Beijing is a wonderful mixture of the ancient and the modern, the past and the present. A true ancient citadel with a history of Emperors and temples, it is now the seat of communist power with a strong vision for the future. Modern skyscrapers ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 391 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The show is very impressive. The stunts are more dangerous than what I had seen in a Vegas Cirque de Solei show a few days before. You have the option of upgrading your seat, which I did and ended up in the 2nd row, which was a lot of fun. The food was delicious and there was too much to eat, which is a great problem to have.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour and the cooking class was everything i could hope for . It was the perfect date day .

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had a little trouble finding the location, but once inside I had an amazing experience. The market tour was interesting. I found foods I never saw before but learned how to cook with them. I had a fantastic time learning the recipes and want to return to learn more!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This cooking class really showed us some techniques for cooking Chinese style dishes that i have never known before. Our market tour allowed us to ask lots of questions about what the fabulous fresh fruits and vegetables we saw. Our instructor picked up the best ingredients here and had replacements back at the school for the ones not up to her standards. The class was small to allow for real individual instruction. My advice, download the map to find the location. We followed the text directions and walked confidently there, but the map you can find on the website or here uploaded by another reviewer will be very helpful.

The courtyard, hutong entrance and kitchen felt like you were learning right at someone's home their favorite family recipies. What an experience!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Chris was great. We are not ones to look around forever and take our time. We like to get our tours done quickly and efficiently and that's exactly what Chris did. From the pickup at our hotel to when we returned the tour lasted 6.5 hours with was perfect for us. I would highly recommend this private tour and Chris.

Doing what: Private Tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My tour was a private tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing 5533CBJH. The tour was thorough and interesting. To walk through Tiananmen Square was to get an appreciation for the size of the square and the People's Hall. Next was the Forbidden City. My guide, Cris, was thorough in describing the history and life within these walls. We litteraly walked through history as we examined the architecture and through the various halls that were home to the history and maturing of the art of pottery. The grounds and buildings were beautiful. We next took an optional side trip to a silk manufacturer, which was interesting. I had time to review their shop - too many items to choose from! From there we went to a local restaurant. I don't know if it is policy, but since I was on my own, I ate lunch alone. I would recommend giving the client the option - I would have liked to carry on our conversations over lunch.

We finished the tour at the Temple of Heaven: a very expansive garden with historic temples and buildings, including Echo Hall, the Hall of Prayer for Good Harvests and the Round Temple. But the walk through the woods and the serenity of nature was a nice end of a long day. Cris, my tour guide, was genuinely kind, informative and easy to converse with. She answered my questions and helped me gain greater understanding about Chinese life, culture and history. I recommend this tour and I hope you can get Cris.

Doing what: Private Tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Grace was outstanding. She held our attention from the moment she began our tour until the very end. She wove an historical story of the China's Ming and Qing Dynasties everyday political, social and family life from 1420 up to 1920. Our entire tour was so special thanks to her tireless attention to our desires to experience Beijing and the fascinating history of China. Thanks Grace!

Doing what: Small-Group Historical Tour of Beijing Including Forbidden City, China World Trade Tower and Local Brewery

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was very good except for the whingeing toddler
Too many shopping places visited

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour shouldn't be missed. For an expensive VIP tour lunch was very disappointing in a crowded hall with bus loads of tourists above a jade warehouse where of course you are persuaded to shop.
Love the tours- hate the hard sell of products we aren't interested in purchasing, such a waste of valuable sight seeing time. Next time will pay the driver to go past and stop at a restaurant.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Dream come true. Our tour guide was fun and always wanting to help take our picture. The forbidden city was very impressive. Our guide was quite knowledgable. The Great wall was amazing. I feel so blessed to have seen it. What an amazing trip!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

they mixed 2 groups for this trip: Chinese and English speaking, which resulted in 50 less time of the guide for each group. There were 2 stops where they tried to sell pearls and tea, so we spend 2 hours of the excursion for such sales stops.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great experience, tour guide was professional and fun, took the back way in many places, so in the crowded environments, we were not in the crowds. The area of the wall was secluded, we felt as if we had the place to ourselves. Made for super photo opportunities. Great way to spend a day in Beijing.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

By far one of the best excursions we took in China. Go with a local to local and out of the way places. Our guide was GREAT! Thumbs up for Beijing Nightlife tour.

Doing what: Beijing Nightlife Insider Tour

Anna H
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was just OK.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobat Show with Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Small group made it very personal but the guide was sensational and knowledgeable

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very nice trip, the guide was friendly and kind. Outstanding service.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent. The Acrobatic show is fast paced and mind blowing with about 10 acts. Although we've seen it before on a prior trip to Beijing, it is remarkable the talent and expertise that goes into these acts. The theatre is worn and we were one of a few American/European faces in the audience most of the audience were Chinese so this is not a show developed for tourists.
You shouldn't go to Beijing without trying a Peking duck dinner. Its served with a number of other dishes for those who think they might not like duck.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Could have spend more time by the pandas and the summer palace. The lama temple was amazing and there we had enough time. The group was big (13 people). The guide was very good in English but spoke so fast that it was difficult for people with another mother language than English to understand.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message