• USD ($)
  • English

Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall at Mutianyu

Located 56 miles (90 kilometers) northeast of Beijing, the Great Wall at Mutianyu was restored in 1986 after the section at Badaling rose in popularity. This section of the great wall includes a long, flat segment winding along the heavily forested ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 162 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A very enjoyable day, thank you Michael (guide) for making it so. Well worth the money we paid for it. Excellent!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Highly recommend this tour the Great Wall is amazing

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was my FAVORITE trip in Beijing! Our guide from urban adventures, Jerry, was absolutely terrific. I loved that we left early in the morning so by the time we go to the Great Wall, we had it almost to ourselves for the climb up - far from the massive crowds everywhere else in Beijing. The views were stunning. Although you have to pass the souvenir gauntlet on the way back to the van, it's worth it to buy a "I hiked the Great Wall" t-shirt, since I never saw them sold anywhere else. I am so glad we picked this trip rather than see the closer part of the wall. Take LOTS of pictures!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a terrific tour with a knowledgeable and friendly guide. The Mutianyu section of the Great Wall is incredibly scenic and beautiful, and not overly busy. We did this tour in early June and there was just ourselves plus two other travellers. This section of the wall is restored, but if you walk to the easternmost point of where visitors are allowed to venture, you can look at and photograph an unrestored section. This tour had a good mix of narration from our guide, Kevin, during the drive to the wall, and free time on the wall so people could hike at their own pace. A fun feature of the Mutianyu Great Wall is the option to take a cable car up to the wall (eliminates a one-thousand-step climb so you can save your energy for hiking on the wall) and a luge-type "toboggan" back down. We enjoyed the lunch at a local restaurant and the reflexology massage afterwards. After taking this tour I spoke to friends who said some tours include boring side trips to jade shops, this tour has none of that. Thanks Kevin and tour company for a great day!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I loved every minute of this tour. This section of the Great Wall is very beautiful. I understand that our First Lady chose this section when she visited the Wall...and did the tobaggan slide option down to the parking area as did I. I'm 71 and I survived the climb and slide. Lot's of fun and very educational

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My family of five took this tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. The service was fantastic. I corresponded with the company prior to our trip (through Viator) in order to advise them that my family included three parents in their 70's with mobility issues. The company also confirmed our tour in advance and provided a contact name and phone number just in case. They showed up promptly at our hotel on time with a clean van, a nice driver, and an energetic tour guide (Jimmy). The guide took good care of us and was especially attentive to our parents. The day we went it was 110-degrees on the wall, but Jimmy took good care of us. The guide provided us with a picnic (snacks) and champagne in the shade...other visitors passing by were jealous! We saw so many wonderful things in China, but our tour to Mutianyu was the highlight.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful day - the private tour was worth the extra cost. Our tour guide was excellent, full of information, spoke excellent English, and got us started early so we could avoid the crowds. The toboggan ride down from the wall was an unexpected bonus! We had about 1 hour and 40 minutes on the wall then went on to tour the Ming Tombs. The included lunch was OK, nothing great, and was at the jade factory. Overall a great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wow what a great day, I would recommend this trip and this company to everyone, only had 4 days in Beijing, did 2 very different tours and loved them both. Jackie many thanks for your impressive knowledge and sharing it.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

AMAZING! Guide, Michelle, gave tour of a lifetime! Informative general/detailed facts about Beijing and Great Wall delightful and interesting. No rain cancellation lead to stellar view of Great Wall emerging from a bed of clouds!!! Added treat of local lunch and reflexology made PERFECT China trip!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour 4 of 4 in Beijing and we saved the best until last. This was our 2nd visit to the great wall (See my Badaling review) and this section is by far the more beautiful, I gave the other 5 stars so If I could have I would have given this at least 6. We were collected at 7am and driven from an hr and a half to Mutianyu where we were given the option of which part we wanted to go up to you can go up in a cable car run by one company or a chair lift run by another, We chose the chair lift as a group, why?, because the chair lift company also run the toboggan so we got to slide back down afterwards which was amazing.
Not to mention the wonderful views of a section less restored than some others and a lot less crowded, we have loads of photos of just me and my wife standing on the great wall, Beautiful.
We got 2 hrs free on the wall but our guide Cynthia had given us the chance to have 2 and a half if we wanted but some of the other people on the wall were happy with 2 and that turned out to be plenty anyway.
Lunch was lovely at an enamel factory which was very interesting to see the effort that goes into making the vases etc.
Cynthia spoke very fast but was also very funny and a few misunderstandings in the tour bus had the group in stitches not least the pronouncing of peanuts as pen*s.
Our favourite day in Beijing and we both felt that the tours were done brilliantly and worked very well to avoid as much of the traffic and heat as possible, which could have been unbearable. The side stops at factories and tea houses are interesting and just say no if you don't want to buy, we went to the tea house twice and on the second time we weren't even offered anything to buy as we had been before. They are not pushy but they are sales people so they will follow you like in every shop in Beijing, in our free time we went shopping and the staff in normal shops were more pushy its just they're way of delivering customer service, they want to follow you in case you want them.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

An absolute must for anyone going to China. So much better than the wall at Badaling - better views, fewer people, etc.. Urbane Adventures is an excellent company which focuses on the traveler, not the shopping. Our guide was extremely good and very knowledgeable. The foot massage at the end of the tour was to die for.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide Michael was awesome, so friendly and nice. But the main reason for booking this tour was to be able to get straight to the WALL! We left Beijing quite early so when we arrived at the wall there were almost no people walking on it. We quickly hiked far up and got to a section of wall that was actually overgrown and crumbling, past the touristy, renovated part. This was all BREATHTAKING. I highly recommend anyone to go visit this Mutianyu section of the wall. GO GO GO!!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great guide, AMAZING VIEWS and spectacular time on the wall ^_^

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic tour, guide was helpful. Great value for the money.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had the best tour guide who was extremely attentive to our family. He learned about us and the made the tour come alive for us. Thank you Frank! We saw many historical places with great access and also got a chance to understand the people of Beijing.

Doing what: 3-Night Best of Beijing Private Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message