To think of Chinese cuisine as one unified whole is an error; the landmass of China is as large as the United States and its regional cuisine is just as diverse, with Beijing’s popular dishes tasting completely different from those of Southern or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This cooking class really showed us some techniques for cooking Chinese style dishes that i have never known before. Our market tour allowed us to ask lots of questions about what the fabulous fresh fruits and vegetables we saw. Our instructor picked up the best ingredients here and had replacements back at the school for the ones not up to her standards. The class was small to allow for real individual instruction. My advice, download the map to find the location. We followed the text directions and walked confidently there, but the map you can find on the website or here uploaded by another reviewer will be very helpful.

The courtyard, hutong entrance and kitchen felt like you were learning right at someone's home their favorite family recipies. What an experience!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had a little trouble finding the location, but once inside I had an amazing experience. The market tour was interesting. I found foods I never saw before but learned how to cook with them. I had a fantastic time learning the recipes and want to return to learn more!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour and the cooking class was everything i could hope for . It was the perfect date day .

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The show is very impressive. The stunts are more dangerous than what I had seen in a Vegas Cirque de Solei show a few days before. You have the option of upgrading your seat, which I did and ended up in the 2nd row, which was a lot of fun. The food was delicious and there was too much to eat, which is a great problem to have.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent. The Acrobatic show is fast paced and mind blowing with about 10 acts. Although we've seen it before on a prior trip to Beijing, it is remarkable the talent and expertise that goes into these acts. The theatre is worn and we were one of a few American/European faces in the audience most of the audience were Chinese so this is not a show developed for tourists.
You shouldn't go to Beijing without trying a Peking duck dinner. Its served with a number of other dishes for those who think they might not like duck.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great way to cook chinese food and lear to do so the visit to the market is great too. The guide will provides you really good help, advices to have a tasty meal and be ready there will be lot of food to eat !

I have the chance to be alone that day so I get lucky to choose what I want to cooked and eat !

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was great to taste the great street food's the guide Michele choose for me according to what i like or would try to. In this tour you'll stop to a local market a great way to see out of my country fruits and vegie's ! Even turtles !!

Doing what: Best Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip. The market tour was very interesting, seeing everything so fresh and well displayed -- along side some ingredients that were very far removed from our North American diet. The instruction was easy and we all were responsible for cooking the recipes after Chef demonstrated each one. I would recommend this experience to every person who likes to cook and wants to learn about other cultures -- a truly great time, money well spent!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The show was entertaining, more gymnastics than acrobats. The Peking Duck was fantastic, the only negative is that the 1 beverage which is included in your dinner, comes in a very small glass. All other
beverages have to be bought separately, including water.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, great chef. Very knowledgeable instructor gave an excellent insight to the markets, the ingredients we used, and the cooking techniques employed. A very worthwhile class, and I have been a chef more than 35 years, so I am a hard marker!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was terrific! We went early and accompanied the Chef to the local market - really fascinating. the class and the food were great. Really yummy! I had my 13 year old son and there was another Mom there with a 12 year old daughter and they loved it too. really great to learn more about Chinese cuisine - we got to keep the recipes and can make them at home.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great experience. Market tour for ingredients then back to the Kitchen to cook some yummy food

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had a lovely morning with Chunyi. It was only my wife and I on the course and it was our last day in Beijing. We had great fun. We arrived early (I have attached a map downloaded direct from Chunyi's website the entrance is down a small hutong approximately 100 yards on the left of DengCao Hutong from DongSi South Street and there is a sign on the door reading hutong cuisine (No 35). Go to the website and have a look for directions and contact details if you have any problems you can call the school although we found it very easy to find) The market tour was really interesting and only a short walk from the school. Chunyi showed us all the ingredients we would be using so that we could buy them when we are back in the UK. Then it was back to the school to prepare and then cook 3 dishes before watching her cook desert for us. On Chunyi's website you can find out what you will be cooking on your course as they are listed months in advance with pictures as well, we did beef, chicken and cabbage dishes. All the food was amazing and we will certainly be trying to make it again now we are home. Make sure you don't eat too much breakfast as there is a lot of food and we were stuffed by the end of the course. Thank You Chunyi for a lovely end to our amazing holiday in Beijing.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic. Interesting, knowledgeable and fun. Chunyi spoke excellent english. The market tour was interesting and the cooking class simple and fun. Her cooking space is clean and well laid out. A great day!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Everything perfect!
Super recommended. The guide is very friendly, the show amazing and delightful dinner, although it includes only one drink (a glass of beer, water or soda), but you can pay for more.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

had a fantastic time! It was just me and another traveler, and our guide, Lilly was very relaxed, nice and knowledgeable. the homemade food was delicious :)

Doing what: Best Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great cooking experience. Especially enjoyed the market tour as we had eaten various chinese meals on our Great Wall trek,and so we saw many vegetables that we had tried. Thoroughly recommend this cooking experience

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a great way to spend an afternoon in Beijing away from the crowds! Our host was fantastic, took us around the market pointing out the typical and unusual. The cooking was great - both my kids (12 and 14) made their own pancakes, including using the massive cleaver! Being in the hutong really gave us a sense of the local life, away from all the big tour buses and "matching hat tours"

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

JENNIFER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was really an eye opener. Firstly our Peking Duck Banquet was the most amazing food ever. We were the only two people on this tour and had a private table to ourselves. Heaps of different dishes as well as the duck. Service was wonderful. The acrobatic show was probably one of the best shows we have ever seen. Could not believe though at the end of the show when the cast is taking their bows, the audience just get up and run out the doors and you are swept away with them. We laughed so much at this and through the mayhem our driver still spotted us and waved us over to where he was for a quick getaway to miss all the traffic. This was a really good night and we would strongly recommend.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was an exceptional evening. Both the show and dinner were excellent. The guide was promt and very friendly. Would recommend it to anyone

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

What a great night, the show was amazing, we had front row seats so you could sit back and enjoy the fantastic show and then we went to the Peking Duck Banquet where they just kept bringing out the food and the duck was so delicious. It was really worth the money, we all had a great time.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Dinner was great, show was exciting. Again, Viator is the best!

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

EXCELLENT TOUR...THE DINNER WAS THE BEST OF MY 23 DAY ORIENT TRIP...SHOW WAS GREAT...GUIDE MICHEAL WAS FRIENDLY AND KNOWLEDGABLE

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The dinner was good, lots of food, tasty and authentic. The show was fantastic, a must see. The best night of our stay in Beijing!

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The venue is nothing to write home about (I guess China is not too fussed about the 'atmosphere' of an experience), but the food was very good and the acrobatic show was simply incredible. This is a very fun evening out, great for a larger group. We would definitely do this again.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message