Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China is the greatest symbol of ancient Chinese engineering and one of the world's most famous structures. Its name in Chinese means 'Long Fortress', and it was built to protect the northern edge of the Chinese empire against ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 202 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

no hidden shopping stops, great tour guide, part of the great wall with not to many tourists, lunch was o.k.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was amazing. We got to see the Great wall, Ming Tonb, jade and pearl factories and a tea ceremony. Everywhere we went people tried to sell us things but this happened all the time in China. Our guide spoke very good English and gave us good information at each stop.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Obviously a must see in China and the tour guide, Jackie, was awesome. He did a great job explaining the history of the Great Wall and Ming Tombs as well as introducing the Chinese culture to us. He was also great about taking pictures whenever possible.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

You need to be fairly fit to climb the section of the Great Wall that we visited. Our guide, Cynthia, was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable with her Chinese history. As well as the Great Wall and the Ming Tombs we also visited a Jade factory a chance to buy some genuine jade and a tea house. This was only a relatively small group 12 people which is a big plus. The tour was interesting and well worth going on.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I can warmly recommend this tour. I had a very early appointment at 7 am so we arrived at nearly 8:15 am at the Mutyanu section of the Great Wall. It was really great, quite little people only at this time of the day.
I was alone with my guide, Vivian, and with the driver. Vivian was interesting and friendly and I learned lots of things with her. The drived us safely and the car was clean. At the end of the visit, we were in a chinese restaurant for local people. So, real and excellent chinese food not for tourists.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent hours at the Great Wall. I would have liked more details of the history of China but the tour was perfect with a lot of time to walk around the wall and take excellent pictures. The guide was very nice and took us only two people to a simple yet delicious local restaurant!! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Trip started on time. We have arrived on our destination quite early, so we haven't found many tourist. The guide was really nice, either explaining the history of and behind the Great Wall, either discussing several subjects about China. An excellent cultural and social experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Dream come true. Our tour guide was fun and always wanting to help take our picture. The forbidden city was very impressive. Our guide was quite knowledgable. The Great wall was amazing. I feel so blessed to have seen it. What an amazing trip!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour of the Great Wall at Mutianyu was absolutely remarkable. Our tour guide Jerry was very good and couldn't be more accommodating. At first, we were not too keen on the very early departure time of 7AM because let's face it, nobody wants to get up early when on vacation. However, in the end, we appreciated it because we were able to enjoy, and I mean ENJOY, the Great Wall sans the hordes of tourists just check out the pics.

The wall at Mutianyu, being a tad farther away from Beijing than Badaling, is a perfect choice for people who want to avoid the throngs of tourists who descend on the more popular with Disney like atmosphere Badaling section of the wall. Upon arrival at the park, we took the cable car CNY 100 roundtrip to ascend up the mountain which was a very convenient and practical way to get up there because it allowed us more time to spend at the wall instead of climbing up the mountain.

Walking on the wall was just surreal. Also, because we were there during the cherry blossom season, the blooms just made it more picturesque. We started at tower 14 and walked all the way to tower 21 which is the endpoint where tourists are allowed. CAUTION!!! To fully enjoy the view from the top of tower 21 which also happens to be the highest point where tourists can go, one must be relatively fit to climb the steep and unforgiving last 500 steps up. Otherwise, take your time with plenty of rest periods and you will be rewarded with sweeping views of the wall, the mountains and the valley below once you get to the top.

We were a little apprehensive about the lunch prior to it because of previous experiences. However, the lunch that was provided actually tasted good. To add icing on the cake, this tour DID NOT include a stop at factories or stores or markets that tend to predominate and sabotage great experiences.

Overall, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great trip to the great wall. Our tour guide, Maria was great too. We took the chair lift up and the tobagon ride down. We only had one day in Beijing and chose the Great Wall tour. We were not disappointed. Maria also recommended a dinner place, Dadong, to have Peking duck. It was yummy.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great. Our guide gave us good guidelines to follow once we were in the Great Wall which helped a lot maximise our time to see a great part of the Wall. Lunch was very good.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

VW
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great day! There were only two of us on the tour so we were able to visit a different section of the Great Wall. It was a beautiful sunny day so we got lots of great photos. The Ming Tombs were also great! The only things I was not expecting was the almost tourist trap-type visits to the jade factory and tea shop. These were not educational visits, but rather store visits with a bit of demonstration and we were pressured a bit to buy their overpriced items. We had a great guide who was able to answer all of our questions. I would recommend this trip to anyone who would like to see the Great Wall but is a bit short on time in Beijing.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Visiting the Great Wall is a Beijing must do and I would recommend this tour to anyone. Meeting at the hotel @ 7am may be a bit too early for vacationers but it's well worth it. The early start and the further destination Mutianyu help beat the crowds. For me, I had a whole section of the Great Wall to explore by myself. It was great to experience the Wall and the surroundings by myself and at my own pace. Kevin was a great guide and his english was great ask him about how he got his aussie accent.
TIP: Save your legs for the Wall and take the chair lift up. You'll find that portions of the Wall are quite steep. TIP: If taking the lift up, go left once on the wall. Very steep climb/staircase but you'll be richly rewarded if you make it up the mountain to the last watch tower. For the more daring and experienced hikers - Kevin runs 3 day walking/hiking tours of the great wall - pictures looked amazing!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I really enjoyed my tour to the Great Wall. The tour guide was informative and pleasant. The lunch was tasty and plentiful. The only part I didn't care for was being taken to various shopping spots. After the information given about the product or the tea ceremony. ...I felt pressure to buy.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I have been to Mutianyu on my own by public bus but decided to book this tour for my parents. It was the right decision. Jerry our tour guide speaks excellent English and very informative. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to reach the Great Wall early and maximize their experience there.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Dennis our guide met us at the meeting point. We initially went to the wrong hotel as there are two hotels with very similar names, however they are very close and they directed us to the correct place. Dennis is super friendly and made our trip lots of fun. We walked up the large amount of stairs to the great wall and saw the magnificent views. After much walking we had a very enjoyable lunch with the group and headed back to the city. Stopping for the foot massage on the way back. Never having had a foot massage before we found this very interesting and enjoyable. All in all, I felt this was a well planned , enjoyable day which Dennis made even more enjoyable with his friendly informative personality.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour of the Great Wall! The small group size really personalized the trip, we only had three. It was cool to go up earlier and beat the crowd that followed behind us. Jerry was super fun and personable, making us very comfortable. The lunch was amazing and DO NOT miss the Tango reflexology, it was an awesome experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We chose a a rainy Thursday to visit the Great Wall of China, and we were very (positively) surprised when we realized we were the only people that were on the tour that day. We basically had a dedicated driver and guide who brought us to all the attractions, and we had plenty of time to visit everything in great detail. It was an amazing tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was absolutely amazing and everything that I hoped for!
Make sure you ride the lift up and then the tobagan down the slopes!
We went to a pearl market, then hit the great wall for about 2 hours, then had lunch, and went to some tea place afterwards.
The tour guide "Jackie" was entertaining and we enjoyed every minute at the Great Wall.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour and our tour guide Jason was excellent! We totally lucked out and were only 4 pax on the tour so felt very private. He gave lots of great information on Beijing and the history on the drive to the Great Wall and assisted us all the way to the cable car. To maximize your time on the GW, I'd highly recommend the cable car but the toboggan wasn't open as it was raining slightly. Still made the most of the two hours we had on the GW then enjoyed a delicious feast at the Cloisonné Factory which was great. The tea house experience is a huge part of the Chinese culture and very informative. Very well organized and professional all the way!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly recommended tour of the Great Wall of China and Ming Tomb. The tour guide was very flexible allowing us to spend as much time as desired at each location. We were not rushed at any spot. Additionally, the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and able to speak English very well. This part of the wall is absolutely stunning with beautiful views of the mountains. Be ready to spend a few minutes at the Jade factory. I did not purchase anything and was not pushed into buying anything.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We lost our luggage while traveling from HK to Beijing. We called and requested to postpone our trip to mu tian Yu Great Wall which scheduled on the next day. Thanks to Cynthia for her kind understanding n flexibility. Everyone liked her especially the 3 kids who loves her is much , bravo Cynthia

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An amazing tour, a great value. I have done Viator tours in several countries and I have never been disappointed. This trip was no exception. My guide (Jeana) was amazing. She had a wealth of knowledge, spoke excellent English and was fun to be with. I was met at the hotel at the correct time and much to my surprise I was the only person on the tour. We headed out with our driver in a clean cab and alone the way she explained things about the Great Wall and China in general. At the wall she accompanied me and allowed me to proceed at my own pace, as I was taking photos and due to the wall being quite steep in some places. She provided advice on how to negotiate with the shopkeepers. On the way back to Beijing we stopped in a town and had dinner at a very "real" Chinese restaurant. Once in Beijing, I was then taken to get a one hour foot massage. This tour was an incredible value for the money. Thanks again to Jeana, for a great day.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

AMAZING!!! Transfer, hotel pick up and tour absolutely perfect! Tour guide even phoned our hotel day before to confirm timings, small minivan collected us and drove us to the Great Wall! Also stopped at a tea house and a Chinese art place! Perfect section of the wall too!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour with a great guide! Dennis was informative and helpful. We had a wonderful day at the Great Wall, would highly recommend this trip. Lunch and the massage were an amazing extra touch.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message