Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Ming Tombs (Ming Shisan Ling)

The Ming Dynasty Tombs, or Ming Shisan Ling, are located outside of central Beijing and are home to the tombs and mausoleums of the Yongle Emperor. Currently, these tombs are a UNESCO World Heritage site, and are listed as part of the World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Obviously a must see in China and the tour guide, Jackie, was awesome. He did a great job explaining the history of the Great Wall and Ming Tombs as well as introducing the Chinese culture to us. He was also great about taking pictures whenever possible.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

You need to be fairly fit to climb the section of the Great Wall that we visited. Our guide, Cynthia, was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable with her Chinese history. As well as the Great Wall and the Ming Tombs we also visited a Jade factory a chance to buy some genuine jade and a tea house. This was only a relatively small group 12 people which is a big plus. The tour was interesting and well worth going on.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was an awesome experience. We started the tour at the Ming Tombs since our guide knew the time table for a historical daily performance re-inacting honors to the MIng emperors and wanted us to experience this. Then on to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. We'd been to the Great Wall a couple of years ago, but at a location that was very crowded with large group tours. Mutianyu was excellent. While we knew this was listed as a private tour by Viator, we were still amazed that we had a private driver and a very knowledgeable private guide for the entire day and took some back roads during the trip which gave us insight into local villages. We paid extra for the cable car to the top of the Great Wall and avoided what otherwise would have been a grueling climb up. Our guide accompanied us even while we walked on the wall. We had a lunch stop at a local restaurant and avoided the tour groups.
This was an excellent experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was an awesome experience. We started the tour at the Ming Tombs since our guide knew the time table for a historical daily performance re-inacting honors to the MIng emperors and wanted us to experience this. Then on to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. We'd been to the Great Wall a couple of years ago, but at a location that was very crowded with large group tours. Mutianyu was excellent. While we knew this was listed as a private tour by Viator, we were still amazed that we had a private driver and a very knowledgeable private guide for the entire day and took some back roads during the trip which gave us insight into local villages. We paid extra for the cable car to the top of the Great Wall and avoided what otherwise would have been a grueling climb up. Our guide accompanied us even while we walked on the wall. We had a lunch stop at a local restaurant and avoided the tour groups.
This was an excellent experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic day. Punctual, friendly and informative guide who took us to a quieter section of wall due to local holiday. Spectacular views particularly if you are prepared to climb higher up the steps! Also enjoyed the jade factory. No pressure to buy but very interesting talk and demonstration. Beautiful Ming tombs also well worth a visit.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a highlight of the trip. I still can't believe the personal attention we got and how reasonable the price was. We had one guide for the two of us and a driver and sedan all day. The guide was very informative and with us all the time, except for lunch which was a very good Chinese lunch in a small local restaurant. We paid extra well worth it for a cable car ride to the top of the Mutianyu Great Wall, which is much less crowded than many other touristy portions of the Great Wall near Beijing. Then, we made the climb to the top and spent about and hour hiking on the wall and taking remarkable photos with our guide with us the whole way.
The Ming Tomb was remarkable and the tour was timed to be there for a daily ceremony.
There were two stops at a Jade Factory and another factory, but no pressure to buy.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

VW
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great day! There were only two of us on the tour so we were able to visit a different section of the Great Wall. It was a beautiful sunny day so we got lots of great photos. The Ming Tombs were also great! The only things I was not expecting was the almost tourist trap-type visits to the jade factory and tea shop. These were not educational visits, but rather store visits with a bit of demonstration and we were pressured a bit to buy their overpriced items. We had a great guide who was able to answer all of our questions. I would recommend this trip to anyone who would like to see the Great Wall but is a bit short on time in Beijing.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It started early at 7:00 a.m. and it was the last day of spring festival. No traffic, no people at the wall until later in the morning. Cherry, the tour guide was informative, kind and patient with me. My phone battery went dead so Cherry took pictures of me which I would like her to email to me. The Ming Tomb was great, the jade factory and the tea shop. I enjoyed the entire day. Couldn't have been nicer.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is something that you only can experience once in a lifetime. It is truly spectacular! It was tough climbing but it was nice that our guide took us to a less busy area of the wall. The ming tombs were also awesome.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly recommended tour of the Great Wall of China and Ming Tomb. The tour guide was very flexible allowing us to spend as much time as desired at each location. We were not rushed at any spot. Additionally, the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and able to speak English very well. This part of the wall is absolutely stunning with beautiful views of the mountains. Be ready to spend a few minutes at the Jade factory. I did not purchase anything and was not pushed into buying anything.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant tour, our guide Jason was very informative and spoke very good English. The section of wall at Mutianyu is truly amazing as is the chair lift to get up there.
Very interesting visit to the Ming Tomb complex and an excellent Chinese lunch in a good quality restaurant. The air conditioned car was very comfortable and the driver was good. Thank you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Went solo on this tour as I had just enough time at the end of my business trip.

Perfect Service and Great Tour! Would recommend this tour for anyone that wants a one day tour to see both the Great Wall in the hills of Mutianya and the Ming Tomb (Zhu Di). Jason was a perfect guide, excellent English, very Knowledgeable on the history of these sites and a great conversationalist. The toboggan ride is was a great way to go back down from the Wall site!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent time, excellent tour, excellent guide! Our guide named Carly arrived at our hotel just when she said she would. She spoke perfect English. Since there were only the two of us on the tour, she gave us the option of going to a different area of the Great Wall which she said wouldn't be as crowded. We took this option and we were amazed. After climbing on the Wall and visiting the Ming Tombs, we went on an unscheduled trip to a tea house in Beijing for a tasting. This was awesome and we came away with lots of gifts for our friends back home. This tour made our fifth anniversary trip to Beijing memorable. Thank you!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful day - the private tour was worth the extra cost. Our tour guide was excellent, full of information, spoke excellent English, and got us started early so we could avoid the crowds. The toboggan ride down from the wall was an unexpected bonus! We had about 1 hour and 40 minutes on the wall then went on to tour the Ming Tombs. The included lunch was OK, nothing great, and was at the jade factory. Overall a great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a family trip and we all feel victorious to conquer the heights of the Great Wall. The morning rain did not spoil the trip in any way. Our tourist guide, Chynthia Cai, made the initiative to find us umbrellas and we started at Ming Tombs before proceeding to the Great Wall. It was a real good experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our first full day in Beijing and we took this tour. Our tour guide was Jackie Li and there were 5 people on the tour. We had a lovely day. The tour company phoned our hotel room the evening before and confirmed the collection time and we were picked up in the morning. To address the reviews on here that moan about the "full day" aspect of the tour the tours all run from early 7/8am to between 1 and 3pm which is 7/8 hrs or a full work day, they run between these times to avoid as much of the Beijing traffic as possible and we were greatful of this because the best of Beijing traffic is worse than most other places and I certainly wouldn't want to spend hours stuck in traffic at the end of the tour, plus it gives you your afternoons and evenings free so it was perfect for us.
After being collected we headed for the Ming tombs which were very interesting and then on to the wall, Jackie Li was fantastic and gave us all the information about the places we were visiting while on route, he also asked us what part of the wall we wanted to go to, Badaling as advertised which has lots of tourists or a steeper and therefore quieter section at Juyongguan. He was very clear that it was the groups decision and we decided on the later. It was very very steep but an amazing section and having seen some of the photos of Badaling on line I think it is a more picturesque and a lot less crowded so we were very pleased. However if you are not fit you may want to stick with Badaling as it was very tiring and I am of pretty good fitness, my muscles were shaking in my legs on the way down.
Then off to a Jade factory which I know people complain about but almost every tour in China includes these side trips and I find them interesting, I never buy anything unless I want to and the feeling pressured is down to the individuals because we didn't feel any pressure at any stage to buy anything we didn't want, yes the staff follow you around but this happens in all shops in Beijing.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide, Michael, was PHENOMENAL!!! We could not be more pleased with our tour of the Great Wall, or the Ming Tombs. Michael was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and very interested in making sure we were having a great experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone planning on visiting Beijing!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This review must be prefaced with the fact that we (unknowingly) booked our week during the Chinese "weeklong" national celebration, Oct 1-7. That said, that meant 430 MILLION Chinese were traveling not even counting foreign tourist. That was in effect the perfect storm for this and all tours to be basically traffic jammed and miserable, but it was not, and thanks to our tour guide Jackie Lee, aka, Jackie Chan, and his driver, we got to the Ming Tombs, to the Great Wall, to lunch, yes to a few jade and tea shops and back to our hotel without hitting any, repeat any traffic jams as he knew all shortcuts and timings of the locals and how to avoid them all! To put this in perspective, on the road to the Great Wall, the same highway we were on, there have been 2 DAY, not 2 hour back-ups on the highway, so him getting us around without delays, plus his wit and charm and knowledge of the area was fantastic. Oh yea, one more small detail, after we got back to the hotel, I noticed either through my fault or the jade folks, my jade object was broke, although nicely packed. I called Jackie as there was no way I was going to fight the traffic and try and replace it and guess what, even on his busy tour the next day, he went to the factory, got me another, better one, brought it to my hotel and took the other one back and this was after his very long tour day for another group. Fantastic service, great tour guide and driver (amazing) and both made the best possible situation for us out of a potentially catastrophic tour day with all the traffic and congestion and travelers. Finally, the weather that day was absolutely perfect, no clouds, no rain, no pollution and we got to spend it touring the sites and not camped out on the highway, waiting to move another inch an hour as some couple reported to us. Be careful who you choose to take you on this tour, these 2 guys made all the difference in the world and it was a great time, pictures coming when I get them downloaded!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent value tour prompt pick up on time by our English speaking guide Jason Howe was very informative
first stop The Great Wall-JUYONGGUAN breathtaking experience not as crowed as other sections very step stairs up not for the unfit.
Second stop The Ming Tombs peaceful and architecturally brilliant well worth the drive
Lunch was in the jade factory restaurant, Jason made sure our lunch was to our specification (vegetarian)
finished the day off with a Tea Ceremony.Highly Recommended !!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The tour went really well. The tour guide was very imformative explaining everything at the Great Wall and the Ming Tombs. He took us to the Ming tombs first explaining that there would be less people there in the morning since most tour guides go to the Great Wall first. He was correct, as there were not many people at the Ming Tombs while we were there.

From there we went to the Great Wall the tour guide explained that we could go to different parts of the wall, one which would not be as many people or to the more well known portion. He left it up to us.
After we were done he took us to a pearl market, where they showed us how/where the pearls come from and of which they tried to sell us pearls.

Lastly the tour guide offered to drop us off at the Summer Palace or at our hotel. Of which we went to the Summer Palace and were very grateful.

Overall it was a great time and I highly recommend the tour guide

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Maddineedi
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This trip was very good and highly recommended, we were taken to Great Wall in the morning and given enough time to spend on the Wall. Tour guide was exceptional. Food was ok.Nothing special about the Ming Tombs. If asked to chose 2 sections do pick the most popular.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The tour was great: door to door service. The guide, Jackie was fun and very informative. He reeled off lots of stats about China and answered everyone's questions well. He was very considerate and friendly. The meal was good. The Great Wall was impressive as were Ming Tombs. No complaints at all. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Private tour is exactly what this is. We were contacted the night before by our guide, Leo, who made arrangements to meet us at our hotel. He was waiting for my wife, son and myself in the lobby the next morning. He lead us to our van, which we had to ourselves the entire day. We left at 9 am and got to The Wall at Juyongguan at 1030 am. The guide bought tickets and lead us to the starting point. We had two hours to explore. The weather was excellent and we hiked to the top and then back down. Had plenty of time to enjoy ourselves. The guide met us at a prearranged spot and we went to lunch at a Jade Factory. Lunch was outstanding and consisted of Kung Pao Chicken, Peppered Beef, a Pork dish, sweet peas, soup and rice. We bought some jade items, this was a no pressure place and a nice atmosphere. We then spent the afternoon at the Ming Tombs. Our guide explained to us the history behind the Ming Dynasty and was very knowledgeable on the subject. We stopped by a Silk Factory, there was a little more pressure there, but it was still a comfortable shopping experience. My wife bought a nice jacket for roughly $88. The guide then took us back to our hotel, ending a very pleasant tour experience. If you book this tour, you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Best Private Tour: Great Wall of China at Juyongguan and Ming Tombs from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

As usual, Viator provided a very interesting tour with a very knowledgeable and personable guide, As luck would have it, we were the only two people on the tour that particular day, so we had what turned out to be a "private" tour. Both the Great Wall and the Ming Tombs are, without a doubt, two of the world's most impressive sites and should not be missed when one visits the Beijing area. One word of caution, however: The word "antique" appears to be used a bit liberally in the gift shops near the Great Wall.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

PETER N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent trip, with a lovely and knowledgable guide, Thomas. He really madde the trip for us, and we saw the best bits of the wall, the ming tombs, and the sacred path. Thomas' knowledge and language skills were excellent and i'd recommend this trip as a good all rounder from Beijing. Only down side was the compulsory shopping trips to the Jade market and Tea shops. We were the only ones on the tour, so when we said we didn't actually drink tea and didn't need to buy any, we weren't treated very nicely by the shop staff. Nothing to do with the guide though.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message