Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China is the greatest symbol of ancient Chinese engineering and one of the world's most famous structures. Its name in Chinese means 'Long Fortress', and it was built to protect the northern edge of the Chinese empire against ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 233 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

robscruggs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This is a great tour. It was made most memorable, due to the first snow of the year which blanket the Great Wall of China. Simply beautiful.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Melissa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing day visiting the Great Wall! Winter is spectacular there (but very cold!) and not crowded in the least. Kevin was an outstanding tour guide and very knowledgable. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Marvin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were completely satisfied with our hiking tour at the Mutianyu Great Wall. Our tour guide - Rockie - was knowledgeable, friendly, and knew how to keep us informed, but also allow us to feel completely unstructured. The day just moved along. Our driver was extremely efficient, and knew how to best get us through Beijing traffic.
I'm glad we selected the hiking with picnic. There was not pressure, no shopping, and the picnic snack was a great break while on the Wall. We had lunch at a local restaurant after leaving the Wall.
This was my second trip to China, and first to Beijing. The Mutianyu Great Wall is incredible! I never dreamed I would be walking the Great Wall, there it was. The facilities at the base - the greeting center - were new, clean, and pleasant. They fit the surroundings. The wall offered incredible views.
I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Samantha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing day with Cintia, the guide from Viator at Beijing.
Very organized, punctual, helpful. Lunch was great!
And the Great Wall, a dream! Awesome place to visit to deepen our knowledge about mankind and Chinas history.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

Nadia M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide Victoria was very knowledgable and friendly. She really took good care of us. Tour of the great wall was just the right amount of time to experience the scenery and the beauty of the area. Tours of the tea ceremony and the Jade factory were an added bonus that we would not have otherwise known to see.Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

sarah_

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had the best time at the Great Wall of China with Dennis as my guide. I was lucky as I was the only traveller. Dennis gave me plenty of information about the Wall and China and answered all of my questions. We arrived at 9am and were greeted by a winter wonderland. The Great Wall covered in snow was breathtaking. I am glad we left Beijing that early because we were almost the only people on the Wall for about three hours. I had plenty of time to take pictures and to discover everything. The lunch at a local restaurant was also very good. As the description says there are no shopping stops. Thank you for such an amazing once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

There was snow at the Great Wall and the road was closed to Mutianyu so we had to go to an alternate location. It was an excellent event still and great lunch as well! All positive!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

Patti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

On the way to The Wall, we stopped at a very nice jade factory - good education if you've never been.
The drive to The Wall was very scenic and the tour guide, Maria, was a fountain of knowledge about Chinese history, The Great Wall, the Chinese people and culture. Once at The Wall we all took the chair lift up to save time and our legs to spend more actual time on The Wall. The Mutianya section is a much less busy section of The Wall and the scenery is stunning. The guide gave a lot of information and stories about The Wall so we were able to spend a couple of hours just exploring on our own. I loved the toboggan ride down - super fun. Worth the extra cost.
After seeing The Wall, we went for a typical tourist lunch and we visited a Cloisonné factory. It was absolutely fascinating to see the process that is involved to make a piece of Cloisonné.
There was only 7 of us on the tour so we had lots of opportunity to talk with the other guests and our tour guide.
I would highly recommend this tour and ask for Maria.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

Rosalyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Great Wall walk was breathtaking with magnificent views and Tracey was a great tour guide. Certainly one tour not to miss!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Though we had 20 visibility when it came to appreciating the Great Wall, our guide Cynthia made the day's tour interesting and enjoyable. She provided excellent historical context for the Ming Dynasty Tombs, pacing the tour perfectly. She kept us well informed about Chinese cultural practices and the roots of the language during the bus travel between stops. Lunch was nice. The tea ceremony was delightful, too. This tour is worthwhile.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Lou K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Great Wall tour was very enjoyable and informative. Maria was an excellent and personably tour guide who provided good background and historically significant information. The tour ended in a fun and education stop at the Tea House where we got an education on tea choices, how to make a good cup of tea and also to enjoy tasting some well prepared teas.
The bus driver did a very skillful job in navigating safely and efficiently through the intense Beijing traffic.
Note--I would recommend the tour cost be modified to include the Great Wall tram fee since most people seem to prefer the use of the tram.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

leona.tooley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the most exciting day of my trip to Beijing : The day started with our tour guide, Jackie, meeting us in our hotel foyer. From here, we made our way to the emerald factory. I wasn't too keen on making this stop when I initially booked the tour, but I must admit that it was quite enjoyable! It was fascinating to see the artists in action as they carve up the emerald into an array of statues and souvenirs. There was quite a bit of time spent on the tour bus, but thankfully, Jackie kept us entertained with stories about the Pandas, Chinese traditions, family life etc. Next stop was the great wall. WOW! What a remarkable part of the world! We caught the cable car up and looking back over my shoulder as we creeped up to the wall took my breathe away. It is truly spectacular !! We spent about an hour and a half on the wall itself. Although, I could have spent the whole day there! This was my only criticism of the trip - perhaps a little more time on the wall would have been nice. When you get to Mutianyu, you will be given the option top choose between two cable cars companies. Be sure to go with the company that has the option to toboggan down the hill. The toboggan is a whole lot of fun and highly recommended. Although, you also have the option of returning by cable car if you wish. The lunch provided for us was great and the visit to the Cloisonné factory was an interesting. On the way back to Beijing, Jackie stopped off at a tea house. I wasn't aware this was part of our tour, but it was a welcome addition. I would have had no interest to visit the tea house prior to the tour, but I am so glad we had the chance to stopover here. Here, we were ushered into a private room and learnt about the different types of Chinese tea and how to prepare them. The tea was great and our English speaking host was very knowledgable and entertaining. All up, this was a fantastic tour and I highly recommended it !!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great price for what it included! The transport from Beijing to the Wall was roughly 2 hrs each way. I spent about 2 hrs hiking the Great Wall and it was absolutely amazing! Beautiful views around and just an amazing feat to visit one of the Ancient Great Wonders of the World. Viator tour also included a family-style lunch at a nice restaurant at the bottom of the mountain where we the buses park. Overall, highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

David H W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a tour that everyone should take. The Great Wall has been on the Must See List of mine and my wife for many years. The Wall and the surroundings were simply amazing, however the our guide Jackie was the difference in just seeing something and understanding its reason for being. Jackie explained every detail concerning the wall and its construction, who had it constructed, and why, and its recent restorations.
The tour was excellent and I would highly recommend the tour and our friend Jackie to anyone especially if you have an interest in Chinese history. It is a fantastic site as Jackie would say of course it was made in China.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Janaith P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Vivian was amazing and the tour was perfect. We arrived at the Great Wall very early and got to spend about 3 hrs visiting Vivian's recommendations. The hike was a bit challenging but the view was worth it! We also visited a local restaurant with delicious food! Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Felix H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

no hidden shopping stops, great tour guide, part of the great wall with not to many tourists, lunch was o.k.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Amy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was amazing. We got to see the Great wall, Ming Tonb, jade and pearl factories and a tea ceremony. Everywhere we went people tried to sell us things but this happened all the time in China. Our guide spoke very good English and gave us good information at each stop.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

pritisinha45669

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Obviously a must see in China and the tour guide, Jackie, was awesome. He did a great job explaining the history of the Great Wall and Ming Tombs as well as introducing the Chinese culture to us. He was also great about taking pictures whenever possible.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

You need to be fairly fit to climb the section of the Great Wall that we visited. Our guide, Cynthia, was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable with her Chinese history. As well as the Great Wall and the Ming Tombs we also visited a Jade factory a chance to buy some genuine jade and a tea house. This was only a relatively small group 12 people which is a big plus. The tour was interesting and well worth going on.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

VANESSA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I can warmly recommend this tour. I had a very early appointment at 7 am so we arrived at nearly 8:15 am at the Mutyanu section of the Great Wall. It was really great, quite little people only at this time of the day.
I was alone with my guide, Vivian, and with the driver. Vivian was interesting and friendly and I learned lots of things with her. The drived us safely and the car was clean. At the end of the visit, we were in a chinese restaurant for local people. So, real and excellent chinese food not for tourists.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

lucia d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent hours at the Great Wall. I would have liked more details of the history of China but the tour was perfect with a lot of time to walk around the wall and take excellent pictures. The guide was very nice and took us only two people to a simple yet delicious local restaurant!! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Ricardo P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip started on time. We have arrived on our destination quite early, so we haven't found many tourist. The guide was really nice, either explaining the history of and behind the Great Wall, either discussing several subjects about China. An excellent cultural and social experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Ling N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Dream come true. Our tour guide was fun and always wanting to help take our picture. The forbidden city was very impressive. Our guide was quite knowledgable. The Great wall was amazing. I feel so blessed to have seen it. What an amazing trip!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour of the Great Wall at Mutianyu was absolutely remarkable. Our tour guide Jerry was very good and couldn't be more accommodating. At first, we were not too keen on the very early departure time of 7AM because let's face it, nobody wants to get up early when on vacation. However, in the end, we appreciated it because we were able to enjoy, and I mean ENJOY, the Great Wall sans the hordes of tourists just check out the pics.

The wall at Mutianyu, being a tad farther away from Beijing than Badaling, is a perfect choice for people who want to avoid the throngs of tourists who descend on the more popular with Disney like atmosphere Badaling section of the wall. Upon arrival at the park, we took the cable car CNY 100 roundtrip to ascend up the mountain which was a very convenient and practical way to get up there because it allowed us more time to spend at the wall instead of climbing up the mountain.

Walking on the wall was just surreal. Also, because we were there during the cherry blossom season, the blooms just made it more picturesque. We started at tower 14 and walked all the way to tower 21 which is the endpoint where tourists are allowed. CAUTION!!! To fully enjoy the view from the top of tower 21 which also happens to be the highest point where tourists can go, one must be relatively fit to climb the steep and unforgiving last 500 steps up. Otherwise, take your time with plenty of rest periods and you will be rewarded with sweeping views of the wall, the mountains and the valley below once you get to the top.

We were a little apprehensive about the lunch prior to it because of previous experiences. However, the lunch that was provided actually tasted good. To add icing on the cake, this tour DID NOT include a stop at factories or stores or markets that tend to predominate and sabotage great experiences.

Overall, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Robin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great trip to the great wall. Our tour guide, Maria was great too. We took the chair lift up and the tobagon ride down. We only had one day in Beijing and chose the Great Wall tour. We were not disappointed. Maria also recommended a dinner place, Dadong, to have Peking duck. It was yummy.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message