Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Pearl Market (Hongqiao Market)

For a uniquely local shopping experience, plan to spend a few hours at Beijing’s Pearl Market (Hongqiao Market). The market is famous for its three floors of dealers selling pearl strands from around the world and is the largest pearl market in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

VW
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great way to see the most important sites in Beijing in one day! We started nice and early so we beat the crowds to Tienanmen Square and the Forbidden City. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer all our questions about the locations we visited, Beijing and Chinese culture. I was not too fond of the visits to the silk factory and pearl shop as they felt like tourist traps. The Temple of Heaven and Summer Palace were also fantastic and we were lucky enough to have great weather the day of the visit. Since it was before peak tourist season there were only 4 of us on the tour. Overall a lovely day in Beijing- I especially recommend it if you are short on time and want to get the most out of your time in the city.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Jason was the best!! He was very informative and we had plenty of time at each location. I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great day out. Beautiful blue sky, crisp morning, informative guide. Stop at a tea shop to warm up!!!

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My tour guide Robert was able to answer my questions well and was very knowledgable about the attractions we visited. The tour was excellent after arriving in Beijing on my first day. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

All tours were amazing....and Michael (our tour guide) was excellent in explaining things. Be prepared...tours will stop at 2 factories...Pearl and silk factories. Silk factory fascinating...pearl not so much. Be prepared that the tour company gets a "kick back" from all shopping done. However, you are under no circumstances pressured or forced to buy anything. Lunch was good but not great.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guides were fantastic, however I will not book with via tour ever again. Once they have your money which they are more than happy to take, your then pretty much on your own. The tour is great but you can book tours anywhere really.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very full amazing day - our guide Jackie was fantastic - informative and funny. As I was only in Beijing for 2 days this day trip was just what I wanted - though not for everyone as there was a lot of walking (about 11km). We saw heaps and got plenty of time for shopping and had a tasty lunch. We were lucky in that it was a holiday period in Beijing so there were flowers everywhere and a great atmosphere.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was alot of walking but it was over the whole day so you didn't really feel like it. Jackie was put tour guide and had lots of stories to tell. Another small group was great.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was more then what we expected. The show was amazing and our tour guide Jackie was fantastic and lots of fun. Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great day with Linda as our guide. She was on time and was professional while being really friendly. Our request for a slight change to the plan for the day was no problem. Linda was really knowledgeable about the sights and got us great seats for the Kung Fu Show. Then some great conversation and more sights on our walk to the restaurant and a lovely Peking Duck dinner. Would sincerely recommend this tour and our guide Linda.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great trip lead by an informative guide (Jackie). The communication between Viator and ourselves prior to arriving in Beijing was excellent and a message was awaiting arrival at the hotel in 'downtown' Beijing. The transport arrived on time and continued to pick up other guests on the tour whilst Jackie kept us entertained with stories about Beijing and explaining how the day would progress.

Jackie used his experience to re-arrange the tour around the Beijing traffic to try to ensure that we spent more time at the attractions. We went to the Ming Tombs first and were given an interesting introduction to the Emporers of the Ming Dynasty on route to the tombs and then given an informative overview of the tombs and what each item represented. We were fortunate enough to observe a ritual performed in full cultural dress, which we were aware was not a usual part of the itinery, however we were fortunate enough to be there on the day of the annual 'Mooncake' festival.

After lunch and a visit to the local Jade factory, the tour then went to the Great Wall where again, Jackie gave us an overview of the wall en-route which then left us plenty of time to 'climb' the wall and take photographs at our own pace. Jackie then questioned our understanding on our route back to Beijing and gave us all the opportunity to ask any further questions before stopping off on our return to the hotels to take part in a 'tea ceremony'

Overall it was a very full and informative day that was an excedllent introduction to Beijing.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We saw the major sights in Beijing. It was a busy day...but worthwhile. We saw 4 weddings at The Temple of Heaven while we were there. Loved the Summer Palace and our trip over the lake in a dragon boat. Great day trip.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I great way to visit the main must see attractions. The tour guide (Jackie) was friendly, helpful and funny. He shared curious stories in all sites making an effort to give more information than just the basic historic facts. I only wish we had more time to see the Summer Palace which is spectacular.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Amazing tour guide! Everything was perfect! Loved every minute! Additional tea tasting, jade factory and silk making tour! I even got to help make a silk blanket! When group is small guide adapts tours to needs of guests. Am very pleased with this tour!

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were picked up at the hotel an hour late. However, the guide did contact us at the pick up time and inform us that he was running late. We appreciated that. When we were picked up we joined a small group on a small tour bus. There were 7 of us and we bonded very quickly. The tour guide was very informative and friendly and the driver was very safe and caused us no distress with his driving skills.
This was a very good tour but made for a long day. We were able to cover a lot of ground and got a lot of information from our guide.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message