Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China is the greatest symbol of ancient Chinese engineering and one of the world's most famous structures. Its name in Chinese means 'Long Fortress', and it was built to protect the northern edge of the Chinese empire against ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 180 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bing
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I had a great time in China. I visited many interesting places during this trip. Besides, I appreciated many wonderful performance in each attraction. Our tour guide is very passionate and considerate. With her help, my trip became more pleasant and memorable. Those well know scenic spots like the Great Wall, the Fobidden City, the Summer Palace never fail to stir my excitement.

Doing what: 11-Day Splendors of China: Beijing, Xi'an, Shanghai and Chongqing with Yangtze River Cruise

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My wife and I are both interested in Easten culture, therefore, we choose China for our honeymoon. I’d like to say that it’s the best choice I have ever made. We had a great time in this trip. We visited the top attractions in China. All of them are terrific. The Great Wall is magnificent, the Forbidden City is spectacular, the life-sized Terracotta Warriors are gorgeous. Each attraction in my mind possesses it’s own unique beauty. Sorry for the short list. We took a lot of photos for a good memory. And I’m sure that we will cherish them forever. At last, I want to give my great thanks to our nice guide David who is very considerate and helped us a lot during this pleasant period.

Doing what: 11-Day Splendors of China: Beijing, Xi'an, Shanghai and Chongqing with Yangtze River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent way to experience Beijing for first-time Americans like my wife and I. Our guide John was very informative. His English was excellent. He made us feel welcomed and comfortable in what for us was a very foreign environment. As per the tour description he picked us up upon our arrival, got us checked into the hotel, took us out for meals, and guided us on our tours around Beijing. Based upon our desires, he selected the restaurants and did all the ordering. We greatly enjoyed all of his selections. We feel like we had very authentic dining experiences.

The sites are wonderful, but be prepared for extensive walking and bad air. The first full day was six hours of walking before we asked to take a rest in advance of the acrobatics show. John was able to accommodate us by finding a coffee and tea room where we spent a quiet hour. The show and the Great Wall were awesome! However, the air quality in Beijing was extremely bad while we were there. Visibility from the Forbidden City and the Great Wall was very limited which was disappointing. That combined with the strenuous walking makes this tour difficult for those with health issues.

The default hotel is the Jingtailong. It is within walking distance of Tiananmen, shopping, and dining. Some of the staff speak English. The included breakfast is at the hotel's restaurant and is an Asian/Western buffet (have your room key card available). The rooms and beds are large and comfortable but the beds are firm. Check-in/check-out is different from our experiences in other countries. While John handled the check-in, it involve a lot of activity and time. A deposit is required- keep the receipt. Check-out also involves a lot of time and activity- present the deposit receipt to speed the refund. The housekeeper will inspect the room for damages before the desk will complete check-out. Allow 30 minutes prior to pickup.

Overall, this tour was awesome and met or exceeded all our expectations.

Doing what: 4-Day Private Tour of Beijing: Great Wall, Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Peking Duck Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour and our tour guide Jason was excellent! We totally lucked out and were only 4 pax on the tour so felt very private. He gave lots of great information on Beijing and the history on the drive to the Great Wall and assisted us all the way to the cable car. To maximize your time on the GW, I'd highly recommend the cable car but the toboggan wasn't open as it was raining slightly. Still made the most of the two hours we had on the GW then enjoyed a delicious feast at the Cloisonné Factory which was great. The tea house experience is a huge part of the Chinese culture and very informative. Very well organized and professional all the way!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly recommended tour of the Great Wall of China and Ming Tomb. The tour guide was very flexible allowing us to spend as much time as desired at each location. We were not rushed at any spot. Additionally, the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and able to speak English very well. This part of the wall is absolutely stunning with beautiful views of the mountains. Be ready to spend a few minutes at the Jade factory. I did not purchase anything and was not pushed into buying anything.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide Cynthia was very kind and nice with us. She tried to made our tour very exciting and interesting. My flight was delayed so I start the tour later, after the Forbidden city so she told me they will make a refund for that. I didn't asked for it so it was very nice from her.
We went to the Jade Factory and we ate there; the food was very good and enough for all of us. After that we went to the Silk Factory and to the Great Wall. It was amazing but maybe not enough time, only 1:30 hour. We finished at the Tea ceremony very interesting. GREAT TOUR! RECOMMENDED FOR ONLY ONE DAY IN BEIJING!

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We lost our luggage while traveling from HK to Beijing. We called and requested to postpone our trip to mu tian Yu Great Wall which scheduled on the next day. Thanks to Cynthia for her kind understanding n flexibility. Everyone liked her especially the 3 kids who loves her is much , bravo Cynthia

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An amazing tour, a great value. I have done Viator tours in several countries and I have never been disappointed. This trip was no exception. My guide (Jeana) was amazing. She had a wealth of knowledge, spoke excellent English and was fun to be with. I was met at the hotel at the correct time and much to my surprise I was the only person on the tour. We headed out with our driver in a clean cab and alone the way she explained things about the Great Wall and China in general. At the wall she accompanied me and allowed me to proceed at my own pace, as I was taking photos and due to the wall being quite steep in some places. She provided advice on how to negotiate with the shopkeepers. On the way back to Beijing we stopped in a town and had dinner at a very "real" Chinese restaurant. Once in Beijing, I was then taken to get a one hour foot massage. This tour was an incredible value for the money. Thanks again to Jeana, for a great day.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

AMAZING!!! Transfer, hotel pick up and tour absolutely perfect! Tour guide even phoned our hotel day before to confirm timings, small minivan collected us and drove us to the Great Wall! Also stopped at a tea house and a Chinese art place! Perfect section of the wall too!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour with a great guide! Dennis was informative and helpful. We had a wonderful day at the Great Wall, would highly recommend this trip. Lunch and the massage were an amazing extra touch.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was freeing to let the tour guide handle the logistical hootenanny while I was able to simply enjoy the rustic beauty of this magnificent structure. Our tour guide was friendly, professional, and timely. She balanced well our need to have privacy at times, but her company was enjoyable nonetheless. She shared a lot of history with us about the Great Wall - some bits more unnerving than others! (I won't ruin the surprise) ;-). The only areas that could be improved were largely out of our tour guide's hands, such as traffic and the general zoo that is overcrowded China. LOVED the picnic. Be sure to bring walking shoes and extra water.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was great. It is all that they describe, no shopping stops and you get to walk the Great Wall in a quite exhausting but not so full of tourists part of the Wall.
We had a rainy day so the toboggan wasn't available, take that into account and do check the weather before booking. I read everywhere that the toboggan was a great way to come down from the Wall.
We used the automatic chair to go up and down, do yourself a favor and use the chair. It's a 2 minutes ride and would save you a lot of energy you will need in the Wall.
The weather was rainy but didn't actually rain while we were on the Wall, so it was a very cool scene. The Wall did look like a dragon between clouds. So a rainy day is not a show-stopper for this tour anyway.

BUT beware, the chair ride is 100 Yuan! They don't mention this in the description, which is technically fine because they mention that this is not included, but they strongly recommend it. Take enough money to pay for that.
Also, the foot massage is great. It feels strange for a foreigner not used to having your feet massages by a stranger, but it is very relaxing after the first 2 mins. Talking about tips, I would recommend tipping around 50Y to the guide, and 20 to the driver and maybe 20 to the foot massage woman/man.

Jerry was a Super Cool guide!! Thank you for a great experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Went solo on this tour as I had just enough time at the end of my business trip.

Perfect Service and Great Tour! Would recommend this tour for anyone that wants a one day tour to see both the Great Wall in the hills of Mutianya and the Ming Tomb (Zhu Di). Jason was a perfect guide, excellent English, very Knowledgeable on the history of these sites and a great conversationalist. The toboggan ride is was a great way to go back down from the Wall site!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Highly recommend this tour the Great Wall is amazing

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was my FAVORITE trip in Beijing! Our guide from urban adventures, Jerry, was absolutely terrific. I loved that we left early in the morning so by the time we go to the Great Wall, we had it almost to ourselves for the climb up - far from the massive crowds everywhere else in Beijing. The views were stunning. Although you have to pass the souvenir gauntlet on the way back to the van, it's worth it to buy a "I hiked the Great Wall" t-shirt, since I never saw them sold anywhere else. I am so glad we picked this trip rather than see the closer part of the wall. Take LOTS of pictures!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message