Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall at Mutianyu

Located 56 miles (90 kilometers) northeast of Beijing, the Great Wall at Mutianyu was restored in 1986 after the section at Badaling rose in popularity. This section of the great wall includes a long, flat segment winding along the heavily forested ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 105 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I have been to Mutianyu on my own by public bus but decided to book this tour for my parents. It was the right decision. Jerry our tour guide speaks excellent English and very informative. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to reach the Great Wall early and maximize their experience there.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Dennis our guide met us at the meeting point. We initially went to the wrong hotel as there are two hotels with very similar names, however they are very close and they directed us to the correct place. Dennis is super friendly and made our trip lots of fun. We walked up the large amount of stairs to the great wall and saw the magnificent views. After much walking we had a very enjoyable lunch with the group and headed back to the city. Stopping for the foot massage on the way back. Never having had a foot massage before we found this very interesting and enjoyable. All in all, I felt this was a well planned , enjoyable day which Dennis made even more enjoyable with his friendly informative personality.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour of the Great Wall! The small group size really personalized the trip, we only had three. It was cool to go up earlier and beat the crowd that followed behind us. Jerry was super fun and personable, making us very comfortable. The lunch was amazing and DO NOT miss the Tango reflexology, it was an awesome experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was a lot of fun and made it effortless to see everything described on the itinerary. The Mutianyu section was empty when we arrived (many people showed up at around 11 when we were on our way to the exit). It was beautiful viewing the autumn scenery and the tobaggan slide was great!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was absolutely amazing and everything that I hoped for!
Make sure you ride the lift up and then the tobagan down the slopes!
We went to a pearl market, then hit the great wall for about 2 hours, then had lunch, and went to some tea place afterwards.
The tour guide "Jackie" was entertaining and we enjoyed every minute at the Great Wall.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour and our tour guide Jason was excellent! We totally lucked out and were only 4 pax on the tour so felt very private. He gave lots of great information on Beijing and the history on the drive to the Great Wall and assisted us all the way to the cable car. To maximize your time on the GW, I'd highly recommend the cable car but the toboggan wasn't open as it was raining slightly. Still made the most of the two hours we had on the GW then enjoyed a delicious feast at the Cloisonné Factory which was great. The tea house experience is a huge part of the Chinese culture and very informative. Very well organized and professional all the way!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We lost our luggage while traveling from HK to Beijing. We called and requested to postpone our trip to mu tian Yu Great Wall which scheduled on the next day. Thanks to Cynthia for her kind understanding n flexibility. Everyone liked her especially the 3 kids who loves her is much , bravo Cynthia

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An amazing tour, a great value. I have done Viator tours in several countries and I have never been disappointed. This trip was no exception. My guide (Jeana) was amazing. She had a wealth of knowledge, spoke excellent English and was fun to be with. I was met at the hotel at the correct time and much to my surprise I was the only person on the tour. We headed out with our driver in a clean cab and alone the way she explained things about the Great Wall and China in general. At the wall she accompanied me and allowed me to proceed at my own pace, as I was taking photos and due to the wall being quite steep in some places. She provided advice on how to negotiate with the shopkeepers. On the way back to Beijing we stopped in a town and had dinner at a very "real" Chinese restaurant. Once in Beijing, I was then taken to get a one hour foot massage. This tour was an incredible value for the money. Thanks again to Jeana, for a great day.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

AMAZING!!! Transfer, hotel pick up and tour absolutely perfect! Tour guide even phoned our hotel day before to confirm timings, small minivan collected us and drove us to the Great Wall! Also stopped at a tea house and a Chinese art place! Perfect section of the wall too!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour with a great guide! Dennis was informative and helpful. We had a wonderful day at the Great Wall, would highly recommend this trip. Lunch and the massage were an amazing extra touch.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent - Jason is a great tour guide, i would definitely recommend the MuTianYu section of the wall as well. Breath taking views!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was freeing to let the tour guide handle the logistical hootenanny while I was able to simply enjoy the rustic beauty of this magnificent structure. Our tour guide was friendly, professional, and timely. She balanced well our need to have privacy at times, but her company was enjoyable nonetheless. She shared a lot of history with us about the Great Wall - some bits more unnerving than others! (I won't ruin the surprise) ;-). The only areas that could be improved were largely out of our tour guide's hands, such as traffic and the general zoo that is overcrowded China. LOVED the picnic. Be sure to bring walking shoes and extra water.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was great. It is all that they describe, no shopping stops and you get to walk the Great Wall in a quite exhausting but not so full of tourists part of the Wall.
We had a rainy day so the toboggan wasn't available, take that into account and do check the weather before booking. I read everywhere that the toboggan was a great way to come down from the Wall.
We used the automatic chair to go up and down, do yourself a favor and use the chair. It's a 2 minutes ride and would save you a lot of energy you will need in the Wall.
The weather was rainy but didn't actually rain while we were on the Wall, so it was a very cool scene. The Wall did look like a dragon between clouds. So a rainy day is not a show-stopper for this tour anyway.

BUT beware, the chair ride is 100 Yuan! They don't mention this in the description, which is technically fine because they mention that this is not included, but they strongly recommend it. Take enough money to pay for that.
Also, the foot massage is great. It feels strange for a foreigner not used to having your feet massages by a stranger, but it is very relaxing after the first 2 mins. Talking about tips, I would recommend tipping around 50Y to the guide, and 20 to the driver and maybe 20 to the foot massage woman/man.

Jerry was a Super Cool guide!! Thank you for a great experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant tour, our guide Jason was very informative and spoke very good English. The section of wall at Mutianyu is truly amazing as is the chair lift to get up there.
Very interesting visit to the Ming Tomb complex and an excellent Chinese lunch in a good quality restaurant. The air conditioned car was very comfortable and the driver was good. Thank you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Went solo on this tour as I had just enough time at the end of my business trip.

Perfect Service and Great Tour! Would recommend this tour for anyone that wants a one day tour to see both the Great Wall in the hills of Mutianya and the Ming Tomb (Zhu Di). Jason was a perfect guide, excellent English, very Knowledgeable on the history of these sites and a great conversationalist. The toboggan ride is was a great way to go back down from the Wall site!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message