Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall at Mutianyu

Located 56 miles (90 kilometers) northeast of Beijing, the Great Wall at Mutianyu was restored in 1986 after the section at Badaling rose in popularity. This section of the great wall includes a long, flat segment winding along the heavily forested ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melissa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing day visiting the Great Wall! Winter is spectacular there (but very cold!) and not crowded in the least. Kevin was an outstanding tour guide and very knowledgable. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Marvin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were completely satisfied with our hiking tour at the Mutianyu Great Wall. Our tour guide - Rockie - was knowledgeable, friendly, and knew how to keep us informed, but also allow us to feel completely unstructured. The day just moved along. Our driver was extremely efficient, and knew how to best get us through Beijing traffic.
I'm glad we selected the hiking with picnic. There was not pressure, no shopping, and the picnic snack was a great break while on the Wall. We had lunch at a local restaurant after leaving the Wall.
This was my second trip to China, and first to Beijing. The Mutianyu Great Wall is incredible! I never dreamed I would be walking the Great Wall, there it was. The facilities at the base - the greeting center - were new, clean, and pleasant. They fit the surroundings. The wall offered incredible views.
I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Samantha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing day with Cintia, the guide from Viator at Beijing.
Very organized, punctual, helpful. Lunch was great!
And the Great Wall, a dream! Awesome place to visit to deepen our knowledge about mankind and Chinas history.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

sarah_

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had the best time at the Great Wall of China with Dennis as my guide. I was lucky as I was the only traveller. Dennis gave me plenty of information about the Wall and China and answered all of my questions. We arrived at 9am and were greeted by a winter wonderland. The Great Wall covered in snow was breathtaking. I am glad we left Beijing that early because we were almost the only people on the Wall for about three hours. I had plenty of time to take pictures and to discover everything. The lunch at a local restaurant was also very good. As the description says there are no shopping stops. Thank you for such an amazing once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

There was snow at the Great Wall and the road was closed to Mutianyu so we had to go to an alternate location. It was an excellent event still and great lunch as well! All positive!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

Patti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

On the way to The Wall, we stopped at a very nice jade factory - good education if you've never been.
The drive to The Wall was very scenic and the tour guide, Maria, was a fountain of knowledge about Chinese history, The Great Wall, the Chinese people and culture. Once at The Wall we all took the chair lift up to save time and our legs to spend more actual time on The Wall. The Mutianya section is a much less busy section of The Wall and the scenery is stunning. The guide gave a lot of information and stories about The Wall so we were able to spend a couple of hours just exploring on our own. I loved the toboggan ride down - super fun. Worth the extra cost.
After seeing The Wall, we went for a typical tourist lunch and we visited a Cloisonné factory. It was absolutely fascinating to see the process that is involved to make a piece of Cloisonné.
There was only 7 of us on the tour so we had lots of opportunity to talk with the other guests and our tour guide.
I would highly recommend this tour and ask for Maria.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

Rosalyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Great Wall walk was breathtaking with magnificent views and Tracey was a great tour guide. Certainly one tour not to miss!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Flor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu and Ming tumbs gave me more than what I was expecting. My guide William was well documented, spoke very good English and planned the tour very well. I really enjoyed it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

leona.tooley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the most exciting day of my trip to Beijing : The day started with our tour guide, Jackie, meeting us in our hotel foyer. From here, we made our way to the emerald factory. I wasn't too keen on making this stop when I initially booked the tour, but I must admit that it was quite enjoyable! It was fascinating to see the artists in action as they carve up the emerald into an array of statues and souvenirs. There was quite a bit of time spent on the tour bus, but thankfully, Jackie kept us entertained with stories about the Pandas, Chinese traditions, family life etc. Next stop was the great wall. WOW! What a remarkable part of the world! We caught the cable car up and looking back over my shoulder as we creeped up to the wall took my breathe away. It is truly spectacular !! We spent about an hour and a half on the wall itself. Although, I could have spent the whole day there! This was my only criticism of the trip - perhaps a little more time on the wall would have been nice. When you get to Mutianyu, you will be given the option top choose between two cable cars companies. Be sure to go with the company that has the option to toboggan down the hill. The toboggan is a whole lot of fun and highly recommended. Although, you also have the option of returning by cable car if you wish. The lunch provided for us was great and the visit to the Cloisonné factory was an interesting. On the way back to Beijing, Jackie stopped off at a tea house. I wasn't aware this was part of our tour, but it was a welcome addition. I would have had no interest to visit the tea house prior to the tour, but I am so glad we had the chance to stopover here. Here, we were ushered into a private room and learnt about the different types of Chinese tea and how to prepare them. The tea was great and our English speaking host was very knowledgable and entertaining. All up, this was a fantastic tour and I highly recommended it !!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great price for what it included! The transport from Beijing to the Wall was roughly 2 hrs each way. I spent about 2 hrs hiking the Great Wall and it was absolutely amazing! Beautiful views around and just an amazing feat to visit one of the Ancient Great Wonders of the World. Viator tour also included a family-style lunch at a nice restaurant at the bottom of the mountain where we the buses park. Overall, highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Wai Ping W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great Tour. In my opinion Mutianyu section is prettier than Badaling section although it is harder to climb. The countryside autumn colour is amazing. My tour guide speaks excellent English and is very attentive. Lunch is well served.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

Tania T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My guide William was excellent. He took me to the Great Wall early so we avoided crowds and traffic getting out of Beijing. He was very informative and completely tailored the tour to my requirements. I consider myself lucky to have had such an excellent guide and driver.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Janaith P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Vivian was amazing and the tour was perfect. We arrived at the Great Wall very early and got to spend about 3 hrs visiting Vivian's recommendations. The hike was a bit challenging but the view was worth it! We also visited a local restaurant with delicious food! Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Felix H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

no hidden shopping stops, great tour guide, part of the great wall with not to many tourists, lunch was o.k.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Eben F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was an awesome experience. We started the tour at the Ming Tombs since our guide knew the time table for a historical daily performance re-inacting honors to the MIng emperors and wanted us to experience this. Then on to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. We'd been to the Great Wall a couple of years ago, but at a location that was very crowded with large group tours. Mutianyu was excellent. While we knew this was listed as a private tour by Viator, we were still amazed that we had a private driver and a very knowledgeable private guide for the entire day and took some back roads during the trip which gave us insight into local villages. We paid extra for the cable car to the top of the Great Wall and avoided what otherwise would have been a grueling climb up. Our guide accompanied us even while we walked on the wall. We had a lunch stop at a local restaurant and avoided the tour groups.
This was an excellent experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Eben F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was an awesome experience. We started the tour at the Ming Tombs since our guide knew the time table for a historical daily performance re-inacting honors to the MIng emperors and wanted us to experience this. Then on to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. We'd been to the Great Wall a couple of years ago, but at a location that was very crowded with large group tours. Mutianyu was excellent. While we knew this was listed as a private tour by Viator, we were still amazed that we had a private driver and a very knowledgeable private guide for the entire day and took some back roads during the trip which gave us insight into local villages. We paid extra for the cable car to the top of the Great Wall and avoided what otherwise would have been a grueling climb up. Our guide accompanied us even while we walked on the wall. We had a lunch stop at a local restaurant and avoided the tour groups.
This was an excellent experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

VANESSA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I can warmly recommend this tour. I had a very early appointment at 7 am so we arrived at nearly 8:15 am at the Mutyanu section of the Great Wall. It was really great, quite little people only at this time of the day.
I was alone with my guide, Vivian, and with the driver. Vivian was interesting and friendly and I learned lots of things with her. The drived us safely and the car was clean. At the end of the visit, we were in a chinese restaurant for local people. So, real and excellent chinese food not for tourists.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

lucia d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent hours at the Great Wall. I would have liked more details of the history of China but the tour was perfect with a lot of time to walk around the wall and take excellent pictures. The guide was very nice and took us only two people to a simple yet delicious local restaurant!! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Olano.makhubela1976

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! I was taken to only one tomb and only its main hall. I think visiting two or three of the open tombs would be great to give one a good sense of the site. The Great Wall was exceptional, and I am giving the tour a 5 largely because of the Great Wall visit. The drive and scenery of Beijing outskirts were excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Ricardo P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip started on time. We have arrived on our destination quite early, so we haven't found many tourist. The guide was really nice, either explaining the history of and behind the Great Wall, either discussing several subjects about China. An excellent cultural and social experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Benjamin A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Yes, it was well worth the amount of money I paid for the trip. The tour guide took us walking the whole section of the Mutianyu wall. Spent about 3 to 4 hours hiking and taking pictures of the wall. We also got to ride the toboggan down which was a highlight. They pick me up at my hotel and dropped me off after the tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

Catherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide Cynthia was tops. She was knowledgeable, and fun to be with. Picked us up at the stated time, and from there had a great time. Great Wall is magnificent - and her historical knowledge enhanced the experience. Tombs were spectacular, as was the Jade Factory. Great lecture about Jade. The craftsmen and women working there were fascinating. The tea tasting was a treat --- an all around great day. Cynthia made the Beijing visit worth every penny.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

VC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We visited China and used Viator to schedule a tour to The Great Wall in Beijing as well as 2 Olympic sites. Cris was our guide and she did an outstanding job. She communicated with us to confirm the details prior to the tour and phones is one she arrived the hotel to tell us she was there and how to identify her. In addition to the scheduled attractions Cris was also able to give us a kind of insider's view of the city and the country since she is a native Chinese. Her guidance along the Great Wall was fantastic because of her knowledge of its history. The tour included lunch at a nice restaurant. She adjusted the order to accommodate some food allergies but still got us a nice blend of local cuisine to enjoy. The tour with Cris was a wonderful experience which I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Mutianyu Great Wall and Olympic Sites in Beijing

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour of the Great Wall at Mutianyu was absolutely remarkable. Our tour guide Jerry was very good and couldn't be more accommodating. At first, we were not too keen on the very early departure time of 7AM because let's face it, nobody wants to get up early when on vacation. However, in the end, we appreciated it because we were able to enjoy, and I mean ENJOY, the Great Wall sans the hordes of tourists just check out the pics.

The wall at Mutianyu, being a tad farther away from Beijing than Badaling, is a perfect choice for people who want to avoid the throngs of tourists who descend on the more popular with Disney like atmosphere Badaling section of the wall. Upon arrival at the park, we took the cable car CNY 100 roundtrip to ascend up the mountain which was a very convenient and practical way to get up there because it allowed us more time to spend at the wall instead of climbing up the mountain.

Walking on the wall was just surreal. Also, because we were there during the cherry blossom season, the blooms just made it more picturesque. We started at tower 14 and walked all the way to tower 21 which is the endpoint where tourists are allowed. CAUTION!!! To fully enjoy the view from the top of tower 21 which also happens to be the highest point where tourists can go, one must be relatively fit to climb the steep and unforgiving last 500 steps up. Otherwise, take your time with plenty of rest periods and you will be rewarded with sweeping views of the wall, the mountains and the valley below once you get to the top.

We were a little apprehensive about the lunch prior to it because of previous experiences. However, the lunch that was provided actually tasted good. To add icing on the cake, this tour DID NOT include a stop at factories or stores or markets that tend to predominate and sabotage great experiences.

Overall, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Eben F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a highlight of the trip. I still can't believe the personal attention we got and how reasonable the price was. We had one guide for the two of us and a driver and sedan all day. The guide was very informative and with us all the time, except for lunch which was a very good Chinese lunch in a small local restaurant. We paid extra well worth it for a cable car ride to the top of the Mutianyu Great Wall, which is much less crowded than many other touristy portions of the Great Wall near Beijing. Then, we made the climb to the top and spent about and hour hiking on the wall and taking remarkable photos with our guide with us the whole way.
The Ming Tomb was remarkable and the tour was timed to be there for a daily ceremony.
There were two stops at a Jade Factory and another factory, but no pressure to buy.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message