To think of Chinese cuisine as one unified whole is an error; the landmass of China is as large as the United States and its regional cuisine is just as diverse, with Beijing’s popular dishes tasting completely different from those of Southern or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

SOOOOOO Good! The show was amazing! Absolutely amazing. For how much the tour cost, the seats could have been much better though. We were off to the side so the view for everything wasn't the best. As I said, for how much the tour cost, they should have purchased VIP seats. The dinner was good. There wasn't much duck to go around. Luckily, the rest of the group didn't actually like duck. They take you to a very touristy place that obviously caters towards white people so the food wasn't the greatest. They do provide more than just the duck though. So there is plenty of food. There were only five people in our group and they bought out enough to feed an army.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Ann H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour. We made chinese dumplings. We prepared 3 different fillings vegetarian, pork and beef and we prepared them 3 ways steamed, boiled and fried.. It started with a visit to the local market to purchase ingredients for the cooking class. Then we returned to the instructors house to prepare the dumplings. The class was fun, informative and the results were delicious.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This class was a lot to f fun! The trip to the market was great because the chef took the time to walk through pointing out all the different items, their taste, origins, etc. the food was amazing and was fun to learn the techniques. Would definitely take more classes here if I had the opportunity!! Thank you for a great experience!!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Llamaschool United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

As a single traveler, I didn't want to go to a Peking Duck restaurant on my ownwho orders a whole or even half duck? And I'd read good things about the Acrobatic Show, so I went for it. The restaurant that we were taken to clearly catered to international tourists but the chef did actually carve our duck at the table, even though our guide had warned us that he might not be able to b/c it was 'high season.' The server demonstrated the appropriate way to fold the duck and condiments into the sleeve, and we were offered wine with dinner and checked on often. We were given fruit, a salad, soup, and four entrées kung pao, orange chicken, an egg and chicken dish and broccoli beef for the four persons in the party. The acrobatic show was incredible. One of the highlights of my trip-- it made me want to bring my kids to Beijingif they like the Cirque de Soleil show that passes through every year, they'll love this! If other reviews stated that the theater and costumes were tired and run-down, things have been overhauled since. Just amazing! Our tour guide was William Kuang, who was also the guide on my tour of the Summer Palace, Panda Garden and Lama Temple. A former accountant who is thrilled to be working as a tour guide and sharing the culture of Beijing with foreigners, William is highly recommended, as is this tour package!

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Jamie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My teenage daughters, husband and I all cooked at this class and had a fantastic time. The market tour was very interesting too. I have to eat gluten free and they were very accommodating, substituting ingredients so I could have all the recipes. Everything was tasty and we had a relaxing time. I bought a handmade knife for my kitchen at home. Our only challenge was getting there during rush hour. Metro was our best bet.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

After a very long flight from Chicago, we arrived in Beijing and got to our hotel pretty late at night. We woke quickly the next morning thanks to jet lag and excitement to take the Market Tour and Dumpling cooking class. It was the perfect first day for our 5 day trip to Beijing. The market tour was my wife, our chef, and myself and we had a great time venturing through the seasonal vegetables, noodle counters, and protein areas fish area, pork, beef, etc.. After we returned we prepared for the cooking portion and were joined by three women from Norway. The chef was personable, patient, funny, and make the entire experience something that I'd do again anytime I am in Beijing. Thanks again!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Gail W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This cooking class was truly worth it. From start to finish it was informative and interactive. Our instructors were pleasant and attentive to every detail. The market tour was to a lovely market nearby to buy the ingredients for the meal we were cooking. A worthwhile addition to our Beijing experience. A tour not to be missed.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly Recommend! I had the most delightful and instructive experience with Chef Zhou Chao and was lucky enough to be the only student in class. He is knowledgable, skilled, charming and an excellent teacher. After a detailed description of the differences between the wine, soy sauces and vinegars we would be using, we headed off to a gigantic indoor market to buy vegetables, tofu and meat for our menu.

I loved discovering many new-to-me fruits and veggies at the market and Chef Zhou was most patient in identifying anything I pointed out. What looked like zucchini, turned out to be young loofah, which when older turn into those bath scrubbers!

Back at his spacious kitchen, he demonstrated how a Chinese cleaver could take the place of several different knives, by smashing garlic, julienning vegetables or scoring and slicing meat. Even though I am an accomplished cook, this part of the class was a gem!

After preparing all our ingredients, we stood side by side at his range to cook the dishes in our woks. I learned so much through this arrangement and could match my efforts to his: from swirling the oil to flipping the food in the wok instead of of stirring it around. He explained how his method would do a better job of cooking each piece properly.

Then, before sitting down to a delicious lunch, we compared tastes of his version of Mapo Tofu, Gong bao chicken and dry stir fried green beans to mine. I learned so much and will definitely make these dishes at home now. A wonderful class with a great teacher!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Arianne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Other than the Great Wall trek, This tour was a highlight of my time in Beijing. There were only 2 other people on the tour and we went to a very local market. It was great to have a local that could speak the language and explain everything weird and wonderful to us. We had some sensational street food including Donkey burgers. I can't recommend it enough. If I ever return to Beijing I would to it again.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Firstly, I would highly recommend booking this tour as there aren't many people who travel independently in Beijing, hence there were only 4 of us in total on this tour. The service was fantastic. The Acrobatic show was incredible, unlike anything I've ever seen before!! Following this, we were taken to a Peking Duck restaurant where we were served this plus a lot of other food, which was more than enough for us to eat - we weren't in danger of going hungry! A really great tour

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

leona.tooley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wish I could rate this tour 5 stars!!! This was one of the highlights of my trip to Beijing. My travel buddy and I arrived to find that we were the only two people in the cooking class that day, so we basically had a private cooking class all to ourselves! Our class started with a trip to the local market in the hutongs. This was surprisingly very enjoyable as our tour leader walked us through all the key fruits, veg and spices that are important to Chinese cooking. Upon returning to the kitchen, we then cooked a Szechuan feast of Gang Bai chicken, Stir-fried green beans, Ma Pao Tofu and Beer duck. Our tour guide was an experienced chef and he was incredibly patient with us as he walked us through every step of the cooking process. The food was AMAZING! I have since cooked the recipes again since returning home to Australia using the take home recipe cards as a guide! and the food was great and I certainly impressed my family with my efforts. All up, the tour guide was incredibly professional and easy to get along with and the experience was a whole lot of fun. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an amazing cooking class, they are not messing around giving you an extremely immersive and intense cooking experience. Delicious and way too much food but in a great way :.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Elaine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What nice people and what a great day
I would do any class with this bother and sister they were fantastic.
Market visit was great and the cooking was a great experience
Come hungry as you prepare a lot but you can get a doggy bag

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Danny J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This cooking class really showed us some techniques for cooking Chinese style dishes that i have never known before. Our market tour allowed us to ask lots of questions about what the fabulous fresh fruits and vegetables we saw. Our instructor picked up the best ingredients here and had replacements back at the school for the ones not up to her standards. The class was small to allow for real individual instruction. My advice, download the map to find the location. We followed the text directions and walked confidently there, but the map you can find on the website or here uploaded by another reviewer will be very helpful.

The courtyard, hutong entrance and kitchen felt like you were learning right at someone's home their favorite family recipies. What an experience!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

eaglediva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had a little trouble finding the location, but once inside I had an amazing experience. The market tour was interesting. I found foods I never saw before but learned how to cook with them. I had a fantastic time learning the recipes and want to return to learn more!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Andrew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour and the cooking class was everything i could hope for . It was the perfect date day .

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Justin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The show is very impressive. The stunts are more dangerous than what I had seen in a Vegas Cirque de Solei show a few days before. You have the option of upgrading your seat, which I did and ended up in the 2nd row, which was a lot of fun. The food was delicious and there was too much to eat, which is a great problem to have.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Eben F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent. The Acrobatic show is fast paced and mind blowing with about 10 acts. Although we've seen it before on a prior trip to Beijing, it is remarkable the talent and expertise that goes into these acts. The theatre is worn and we were one of a few American/European faces in the audience most of the audience were Chinese so this is not a show developed for tourists.
You shouldn't go to Beijing without trying a Peking duck dinner. Its served with a number of other dishes for those who think they might not like duck.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Jonathan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great way to cook chinese food and lear to do so the visit to the market is great too. The guide will provides you really good help, advices to have a tasty meal and be ready there will be lot of food to eat !

I have the chance to be alone that day so I get lucky to choose what I want to cooked and eat !

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Jonathan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was great to taste the great street food's the guide Michele choose for me according to what i like or would try to. In this tour you'll stop to a local market a great way to see out of my country fruits and vegie's ! Even turtles !!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

dirtwidow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip. The market tour was very interesting, seeing everything so fresh and well displayed -- along side some ingredients that were very far removed from our North American diet. The instruction was easy and we all were responsible for cooking the recipes after Chef demonstrated each one. I would recommend this experience to every person who likes to cook and wants to learn about other cultures -- a truly great time, money well spent!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

mocha_man

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The show was entertaining, more gymnastics than acrobats. The Peking Duck was fantastic, the only negative is that the 1 beverage which is included in your dinner, comes in a very small glass. All other
beverages have to be bought separately, including water.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

psutton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, great chef. Very knowledgeable instructor gave an excellent insight to the markets, the ingredients we used, and the cooking techniques employed. A very worthwhile class, and I have been a chef more than 35 years, so I am a hard marker!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was terrific! We went early and accompanied the Chef to the local market - really fascinating. the class and the food were great. Really yummy! I had my 13 year old son and there was another Mom there with a 12 year old daughter and they loved it too. really great to learn more about Chinese cuisine - we got to keep the recipes and can make them at home.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Paul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great experience. Market tour for ingredients then back to the Kitchen to cook some yummy food

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message