Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall from Jinshanling to Simatai

Jinshanling and Simatai are two of the most remote and least restored portions of the Great Wall near Beijing. Visitors craving a more natural Great Wall experience, without the buses and crowds of domestic tourists posing for photos at every step, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An amazing experience, mostly because of how great our tour guide Peter was. It turned out the small group was just myself and one other person, so we took a nice cab instead of a van. Peter gave us the history of the wall during our drive, and was very knowledgeable. What we learned on the way there was more interesting than all of what I heard during a full-day bus tour of the typical Beijing attractions.

The hike was somewhat difficult for me, as my legs started cramping up towards the end I haven't hiked in a long time and only recently started running to become more fit. My phone said I had climbed the equivalent of 93 floors by the time I was done. But if you're generally an active person, I don't think you should have a problem. Peter was very accommodating. He also would point out different parts of the wall that each had their own stories behind them, and would let us know which ones were replicas. He also set up various photo-ops as we were walking, which was especially appreciated since I was traveling alone and I know my family likes to see pictures of me in places, and this way I didn't have to bother anyone to take my picture. He uploaded the photos to a USB drive and gave them to us on the way back.

There was no push to buy anything along the way we didn't even stop to look. Peter helped me find my way back to my hotel using the subway instead of a taxi, which was a much more pleasant experience since it was rush hour when we got back.

If I ever come back I will be booking with this group again, and will be more prepared so I can take one of their more difficult hikes.

Doing what: One-day Small Group Highlight of Great Wall Hiking Simatai West to Jinshanling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing. If I could, I'd give this seven out of five stars. Peter the guide was awesome. Knowledgeable and well-prepared. Half way through the hike he produced ice cream out of his backpack along with cold drinks!

Doing what: One-day Small Group Highlight of Great Wall Hiking Simatai West to Jinshanling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you're looking to avoid crowds, get a good working out, and spend a good amount of time with the wall, then this is the trip for you. Despite light rain for most of the day, this was the highlight of our trip to China. The steep hike up to the wall was challenging, but really gives you respect for the engineering that went into this wonder. I will admit that when wet, the wall is a challenge to hike, as many of the declines are smooth stone without steps. However the walking stick provided by the tour company was very helpful.

Don't worry about not being picked up at your hotel. We went to the location we were told, at the time we were told, and the tour guide found us. He was very helpful along the trip, taking pictures, providing history, and even pointing out tourist destinations we should visit in our coming days in Beijing.

Doing what: One-day Small Group Highlight of Great Wall Hiking Simatai West to Jinshanling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was my 3 time to see the Great Wall and this trip was the best experience by far! Our guide, Yaxin Wu was amazing and the small group size really added to the experience! Yaxin was so knowledgable about the Great Wall he made sure to share his knowledge with us along the journey! The hike wasn't too challenging and we also had a chance to hike on both the unrestored and restored sections of the Great Wall. The whole time that we were on the Great Wall we only saw around 30 people. I would highly recommend this trip if you want a unique experience on the Great Wall.

Doing what: One-day Small Group Highlight of Great Wall Hiking Simatai West to Jinshanling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This hike was the highlight of my 2-week trip across China. The portion of the Great Wall that we covered was perfect - sometimes old and crumbling, sometimes restored, but never crowded. Our guide Yaxin was amazing - extremely knowledgeable, excellent English, very friendly, and with a deep appreciation of the Wall. The small group size 3 plus the guide in my trip gave us plenty of one on one time with the guide. I can't imagine hiking the Wall any other way. Highly recommended.

Doing what: One-day Small Group Highlight of Great Wall Hiking Simatai West to Jinshanling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an amazing tour! I only had one day as a tourist while on a business trip to Beijing, so I did a lot of research to pick my perfect tour of the Great Wall. I chose this tour for a few reasons. One, I wanted to get away from the locations closer to the city so there would be less crowds, less pollution and a more natural environment. This tour delivered on all three. We never felt crowded at all and maybe saw fewer than 40 people on our entire hike. The scenery was beautiful, with the Wall running along a mountain ridge that stretched off into the distance, and further off the purple and grey shapes of towering mountains just visible through the haze.

Our guide, Tao, was friendly and knowledgeable. He answered our constant stream of questions about the Wall, Beijing history and culture, etc. He even helped figure out the right route for me to take to use the subway/metro to get back to my hotel so I could avoid the traffic I would face by taking a cab. He was there to help guide us on trickier parts of the wall climb as well. Lunch at the end of the tour was delicious, with simple, fresh dishes from the local farmer's restaurant. A perfect cap to the day.

This tour ended up being the perfect way for me to experience the Wall. If you want beautiful scenery, a less pre-packaged Wall experience and the sense of satisfaction that comes from a good hike, this is the tour for you. This one is not for everybody. There is a solid hour of hiking mostly stairs just to get to the wall, and once there it requires some climbs up/down very steep areas, so be prepared for a real workout.

Doing what: One-day Small Group Highlight of Great Wall Hiking Simatai West to Jinshanling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent trip to Jinshanling - would do this again.

Doing what: Great Wall Hiking Tour from Beijing: Simatai West to Jinshanling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous tour - December was a great time (albeit it very cold) to see the wall as it was virtually deserted. Stunning views and definitely the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Great Wall Hiking Tour from Beijing: Simatai West to Jinshanling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This company went above and beyond to give me a great experience. The tour guide was friendly and personable and easy to understand. After hiking with stunning ancient views we had a phenomenal home style prepared meal. Truly unforgettable

Doing what: Great Wall Hiking Tour from Beijing: Simatai West to Jinshanling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Please ignore previous rating. The trip was amazing and it was great to go to wild parts of the wall away from the busy areas. Frank our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. We really enjoyed staying in the farmhouse with great food and atmosphere.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Wall Hiking Tour from Beijing: Jiankou, Mutianyu, Jinshanling and Simatai West

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Pretty good. Friendly guide, spoke English reasonably well. Didn't seem to know too much about historical things.

Doing what: Great Wall Hiking Tour from Beijing: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message