Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Pearl Market (Hongqiao Market)

For a uniquely local shopping experience, plan to spend a few hours at Beijing’s Pearl Market (Hongqiao Market). The market is famous for its three floors of dealers selling pearl strands from around the world and is the largest pearl market in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 144 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a good tour. Enjoyed the Peking duck!! The duck was excellent!! Temple of Heaven was impressive. The Kung Fu show as more of a story of one child and not that much fighting but still interesting. Overall -- a great experience.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really enjoyable day, Jackie was an excellent tour guide with a lot of knowledge.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My private tour exceeded my expectations. Cris was an excellent guide. She was very knowledgable and great company. I would definitely book another trip in the future.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing! Our tour guide Jacky was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and his English was very easy to understand. The history of the forbidden city, temple of heaven and the summer place are something you should for sure see in Beijing.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

VW
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great way to see the most important sites in Beijing in one day! We started nice and early so we beat the crowds to Tienanmen Square and the Forbidden City. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer all our questions about the locations we visited, Beijing and Chinese culture. I was not too fond of the visits to the silk factory and pearl shop as they felt like tourist traps. The Temple of Heaven and Summer Palace were also fantastic and we were lucky enough to have great weather the day of the visit. Since it was before peak tourist season there were only 4 of us on the tour. Overall a lovely day in Beijing- I especially recommend it if you are short on time and want to get the most out of your time in the city.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Jason was the best!! He was very informative and we had plenty of time at each location. I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great day out. Beautiful blue sky, crisp morning, informative guide. Stop at a tea shop to warm up!!!

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My tour guide Robert was able to answer my questions well and was very knowledgable about the attractions we visited. The tour was excellent after arriving in Beijing on my first day. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

All tours were amazing....and Michael (our tour guide) was excellent in explaining things. Be prepared...tours will stop at 2 factories...Pearl and silk factories. Silk factory fascinating...pearl not so much. Be prepared that the tour company gets a "kick back" from all shopping done. However, you are under no circumstances pressured or forced to buy anything. Lunch was good but not great.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guides were fantastic, however I will not book with via tour ever again. Once they have your money which they are more than happy to take, your then pretty much on your own. The tour is great but you can book tours anywhere really.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very full amazing day - our guide Jackie was fantastic - informative and funny. As I was only in Beijing for 2 days this day trip was just what I wanted - though not for everyone as there was a lot of walking (about 11km). We saw heaps and got plenty of time for shopping and had a tasty lunch. We were lucky in that it was a holiday period in Beijing so there were flowers everywhere and a great atmosphere.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was alot of walking but it was over the whole day so you didn't really feel like it. Jackie was put tour guide and had lots of stories to tell. Another small group was great.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was more then what we expected. The show was amazing and our tour guide Jackie was fantastic and lots of fun. Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great day with Linda as our guide. She was on time and was professional while being really friendly. Our request for a slight change to the plan for the day was no problem. Linda was really knowledgeable about the sights and got us great seats for the Kung Fu Show. Then some great conversation and more sights on our walk to the restaurant and a lovely Peking Duck dinner. Would sincerely recommend this tour and our guide Linda.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great trip lead by an informative guide (Jackie). The communication between Viator and ourselves prior to arriving in Beijing was excellent and a message was awaiting arrival at the hotel in 'downtown' Beijing. The transport arrived on time and continued to pick up other guests on the tour whilst Jackie kept us entertained with stories about Beijing and explaining how the day would progress.

Jackie used his experience to re-arrange the tour around the Beijing traffic to try to ensure that we spent more time at the attractions. We went to the Ming Tombs first and were given an interesting introduction to the Emporers of the Ming Dynasty on route to the tombs and then given an informative overview of the tombs and what each item represented. We were fortunate enough to observe a ritual performed in full cultural dress, which we were aware was not a usual part of the itinery, however we were fortunate enough to be there on the day of the annual 'Mooncake' festival.

After lunch and a visit to the local Jade factory, the tour then went to the Great Wall where again, Jackie gave us an overview of the wall en-route which then left us plenty of time to 'climb' the wall and take photographs at our own pace. Jackie then questioned our understanding on our route back to Beijing and gave us all the opportunity to ask any further questions before stopping off on our return to the hotels to take part in a 'tea ceremony'

Overall it was a very full and informative day that was an excedllent introduction to Beijing.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We saw the major sights in Beijing. It was a busy day...but worthwhile. We saw 4 weddings at The Temple of Heaven while we were there. Loved the Summer Palace and our trip over the lake in a dragon boat. Great day trip.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I great way to visit the main must see attractions. The tour guide (Jackie) was friendly, helpful and funny. He shared curious stories in all sites making an effort to give more information than just the basic historic facts. I only wish we had more time to see the Summer Palace which is spectacular.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Amazing tour guide! Everything was perfect! Loved every minute! Additional tea tasting, jade factory and silk making tour! I even got to help make a silk blanket! When group is small guide adapts tours to needs of guests. Am very pleased with this tour!

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were picked up at the hotel an hour late. However, the guide did contact us at the pick up time and inform us that he was running late. We appreciated that. When we were picked up we joined a small group on a small tour bus. There were 7 of us and we bonded very quickly. The tour guide was very informative and friendly and the driver was very safe and caused us no distress with his driving skills.
This was a very good tour but made for a long day. We were able to cover a lot of ground and got a lot of information from our guide.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

In contrast to the tour to the Great Wall and Ming Tombs the day before this was a fantastic tour. As with the previous day my wife and I were the only ones on the tour. The tour was comfortably paced for us. Tiamanmen Square was busy due to being the Mid-Autumn Festival. It was unfortunate that it was raining as we walked through the Forbidden City, however our guide (Cherry - if that is her real name) took us along the right side away from the masses and slightly higher than the main throng of visitors. She regularly pointed out photo opportunities.

Getting back to the coach it was onto the Silk Factory. Although there was an opportunity to buy, there was no sign of any high pressure sales.

Onto the Heavenly Temple and the rain had stopped. Again our guide provided us with excellent information and provided us with time to have a look by ourselves. Before lunch it was on the Pearl Factory. Getting a theme here? Yes - we were shown how fresh water pearls are cultured and farmed, but it was followed by a purchase opportunity, but as with the Silk Factory no high pressure sales techniques used.

Lunch was at a restaurant as was good quality and quantity. And onto the Summer Palace. By now the sun had come out. The Summer Palace was busy, again because of the Mid-Autumn Festival. We walked to the Marble Ship, before coming back on the Dragon Boat (you will have to pay extra, but well worth it).

Would I recommend it - most definitely. We were not subject to high sales pressure at the Silk or Pearl Factories. Cherry was a great guide.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Excellant, guide was full of information and had a good sense of humour, kept a good eye on his group but not too "time conscious". The lunch was very good, the time allowed was sufficient. Transport comfortable.
If time in Beijing is limited - very good tour, shopping places taken to - good, perhaps time there could be shortened.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our guide 'Jackie Lee' was the highlight of the day. We are still talking about him! This is a great tour. The Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven are very interesting and the Summer Palace is beautiful. I wish these tours avoided local businesses like the pearl factory though.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent full-day tour which covered the main sights in Beijing. Knowledgeable guide who genuinely enjoyed role and culture of the attractions. Although Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City could be reached easily alone, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven more difficult to locate so this tour was invaluable. As with Great Wall tour, visit to 'tourist trap' shopping sites annoying but likely to subsidise the price.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We would recommend this tour and our tour guide, Jackie. We especially enjoyed the Kung Fu show and the Pearl Market. Jackie was very professional and spoke excellent English. He did a great job helping us bargain with the vendors at the Pearl Market.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message