The Great Wall, a Wonder of the World and one of China’s most recognizable landmarks, deserves a place on any itinerary to Beijing. With several sections located just outside of the city, you’ll have your pick of experiences depending on what you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 239 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

robscruggs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This is a great tour. It was made most memorable, due to the first snow of the year which blanket the Great Wall of China. Simply beautiful.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Melissa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing day visiting the Great Wall! Winter is spectacular there (but very cold!) and not crowded in the least. Kevin was an outstanding tour guide and very knowledgable. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Marvin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were completely satisfied with our hiking tour at the Mutianyu Great Wall. Our tour guide - Rockie - was knowledgeable, friendly, and knew how to keep us informed, but also allow us to feel completely unstructured. The day just moved along. Our driver was extremely efficient, and knew how to best get us through Beijing traffic.
I'm glad we selected the hiking with picnic. There was not pressure, no shopping, and the picnic snack was a great break while on the Wall. We had lunch at a local restaurant after leaving the Wall.
This was my second trip to China, and first to Beijing. The Mutianyu Great Wall is incredible! I never dreamed I would be walking the Great Wall, there it was. The facilities at the base - the greeting center - were new, clean, and pleasant. They fit the surroundings. The wall offered incredible views.
I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Samantha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing day with Cintia, the guide from Viator at Beijing.
Very organized, punctual, helpful. Lunch was great!
And the Great Wall, a dream! Awesome place to visit to deepen our knowledge about mankind and Chinas history.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

Nadia M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide Victoria was very knowledgable and friendly. She really took good care of us. Tour of the great wall was just the right amount of time to experience the scenery and the beauty of the area. Tours of the tea ceremony and the Jade factory were an added bonus that we would not have otherwise known to see.Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

sarah_

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had the best time at the Great Wall of China with Dennis as my guide. I was lucky as I was the only traveller. Dennis gave me plenty of information about the Wall and China and answered all of my questions. We arrived at 9am and were greeted by a winter wonderland. The Great Wall covered in snow was breathtaking. I am glad we left Beijing that early because we were almost the only people on the Wall for about three hours. I had plenty of time to take pictures and to discover everything. The lunch at a local restaurant was also very good. As the description says there are no shopping stops. Thank you for such an amazing once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

There was snow at the Great Wall and the road was closed to Mutianyu so we had to go to an alternate location. It was an excellent event still and great lunch as well! All positive!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

Patti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

On the way to The Wall, we stopped at a very nice jade factory - good education if you've never been.
The drive to The Wall was very scenic and the tour guide, Maria, was a fountain of knowledge about Chinese history, The Great Wall, the Chinese people and culture. Once at The Wall we all took the chair lift up to save time and our legs to spend more actual time on The Wall. The Mutianya section is a much less busy section of The Wall and the scenery is stunning. The guide gave a lot of information and stories about The Wall so we were able to spend a couple of hours just exploring on our own. I loved the toboggan ride down - super fun. Worth the extra cost.
After seeing The Wall, we went for a typical tourist lunch and we visited a Cloisonné factory. It was absolutely fascinating to see the process that is involved to make a piece of Cloisonné.
There was only 7 of us on the tour so we had lots of opportunity to talk with the other guests and our tour guide.
I would highly recommend this tour and ask for Maria.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

Rosalyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Great Wall walk was breathtaking with magnificent views and Tracey was a great tour guide. Certainly one tour not to miss!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Though we had 20 visibility when it came to appreciating the Great Wall, our guide Cynthia made the day's tour interesting and enjoyable. She provided excellent historical context for the Ming Dynasty Tombs, pacing the tour perfectly. She kept us well informed about Chinese cultural practices and the roots of the language during the bus travel between stops. Lunch was nice. The tea ceremony was delightful, too. This tour is worthwhile.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Lou K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Great Wall tour was very enjoyable and informative. Maria was an excellent and personably tour guide who provided good background and historically significant information. The tour ended in a fun and education stop at the Tea House where we got an education on tea choices, how to make a good cup of tea and also to enjoy tasting some well prepared teas.
The bus driver did a very skillful job in navigating safely and efficiently through the intense Beijing traffic.
Note--I would recommend the tour cost be modified to include the Great Wall tram fee since most people seem to prefer the use of the tram.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

leona.tooley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the most exciting day of my trip to Beijing : The day started with our tour guide, Jackie, meeting us in our hotel foyer. From here, we made our way to the emerald factory. I wasn't too keen on making this stop when I initially booked the tour, but I must admit that it was quite enjoyable! It was fascinating to see the artists in action as they carve up the emerald into an array of statues and souvenirs. There was quite a bit of time spent on the tour bus, but thankfully, Jackie kept us entertained with stories about the Pandas, Chinese traditions, family life etc. Next stop was the great wall. WOW! What a remarkable part of the world! We caught the cable car up and looking back over my shoulder as we creeped up to the wall took my breathe away. It is truly spectacular !! We spent about an hour and a half on the wall itself. Although, I could have spent the whole day there! This was my only criticism of the trip - perhaps a little more time on the wall would have been nice. When you get to Mutianyu, you will be given the option top choose between two cable cars companies. Be sure to go with the company that has the option to toboggan down the hill. The toboggan is a whole lot of fun and highly recommended. Although, you also have the option of returning by cable car if you wish. The lunch provided for us was great and the visit to the Cloisonné factory was an interesting. On the way back to Beijing, Jackie stopped off at a tea house. I wasn't aware this was part of our tour, but it was a welcome addition. I would have had no interest to visit the tea house prior to the tour, but I am so glad we had the chance to stopover here. Here, we were ushered into a private room and learnt about the different types of Chinese tea and how to prepare them. The tea was great and our English speaking host was very knowledgable and entertaining. All up, this was a fantastic tour and I highly recommended it !!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full Day Tour including Lunch from Beijing

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great price for what it included! The transport from Beijing to the Wall was roughly 2 hrs each way. I spent about 2 hrs hiking the Great Wall and it was absolutely amazing! Beautiful views around and just an amazing feat to visit one of the Ancient Great Wonders of the World. Viator tour also included a family-style lunch at a nice restaurant at the bottom of the mountain where we the buses park. Overall, highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Richard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I really enjoyed my 1-day small group hike along the Great Wall from Simatai West to Jinshanling. It was a beautiful, sunny day and the sights were amazing. I made great friends with my two hiking partners and my tour guide, Tao, was wonderful. He gave a nice presentation on the history of the Wall and surrounding area and was always willing to stop and take pictures. I highly recommend this day trip from Beijing!

Doing what: One-day Small Group Highlight of Great Wall Hiking Simatai West to Jinshanling

Catherine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great hike along the Great Wall! Wonderful views of the countryside and the wall as it snakes along the ridge lines without the crowds. Our guide, Cheney, was knowledgeable, helpful, and affable. The hike involved some steep assents to to the wall and along the wall. Cheney kept us supplied with snacks and water. A terrific experience!

Doing what: One-day Small Group Highlight of Great Wall Hiking Simatai West to Jinshanling

David H W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a tour that everyone should take. The Great Wall has been on the Must See List of mine and my wife for many years. The Wall and the surroundings were simply amazing, however the our guide Jackie was the difference in just seeing something and understanding its reason for being. Jackie explained every detail concerning the wall and its construction, who had it constructed, and why, and its recent restorations.
The tour was excellent and I would highly recommend the tour and our friend Jackie to anyone especially if you have an interest in Chinese history. It is a fantastic site as Jackie would say of course it was made in China.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Janaith P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Vivian was amazing and the tour was perfect. We arrived at the Great Wall very early and got to spend about 3 hrs visiting Vivian's recommendations. The hike was a bit challenging but the view was worth it! We also visited a local restaurant with delicious food! Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Stephanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I would 100 recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see the wonderful Great Wall. From the minute we met up with Peter our tour guide we were 30 minutes early and he was already there and waiting! to the minute we got dropped back it was fantastic. He was the best tour guide, so knowledgeable with the most amazing English. He gave us maps and explained the whole wall before we got there. He was incredibly patient with everyone, full of facts, took incredible photos of us which he gave to us on a USB before the trip was over which was a great touch and gave us the right amount of information/quiet to make the day an unforgettable experience. I have been on a lot of tours and trips throughout Asia and would say without a doubt Peter was the best guide Ive ever had.

The only thing I would flag is if you arent fit then it maybe too much for you. I booked this for myself and my Mum who is 65. She is incredibly active yet found the initial climb to the wall 1200 steps in 34 degree heat a big test even though she has high fitness levels. I imagine for some it would probably be a bit much.

Doing what: One-day Small Group Highlight of Great Wall Hiking Simatai West to Jinshanling

Felix H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

no hidden shopping stops, great tour guide, part of the great wall with not to many tourists, lunch was o.k.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Amy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was amazing. We got to see the Great wall, Ming Tonb, jade and pearl factories and a tea ceremony. Everywhere we went people tried to sell us things but this happened all the time in China. Our guide spoke very good English and gave us good information at each stop.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

pritisinha45669

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Obviously a must see in China and the tour guide, Jackie, was awesome. He did a great job explaining the history of the Great Wall and Ming Tombs as well as introducing the Chinese culture to us. He was also great about taking pictures whenever possible.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

You need to be fairly fit to climb the section of the Great Wall that we visited. Our guide, Cynthia, was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable with her Chinese history. As well as the Great Wall and the Ming Tombs we also visited a Jade factory a chance to buy some genuine jade and a tea house. This was only a relatively small group 12 people which is a big plus. The tour was interesting and well worth going on.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Anna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was my 3 time to see the Great Wall and this trip was the best experience by far! Our guide, Yaxin Wu was amazing and the small group size really added to the experience! Yaxin was so knowledgable about the Great Wall he made sure to share his knowledge with us along the journey! The hike wasn't too challenging and we also had a chance to hike on both the unrestored and restored sections of the Great Wall. The whole time that we were on the Great Wall we only saw around 30 people. I would highly recommend this trip if you want a unique experience on the Great Wall.

Doing what: One-day Small Group Highlight of Great Wall Hiking Simatai West to Jinshanling

VANESSA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I can warmly recommend this tour. I had a very early appointment at 7 am so we arrived at nearly 8:15 am at the Mutyanu section of the Great Wall. It was really great, quite little people only at this time of the day.
I was alone with my guide, Vivian, and with the driver. Vivian was interesting and friendly and I learned lots of things with her. The drived us safely and the car was clean. At the end of the visit, we were in a chinese restaurant for local people. So, real and excellent chinese food not for tourists.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

lucia d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent hours at the Great Wall. I would have liked more details of the history of China but the tour was perfect with a lot of time to walk around the wall and take excellent pictures. The guide was very nice and took us only two people to a simple yet delicious local restaurant!! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message