Beijing is a wonderful mixture of the ancient and the modern, the past and the present. A true ancient citadel with a history of Emperors and temples, it is now the seat of communist power with a strong vision for the future. Modern skyscrapers ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 402 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide and the tour itself was fun. The food they give you is Western style Chinese food. Not exactly what you actually get in China but still quite nice. The Lama Temple was amazing. It was beautiful and our tour guide had a lot of knowledge about everything. Be careful at the pearl factory. I bought an 18 carat gold charm with a pearl in it and the gold is peeling off and turning back so obviously not real pearl. It might be government run but that doesn't mean it's 100 legit.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

SOOOOOO Good! The show was amazing! Absolutely amazing. For how much the tour cost, the seats could have been much better though. We were off to the side so the view for everything wasn't the best. As I said, for how much the tour cost, they should have purchased VIP seats. The dinner was good. There wasn't much duck to go around. Luckily, the rest of the group didn't actually like duck. They take you to a very touristy place that obviously caters towards white people so the food wasn't the greatest. They do provide more than just the duck though. So there is plenty of food. There were only five people in our group and they bought out enough to feed an army.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Ann H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour. We made chinese dumplings. We prepared 3 different fillings vegetarian, pork and beef and we prepared them 3 ways steamed, boiled and fried.. It started with a visit to the local market to purchase ingredients for the cooking class. Then we returned to the instructors house to prepare the dumplings. The class was fun, informative and the results were delicious.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This class was a lot to f fun! The trip to the market was great because the chef took the time to walk through pointing out all the different items, their taste, origins, etc. the food was amazing and was fun to learn the techniques. Would definitely take more classes here if I had the opportunity!! Thank you for a great experience!!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Dean C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was in China on business, and only had one day to spend in Beijing, so I wanted to see as much as possilbe. The Beijing Essential Full-Day perfectly meet my needs. Our guide Jackie was very knowledgable of the history and stories about each site we visited. He kept the group moving to ensure we didn't linger too long at any particular site. Jackie's English was very good and made the trip very interesting. One thing to remember on this tour is that it will make for a very long day, so if you tend to move at a slower pace, a shorter tour may be more well suited for you. However, if you have just one day to see the Great Wall, the Forbidden City, and Tiananment Square, this tour is perfect.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Heather L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We ended up with a private tour because no one else had booked this particular itinerary on this day. William was our guide, and he was amazing. I was traveling with my 83 year old grandmother, and he saw our unique needs and met our pace. This was my grandma's favorite day of our trip!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Llamaschool United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, don't miss this one! Our guide was William Kuang, highly recommended. He got us to the Panda Garden slightly before 8:30, we practically had them to ourselves. We took a dragon boat up the waterway into the Summer Palace grounds as was the case with other Hanteng tours I took this week, our guide seemed to know the ticketing agents and we were moved to the front of the line for the boats embarrassing, but efficient. A good 2 hours spent @ the Summer Palace, we visited the temple and the living quarter. Lunch was fine, a place that caters to tour buses in the Olympic complex. There were two shopping stops, the pearls and the tea house these are unavoidable unless you hire a private guide--don't buy if you don't want to and you DO have room to bargain @ the pearl factory. Lama Palace was last, our guide is a practicing Buddhist and demonstrated the incense rituals and prayers, explaining everything. As we left, he noticed the monks were giving out fruit from the day's offering tables and shooed us all back in to receive them. Very good luck, evidently!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Llamaschool United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

As a single traveler, I didn't want to go to a Peking Duck restaurant on my ownwho orders a whole or even half duck? And I'd read good things about the Acrobatic Show, so I went for it. The restaurant that we were taken to clearly catered to international tourists but the chef did actually carve our duck at the table, even though our guide had warned us that he might not be able to b/c it was 'high season.' The server demonstrated the appropriate way to fold the duck and condiments into the sleeve, and we were offered wine with dinner and checked on often. We were given fruit, a salad, soup, and four entrées kung pao, orange chicken, an egg and chicken dish and broccoli beef for the four persons in the party. The acrobatic show was incredible. One of the highlights of my trip-- it made me want to bring my kids to Beijingif they like the Cirque de Soleil show that passes through every year, they'll love this! If other reviews stated that the theater and costumes were tired and run-down, things have been overhauled since. Just amazing! Our tour guide was William Kuang, who was also the guide on my tour of the Summer Palace, Panda Garden and Lama Temple. A former accountant who is thrilled to be working as a tour guide and sharing the culture of Beijing with foreigners, William is highly recommended, as is this tour package!

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Jamie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My teenage daughters, husband and I all cooked at this class and had a fantastic time. The market tour was very interesting too. I have to eat gluten free and they were very accommodating, substituting ingredients so I could have all the recipes. Everything was tasty and we had a relaxing time. I bought a handmade knife for my kitchen at home. Our only challenge was getting there during rush hour. Metro was our best bet.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour!! The market was so interesting to see, our guide was personable and knowledgeable, and the dumplings we made were amazing! We were so glad we took this class.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We packed so much into this day! We signed up for a group tour but it ended up only being our group which was a nice surprise. Our guide was great and took us all around the city. There were two factory stops but since it was just the two of us we made it quick. Lunch was not great and very touristy

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Nikki H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was phenomenal! Very personalized. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

jagg222

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Serry was fantastic. very organised, punctual, knowledgeable and pleasant. We thoroughly enjoyed the day.
It was easy to book through Viator, and the reminder as the day drew nearer was appreciated.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Brett B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic Michael the tour guide was very friendly and spoke good english. Suggested a mid morning snack would be good.

Brett
Australia

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Nikki H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was well done and very thought out. We were a group of four and stayed at an airbnb. The company was very accommodating and picked us up from our location. This was most helpful as we had only been in Beijing for the night so hadn't really had time to learn the area. We were picked up promptly at 7:45am to begin our tour. Our guide and driver were exceptionally professional. Mike, the tour guide, was super knowledgeable and professional. He answered any and all questions we posed.

Every location was high on the list of places to visit during my trip and this tour hit all locations and more. With plenty of time to enjoy and take in the history and beauty. I would highly recommend this tour to friends and family.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Benjamin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was awesome. Jacki male was our guide and he was more than happy to tell us about everything! It was extremely informative. The tour ran a little long but that was perfectly fine because we went to Beijing just to take it. The food provided on the tour was also amazing! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

After a very long flight from Chicago, we arrived in Beijing and got to our hotel pretty late at night. We woke quickly the next morning thanks to jet lag and excitement to take the Market Tour and Dumpling cooking class. It was the perfect first day for our 5 day trip to Beijing. The market tour was my wife, our chef, and myself and we had a great time venturing through the seasonal vegetables, noodle counters, and protein areas fish area, pork, beef, etc.. After we returned we prepared for the cooking portion and were joined by three women from Norway. The chef was personable, patient, funny, and make the entire experience something that I'd do again anytime I am in Beijing. Thanks again!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Gail W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This cooking class was truly worth it. From start to finish it was informative and interactive. Our instructors were pleasant and attentive to every detail. The market tour was to a lovely market nearby to buy the ingredients for the meal we were cooking. A worthwhile addition to our Beijing experience. A tour not to be missed.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly Recommend! I had the most delightful and instructive experience with Chef Zhou Chao and was lucky enough to be the only student in class. He is knowledgable, skilled, charming and an excellent teacher. After a detailed description of the differences between the wine, soy sauces and vinegars we would be using, we headed off to a gigantic indoor market to buy vegetables, tofu and meat for our menu.

I loved discovering many new-to-me fruits and veggies at the market and Chef Zhou was most patient in identifying anything I pointed out. What looked like zucchini, turned out to be young loofah, which when older turn into those bath scrubbers!

Back at his spacious kitchen, he demonstrated how a Chinese cleaver could take the place of several different knives, by smashing garlic, julienning vegetables or scoring and slicing meat. Even though I am an accomplished cook, this part of the class was a gem!

After preparing all our ingredients, we stood side by side at his range to cook the dishes in our woks. I learned so much through this arrangement and could match my efforts to his: from swirling the oil to flipping the food in the wok instead of of stirring it around. He explained how his method would do a better job of cooking each piece properly.

Then, before sitting down to a delicious lunch, we compared tastes of his version of Mapo Tofu, Gong bao chicken and dry stir fried green beans to mine. I learned so much and will definitely make these dishes at home now. A wonderful class with a great teacher!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Benjamin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

William is an excellent tour guide -- he was knowledgable, flexible in terms of scheduling, and well-versed in English. He intrepidly led us up the Great Wall in -20 C temperature and wind chill as well as around Tiananmen and the Forbidden City. The trip was a great value in my opinion.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Andrew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very good experience with a personal touch. Excellent English spoken by our friendly and knowledgeable guide. Thoroughly recommend this to all and value for money.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Louis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very well planned and my Guide Cynthia was very informative and spoke English well. Show was very professional and the theartre was in common district so the local people were the audience. Very much local culture and Chinese tourist, not fancy and dressy casual dress is fine. Would recommend

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Firstly, I would highly recommend booking this tour as there aren't many people who travel independently in Beijing, hence there were only 4 of us in total on this tour. The service was fantastic. The Acrobatic show was incredible, unlike anything I've ever seen before!! Following this, we were taken to a Peking Duck restaurant where we were served this plus a lot of other food, which was more than enough for us to eat - we weren't in danger of going hungry! A really great tour

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

leona.tooley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wish I could rate this tour 5 stars!!! This was one of the highlights of my trip to Beijing. My travel buddy and I arrived to find that we were the only two people in the cooking class that day, so we basically had a private cooking class all to ourselves! Our class started with a trip to the local market in the hutongs. This was surprisingly very enjoyable as our tour leader walked us through all the key fruits, veg and spices that are important to Chinese cooking. Upon returning to the kitchen, we then cooked a Szechuan feast of Gang Bai chicken, Stir-fried green beans, Ma Pao Tofu and Beer duck. Our tour guide was an experienced chef and he was incredibly patient with us as he walked us through every step of the cooking process. The food was AMAZING! I have since cooked the recipes again since returning home to Australia using the take home recipe cards as a guide! and the food was great and I certainly impressed my family with my efforts. All up, the tour guide was incredibly professional and easy to get along with and the experience was a whole lot of fun. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message