• USD ($)
  • English

Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Ming Tombs (Ming Shisan Ling)

The Ming Dynasty Tombs, or Ming Shisan Ling, are located outside of central Beijing and are home to the tombs and mausoleums of the Yongle Emperor. Currently, these tombs are a UNESCO World Heritage site, and are listed as part of the World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide, Michael, was PHENOMENAL!!! We could not be more pleased with our tour of the Great Wall, or the Ming Tombs. Michael was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and very interested in making sure we were having a great experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone planning on visiting Beijing!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This review must be prefaced with the fact that we (unknowingly) booked our week during the Chinese "weeklong" national celebration, Oct 1-7. That said, that meant 430 MILLION Chinese were traveling not even counting foreign tourist. That was in effect the perfect storm for this and all tours to be basically traffic jammed and miserable, but it was not, and thanks to our tour guide Jackie Lee, aka, Jackie Chan, and his driver, we got to the Ming Tombs, to the Great Wall, to lunch, yes to a few jade and tea shops and back to our hotel without hitting any, repeat any traffic jams as he knew all shortcuts and timings of the locals and how to avoid them all! To put this in perspective, on the road to the Great Wall, the same highway we were on, there have been 2 DAY, not 2 hour back-ups on the highway, so him getting us around without delays, plus his wit and charm and knowledge of the area was fantastic. Oh yea, one more small detail, after we got back to the hotel, I noticed either through my fault or the jade folks, my jade object was broke, although nicely packed. I called Jackie as there was no way I was going to fight the traffic and try and replace it and guess what, even on his busy tour the next day, he went to the factory, got me another, better one, brought it to my hotel and took the other one back and this was after his very long tour day for another group. Fantastic service, great tour guide and driver (amazing) and both made the best possible situation for us out of a potentially catastrophic tour day with all the traffic and congestion and travelers. Finally, the weather that day was absolutely perfect, no clouds, no rain, no pollution and we got to spend it touring the sites and not camped out on the highway, waiting to move another inch an hour as some couple reported to us. Be careful who you choose to take you on this tour, these 2 guys made all the difference in the world and it was a great time, pictures coming when I get them downloaded!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent value tour prompt pick up on time by our English speaking guide Jason Howe was very informative
first stop The Great Wall-JUYONGGUAN breathtaking experience not as crowed as other sections very step stairs up not for the unfit.
Second stop The Ming Tombs peaceful and architecturally brilliant well worth the drive
Lunch was in the jade factory restaurant, Jason made sure our lunch was to our specification (vegetarian)
finished the day off with a Tea Ceremony.Highly Recommended !!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Visiting the tombs were good, but getting to see and explore a segment of the Great Wall was amazing! Our guide was wonderful - very knowledgeable and a great photographer to boot. She was kind enough to take pictures of all of us to record this incredible experience. This day was much richer with all of the historical tidbits that was shared by our guide. This tour is very highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The tour went really well. The tour guide was very imformative explaining everything at the Great Wall and the Ming Tombs. He took us to the Ming tombs first explaining that there would be less people there in the morning since most tour guides go to the Great Wall first. He was correct, as there were not many people at the Ming Tombs while we were there.

From there we went to the Great Wall the tour guide explained that we could go to different parts of the wall, one which would not be as many people or to the more well known portion. He left it up to us.
After we were done he took us to a pearl market, where they showed us how/where the pearls come from and of which they tried to sell us pearls.

Lastly the tour guide offered to drop us off at the Summer Palace or at our hotel. Of which we went to the Summer Palace and were very grateful.

Overall it was a great time and I highly recommend the tour guide

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A great experience which made the most out of my short free time in Beijing. The wall at Badaling was just amazing, along with the Great tombs. Our Guide Cerry was very friendly, helpful and shared her great knowledge of the history of the area. we where a small group so it felt like a personal experience. Also enjoyed the Tea Sampling at Dr Tea. i would recommend this trip to anyone looking for a sample of the fantastic history that Beijing has to offer.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Maddineedi
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This trip was very good and highly recommended, we were taken to Great Wall in the morning and given enough time to spend on the Wall. Tour guide was exceptional. Food was ok.Nothing special about the Ming Tombs. If asked to chose 2 sections do pick the most popular.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The tour was great: door to door service. The guide, Jackie was fun and very informative. He reeled off lots of stats about China and answered everyone's questions well. He was very considerate and friendly. The meal was good. The Great Wall was impressive as were Ming Tombs. No complaints at all. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We booked this tour prior ro our trip to Beijing and were very pleased we did. It was supposed to be a group tour but as no one else had booked for that day we had a private tour instead! Our tour guide was absolutely lovely, spoke good English and was very knowledgable. An amazing trip to the wall, the tombs, lunch was fantastic and we even had time to stop at a local teahouse on the way back. We were kept informed of pick up times etc and will definately use Viator again.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Private tour is exactly what this is. We were contacted the night before by our guide, Leo, who made arrangements to meet us at our hotel. He was waiting for my wife, son and myself in the lobby the next morning. He lead us to our van, which we had to ourselves the entire day. We left at 9 am and got to The Wall at Juyongguan at 1030 am. The guide bought tickets and lead us to the starting point. We had two hours to explore. The weather was excellent and we hiked to the top and then back down. Had plenty of time to enjoy ourselves. The guide met us at a prearranged spot and we went to lunch at a Jade Factory. Lunch was outstanding and consisted of Kung Pao Chicken, Peppered Beef, a Pork dish, sweet peas, soup and rice. We bought some jade items, this was a no pressure place and a nice atmosphere. We then spent the afternoon at the Ming Tombs. Our guide explained to us the history behind the Ming Dynasty and was very knowledgeable on the subject. We stopped by a Silk Factory, there was a little more pressure there, but it was still a comfortable shopping experience. My wife bought a nice jacket for roughly $88. The guide then took us back to our hotel, ending a very pleasant tour experience. If you book this tour, you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Wall of China at Juyongguan and Ming Tombs from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

As usual, Viator provided a very interesting tour with a very knowledgeable and personable guide, As luck would have it, we were the only two people on the tour that particular day, so we had what turned out to be a "private" tour. Both the Great Wall and the Ming Tombs are, without a doubt, two of the world's most impressive sites and should not be missed when one visits the Beijing area. One word of caution, however: The word "antique" appears to be used a bit liberally in the gift shops near the Great Wall.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

PETER N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent trip, with a lovely and knowledgable guide, Thomas. He really madde the trip for us, and we saw the best bits of the wall, the ming tombs, and the sacred path. Thomas' knowledge and language skills were excellent and i'd recommend this trip as a good all rounder from Beijing. Only down side was the compulsory shopping trips to the Jade market and Tea shops. We were the only ones on the tour, so when we said we didn't actually drink tea and didn't need to buy any, we weren't treated very nicely by the shop staff. Nothing to do with the guide though.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Michael G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

I booked a 'group tour' expecting a bus; however, it ended up being me, the driver and the tour guide all day. I thought the Ming Tombs were a waste of time. You see one temple, and then a mound of dirt where the tombs are said to be, and that's it. Then you go onto the Great Wall which was one of the best experiences of my life. Everyone who visits China has got to go to the wall. I was grinning ear to ear the whole time even though it was -2 degrees and there was snow everywhere. The only issue I had was that I was back at my hotel by 2pm and it was meant to be a full day tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Perfect day in the Beijing area. The guides knowledge and history of Ming Tombs was amazing. Lunch was family style, fun! And the Great Wall was more impressive than I could have imagined. Great Tour!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

I thoroughly enjoyed my climb up the Badaling section of the Great Wall. My knees felt like jelly afterwards however, I would not trade this experience for anything. The Ming Tombs was also another dream come true. Go on this tour especially if you are an English speaking tourist.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message