• USD ($)
  • English
The Great Wall, a Wonder of the World and one of China’s most recognizable landmarks, deserves a place on any itinerary to Beijing. With several sections located just outside of the city, you’ll have your pick of experiences depending on what you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 312 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was my second tour with Jason as guide (I did the Beijijng Duck and Acrobat show the previous evening. Absolutely first class. As it turned out he was my personal guide, even though it was not a private tour. Excellent level of knowledge of all the sites visited, and a complete history as well.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We saw everything at a reasonable pace; had a great translator "Caroli" Who had so much knowledge! No pressure to make purchases. Small group, fun day! The Great Wall was amazing!!!

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour with absolutely fantastic guide called Cynthia. Incredibly friendly and well informed about her city.Nothing was too much for her and she made the day a delight.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent time, excellent tour, excellent guide! Our guide named Carly arrived at our hotel just when she said she would. She spoke perfect English. Since there were only the two of us on the tour, she gave us the option of going to a different area of the Great Wall which she said wouldn't be as crowded. We took this option and we were amazed. After climbing on the Wall and visiting the Ming Tombs, we went on an unscheduled trip to a tea house in Beijing for a tasting. This was awesome and we came away with lots of gifts for our friends back home. This tour made our fifth anniversary trip to Beijing memorable. Thank you!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

On of the main reasons for coming to Beijing. Only 3 in our group. Cynthia our guide was excellent

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My family of five took this tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. The service was fantastic. I corresponded with the company prior to our trip (through Viator) in order to advise them that my family included three parents in their 70's with mobility issues. The company also confirmed our tour in advance and provided a contact name and phone number just in case. They showed up promptly at our hotel on time with a clean van, a nice driver, and an energetic tour guide (Jimmy). The guide took good care of us and was especially attentive to our parents. The day we went it was 110-degrees on the wall, but Jimmy took good care of us. The guide provided us with a picnic (snacks) and champagne in the shade...other visitors passing by were jealous! We saw so many wonderful things in China, but our tour to Mutianyu was the highlight.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a family trip and we all feel victorious to conquer the heights of the Great Wall. The morning rain did not spoil the trip in any way. Our tourist guide, Chynthia Cai, made the initiative to find us umbrellas and we started at Ming Tombs before proceeding to the Great Wall. It was a real good experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was great, Jacky was very knowledgeable about everything we visited and had great historical insights to everything Chinese and in Beijing. He proposed a couple of different options and the section of the great wall we went to was not overly crowded, which made the views even more spectacular. He also took us to a chinese tea house which I did not think was on the itinerary and that was a great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our first full day in Beijing and we took this tour. Our tour guide was Jackie Li and there were 5 people on the tour. We had a lovely day. The tour company phoned our hotel room the evening before and confirmed the collection time and we were picked up in the morning. To address the reviews on here that moan about the "full day" aspect of the tour the tours all run from early 7/8am to between 1 and 3pm which is 7/8 hrs or a full work day, they run between these times to avoid as much of the Beijing traffic as possible and we were greatful of this because the best of Beijing traffic is worse than most other places and I certainly wouldn't want to spend hours stuck in traffic at the end of the tour, plus it gives you your afternoons and evenings free so it was perfect for us.
After being collected we headed for the Ming tombs which were very interesting and then on to the wall, Jackie Li was fantastic and gave us all the information about the places we were visiting while on route, he also asked us what part of the wall we wanted to go to, Badaling as advertised which has lots of tourists or a steeper and therefore quieter section at Juyongguan. He was very clear that it was the groups decision and we decided on the later. It was very very steep but an amazing section and having seen some of the photos of Badaling on line I think it is a more picturesque and a lot less crowded so we were very pleased. However if you are not fit you may want to stick with Badaling as it was very tiring and I am of pretty good fitness, my muscles were shaking in my legs on the way down.
Then off to a Jade factory which I know people complain about but almost every tour in China includes these side trips and I find them interesting, I never buy anything unless I want to and the feeling pressured is down to the individuals because we didn't feel any pressure at any stage to buy anything we didn't want, yes the staff follow you around but this happens in all shops in Beijing.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great day!!! the tour guide (Jason) was very knowledgable and helpful

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Great Wall is impressive and a once in a life time experience. The tour was well organized and the tour guide (Michael) was very helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was very good and very friendly. Arrived on time and knew much information and history.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a great day and would highly recommend this tour! Our tour guide Jackie was great and loved to talk.

The tour provided everything it promised and the lunch provided was also amazing.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great day with Michelle, walked around Forbidden city and climbed the wall, a must

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great day. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken the short distance to Tienimen square. Then onto the Forbidden city. For most of our visit to the Great Wall, we were the only visitors there. Our guide Carolyn was fantastic. Highly recommended

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message