The Great Wall, a Wonder of the World and one of China’s most recognizable landmarks, deserves a place on any itinerary to Beijing. With several sections located just outside of the city, you’ll have your pick of experiences depending on what you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 104 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly recommended tour of the Great Wall of China and Ming Tomb. The tour guide was very flexible allowing us to spend as much time as desired at each location. We were not rushed at any spot. Additionally, the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and able to speak English very well. This part of the wall is absolutely stunning with beautiful views of the mountains. Be ready to spend a few minutes at the Jade factory. I did not purchase anything and was not pushed into buying anything.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide Cynthia was very kind and nice with us. She tried to made our tour very exciting and interesting. My flight was delayed so I start the tour later, after the Forbidden city so she told me they will make a refund for that. I didn't asked for it so it was very nice from her.
We went to the Jade Factory and we ate there; the food was very good and enough for all of us. After that we went to the Silk Factory and to the Great Wall. It was amazing but maybe not enough time, only 1:30 hour. We finished at the Tea ceremony very interesting. GREAT TOUR! RECOMMENDED FOR ONLY ONE DAY IN BEIJING!

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was freeing to let the tour guide handle the logistical hootenanny while I was able to simply enjoy the rustic beauty of this magnificent structure. Our tour guide was friendly, professional, and timely. She balanced well our need to have privacy at times, but her company was enjoyable nonetheless. She shared a lot of history with us about the Great Wall - some bits more unnerving than others! (I won't ruin the surprise) ;-). The only areas that could be improved were largely out of our tour guide's hands, such as traffic and the general zoo that is overcrowded China. LOVED the picnic. Be sure to bring walking shoes and extra water.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We saw everything at a reasonable pace; had a great translator "Caroli" Who had so much knowledge! No pressure to make purchases. Small group, fun day! The Great Wall was amazing!!!

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent time, excellent tour, excellent guide! Our guide named Carly arrived at our hotel just when she said she would. She spoke perfect English. Since there were only the two of us on the tour, she gave us the option of going to a different area of the Great Wall which she said wouldn't be as crowded. We took this option and we were amazed. After climbing on the Wall and visiting the Ming Tombs, we went on an unscheduled trip to a tea house in Beijing for a tasting. This was awesome and we came away with lots of gifts for our friends back home. This tour made our fifth anniversary trip to Beijing memorable. Thank you!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My family of five took this tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. The service was fantastic. I corresponded with the company prior to our trip (through Viator) in order to advise them that my family included three parents in their 70's with mobility issues. The company also confirmed our tour in advance and provided a contact name and phone number just in case. They showed up promptly at our hotel on time with a clean van, a nice driver, and an energetic tour guide (Jimmy). The guide took good care of us and was especially attentive to our parents. The day we went it was 110-degrees on the wall, but Jimmy took good care of us. The guide provided us with a picnic (snacks) and champagne in the shade...other visitors passing by were jealous! We saw so many wonderful things in China, but our tour to Mutianyu was the highlight.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a family trip and we all feel victorious to conquer the heights of the Great Wall. The morning rain did not spoil the trip in any way. Our tourist guide, Chynthia Cai, made the initiative to find us umbrellas and we started at Ming Tombs before proceeding to the Great Wall. It was a real good experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was great, Jacky was very knowledgeable about everything we visited and had great historical insights to everything Chinese and in Beijing. He proposed a couple of different options and the section of the great wall we went to was not overly crowded, which made the views even more spectacular. He also took us to a chinese tea house which I did not think was on the itinerary and that was a great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Great Wall is impressive and a once in a life time experience. The tour was well organized and the tour guide (Michael) was very helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great day. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken the short distance to Tienimen square. Then onto the Forbidden city. For most of our visit to the Great Wall, we were the only visitors there. Our guide Carolyn was fantastic. Highly recommended

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My tour guide was Jason, and he was excellent! Spoke English very well, was able to give me great information on the tour, and even emailed me a copy of a picture of us at the Great Wall after! Great experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Without a doubt the highlight of our trip to Beijing. John, our tour guide, could not have been better. He was extremely generous with his time, and his knowledge of Beijing and the Great Wall was outstanding. At no time were we rushed and the picnic on the Great Wall was envied by all other tourists. We finished at a resaurant which was also of high quality and lots, lots of food. Our driver Mr Shing is a gentleman and could not have been more helpful or friendly. If you do nothing else, do this tour. Ask for John and Mr Shing. Simply excellent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I would definitely recommend this tour. We were fortunate to be the only ones on the tour. John picked us up at hotel on time and spoke good English. He was very informative on the history of China and the Great Wall. He highlighted the key areas to have our pictures taken and promptly offered to take our picture. We had a memorable picnic on the Great Wall with a picnic blanket, Chinese snacks, and a bottle of champagne. We were definitely the envy of passing tourist and one commented that we knew how to do it right by having a picnic there with champagne. The lunch location and cuisine was definitely an introduction to the local cuisine. A stop by the Olympic Park was a nice added bonus. Many thanks for a memorable day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

What a breathtaking experience--literally! I always thought the Giza pyramids were the most impressive from a construction perspective, but the Great Wall is a feat that just doesn't seem possible. The angle of the steps along the wall are much more difficult to navigate than what pictures imply. If you are afraid of heights, make careful consideration which part of the wall you visit. Some sections are much steeper than others. Our guide, Jacky Lee, was so informative, intelligent, helpful and professional in each and every way. And he has a great sense of humor, which made the day even better.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide, Michael, was PHENOMENAL!!! We could not be more pleased with our tour of the Great Wall, or the Ming Tombs. Michael was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and very interested in making sure we were having a great experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone planning on visiting Beijing!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message