• USD ($)
  • English
Beijing is a wonderful mixture of the ancient and the modern, the past and the present. A true ancient citadel with a history of Emperors and temples, it is now the seat of communist power with a strong vision for the future. Modern skyscrapers ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Jackie was one of the best guides we've ever had on a trip. He was very knowledgeable on Chinese history. Jackie had one story after another that brought Chinese history to life.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour, relaxed, but we saw many sights. Our guide was very pleasant and very informative.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent guide very knowledgeable fantastic trip well worth it

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide today, was wonderful! We liked everything that she showed us. We enjoyed her very much. Our driver was very good also. Thank you!

Doing what: Private Tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great day. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken the short distance to Tienimen square. Then onto the Forbidden city. For most of our visit to the Great Wall, we were the only visitors there. Our guide Carolyn was fantastic. Highly recommended

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Peter B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Jackie, our guide was excellent and the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and the Great Wall were amazing. Jackie's indepth knowledge of the Forbidden City was very much appreciated and I don't think we could have done this attraction by ourselves. Could have spent more time at the Great Wall and less time shopping. We were expecting one stop at the Jade factory but the Tea Shop and Silk Factory weren't mentioned in the itinerary when we booked. Overall, though a fantastic day if you want to truly explore these amazing icons.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Loved both the Panda's and the summer palace. Lama Temple not so much. There are better temples. The sandelwood Buddha was great. Our guide did a good job.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Jackie was a well informed and friendly guide, and willing to skip some planned stops when we requested more time at the Forbidden City and the Great Wall. One star deducted for the crazy driver, who drove too fast, too often on the wrong side of the road, honked constantly, etc. But otherwise this tour was just what we wanted, with an interesting Chinese guide just for my sister and me. He was willing to answer all kinds of questions, and took excellent care of us. Pick up and drop off at the hotel was a great convenience. The lunch was decent but took place in one of those mandatory tourist shopping ops which are a bit irritating but easy enough to cope with. This was my first trip to the Great Wall, so I can't compare other sections but this one was not at all crowded, was minimally commercial (I was grateful to be able to buy water at the souvenir stand in the parking lot) and we were the only non-Chinese tourists in sight. Really steep to climb, it was lots of fun. Oddly, despite being pretty isolated, there was music piped in along the route! The Forbidden City was also spectacular to look at and very interesting to learn more about. One of the most fascinating days in a fascinating trip to China.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

we had a wonderful time going to the Great Wall and Olympic park with our guide Robert. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. The driver was also very patient and safe. Lunch was very nice and delicious. My only recommendation is to raise the price to include the lift up the Great Wall and choice of toboggan ride down-- which was fun! Thank you so much for a wonderful day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Mutianyu Great Wall, Olympic Sites and Optional Hot Springs Spa in Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had the best tour guide who was extremely attentive to our family. He learned about us and the made the tour come alive for us. Thank you Frank! We saw many historical places with great access and also got a chance to understand the people of Beijing.

Doing what: 3-Night Best of Beijing Private Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was great fun. I think the driver was excellent and polite and friendly. I really enjoyed the history knowledge that the guide conveyed to me. I also liked the lunch he ordered. He was pleasant, avoiding the crowded places and gave me sufficient time to rest at lunch and tea. I will most certainly ask for your services again, likely for Guangzhou some time later this year. Thank you very much

Doing what: Private Tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour guide Jason did a great job and was extremely knowledgeable on history of the Ming and Qing dynasties. Small tour group with this tour allowed for lots of questions. Covered a ton of ground in a single day, this is the tour if you only have 1 day and can start out early.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful acrobat but very poor duck... Below my expectations. Jason the tour guide was amazing, very polite and spoke excellent English

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Really good trip with a friendly tour guide. We were also taken to a little Tea House where we were able to try lots of different types of tea, and learn a bit of Chinese traditions. Loved the Summer Palace, and the Lama Temple. The only thing about the Panda Garden was that it was a section of a zoo. Was expecting a little more than that, but overall a lovely day trip in Beijing.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Viator is a broker who coordinates with the local travel agencies to arrange the tour. The tour company locally in Beijing. Based on the instructions after purchasing the tour via Viator, you are to contact the local tour agency to arrange for pick up at your hotel. They weren't very responsive initially when my friend and i attempted to contact them. I ended up making an international phone call to Beijing to confirm the pickup arrangement. The day before the tour we did receive an email confirmation finally; in addition, the tour guide also left a message at my hotel room the night before to confirm.

The tour itself was great. Our guide's name was Jacky Lee. His english was great and he had alot of knowledge in those historic attractions and was really informative. We ended up purchasing another day tour with Jacky the next day to see some other attractions in Beijing (summer palace, etc). I do have to warn anyone who's contemplating on signing up for the tour, to be aware of the souvenir shops that they take you to. THEY ARE TRAPS FOR TOURISTS. We were taken to the following places:

-Silk Gallery: this was supposed to be a potty stop and not supposed to be part of the tour, but we ended up at the merchandise area and bought a bunch of embroideries.
-Longdi Jade Factory: also our stop for lunch. Food was horrible in my opinion. This place totally is catered for foreigners as i saw not a single local there). If you're to purchase jades there, paying anything more than half of the retail price would be a rip off. Their true value is probably at 1/3 of the retail price.
-Dr. Tea: not part of the itinerary but Jacky took it upon himself to make another stop here. The tea ceremony was interesting, but the retail store is a rip off. Just be careful and not to get suckered into buying like we did.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message