If there’s one sight that has come to represent not only Beijing, but Imperial China as a whole, it’s the Forbidden City. Closed to the world for some 500 years, this vast Imperial palace puts into perspective just how powerful China’s ancient ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had Robert as a tour guide today to the square, forbidden city, and temple of heaven. He was engaging and really a good teacher to my son for mandarin in addition of course to his extensive knowledge. We would highly recommend him to others.

Doing what: Private Tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour 2 of 4 in Beijing and a more cultural and historical look at Beijing, We had Jackie Li for the second day running and on this tour my wife and I were the only 2 so a private tour which was lovely. I have already made reference to other peoples reviews relating to "full days" and side trips on tours in my review of the Badaling section of the great wall, I think that they both add to the tours and make them more comfortable. After our tour of Tiananmen Square and the forbidden city (Where our guide showed us where to get the best photos away from the crowds) then it was on to the silk factory where we bought some lovely gifts for our family, again no pressure to buy and if you say no they don't mind as I didn't buy things on every tour. However my wife had wanted to go to the silk market anyway, yes you can buy things cheaper elsewhere and we did that as well but the quality really was better in the silk factory so just decide whether you want cheap from the silk market or well made from the factory, there isn't a huge difference in price.
Then we stopped at the temple of heaven and the walk through the park and gardens was wonderful with local people meeting to dance, play or yoga in the park is really something special and shows a real sense of community in Beijing that is lovely. I realise I don't mention the sites themselves much but the speak for themselves.
Then off for lunch which was pleasant everyday although the first day at the jade factory was probably the best or at the enamel factory but all lunches on every tour were very nice and plenty of food.
Then back to the hotel by 2pm and off out for the afternoon.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great day with Michelle, walked around Forbidden city and climbed the wall, a must

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great day. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken the short distance to Tienimen square. Then onto the Forbidden city. For most of our visit to the Great Wall, we were the only visitors there. Our guide Carolyn was fantastic. Highly recommended

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

In contrast to the tour to the Great Wall and Ming Tombs the day before this was a fantastic tour. As with the previous day my wife and I were the only ones on the tour. The tour was comfortably paced for us. Tiamanmen Square was busy due to being the Mid-Autumn Festival. It was unfortunate that it was raining as we walked through the Forbidden City, however our guide (Cherry - if that is her real name) took us along the right side away from the masses and slightly higher than the main throng of visitors. She regularly pointed out photo opportunities.

Getting back to the coach it was onto the Silk Factory. Although there was an opportunity to buy, there was no sign of any high pressure sales.

Onto the Heavenly Temple and the rain had stopped. Again our guide provided us with excellent information and provided us with time to have a look by ourselves. Before lunch it was on the Pearl Factory. Getting a theme here? Yes - we were shown how fresh water pearls are cultured and farmed, but it was followed by a purchase opportunity, but as with the Silk Factory no high pressure sales techniques used.

Lunch was at a restaurant as was good quality and quantity. And onto the Summer Palace. By now the sun had come out. The Summer Palace was busy, again because of the Mid-Autumn Festival. We walked to the Marble Ship, before coming back on the Dragon Boat (you will have to pay extra, but well worth it).

Would I recommend it - most definitely. We were not subject to high sales pressure at the Silk or Pearl Factories. Cherry was a great guide.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We started at Tiananmen Square and then went through the Forbidden City. Our guide, Christina was very good. From there, we caught a cab and went out to the Summer Palace. On the way back we stopped at the Olympic Site to see the Birdcage and the swin cube. Went throught the Silk Museum, which was interesting, but ended with a sales pitch hawking all the silf goods. We did buy some nice silk products, prices were reasonable.

This was a really good way to get to know the city and learn a lot about the history of China.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour was great. Did see Tienamien square, it was super. Then visited the Forbidden city, my guide Cherry was very informative and very helpfull and explained all very well.
Afterwards we went onwards with the driver to the Chinese wall. We went the to less visited Mutianyu.
Absolutely amazing. I was very impressed with all.
All in all it was a super day. A little bit grey at the Chinese wall, but I was very impressed. Loved every minute of it especially since there you found yourself often almost alone on the Chinese wall. Super.
Cherry was very attentive and explained all i wanted to know.
Would definetely recommend private tour with driver.

René - Netherlands - September 28th 2013

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our guide 'Jackie Lee' was the highlight of the day. We are still talking about him! This is a great tour. The Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven are very interesting and the Summer Palace is beautiful. I wish these tours avoided local businesses like the pearl factory though.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This is a great tour of the Beijing area, our tour guide Jason,was very knowledgeable and good fun with great English and a great sense of humor... we walked and he talked all interesting facts about Tian'anmen Square and the Forbidden City, we even payed our respects to Chairmen Mao Zedong, we had a great day and would highly recommend this tour and this Guide to anyone visiting Beijing.
Kind Regards, Linda Allan and Sam, QLD Australia

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had an incredible day on this tour. Not only was our guide Jason passionate and a wealth of information but the tour truly encompassed the very best that Beijing has to offer. The views from Jingshan Hill and the Great Wall were breathtaking. While I'm not usually a fan of duck, the Peking duck was unique and delicious. Trying it is a must. With Beijing being a very busy and sometimes chaotic city, having our guide meant we could relax and simply take in the beauty around us, especially in the massive Forbidden City. Thank you for an unforgettable day in Beijing!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

WOW! Where do I even begin? This was the tour of a lifetime! We were picked up by an incredible guide who was so excited to show us his city. We were a little worried about the language barrier but he spoke perfect English. This tour was literally like walking through history and I couldn't believe how much we fit into one day. I loved being able to explore the Forbidden City both from inside and from Jingshan Hill where you see an incredible birdseye view. From up there, you really get a sense of the immensity of this place. But my favorite part had to be walking on the Great Wall of China -- a dream of mine since I was young! What I loved especially about seeing this part of the Wall is that there were no crowds. In fact we were the only people there! And to be walking on such an important part of history while taking in the panoramic views was worth the trip to Beijing!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent full-day tour which covered the main sights in Beijing. Knowledgeable guide who genuinely enjoyed role and culture of the attractions. Although Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City could be reached easily alone, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven more difficult to locate so this tour was invaluable. As with Great Wall tour, visit to 'tourist trap' shopping sites annoying but likely to subsidise the price.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour picked us up at the hotel on time. It was just the two of us and one other woman on the tour. Our guide was full of information and talked almost non-stop. This was an extremely fast-paced tour. I would recommend this tour to people who only have a short time in Beijing because it crams a lot into on day. We first went to the Summer Palace and although we spent about 1.5 hours there, we only saw a fraction of it. You could easily spend an entire day there. The next stop was the Pearl Market where the showed us how pearls are made and opened an oyster. We were brought up to the next level where they wanted us to buy pearls. Afterwards, we were taken to the Temple of Heaven and spent about 45 minutes there. From there we went to lunch at a buffet. The food was not great. All of the dishes were vaguely labelled 'pork', 'chicken' and 'vegetable'. After lunch we were taken to the Silk Market. Another shopping experience where they showed you how silk is made. They let my boyfriend open up one of the cocoons, stretch the silk and help make a layer of a quilt. It was a fun experience and we did end up splurging on two silk quilts. After was Tiananmen Square. We only really saw it from across the street, but we were there long enough for photos. We went directly into the Forbidden City and again, we were there for over an hour, but only saw a small section of it. The guide walked very fast and we were exhausted by the end of the day. He was full of information and offered to take photos for us (which was the best part of being on such a small tour). There were a lot of people and panhandlers around the tourist attractions and having a mandarin speaking guide helped shoo them away faster. At the end of the tour, the guide offered to bring us to a cheap place for a foot massage. We were taken to a holistic medical school where we were given foot massages by students and the cost was whatever you tipped. Great tour even with the forced shopping stops.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I recently had some tours from some of your lovely guides around Beijing of the forbidden city, temple of heaven, Beijing opera and the night walking tour. The tour guides were wonderful; very knowledgeable of the areas, and fun people to spend time with. I was very impressed with their prompt and timely starts to the tours, which was especially important being in a new city as it was reassuring that I was meeting them in the correct place and there was no confusion. I have experienced poor timeliness in the past so I was really appreciative of the tour guides for this attribute. The tours were well structured, and very good value for money, and I was happy that I was neither rushed nor delayed with the time I spent at each location and with the guides. The mixture of private cars, local transportation, and planned meals was excellent and I feel that I had a well rounded and informative experience in Beijing learning about the history and culture of the intriguing city. I particularly appreciated the professional experience and coordination between the main office, the guides, the locations visited and the drivers. I have been very happy with the experience and I fully recommend that others use Viator for planning their own tours. In light of this I have copied into this email my friend Ester who would like to organise some tours for Beijing, and I hope you are able to organise some fun activities for her! She is particularly interested in going to the Great Wall of China. Thank you very much for the wonderful experiences which I will carry with me for a life time!

Doing what: Private Tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We just completed out Forbidden City tour with Christina, and I must say that she was tremendous! We found the tour to be very informative, but just as important, Christina was helpful and has a terrific personality. Thanks, I would recommend this tour highly to others that I know.

Doing what: Private Tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message