Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China is the greatest symbol of ancient Chinese engineering and one of the world's most famous structures. Its name in Chinese means 'Long Fortress', and it was built to protect the northern edge of the Chinese empire against ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 182 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An amazing tour, a great value. I have done Viator tours in several countries and I have never been disappointed. This trip was no exception. My guide (Jeana) was amazing. She had a wealth of knowledge, spoke excellent English and was fun to be with. I was met at the hotel at the correct time and much to my surprise I was the only person on the tour. We headed out with our driver in a clean cab and alone the way she explained things about the Great Wall and China in general. At the wall she accompanied me and allowed me to proceed at my own pace, as I was taking photos and due to the wall being quite steep in some places. She provided advice on how to negotiate with the shopkeepers. On the way back to Beijing we stopped in a town and had dinner at a very "real" Chinese restaurant. Once in Beijing, I was then taken to get a one hour foot massage. This tour was an incredible value for the money. Thanks again to Jeana, for a great day.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

AMAZING!!! Transfer, hotel pick up and tour absolutely perfect! Tour guide even phoned our hotel day before to confirm timings, small minivan collected us and drove us to the Great Wall! Also stopped at a tea house and a Chinese art place! Perfect section of the wall too!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour with a great guide! Dennis was informative and helpful. We had a wonderful day at the Great Wall, would highly recommend this trip. Lunch and the massage were an amazing extra touch.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was freeing to let the tour guide handle the logistical hootenanny while I was able to simply enjoy the rustic beauty of this magnificent structure. Our tour guide was friendly, professional, and timely. She balanced well our need to have privacy at times, but her company was enjoyable nonetheless. She shared a lot of history with us about the Great Wall - some bits more unnerving than others! (I won't ruin the surprise) ;-). The only areas that could be improved were largely out of our tour guide's hands, such as traffic and the general zoo that is overcrowded China. LOVED the picnic. Be sure to bring walking shoes and extra water.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was great. It is all that they describe, no shopping stops and you get to walk the Great Wall in a quite exhausting but not so full of tourists part of the Wall.
We had a rainy day so the toboggan wasn't available, take that into account and do check the weather before booking. I read everywhere that the toboggan was a great way to come down from the Wall.
We used the automatic chair to go up and down, do yourself a favor and use the chair. It's a 2 minutes ride and would save you a lot of energy you will need in the Wall.
The weather was rainy but didn't actually rain while we were on the Wall, so it was a very cool scene. The Wall did look like a dragon between clouds. So a rainy day is not a show-stopper for this tour anyway.

BUT beware, the chair ride is 100 Yuan! They don't mention this in the description, which is technically fine because they mention that this is not included, but they strongly recommend it. Take enough money to pay for that.
Also, the foot massage is great. It feels strange for a foreigner not used to having your feet massages by a stranger, but it is very relaxing after the first 2 mins. Talking about tips, I would recommend tipping around 50Y to the guide, and 20 to the driver and maybe 20 to the foot massage woman/man.

Jerry was a Super Cool guide!! Thank you for a great experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Went solo on this tour as I had just enough time at the end of my business trip.

Perfect Service and Great Tour! Would recommend this tour for anyone that wants a one day tour to see both the Great Wall in the hills of Mutianya and the Ming Tomb (Zhu Di). Jason was a perfect guide, excellent English, very Knowledgeable on the history of these sites and a great conversationalist. The toboggan ride is was a great way to go back down from the Wall site!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Highly recommend this tour the Great Wall is amazing

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was my FAVORITE trip in Beijing! Our guide from urban adventures, Jerry, was absolutely terrific. I loved that we left early in the morning so by the time we go to the Great Wall, we had it almost to ourselves for the climb up - far from the massive crowds everywhere else in Beijing. The views were stunning. Although you have to pass the souvenir gauntlet on the way back to the van, it's worth it to buy a "I hiked the Great Wall" t-shirt, since I never saw them sold anywhere else. I am so glad we picked this trip rather than see the closer part of the wall. Take LOTS of pictures!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We saw everything at a reasonable pace; had a great translator "Caroli" Who had so much knowledge! No pressure to make purchases. Small group, fun day! The Great Wall was amazing!!!

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent time, excellent tour, excellent guide! Our guide named Carly arrived at our hotel just when she said she would. She spoke perfect English. Since there were only the two of us on the tour, she gave us the option of going to a different area of the Great Wall which she said wouldn't be as crowded. We took this option and we were amazed. After climbing on the Wall and visiting the Ming Tombs, we went on an unscheduled trip to a tea house in Beijing for a tasting. This was awesome and we came away with lots of gifts for our friends back home. This tour made our fifth anniversary trip to Beijing memorable. Thank you!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a terrific tour with a knowledgeable and friendly guide. The Mutianyu section of the Great Wall is incredibly scenic and beautiful, and not overly busy. We did this tour in early June and there was just ourselves plus two other travellers. This section of the wall is restored, but if you walk to the easternmost point of where visitors are allowed to venture, you can look at and photograph an unrestored section. This tour had a good mix of narration from our guide, Kevin, during the drive to the wall, and free time on the wall so people could hike at their own pace. A fun feature of the Mutianyu Great Wall is the option to take a cable car up to the wall (eliminates a one-thousand-step climb so you can save your energy for hiking on the wall) and a luge-type "toboggan" back down. We enjoyed the lunch at a local restaurant and the reflexology massage afterwards. After taking this tour I spoke to friends who said some tours include boring side trips to jade shops, this tour has none of that. Thanks Kevin and tour company for a great day!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I loved every minute of this tour. This section of the Great Wall is very beautiful. I understand that our First Lady chose this section when she visited the Wall...and did the tobaggan slide option down to the parking area as did I. I'm 71 and I survived the climb and slide. Lot's of fun and very educational

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My family of five took this tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. The service was fantastic. I corresponded with the company prior to our trip (through Viator) in order to advise them that my family included three parents in their 70's with mobility issues. The company also confirmed our tour in advance and provided a contact name and phone number just in case. They showed up promptly at our hotel on time with a clean van, a nice driver, and an energetic tour guide (Jimmy). The guide took good care of us and was especially attentive to our parents. The day we went it was 110-degrees on the wall, but Jimmy took good care of us. The guide provided us with a picnic (snacks) and champagne in the shade...other visitors passing by were jealous! We saw so many wonderful things in China, but our tour to Mutianyu was the highlight.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a family trip and we all feel victorious to conquer the heights of the Great Wall. The morning rain did not spoil the trip in any way. Our tourist guide, Chynthia Cai, made the initiative to find us umbrellas and we started at Ming Tombs before proceeding to the Great Wall. It was a real good experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

AMAZING! Guide, Michelle, gave tour of a lifetime! Informative general/detailed facts about Beijing and Great Wall delightful and interesting. No rain cancellation lead to stellar view of Great Wall emerging from a bed of clouds!!! Added treat of local lunch and reflexology made PERFECT China trip!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message