• USD ($)
  • English
To think of Chinese cuisine as one unified whole is an error; the landmass of China is as large as the United States and its regional cuisine is just as diverse, with Beijing’s popular dishes tasting completely different from those of Southern or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great experience. Market tour for ingredients then back to the Kitchen to cook some yummy food

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had a lovely morning with Chunyi. It was only my wife and I on the course and it was our last day in Beijing. We had great fun. We arrived early (I have attached a map downloaded direct from Chunyi's website the entrance is down a small hutong approximately 100 yards on the left of DengCao Hutong from DongSi South Street and there is a sign on the door reading hutong cuisine (No 35). Go to the website and have a look for directions and contact details if you have any problems you can call the school although we found it very easy to find) The market tour was really interesting and only a short walk from the school. Chunyi showed us all the ingredients we would be using so that we could buy them when we are back in the UK. Then it was back to the school to prepare and then cook 3 dishes before watching her cook desert for us. On Chunyi's website you can find out what you will be cooking on your course as they are listed months in advance with pictures as well, we did beef, chicken and cabbage dishes. All the food was amazing and we will certainly be trying to make it again now we are home. Make sure you don't eat too much breakfast as there is a lot of food and we were stuffed by the end of the course. Thank You Chunyi for a lovely end to our amazing holiday in Beijing.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic. Interesting, knowledgeable and fun. Chunyi spoke excellent english. The market tour was interesting and the cooking class simple and fun. Her cooking space is clean and well laid out. A great day!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

What a great tour,Lilly,our guide was knowledgeable with good English. We got a taste of how it was in the Hutong area of Beijing, on this tour you will experience local transport, local life and cuisine we loved it all and would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Beijing. Thank You Lilly for a great tour. Kind Regards Linda Allan and Sam QLD Australia

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Tour at Night Including Dumpling Making

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

had a fantastic time! It was just me and another traveler, and our guide, Lilly was very relaxed, nice and knowledgeable. the homemade food was delicious :)

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Tour at Night Including Dumpling Making

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great cooking experience. Especially enjoyed the market tour as we had eaten various chinese meals on our Great Wall trek,and so we saw many vegetables that we had tried. Thoroughly recommend this cooking experience

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a great way to spend an afternoon in Beijing away from the crowds! Our host was fantastic, took us around the market pointing out the typical and unusual. The cooking was great - both my kids (12 and 14) made their own pancakes, including using the massive cleaver! Being in the hutong really gave us a sense of the local life, away from all the big tour buses and "matching hat tours"

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

A very enjoyable tour. The one negative I had was that I expected that we would buy some of our ingredients at our market stop. We did not. We walked around the market and left. All the ingredients had already been bought when we returned to the kitchen. Oh well.....

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The tour guide got us lost at one point, the night market was closed but the food was exceptional, and the views weren't bad. There should be a further note that this tour requires a lot of walking, i mean a lot! Meeting a family in their home was quite the experience bring a trinket from your home town for them, like a US pin or MUG or frame it would be very special for them.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Tour at Night Including Dumpling Making

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The tour guide was nice enough, but she was exhausted from leading towards earlier in the day and throughout the week. So her energy level was low, which diminished the quality of the tour. Also, her English was still developing, which Made it harder to communicate with her.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Tour at Night Including Dumpling Making

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Every once in a while, you hit a tour that over-promises and under-delivers. Perhaps the copywriter got carried away. Perhaps the copywriter never took the tour. Perhaps our interpretation of the wording was wrong. However, when Viator tours promoted a “Small-Group Beijing Street Food Tour at Night Including Dumpling Making”, we expected something different from what we experienced.

The tour was promoted as an immersive culinary experience in Beijing. Dinner was included at a 77-year-old woman’s home where we were served an assortment of foods including meatballs, a mushroom dish, rice, peanut, chicken and, oh yes, dumplings, which were, well, not the best we’ve had. The good part was that this was actually a courtyard where she lived and we got to see an actual home. And the dumpling making class….well, using dough that was already made and formed, she showed us how she put the filling in and seal the dumpling. Then we got to make one ourselves. A class? Educational? No. Disappointment? Yes.

Bottom, line, you get dinner, you get a tour of a market, it wasn’t a culinary delight. Nor would I consider it to be a dumpling making class. Find an alternative

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Tour at Night Including Dumpling Making

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Unfortunately our tour guide did not show up. We have contacted Viator, but they have not responded.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Tour at Night Including Dumpling Making

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message