Beijing is a wonderful mixture of the ancient and the modern, the past and the present. A true ancient citadel with a history of Emperors and temples, it is now the seat of communist power with a strong vision for the future. Modern skyscrapers ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 375 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

After a very long flight from Chicago, we arrived in Beijing and got to our hotel pretty late at night. We woke quickly the next morning thanks to jet lag and excitement to take the Market Tour and Dumpling cooking class. It was the perfect first day for our 5 day trip to Beijing. The market tour was my wife, our chef, and myself and we had a great time venturing through the seasonal vegetables, noodle counters, and protein areas fish area, pork, beef, etc.. After we returned we prepared for the cooking portion and were joined by three women from Norway. The chef was personable, patient, funny, and make the entire experience something that I'd do again anytime I am in Beijing. Thanks again!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Gail W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This cooking class was truly worth it. From start to finish it was informative and interactive. Our instructors were pleasant and attentive to every detail. The market tour was to a lovely market nearby to buy the ingredients for the meal we were cooking. A worthwhile addition to our Beijing experience. A tour not to be missed.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly Recommend! I had the most delightful and instructive experience with Chef Zhou Chao and was lucky enough to be the only student in class. He is knowledgable, skilled, charming and an excellent teacher. After a detailed description of the differences between the wine, soy sauces and vinegars we would be using, we headed off to a gigantic indoor market to buy vegetables, tofu and meat for our menu.

I loved discovering many new-to-me fruits and veggies at the market and Chef Zhou was most patient in identifying anything I pointed out. What looked like zucchini, turned out to be young loofah, which when older turn into those bath scrubbers!

Back at his spacious kitchen, he demonstrated how a Chinese cleaver could take the place of several different knives, by smashing garlic, julienning vegetables or scoring and slicing meat. Even though I am an accomplished cook, this part of the class was a gem!

After preparing all our ingredients, we stood side by side at his range to cook the dishes in our woks. I learned so much through this arrangement and could match my efforts to his: from swirling the oil to flipping the food in the wok instead of of stirring it around. He explained how his method would do a better job of cooking each piece properly.

Then, before sitting down to a delicious lunch, we compared tastes of his version of Mapo Tofu, Gong bao chicken and dry stir fried green beans to mine. I learned so much and will definitely make these dishes at home now. A wonderful class with a great teacher!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Benjamin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

William is an excellent tour guide -- he was knowledgable, flexible in terms of scheduling, and well-versed in English. He intrepidly led us up the Great Wall in -20 C temperature and wind chill as well as around Tiananmen and the Forbidden City. The trip was a great value in my opinion.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Andrew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very good experience with a personal touch. Excellent English spoken by our friendly and knowledgeable guide. Thoroughly recommend this to all and value for money.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Louis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very well planned and my Guide Cynthia was very informative and spoke English well. Show was very professional and the theartre was in common district so the local people were the audience. Very much local culture and Chinese tourist, not fancy and dressy casual dress is fine. Would recommend

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Firstly, I would highly recommend booking this tour as there aren't many people who travel independently in Beijing, hence there were only 4 of us in total on this tour. The service was fantastic. The Acrobatic show was incredible, unlike anything I've ever seen before!! Following this, we were taken to a Peking Duck restaurant where we were served this plus a lot of other food, which was more than enough for us to eat - we weren't in danger of going hungry! A really great tour

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

leona.tooley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wish I could rate this tour 5 stars!!! This was one of the highlights of my trip to Beijing. My travel buddy and I arrived to find that we were the only two people in the cooking class that day, so we basically had a private cooking class all to ourselves! Our class started with a trip to the local market in the hutongs. This was surprisingly very enjoyable as our tour leader walked us through all the key fruits, veg and spices that are important to Chinese cooking. Upon returning to the kitchen, we then cooked a Szechuan feast of Gang Bai chicken, Stir-fried green beans, Ma Pao Tofu and Beer duck. Our tour guide was an experienced chef and he was incredibly patient with us as he walked us through every step of the cooking process. The food was AMAZING! I have since cooked the recipes again since returning home to Australia using the take home recipe cards as a guide! and the food was great and I certainly impressed my family with my efforts. All up, the tour guide was incredibly professional and easy to get along with and the experience was a whole lot of fun. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Rachel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highly recommended if you are short on time. The tour guide was wonderful and knowledgeable. This tour is a must.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Max C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour is only as good as your tour guide....our guilde Michael was excellent and so was the entire tour..
I highly recommend this tour.
BTW
At lunch opt for the Peking Duck just a few extra dollars but well worth it.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Steven D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

For the price this is a good value tour that provides ample time at the Great Wall and decent walk through the Forbidden City. The booking process, and follow up communication was excellent and re-assuring given I made late changes. The guide, Victoria, was polite and enthusiastic with good English. Bus was clean and efficient picking me up on time from the hotel. The stop overs at a Jade and Silk factory were a little annoying but given they were timed for a useful stop, not overly troublesome. Overall excellent value.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an excellent trip, the tour guide took us to a part of the wall, that was private and away from the crowds. After speking with other folks who went to the more touristy parts of the wall, I am so pleased we payed that bit extra and had the wall almost to ourselves. The guide was very knowledgable and kept us informed about the Forbidden city, we also went to a silk factory and other points of interest. Overall, money very well spent, would thoroughly recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

vinnie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour was excellent. Our guide Jackie did an amazing job. The lunch was probably the best meal we had while in Beijing. I overall will rate this as a 5 star tour

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely fabulous.
Be,jing is an credible city.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Gary P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Superb tour with a great guide and driver. Adjusted the tour a bit to meet my requests, and highly recommend this nearly full day tour around Beijing.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an amazing cooking class, they are not messing around giving you an extremely immersive and intense cooking experience. Delicious and way too much food but in a great way :.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Anne Marie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very good guide, learned a lot about China in e few hours

Doing what: Beijing Bike Tour

Elaine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What nice people and what a great day
I would do any class with this bother and sister they were fantastic.
Market visit was great and the cooking was a great experience
Come hungry as you prepare a lot but you can get a doggy bag

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Elaine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What nice people and what a great day
I would do any class with this bother and sister they were fantastic.
Market visit was great and the cooking was a great experience
Come hungry as you prepare a lot but you can get a doggy bag

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Chun W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

First time in Beijing. This was a great tour to go on if you have a full day. Our guide Michael was amazing. Really knowledgeable and friendly. Amazing sights. Also visited silk, jade and tea factories. Good lunch provided. Downside was time travelling to The Great Wall long and the bus was too cold!

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Randy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable day. I had to travel quite a ways by subway, but found the place with ease. It was nice to see how people lived and shopped in that area of the city. Well worth the money it cost for the class. The instructor was easy to understand and enjoyable to learn from.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Kent C H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Grace was outstanding. She held our attention from the moment she began our tour until the very end. She wove an historical story of the China's Ming and Qing Dynasties everyday political, social and family life from 1420 up to 1920. Our entire tour was so special thanks to her tireless attention to our desires to experience Beijing and the fascinating history of China. Thanks Grace!

Doing what: Small-Group Historical Tour of Beijing Including Forbidden City, China World Trade Tower and Local Brewery

Danny J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This cooking class really showed us some techniques for cooking Chinese style dishes that i have never known before. Our market tour allowed us to ask lots of questions about what the fabulous fresh fruits and vegetables we saw. Our instructor picked up the best ingredients here and had replacements back at the school for the ones not up to her standards. The class was small to allow for real individual instruction. My advice, download the map to find the location. We followed the text directions and walked confidently there, but the map you can find on the website or here uploaded by another reviewer will be very helpful.

The courtyard, hutong entrance and kitchen felt like you were learning right at someone's home their favorite family recipies. What an experience!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message