the "real thing"

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

The actual tour did not match the tour description.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

It's okay, but not so many things to see, not so historical.

Doing what: Beijing Old Hutongs Tour by Rickshaw

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message