To think of Chinese cuisine as one unified whole is an error; the landmass of China is as large as the United States and its regional cuisine is just as diverse, with Beijing’s popular dishes tasting completely different from those of Southern or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This cooking class really showed us some techniques for cooking Chinese style dishes that i have never known before. Our market tour allowed us to ask lots of questions about what the fabulous fresh fruits and vegetables we saw. Our instructor picked up the best ingredients here and had replacements back at the school for the ones not up to her standards. The class was small to allow for real individual instruction. My advice, download the map to find the location. We followed the text directions and walked confidently there, but the map you can find on the website or here uploaded by another reviewer will be very helpful.

The courtyard, hutong entrance and kitchen felt like you were learning right at someone's home their favorite family recipies. What an experience!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had a little trouble finding the location, but once inside I had an amazing experience. The market tour was interesting. I found foods I never saw before but learned how to cook with them. I had a fantastic time learning the recipes and want to return to learn more!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour and the cooking class was everything i could hope for . It was the perfect date day .

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour - very knowledgable and easy going tour leader. The size of the group was perfect as we were weaving through the markets which could be a little tight. Meeting point it very easy to find if your on the metro. No complaints!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great way to cook chinese food and lear to do so the visit to the market is great too. The guide will provides you really good help, advices to have a tasty meal and be ready there will be lot of food to eat !

I have the chance to be alone that day so I get lucky to choose what I want to cooked and eat !

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was great to taste the great street food's the guide Michele choose for me according to what i like or would try to. In this tour you'll stop to a local market a great way to see out of my country fruits and vegie's ! Even turtles !!

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It is a great chance to see Beijing from a different angle. Worth the while.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip. The market tour was very interesting, seeing everything so fresh and well displayed -- along side some ingredients that were very far removed from our North American diet. The instruction was easy and we all were responsible for cooking the recipes after Chef demonstrated each one. I would recommend this experience to every person who likes to cook and wants to learn about other cultures -- a truly great time, money well spent!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, great chef. Very knowledgeable instructor gave an excellent insight to the markets, the ingredients we used, and the cooking techniques employed. A very worthwhile class, and I have been a chef more than 35 years, so I am a hard marker!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was an excellent class with great people.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was terrific! We went early and accompanied the Chef to the local market - really fascinating. the class and the food were great. Really yummy! I had my 13 year old son and there was another Mom there with a 12 year old daughter and they loved it too. really great to learn more about Chinese cuisine - we got to keep the recipes and can make them at home.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great experience. Market tour for ingredients then back to the Kitchen to cook some yummy food

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had a lovely morning with Chunyi. It was only my wife and I on the course and it was our last day in Beijing. We had great fun. We arrived early (I have attached a map downloaded direct from Chunyi's website the entrance is down a small hutong approximately 100 yards on the left of DengCao Hutong from DongSi South Street and there is a sign on the door reading hutong cuisine (No 35). Go to the website and have a look for directions and contact details if you have any problems you can call the school although we found it very easy to find) The market tour was really interesting and only a short walk from the school. Chunyi showed us all the ingredients we would be using so that we could buy them when we are back in the UK. Then it was back to the school to prepare and then cook 3 dishes before watching her cook desert for us. On Chunyi's website you can find out what you will be cooking on your course as they are listed months in advance with pictures as well, we did beef, chicken and cabbage dishes. All the food was amazing and we will certainly be trying to make it again now we are home. Make sure you don't eat too much breakfast as there is a lot of food and we were stuffed by the end of the course. Thank You Chunyi for a lovely end to our amazing holiday in Beijing.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

see my review on trip advisor

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic. Interesting, knowledgeable and fun. Chunyi spoke excellent english. The market tour was interesting and the cooking class simple and fun. Her cooking space is clean and well laid out. A great day!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

What a great tour,Lilly,our guide was knowledgeable with good English. We got a taste of how it was in the Hutong area of Beijing, on this tour you will experience local transport, local life and cuisine we loved it all and would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Beijing. Thank You Lilly for a great tour. Kind Regards Linda Allan and Sam QLD Australia

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

had a fantastic time! It was just me and another traveler, and our guide, Lilly was very relaxed, nice and knowledgeable. the homemade food was delicious :)

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great cooking experience. Especially enjoyed the market tour as we had eaten various chinese meals on our Great Wall trek,and so we saw many vegetables that we had tried. Thoroughly recommend this cooking experience

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a great way to spend an afternoon in Beijing away from the crowds! Our host was fantastic, took us around the market pointing out the typical and unusual. The cooking was great - both my kids (12 and 14) made their own pancakes, including using the massive cleaver! Being in the hutong really gave us a sense of the local life, away from all the big tour buses and "matching hat tours"

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide, Jerry, went above and beyond in sharing information and even helped us find our way back home on the subway! As far as food is concerned, we only went to two different places to try foods and spent a large time sitting in a restaurant trying various treats. There was a tour of the market that was interesting, but I would expect to try food from more places.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great class. Lots of fun. Recommend

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

C and A
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The experience was very good... finding the location was very easy, clearly marked even with the streams of local folks going about their day. The Market visit was good but it would have been better to be able to pick our own food. Then the cooking class..Chunyi was very friendly and good at explaining why we're doing what we did. The food we prepared tasted almost as good as her version... the only thing I thought was disappointing was that I asked Chunyi to join us for dinner she declined, stating it was too early for her to eat lunch...which is fair enough...however, I went into the hutong for water and found she was eating with her colleague...

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

A very enjoyable tour. The one negative I had was that I expected that we would buy some of our ingredients at our market stop. We did not. We walked around the market and left. All the ingredients had already been bought when we returned to the kitchen. Oh well.....

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The tour guide got us lost at one point, the night market was closed but the food was exceptional, and the views weren't bad. There should be a further note that this tour requires a lot of walking, i mean a lot! Meeting a family in their home was quite the experience bring a trinket from your home town for them, like a US pin or MUG or frame it would be very special for them.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message