• USD ($)
  • English

Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall at Mutianyu

Located 56 miles (90 kilometers) northeast of Beijing, the Great Wall at Mutianyu was restored in 1986 after the section at Badaling rose in popularity. This section of the great wall includes a long, flat segment winding along the heavily forested ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic tour, guide was helpful. Great value for the money.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had the best tour guide who was extremely attentive to our family. He learned about us and the made the tour come alive for us. Thank you Frank! We saw many historical places with great access and also got a chance to understand the people of Beijing.

Doing what: 3-Night Best of Beijing Private Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

we had a wonderful time going to the Great Wall and Olympic park with our guide Robert. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. The driver was also very patient and safe. Lunch was very nice and delicious. My only recommendation is to raise the price to include the lift up the Great Wall and choice of toboggan ride down-- which was fun! Thank you so much for a wonderful day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Mutianyu Great Wall, Olympic Sites and Optional Hot Springs Spa in Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was amazing in Winter with Snow on the wall and very few people around. Tom was a wonderful host and he carried our snacks and drinks all the way to a high turret. Tom was very patient and caring and will be planning another trip again with my sister and hope we get Tom again. A great experience and well worth doing.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Gourmet Picnic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Without a doubt the highlight of our trip to Beijing. John, our tour guide, could not have been better. He was extremely generous with his time, and his knowledge of Beijing and the Great Wall was outstanding. At no time were we rushed and the picnic on the Great Wall was envied by all other tourists. We finished at a resaurant which was also of high quality and lots, lots of food. Our driver Mr Shing is a gentleman and could not have been more helpful or friendly. If you do nothing else, do this tour. Ask for John and Mr Shing. Simply excellent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Gourmet Picnic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I would definitely recommend this tour. We were fortunate to be the only ones on the tour. John picked us up at hotel on time and spoke good English. He was very informative on the history of China and the Great Wall. He highlighted the key areas to have our pictures taken and promptly offered to take our picture. We had a memorable picnic on the Great Wall with a picnic blanket, Chinese snacks, and a bottle of champagne. We were definitely the envy of passing tourist and one commented that we knew how to do it right by having a picnic there with champagne. The lunch location and cuisine was definitely an introduction to the local cuisine. A stop by the Olympic Park was a nice added bonus. Many thanks for a memorable day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Gourmet Picnic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was perfect and rediculous lay cheap for the amount of activities/info/travel time we received. As promised, the remote section of the wall was terrific (spent two hours hiking to the nonrestored section, if u chose to do this there is no time to get to the tobogganing).

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour! Grace was a very helpful guide and we had a lot of fun. Don't skip the toboggan ride and the foot massage at the end - they're the best parts.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Really enjoyed the tour! The Great Wall was one of our highlights and our tour guide was fantastic! He was extremely friendly and helpful! Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour for the Great Wall at Mutianyu. May be expanded a bit more (our talkative and friendly and helpful guide told us that the tour offers more time "on the wall" than any other tour availible; yet an hour or so more time wouldn't hurt).

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I had a great time on this tour. Because of scheduling the tour ended up being two of us, our driver, and our outstanding guide Jason. Jason had a fantastic way of providing an overview of Beijing, it's history, the "must see" sites, and the "must do" things. All on the hour drive to the Wall from our hotel.

The Mutianyu section of the wall is much nicer to see than the section at Badaling (which I visited years ago). Clean, well cared for, and the local vendors were more friendly than threatening. You have the choice of riding from the parking lot to the wall on either a tram or chair lift. We chose the chair since you had the option to take an alpine slide back down when we were done. Added fun!

The views were spectacular, even though there was quite a bit of smog when we started. We stopped at a cloisonne factory and government run silk shop on the way back to the hotel, and they added to the fun. One word of caution there--if you hold off to make any silk purchases as the famous Silk Street market you'll save a ton (provided you can negotiate).

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide Jason spoke perfect English and was really nice and knowledgeable. There was only one other person in my tour so we just traveled around in a 4-door sedan. We got to the Great Wall before most of the other big tour groups/buses so we had the whole place to ourselves for over one hour. We were there for 2 hours total, plenty of time to see every angle of the wall. Please note that you have to pay an additional fee in cash (RMB) depending on whether you take the gondola/cable car or the chair lift to the get to the top for walking the wall. Lunch was a huge feast and really delicious. We also had time to drive through the Olympic Village, visit a pottery factory, and enjoy free tea during a tea ceremony. It was the perfect day trip and ended around 3 pm with enough time to take in more sites on your own if you're not too tired. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were picked up from our hotel right on time. We had booked a group tour, but ended up with a private tour just for me and my husband. Our tour guide was very friendly and full of information about the sites we visited and about life in Beijing today. Our driver was excellent and skillfully maneuvered the traffic on the crowded streets and roads. The tour guide suggested that we go to the Great Wall at Mutianyu first, early in the morning and it was good that we did. As we were leaving the crowds were gathering and the lines were long. We were there during "Golden Week" and people were every where. The cable ride at Mutianyu is an experience not to be forgotten.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message