Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall at Mutianyu

Located 56 miles (90 kilometers) northeast of Beijing, the Great Wall at Mutianyu was restored in 1986 after the section at Badaling rose in popularity. This section of the great wall includes a long, flat segment winding along the heavily forested ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 185 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, our guide Daniel was extremely knowledgeable and well versed. Daniel provided a very nice picnic inside the wall and after the tour we had a fantastic lunch at a nearby restaurant.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guide, Jason, was honest and very insightful. The tour itself happened to be just me, who was traveling solo, and another nice couple. Headed out early to avoid the crowds which I appreciated and preferred. Tried to be accommodating to specific requests. He goes up to the wall with you which includes the approximately 2 hour drive and during the whole time he gives you a good local view of China that is relevant to his customers. Good value for sure.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My family loved this tour. This section of the wall was not too busy. We enjoyed the fact that the guide gave us a few free hours to explore on our own at our pace. It felt like our own personal family experience. The meal afterward was also quite good.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day! Everything was well organized. Our guide was english-speaking and very friendly! From beginning to end we didn´t have to worry about anything!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

AMAZING!!! Transfer, hotel pick up and tour absolutely perfect! Tour guide even phoned our hotel day before to confirm timings, small minivan collected us and drove us to the Great Wall! Also stopped at a tea house and a Chinese art place! Perfect section of the wall too!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I loved that this section of the wall was rather peaceful and quiet. Having the tour pick you up at your hotel made it so easy and I liked that we were a rather small group which gave us the ability to really explore rather than having to stick together in a large group. The chair lift up and toboggan ride down were brilliant and I wish I could do it again! Although we were only on the wall for two hours, in the hot August heat it was enough. The section is rather steep and will give you a good workout! The lunch was great and the cloissone workshop tour and tea ceremony were actually really cool insights into the Chinese culture rather than pesky stops which is what I was expecting. Fun tour and met some great people along the way!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour with a great guide! Dennis was informative and helpful. We had a wonderful day at the Great Wall, would highly recommend this trip. Lunch and the massage were an amazing extra touch.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent - Jason is a great tour guide, i would definitely recommend the MuTianYu section of the wall as well. Breath taking views!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great!!! Our guide was Candy she gave us great history and guidance at the wall. We were able to see the unrestored part and not waste time trekking up the wall itself. After the wall she even gave us great guidance on what are must dos and must sees in Beijing! Candy was great!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was freeing to let the tour guide handle the logistical hootenanny while I was able to simply enjoy the rustic beauty of this magnificent structure. Our tour guide was friendly, professional, and timely. She balanced well our need to have privacy at times, but her company was enjoyable nonetheless. She shared a lot of history with us about the Great Wall - some bits more unnerving than others! (I won't ruin the surprise) ;-). The only areas that could be improved were largely out of our tour guide's hands, such as traffic and the general zoo that is overcrowded China. LOVED the picnic. Be sure to bring walking shoes and extra water.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great guide, comfortable transport and excellent places to visit. Delicious lunch. Really enjoyed the whole experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mutianyu Great Wall, Olympic Sites and Optional Hot Springs Spa in Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was great. It is all that they describe, no shopping stops and you get to walk the Great Wall in a quite exhausting but not so full of tourists part of the Wall.
We had a rainy day so the toboggan wasn't available, take that into account and do check the weather before booking. I read everywhere that the toboggan was a great way to come down from the Wall.
We used the automatic chair to go up and down, do yourself a favor and use the chair. It's a 2 minutes ride and would save you a lot of energy you will need in the Wall.
The weather was rainy but didn't actually rain while we were on the Wall, so it was a very cool scene. The Wall did look like a dragon between clouds. So a rainy day is not a show-stopper for this tour anyway.

BUT beware, the chair ride is 100 Yuan! They don't mention this in the description, which is technically fine because they mention that this is not included, but they strongly recommend it. Take enough money to pay for that.
Also, the foot massage is great. It feels strange for a foreigner not used to having your feet massages by a stranger, but it is very relaxing after the first 2 mins. Talking about tips, I would recommend tipping around 50Y to the guide, and 20 to the driver and maybe 20 to the foot massage woman/man.

Jerry was a Super Cool guide!! Thank you for a great experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant tour, our guide Jason was very informative and spoke very good English. The section of wall at Mutianyu is truly amazing as is the chair lift to get up there.
Very interesting visit to the Ming Tomb complex and an excellent Chinese lunch in a good quality restaurant. The air conditioned car was very comfortable and the driver was good. Thank you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Went solo on this tour as I had just enough time at the end of my business trip.

Perfect Service and Great Tour! Would recommend this tour for anyone that wants a one day tour to see both the Great Wall in the hills of Mutianya and the Ming Tomb (Zhu Di). Jason was a perfect guide, excellent English, very Knowledgeable on the history of these sites and a great conversationalist. The toboggan ride is was a great way to go back down from the Wall site!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message