• USD ($)
  • English

Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Lama Temple (Yonghegong)

The Lama Temple (Yonghegong), one of the most important Tibetan Buddhist temples in the world, started life in the late 17th century as a residence for eunuchs. It went on to become residence for a Qing dynasty prince. When he ascended to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour 3 of 4 in Beijing and what a way to start than waking up early and getting to the Panda Garden while the Pandas are still awake and eating, our guide Li got us there just after opening and they were quite active it was a beautiful sight and as the only 2 people on the tour for the second day running we had the guides full attention.

I have reviewed all my tours in Beijing please see my review on Badaling Great wall in relation to the "full day" and side stops on the tours.
Then it was on to the summer palace which is an absolutely stunning place and although on the tour you don't get to go up to the actual palace, just in the grounds you still get to see the amazing scenery, the marble boat and you get to ride across the lake on a dragon boat for a very small extra charge.
Then another lovely lunch after a tour of a pearl factory my wife spent some small change on a bracelet and that was all we wanted and no pressure from anyone to buy more, they respect no in China you just have to say it.
Then the Lama Temple, a highly religious place as expected and very interesting.
Another very lovely day in Beijing

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Loved both the Panda's and the summer palace. Lama Temple not so much. There are better temples. The sandelwood Buddha was great. Our guide did a good job.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Really good trip with a friendly tour guide. We were also taken to a little Tea House where we were able to try lots of different types of tea, and learn a bit of Chinese traditions. Loved the Summer Palace, and the Lama Temple. The only thing about the Panda Garden was that it was a section of a zoo. Was expecting a little more than that, but overall a lovely day trip in Beijing.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Amazing views at the Summer Palace, impressive architecture at the Lama Temple, and cute, cuddly panda bears made for a fantastic tour. Our guide, Cynthia, was very energetic and excited about giving us a glimpse into China's long history. We enjoyed every moment of the tour and the time that we got to spend with Cynthia!

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day tour. The guide Jason was fantastic with lots of great information and keen to answer any questions. Along with the Zoo, Summer Palace and Lama Temple we also went to a pearl shop which had a lot a beautiful items for sale at a reasonable price, and also to the silk factory. We weren't rushed at any time. Jason also assisted in engaging the locals, eg where artists were practicing dishu at the Summer Palace. Pick up and drop off times were as agreed. Lunch was at a local restaurant and there was plenty to eat.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Cherry was our guide and she was fantastic. Very knowledgeable and her English was easy to understand. We planned our itinerary which included Temple of Heaven, Lama Temple, Confucius Temple and Bei Hai Park. She showed the locals working and playing in the Temple of Heaven Park which we were glad to see. We took the subway and buses and that was an experience. Please be in good condition or request taxis. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

Marian P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Jason was a wonderful guide. His English was fantastic and his attention to detail terrific. The weather in the morning was very wet but this did not spoil the tour at all. The visit to the Panda Garden was great; we saw a variety of ages of panda enjoying their bamboo breakfast! Off then to the Summer Palace where Jason was encyclopedic about the place, the history and the people - first class! Lunch was OK The Lama Temple was spectacular and an experience I will always remember. The booked itinerary did not mention the tea tasting but this was fun and its addition did not make me feel I had missed time elsewhere. I would thoroughly and warmly recommend Jason as a guide and this tour, too. I have booked tours through the company before in other cities and Viator have lived up to their usual high standards. Many thanks

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Again I had the same local guide Cynthia, who was more interested in taking me to factories/shops. This should have been a half day tour - if people are interested in going shopping they should be asked first. More time could have been spent at the Pandas and the Lama Temple.

Doing what: Beijing Lama Temple, Panda Garden and Ancient Altar Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

Lama temple is awesome, and highly recommended. The Tea Stop is rip off and we are unhappy about. If you want to see a rundown zoo, and pandas sleeping in a poor facility its for you. The Altar, is well, a disappointment.

Doing what: Beijing Lama Temple, Panda Garden and Ancient Altar Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

I was a bit disappointed with the Panda Garden but overall it was quite an enjoyable tour. The Summer Palace and Lama Temple were both really nice and the lunch was also good. Our guide was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

PALLAVITA SAHA
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

This was a good tour - Jackie was taken the guide and he gave lots of information and tidbits and good helpful hints on how not to get conned etc around the city. I had a lovely group of people with me and we all had fun. The summer palace is lovely as is the Lama temple. Really good experience!!!

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Steven E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

went went to Beijing zoo first saw few pandas and 2 baby pandas so cute. summer palace was beautiful and Lama temple brilliant with largest buddha was amazing.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

A fantastic experience from start to finish. Our local guide was very accommodating and friendly. The Pandas were a highlight for my 9 year old daughter, and for me the Lama Temple was an eye opener to some of the Eastern beliefs.

Doing what: Beijing Lama Temple, Panda Garden and Ancient Altar Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The guide, Li, called me the night before my tour. He tried very hard to make me use a private car from his company fat additional cost for the whole day, even though I wanted to use taxi's and local transport instead. He convinced me that it will be much easier than using local transport in Beijing. I finally agreed. meet guide the next day in Hotel lobby and talked about itinerary. Decided on 3 places: Ming tombs, lama temple and panda zoo. He raised the car rental price up because the ming tombs is 1.5 hours from Beijing. The actual tour is great, Li is a good tour guide and he didn't pressure us to go to 'government shops' although he did brought to a jade factory. English was good, personality was good, very energetic guy. Takes great pictures of us too. Only regret was not being able to talk things through before going in tour, our itinerary for the day seems 'rushed'.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

We had a great time in spite of the rain!! Never felt rushed. The Lama Temple was cool but if you have allergies bring a scarf to put over your nose.... the incense can get to you after a while.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message