• USD ($)
  • English

Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China is the greatest symbol of ancient Chinese engineering and one of the world's most famous structures. Its name in Chinese means 'Long Fortress', and it was built to protect the northern edge of the Chinese empire against ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 168 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Highly recommend this tour the Great Wall is amazing

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was my FAVORITE trip in Beijing! Our guide from urban adventures, Jerry, was absolutely terrific. I loved that we left early in the morning so by the time we go to the Great Wall, we had it almost to ourselves for the climb up - far from the massive crowds everywhere else in Beijing. The views were stunning. Although you have to pass the souvenir gauntlet on the way back to the van, it's worth it to buy a "I hiked the Great Wall" t-shirt, since I never saw them sold anywhere else. I am so glad we picked this trip rather than see the closer part of the wall. Take LOTS of pictures!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We saw everything at a reasonable pace; had a great translator "Caroli" Who had so much knowledge! No pressure to make purchases. Small group, fun day! The Great Wall was amazing!!!

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent time, excellent tour, excellent guide! Our guide named Carly arrived at our hotel just when she said she would. She spoke perfect English. Since there were only the two of us on the tour, she gave us the option of going to a different area of the Great Wall which she said wouldn't be as crowded. We took this option and we were amazed. After climbing on the Wall and visiting the Ming Tombs, we went on an unscheduled trip to a tea house in Beijing for a tasting. This was awesome and we came away with lots of gifts for our friends back home. This tour made our fifth anniversary trip to Beijing memorable. Thank you!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a terrific tour with a knowledgeable and friendly guide. The Mutianyu section of the Great Wall is incredibly scenic and beautiful, and not overly busy. We did this tour in early June and there was just ourselves plus two other travellers. This section of the wall is restored, but if you walk to the easternmost point of where visitors are allowed to venture, you can look at and photograph an unrestored section. This tour had a good mix of narration from our guide, Kevin, during the drive to the wall, and free time on the wall so people could hike at their own pace. A fun feature of the Mutianyu Great Wall is the option to take a cable car up to the wall (eliminates a one-thousand-step climb so you can save your energy for hiking on the wall) and a luge-type "toboggan" back down. We enjoyed the lunch at a local restaurant and the reflexology massage afterwards. After taking this tour I spoke to friends who said some tours include boring side trips to jade shops, this tour has none of that. Thanks Kevin and tour company for a great day!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I loved every minute of this tour. This section of the Great Wall is very beautiful. I understand that our First Lady chose this section when she visited the Wall...and did the tobaggan slide option down to the parking area as did I. I'm 71 and I survived the climb and slide. Lot's of fun and very educational

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My family of five took this tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. The service was fantastic. I corresponded with the company prior to our trip (through Viator) in order to advise them that my family included three parents in their 70's with mobility issues. The company also confirmed our tour in advance and provided a contact name and phone number just in case. They showed up promptly at our hotel on time with a clean van, a nice driver, and an energetic tour guide (Jimmy). The guide took good care of us and was especially attentive to our parents. The day we went it was 110-degrees on the wall, but Jimmy took good care of us. The guide provided us with a picnic (snacks) and champagne in the shade...other visitors passing by were jealous! We saw so many wonderful things in China, but our tour to Mutianyu was the highlight.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a family trip and we all feel victorious to conquer the heights of the Great Wall. The morning rain did not spoil the trip in any way. Our tourist guide, Chynthia Cai, made the initiative to find us umbrellas and we started at Ming Tombs before proceeding to the Great Wall. It was a real good experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

AMAZING! Guide, Michelle, gave tour of a lifetime! Informative general/detailed facts about Beijing and Great Wall delightful and interesting. No rain cancellation lead to stellar view of Great Wall emerging from a bed of clouds!!! Added treat of local lunch and reflexology made PERFECT China trip!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was great, Jacky was very knowledgeable about everything we visited and had great historical insights to everything Chinese and in Beijing. He proposed a couple of different options and the section of the great wall we went to was not overly crowded, which made the views even more spectacular. He also took us to a chinese tea house which I did not think was on the itinerary and that was a great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour 4 of 4 in Beijing and we saved the best until last. This was our 2nd visit to the great wall (See my Badaling review) and this section is by far the more beautiful, I gave the other 5 stars so If I could have I would have given this at least 6. We were collected at 7am and driven from an hr and a half to Mutianyu where we were given the option of which part we wanted to go up to you can go up in a cable car run by one company or a chair lift run by another, We chose the chair lift as a group, why?, because the chair lift company also run the toboggan so we got to slide back down afterwards which was amazing.
Not to mention the wonderful views of a section less restored than some others and a lot less crowded, we have loads of photos of just me and my wife standing on the great wall, Beautiful.
We got 2 hrs free on the wall but our guide Cynthia had given us the chance to have 2 and a half if we wanted but some of the other people on the wall were happy with 2 and that turned out to be plenty anyway.
Lunch was lovely at an enamel factory which was very interesting to see the effort that goes into making the vases etc.
Cynthia spoke very fast but was also very funny and a few misunderstandings in the tour bus had the group in stitches not least the pronouncing of peanuts as pen*s.
Our favourite day in Beijing and we both felt that the tours were done brilliantly and worked very well to avoid as much of the traffic and heat as possible, which could have been unbearable. The side stops at factories and tea houses are interesting and just say no if you don't want to buy, we went to the tea house twice and on the second time we weren't even offered anything to buy as we had been before. They are not pushy but they are sales people so they will follow you like in every shop in Beijing, in our free time we went shopping and the staff in normal shops were more pushy its just they're way of delivering customer service, they want to follow you in case you want them.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Great Wall is impressive and a once in a life time experience. The tour was well organized and the tour guide (Michael) was very helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great day. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken the short distance to Tienimen square. Then onto the Forbidden city. For most of our visit to the Great Wall, we were the only visitors there. Our guide Carolyn was fantastic. Highly recommended

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My tour guide was Jason, and he was excellent! Spoke English very well, was able to give me great information on the tour, and even emailed me a copy of a picture of us at the Great Wall after! Great experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Without a doubt the highlight of our trip to Beijing. John, our tour guide, could not have been better. He was extremely generous with his time, and his knowledge of Beijing and the Great Wall was outstanding. At no time were we rushed and the picnic on the Great Wall was envied by all other tourists. We finished at a resaurant which was also of high quality and lots, lots of food. Our driver Mr Shing is a gentleman and could not have been more helpful or friendly. If you do nothing else, do this tour. Ask for John and Mr Shing. Simply excellent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message