• USD ($)
  • English

Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China is the greatest symbol of ancient Chinese engineering and one of the world's most famous structures. Its name in Chinese means 'Long Fortress', and it was built to protect the northern edge of the Chinese empire against ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 154 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great day. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken the short distance to Tienimen square. Then onto the Forbidden city. For most of our visit to the Great Wall, we were the only visitors there. Our guide Carolyn was fantastic. Highly recommended

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My tour guide was Jason, and he was excellent! Spoke English very well, was able to give me great information on the tour, and even emailed me a copy of a picture of us at the Great Wall after! Great experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Without a doubt the highlight of our trip to Beijing. John, our tour guide, could not have been better. He was extremely generous with his time, and his knowledge of Beijing and the Great Wall was outstanding. At no time were we rushed and the picnic on the Great Wall was envied by all other tourists. We finished at a resaurant which was also of high quality and lots, lots of food. Our driver Mr Shing is a gentleman and could not have been more helpful or friendly. If you do nothing else, do this tour. Ask for John and Mr Shing. Simply excellent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Gourmet Picnic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I would definitely recommend this tour. We were fortunate to be the only ones on the tour. John picked us up at hotel on time and spoke good English. He was very informative on the history of China and the Great Wall. He highlighted the key areas to have our pictures taken and promptly offered to take our picture. We had a memorable picnic on the Great Wall with a picnic blanket, Chinese snacks, and a bottle of champagne. We were definitely the envy of passing tourist and one commented that we knew how to do it right by having a picnic there with champagne. The lunch location and cuisine was definitely an introduction to the local cuisine. A stop by the Olympic Park was a nice added bonus. Many thanks for a memorable day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Gourmet Picnic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

What a breathtaking experience--literally! I always thought the Giza pyramids were the most impressive from a construction perspective, but the Great Wall is a feat that just doesn't seem possible. The angle of the steps along the wall are much more difficult to navigate than what pictures imply. If you are afraid of heights, make careful consideration which part of the wall you visit. Some sections are much steeper than others. Our guide, Jacky Lee, was so informative, intelligent, helpful and professional in each and every way. And he has a great sense of humor, which made the day even better.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Really enjoyed the tour! The Great Wall was one of our highlights and our tour guide was fantastic! He was extremely friendly and helpful! Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour for the Great Wall at Mutianyu. May be expanded a bit more (our talkative and friendly and helpful guide told us that the tour offers more time "on the wall" than any other tour availible; yet an hour or so more time wouldn't hurt).

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide Jason spoke perfect English and was really nice and knowledgeable. There was only one other person in my tour so we just traveled around in a 4-door sedan. We got to the Great Wall before most of the other big tour groups/buses so we had the whole place to ourselves for over one hour. We were there for 2 hours total, plenty of time to see every angle of the wall. Please note that you have to pay an additional fee in cash (RMB) depending on whether you take the gondola/cable car or the chair lift to the get to the top for walking the wall. Lunch was a huge feast and really delicious. We also had time to drive through the Olympic Village, visit a pottery factory, and enjoy free tea during a tea ceremony. It was the perfect day trip and ended around 3 pm with enough time to take in more sites on your own if you're not too tired. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were picked up from our hotel right on time. We had booked a group tour, but ended up with a private tour just for me and my husband. Our tour guide was very friendly and full of information about the sites we visited and about life in Beijing today. Our driver was excellent and skillfully maneuvered the traffic on the crowded streets and roads. The tour guide suggested that we go to the Great Wall at Mutianyu first, early in the morning and it was good that we did. As we were leaving the crowds were gathering and the lines were long. We were there during "Golden Week" and people were every where. The cable ride at Mutianyu is an experience not to be forgotten.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide, Michael, was PHENOMENAL!!! We could not be more pleased with our tour of the Great Wall, or the Ming Tombs. Michael was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and very interested in making sure we were having a great experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone planning on visiting Beijing!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This review must be prefaced with the fact that we (unknowingly) booked our week during the Chinese "weeklong" national celebration, Oct 1-7. That said, that meant 430 MILLION Chinese were traveling not even counting foreign tourist. That was in effect the perfect storm for this and all tours to be basically traffic jammed and miserable, but it was not, and thanks to our tour guide Jackie Lee, aka, Jackie Chan, and his driver, we got to the Ming Tombs, to the Great Wall, to lunch, yes to a few jade and tea shops and back to our hotel without hitting any, repeat any traffic jams as he knew all shortcuts and timings of the locals and how to avoid them all! To put this in perspective, on the road to the Great Wall, the same highway we were on, there have been 2 DAY, not 2 hour back-ups on the highway, so him getting us around without delays, plus his wit and charm and knowledge of the area was fantastic. Oh yea, one more small detail, after we got back to the hotel, I noticed either through my fault or the jade folks, my jade object was broke, although nicely packed. I called Jackie as there was no way I was going to fight the traffic and try and replace it and guess what, even on his busy tour the next day, he went to the factory, got me another, better one, brought it to my hotel and took the other one back and this was after his very long tour day for another group. Fantastic service, great tour guide and driver (amazing) and both made the best possible situation for us out of a potentially catastrophic tour day with all the traffic and congestion and travelers. Finally, the weather that day was absolutely perfect, no clouds, no rain, no pollution and we got to spend it touring the sites and not camped out on the highway, waiting to move another inch an hour as some couple reported to us. Be careful who you choose to take you on this tour, these 2 guys made all the difference in the world and it was a great time, pictures coming when I get them downloaded!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent value tour prompt pick up on time by our English speaking guide Jason Howe was very informative
first stop The Great Wall-JUYONGGUAN breathtaking experience not as crowed as other sections very step stairs up not for the unfit.
Second stop The Ming Tombs peaceful and architecturally brilliant well worth the drive
Lunch was in the jade factory restaurant, Jason made sure our lunch was to our specification (vegetarian)
finished the day off with a Tea Ceremony.Highly Recommended !!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We ended up being the only people on the tour the day we took it and we enjoyed having basically a private car and tour guide all to ourselves. Our tour guide LInda was great and very knowledgeable. We felt like we had the great wall all to ourselves since there were only a few people there when we arrived. The following lunch and massage were great too. Overall we learned a lot and enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Easy way to see the sights of Beijing. The best part? You decide what you want to see! Just make sure to coordinate with your guide / local company after confirmation so they can prepare your itinerary effectively. We went to the Great Wall (at Badaling) and the Summer Palace. Great guide and an overall fantastic day out.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a brilliant day. Wonderful guide who shared so much. Amazing time walking along the Great Wall. Great lunch. Unexpected tea ceremony and loved ending with a foot massage. Altogether an excellent day.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message