The Great Wall, a Wonder of the World and one of China’s most recognizable landmarks, deserves a place on any itinerary to Beijing. With several sections located just outside of the city, you’ll have your pick of experiences depending on what you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 116 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

VW
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great day! There were only two of us on the tour so we were able to visit a different section of the Great Wall. It was a beautiful sunny day so we got lots of great photos. The Ming Tombs were also great! The only things I was not expecting was the almost tourist trap-type visits to the jade factory and tea shop. These were not educational visits, but rather store visits with a bit of demonstration and we were pressured a bit to buy their overpriced items. We had a great guide who was able to answer all of our questions. I would recommend this trip to anyone who would like to see the Great Wall but is a bit short on time in Beijing.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Pro: Tour went ahead even though I was the only one booked. Prompt arrival and guide has good English skills. Tea ceremony was a welcome surprise. Not much of a shopper but silk factory prices were amazing($84US for scarf, could probably haggle lower).

Con: Waited 20-30mins for tickets at Forbiden City(surely they could have been prepurchased to spend that time wandering the site). Also much traffic to Great wall lead to shorter time there than would have liked. I work out with stairs so it was an easy climb but still took 45min up/45min down leaving no time at the top, or to check out the vendors/food stalls/etc. Adding 30min to the length would have made it a better tour even if it costs $10 more.

Definetely recommend if you have limited time in Beijing such as those traveling to China 72hours visa free.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We chose a a rainy Thursday to visit the Great Wall of China, and we were very (positively) surprised when we realized we were the only people that were on the tour that day. We basically had a dedicated driver and guide who brought us to all the attractions, and we had plenty of time to visit everything in great detail. It was an amazing tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly recommended tour of the Great Wall of China and Ming Tomb. The tour guide was very flexible allowing us to spend as much time as desired at each location. We were not rushed at any spot. Additionally, the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and able to speak English very well. This part of the wall is absolutely stunning with beautiful views of the mountains. Be ready to spend a few minutes at the Jade factory. I did not purchase anything and was not pushed into buying anything.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide Cynthia was very kind and nice with us. She tried to made our tour very exciting and interesting. My flight was delayed so I start the tour later, after the Forbidden city so she told me they will make a refund for that. I didn't asked for it so it was very nice from her.
We went to the Jade Factory and we ate there; the food was very good and enough for all of us. After that we went to the Silk Factory and to the Great Wall. It was amazing but maybe not enough time, only 1:30 hour. We finished at the Tea ceremony very interesting. GREAT TOUR! RECOMMENDED FOR ONLY ONE DAY IN BEIJING!

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was freeing to let the tour guide handle the logistical hootenanny while I was able to simply enjoy the rustic beauty of this magnificent structure. Our tour guide was friendly, professional, and timely. She balanced well our need to have privacy at times, but her company was enjoyable nonetheless. She shared a lot of history with us about the Great Wall - some bits more unnerving than others! (I won't ruin the surprise) ;-). The only areas that could be improved were largely out of our tour guide's hands, such as traffic and the general zoo that is overcrowded China. LOVED the picnic. Be sure to bring walking shoes and extra water.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We saw everything at a reasonable pace; had a great translator "Caroli" Who had so much knowledge! No pressure to make purchases. Small group, fun day! The Great Wall was amazing!!!

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent time, excellent tour, excellent guide! Our guide named Carly arrived at our hotel just when she said she would. She spoke perfect English. Since there were only the two of us on the tour, she gave us the option of going to a different area of the Great Wall which she said wouldn't be as crowded. We took this option and we were amazed. After climbing on the Wall and visiting the Ming Tombs, we went on an unscheduled trip to a tea house in Beijing for a tasting. This was awesome and we came away with lots of gifts for our friends back home. This tour made our fifth anniversary trip to Beijing memorable. Thank you!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My family of five took this tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. The service was fantastic. I corresponded with the company prior to our trip (through Viator) in order to advise them that my family included three parents in their 70's with mobility issues. The company also confirmed our tour in advance and provided a contact name and phone number just in case. They showed up promptly at our hotel on time with a clean van, a nice driver, and an energetic tour guide (Jimmy). The guide took good care of us and was especially attentive to our parents. The day we went it was 110-degrees on the wall, but Jimmy took good care of us. The guide provided us with a picnic (snacks) and champagne in the shade...other visitors passing by were jealous! We saw so many wonderful things in China, but our tour to Mutianyu was the highlight.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a family trip and we all feel victorious to conquer the heights of the Great Wall. The morning rain did not spoil the trip in any way. Our tourist guide, Chynthia Cai, made the initiative to find us umbrellas and we started at Ming Tombs before proceeding to the Great Wall. It was a real good experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was great, Jacky was very knowledgeable about everything we visited and had great historical insights to everything Chinese and in Beijing. He proposed a couple of different options and the section of the great wall we went to was not overly crowded, which made the views even more spectacular. He also took us to a chinese tea house which I did not think was on the itinerary and that was a great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Great Wall is impressive and a once in a life time experience. The tour was well organized and the tour guide (Michael) was very helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great day. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken the short distance to Tienimen square. Then onto the Forbidden city. For most of our visit to the Great Wall, we were the only visitors there. Our guide Carolyn was fantastic. Highly recommended

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My tour guide was Jason, and he was excellent! Spoke English very well, was able to give me great information on the tour, and even emailed me a copy of a picture of us at the Great Wall after! Great experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Without a doubt the highlight of our trip to Beijing. John, our tour guide, could not have been better. He was extremely generous with his time, and his knowledge of Beijing and the Great Wall was outstanding. At no time were we rushed and the picnic on the Great Wall was envied by all other tourists. We finished at a resaurant which was also of high quality and lots, lots of food. Our driver Mr Shing is a gentleman and could not have been more helpful or friendly. If you do nothing else, do this tour. Ask for John and Mr Shing. Simply excellent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message