• USD ($)
  • English

Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Summer Palace (Yiheyuan)

The Summer Palace - also known as Yiheyuan - was built in 1750. In those days, it was called the Garden of Clear Ripples, and was a lakeside oasis where the royal court could escape the dust and heat of the Forbidden City in summer.  It was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well organised trip with knowledgeable and polite guide. Pick up and drop off at the hotel. We have been on several tours in Beijing and this is one worth going on. There is an optional boat ride in the Summer Palace that we took as well at nominal extra charge.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We saw the major sights in Beijing. It was a busy day...but worthwhile. We saw 4 weddings at The Temple of Heaven while we were there. Loved the Summer Palace and our trip over the lake in a dragon boat. Great day trip.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour. Cynthia our guide was excellent. Only 4 of us in the group. Had a great day. Summer palace is a must see in Beijing

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour 3 of 4 in Beijing and what a way to start than waking up early and getting to the Panda Garden while the Pandas are still awake and eating, our guide Li got us there just after opening and they were quite active it was a beautiful sight and as the only 2 people on the tour for the second day running we had the guides full attention.

I have reviewed all my tours in Beijing please see my review on Badaling Great wall in relation to the "full day" and side stops on the tours.
Then it was on to the summer palace which is an absolutely stunning place and although on the tour you don't get to go up to the actual palace, just in the grounds you still get to see the amazing scenery, the marble boat and you get to ride across the lake on a dragon boat for a very small extra charge.
Then another lovely lunch after a tour of a pearl factory my wife spent some small change on a bracelet and that was all we wanted and no pressure from anyone to buy more, they respect no in China you just have to say it.
Then the Lama Temple, a highly religious place as expected and very interesting.
Another very lovely day in Beijing

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I great way to visit the main must see attractions. The tour guide (Jackie) was friendly, helpful and funny. He shared curious stories in all sites making an effort to give more information than just the basic historic facts. I only wish we had more time to see the Summer Palace which is spectacular.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Amazing views at the Summer Palace, impressive architecture at the Lama Temple, and cute, cuddly panda bears made for a fantastic tour. Our guide, Cynthia, was very energetic and excited about giving us a glimpse into China's long history. We enjoyed every moment of the tour and the time that we got to spend with Cynthia!

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

In contrast to the tour to the Great Wall and Ming Tombs the day before this was a fantastic tour. As with the previous day my wife and I were the only ones on the tour. The tour was comfortably paced for us. Tiamanmen Square was busy due to being the Mid-Autumn Festival. It was unfortunate that it was raining as we walked through the Forbidden City, however our guide (Cherry - if that is her real name) took us along the right side away from the masses and slightly higher than the main throng of visitors. She regularly pointed out photo opportunities.

Getting back to the coach it was onto the Silk Factory. Although there was an opportunity to buy, there was no sign of any high pressure sales.

Onto the Heavenly Temple and the rain had stopped. Again our guide provided us with excellent information and provided us with time to have a look by ourselves. Before lunch it was on the Pearl Factory. Getting a theme here? Yes - we were shown how fresh water pearls are cultured and farmed, but it was followed by a purchase opportunity, but as with the Silk Factory no high pressure sales techniques used.

Lunch was at a restaurant as was good quality and quantity. And onto the Summer Palace. By now the sun had come out. The Summer Palace was busy, again because of the Mid-Autumn Festival. We walked to the Marble Ship, before coming back on the Dragon Boat (you will have to pay extra, but well worth it).

Would I recommend it - most definitely. We were not subject to high sales pressure at the Silk or Pearl Factories. Cherry was a great guide.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our guide 'Jackie Lee' was the highlight of the day. We are still talking about him! This is a great tour. The Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven are very interesting and the Summer Palace is beautiful. I wish these tours avoided local businesses like the pearl factory though.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Jason was excellent and knowledgeable guide. Summer Palace was beautifully cool. One small observation - would have enjoyed slightly more time here and less time in government pearl, tea and chinese medicine estblishments.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent full-day tour which covered the main sights in Beijing. Knowledgeable guide who genuinely enjoyed role and culture of the attractions. Although Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City could be reached easily alone, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven more difficult to locate so this tour was invaluable. As with Great Wall tour, visit to 'tourist trap' shopping sites annoying but likely to subsidise the price.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

my dream palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day tour. The guide Jason was fantastic with lots of great information and keen to answer any questions. Along with the Zoo, Summer Palace and Lama Temple we also went to a pearl shop which had a lot a beautiful items for sale at a reasonable price, and also to the silk factory. We weren't rushed at any time. Jason also assisted in engaging the locals, eg where artists were practicing dishu at the Summer Palace. Pick up and drop off times were as agreed. Lunch was at a local restaurant and there was plenty to eat.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Marian P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Jason was a wonderful guide. His English was fantastic and his attention to detail terrific. The weather in the morning was very wet but this did not spoil the tour at all. The visit to the Panda Garden was great; we saw a variety of ages of panda enjoying their bamboo breakfast! Off then to the Summer Palace where Jason was encyclopedic about the place, the history and the people - first class! Lunch was OK The Lama Temple was spectacular and an experience I will always remember. The booked itinerary did not mention the tea tasting but this was fun and its addition did not make me feel I had missed time elsewhere. I would thoroughly and warmly recommend Jason as a guide and this tour, too. I have booked tours through the company before in other cities and Viator have lived up to their usual high standards. Many thanks

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour picked us up at the hotel on time. It was just the two of us and one other woman on the tour. Our guide was full of information and talked almost non-stop. This was an extremely fast-paced tour. I would recommend this tour to people who only have a short time in Beijing because it crams a lot into on day. We first went to the Summer Palace and although we spent about 1.5 hours there, we only saw a fraction of it. You could easily spend an entire day there. The next stop was the Pearl Market where the showed us how pearls are made and opened an oyster. We were brought up to the next level where they wanted us to buy pearls. Afterwards, we were taken to the Temple of Heaven and spent about 45 minutes there. From there we went to lunch at a buffet. The food was not great. All of the dishes were vaguely labelled 'pork', 'chicken' and 'vegetable'. After lunch we were taken to the Silk Market. Another shopping experience where they showed you how silk is made. They let my boyfriend open up one of the cocoons, stretch the silk and help make a layer of a quilt. It was a fun experience and we did end up splurging on two silk quilts. After was Tiananmen Square. We only really saw it from across the street, but we were there long enough for photos. We went directly into the Forbidden City and again, we were there for over an hour, but only saw a small section of it. The guide walked very fast and we were exhausted by the end of the day. He was full of information and offered to take photos for us (which was the best part of being on such a small tour). There were a lot of people and panhandlers around the tourist attractions and having a mandarin speaking guide helped shoo them away faster. At the end of the tour, the guide offered to bring us to a cheap place for a foot massage. We were taken to a holistic medical school where we were given foot massages by students and the cost was whatever you tipped. Great tour even with the forced shopping stops.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great tour at an unbeatable price! I'm so glad we chose this option. It was our first time in China and this was a great introduction for us. It covered all the basics - Great Wall, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Forbidden City. It was the perfect mix between the must-see "tourist" attractions and cultural immersion we would not have been able to do on our own. Great sights, friendly people and amazing country!

Doing what: 4-Day Private Tour of Beijing: Great Wall, Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Peking Duck Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message