The Great Wall of China, arguably the country's most recognizable landmark, deserves a place on any itinerary to Beijing. Fall and spring prove the best times to visit, as temperatures aren’t as hot and the crowds aren't as thick as they are in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 258 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Derek G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing, my second trip to the great wall. This section was much better. Not crowded and stunning, great to see some non restored sections too.

Doing what: Great Wall Hiking Tour from Beijing: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Lily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour. Tour guide William Kuang was very friendly, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic about the history of the Great Wall and Beijing/China in general. Was lucky to have a small tour group, so able to interact with William extensively. It felt like a group of friends rather than a group tour. Trips to jade factory and tea tasting were good, though I spent too much unplanned money but made for good gifts. Thank you for making this a great experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Lexi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We wanted to escape the large crowds of tourists and have a more personal experience with the Great Wall and we're so happy we chose this tour!! Our small group of 8 had the most spectacular time. Our guide Tao couldn't have been better. He was knowledgeable and patient with us, helping us along some of the very difficult and slippery portions of the wall. He also took some of our most memorable photos from the day. I HIGHLY recommend this tour when you take a trip to Beijing! :-

Doing what: One-Day Small Group Great Wall Hiking Highlight: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Vibeke L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great day! The Great Wall is compulsory when in Beijing. The lunch was good. We loved our local guide Kevin who spoke perfect English. He even took us to a silk-market after the tour, which meant that he had to work 2 hours more than required. He booked a restaurant for us in the evening and called in to ensure that we were doing fine. Fantastic service!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great experience with our guide, Rockie, on a picture perfect spring day. Rockie was knowledgeable and friendly and took us on a fun adventure to a watch tower ruins where we enjoyed champagne and snacks. We rode the cable car up and recommend doing that, as the steps and walk along the Great Wall are challenging and it gives you more time on the wall. We did the tobaggan slide down and that was fun too. Only hiccup was the horrible traffic we encountered, but it was a Saturday, so lots a people were on the road.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Jason G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a great tour to the Great Wall and Ming Tombs. Our guide Jenny was lovely and very knowledgable about her subject and our driver was friendly too. The views at the Great Wall were wonderful and I would recommend this tour to others who want to see the Great Wall or Ming Tombs.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

rob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I've done the popular crowded great wall visit and this one, and there's no contest. This was full of history and context, not at all crowded, we experience much greater variety in the wall itself, and overall it felt like a much more intimate experience with the wall. There was a lot of walking, but our guide did a great job taking breaks and making it doable for this 54 year old. One important note, we were told to meet at the McDonalds at Dongzhimen Station. There are 2 McDonalds! We waited at the one in the station - the wrong one! Be sure to go to the one across the street from the station. It may be that they included the correct address, but navigating in Beijing is not easy. Even our Chinese friends thought this would be hard for them to figure out.

Doing what: One-Day Small Group Great Wall Hiking Highlight: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Vicki M Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very fund day. We climbed a section of the Great Wall after catching the chair lift up. Some areas were very steep but well worth the effort. Our guide Victoria was very friendly and helpful

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Walking on the Great Wall is an amazing experience, one that my son and I will never forget. We enjoyed our guide, Kevin, but he and his driver's role were primarily to get us from Beijing to the Great Wall. He provided some interesting commentary on the way, but when we got to the wall, we were really on our own. Walking on the wall is quite challenging physically--not only does it do up and down with the topography, the so-called restored section we were on was extremely tricky to navigate--rough, uneven steps, etc. Take the chair lift up to the wall and the toboggan down--both fun and a little scary, but that added to the experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Valerie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a very excellent tour. Our guide Cheney was very professional, friendly and knowledgeable. A large part of this section was only minimally restored, offering some really remarkable sights.
Some of the steps were challenging and the incline was steep but the effort was worth it.
We had a tea break at one of the watch towers: the cup of hot tea on a chilly spring morning was the perfect match for the magnificent views at the great wall!

Doing what: One-Day Small Group Great Wall Hiking Highlight: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Eini D Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great day visiting the Ming Tombs and Great Wall. Tombs were a bit disappointing in that you don't get to actually see the tmobs as they have not yet been excavated foe fear of damaging the articles buried underground. The wall was incredible. We chose to walk up the north side of the wall at Badaling because there were less tourists, but sections were quite steep. Our guide Jacky was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of information and history, almost to a fault.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Carolyn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The Great Wall Tour was great. Our tour guide was terrific and gave us lots of facts along the way. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

robscruggs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This is a great tour. It was made most memorable, due to the first snow of the year which blanket the Great Wall of China. Simply beautiful.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Melissa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing day visiting the Great Wall! Winter is spectacular there (but very cold!) and not crowded in the least. Kevin was an outstanding tour guide and very knowledgable. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Marvin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were completely satisfied with our hiking tour at the Mutianyu Great Wall. Our tour guide - Rockie - was knowledgeable, friendly, and knew how to keep us informed, but also allow us to feel completely unstructured. The day just moved along. Our driver was extremely efficient, and knew how to best get us through Beijing traffic.
I'm glad we selected the hiking with picnic. There was not pressure, no shopping, and the picnic snack was a great break while on the Wall. We had lunch at a local restaurant after leaving the Wall.
This was my second trip to China, and first to Beijing. The Mutianyu Great Wall is incredible! I never dreamed I would be walking the Great Wall, there it was. The facilities at the base - the greeting center - were new, clean, and pleasant. They fit the surroundings. The wall offered incredible views.
I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Samantha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing day with Cintia, the guide from Viator at Beijing.
Very organized, punctual, helpful. Lunch was great!
And the Great Wall, a dream! Awesome place to visit to deepen our knowledge about mankind and Chinas history.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Nadia M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide Victoria was very knowledgable and friendly. She really took good care of us. Tour of the great wall was just the right amount of time to experience the scenery and the beauty of the area. Tours of the tea ceremony and the Jade factory were an added bonus that we would not have otherwise known to see.Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

sarah_

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had the best time at the Great Wall of China with Dennis as my guide. I was lucky as I was the only traveller. Dennis gave me plenty of information about the Wall and China and answered all of my questions. We arrived at 9am and were greeted by a winter wonderland. The Great Wall covered in snow was breathtaking. I am glad we left Beijing that early because we were almost the only people on the Wall for about three hours. I had plenty of time to take pictures and to discover everything. The lunch at a local restaurant was also very good. As the description says there are no shopping stops. Thank you for such an amazing once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

There was snow at the Great Wall and the road was closed to Mutianyu so we had to go to an alternate location. It was an excellent event still and great lunch as well! All positive!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Patti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

On the way to The Wall, we stopped at a very nice jade factory - good education if you've never been.
The drive to The Wall was very scenic and the tour guide, Maria, was a fountain of knowledge about Chinese history, The Great Wall, the Chinese people and culture. Once at The Wall we all took the chair lift up to save time and our legs to spend more actual time on The Wall. The Mutianya section is a much less busy section of The Wall and the scenery is stunning. The guide gave a lot of information and stories about The Wall so we were able to spend a couple of hours just exploring on our own. I loved the toboggan ride down - super fun. Worth the extra cost.
After seeing The Wall, we went for a typical tourist lunch and we visited a Cloisonné factory. It was absolutely fascinating to see the process that is involved to make a piece of Cloisonné.
There was only 7 of us on the tour so we had lots of opportunity to talk with the other guests and our tour guide.
I would highly recommend this tour and ask for Maria.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Rosalyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Great Wall walk was breathtaking with magnificent views and Tracey was a great tour guide. Certainly one tour not to miss!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Though we had 20 visibility when it came to appreciating the Great Wall, our guide Cynthia made the day's tour interesting and enjoyable. She provided excellent historical context for the Ming Dynasty Tombs, pacing the tour perfectly. She kept us well informed about Chinese cultural practices and the roots of the language during the bus travel between stops. Lunch was nice. The tea ceremony was delightful, too. This tour is worthwhile.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Lou K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Great Wall tour was very enjoyable and informative. Maria was an excellent and personably tour guide who provided good background and historically significant information. The tour ended in a fun and education stop at the Tea House where we got an education on tea choices, how to make a good cup of tea and also to enjoy tasting some well prepared teas.
The bus driver did a very skillful job in navigating safely and efficiently through the intense Beijing traffic.
Note--I would recommend the tour cost be modified to include the Great Wall tram fee since most people seem to prefer the use of the tram.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

leona.tooley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the most exciting day of my trip to Beijing : The day started with our tour guide, Jackie, meeting us in our hotel foyer. From here, we made our way to the emerald factory. I wasn't too keen on making this stop when I initially booked the tour, but I must admit that it was quite enjoyable! It was fascinating to see the artists in action as they carve up the emerald into an array of statues and souvenirs. There was quite a bit of time spent on the tour bus, but thankfully, Jackie kept us entertained with stories about the Pandas, Chinese traditions, family life etc. Next stop was the great wall. WOW! What a remarkable part of the world! We caught the cable car up and looking back over my shoulder as we creeped up to the wall took my breathe away. It is truly spectacular !! We spent about an hour and a half on the wall itself. Although, I could have spent the whole day there! This was my only criticism of the trip - perhaps a little more time on the wall would have been nice. When you get to Mutianyu, you will be given the option top choose between two cable cars companies. Be sure to go with the company that has the option to toboggan down the hill. The toboggan is a whole lot of fun and highly recommended. Although, you also have the option of returning by cable car if you wish. The lunch provided for us was great and the visit to the Cloisonné factory was an interesting. On the way back to Beijing, Jackie stopped off at a tea house. I wasn't aware this was part of our tour, but it was a welcome addition. I would have had no interest to visit the tea house prior to the tour, but I am so glad we had the chance to stopover here. Here, we were ushered into a private room and learnt about the different types of Chinese tea and how to prepare them. The tea was great and our English speaking host was very knowledgable and entertaining. All up, this was a fantastic tour and I highly recommended it !!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great price for what it included! The transport from Beijing to the Wall was roughly 2 hrs each way. I spent about 2 hrs hiking the Great Wall and it was absolutely amazing! Beautiful views around and just an amazing feat to visit one of the Ancient Great Wonders of the World. Viator tour also included a family-style lunch at a nice restaurant at the bottom of the mountain where we the buses park. Overall, highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message